Autopsy Round 10 - West Coast v St Kilda

gee theres been some absolute cracker posts in here hasnt there
lol

tdk would make us better, he is not just a ruckman

owens needs to go in the middle, i dont give a **** if robert harvey thinks he is a forward, he has a completely un natural goal kicking action that is shite as soon as he isnt on carpet with a dry ball, he is born to be in the middle, he crashes, bashes and makes repeat efforts...get him around the pill

box comes in
just play him ffs, if he is the future just get him in

collard needs a spell, butlers been injuried and was ordinary on the weekend, not sure if he needs to find some form after the injury and also not sure who else can come in to replace lance?

i know its hard people but lets not eat each other
we have had a complete shit draw form the afl
15th hardest in the league
we have been hit with injury, doogs and king going down has made it very hard, add to that losing battle and membrey, well that just adds to the probs

peeps giving hammer shit
was waiting tables not long ago, got **** all preseason, played as a forward and then at very short notice been told to go down back, yes he will make mistakes but that ball is coming in thick and fast and errors are going to happen, he has been there ten mins, ive seen multiple times when he has saved our ass, and sure, times when shit has not gone right, but thats going to happen, how old is he?, how many games has he played?
should we play him forward and have wilks as the number one defender?
how do we think that would go?

we have blooded some youth, theyre going to tire, make bad mistakes etc maybe we blooded too many but with the injuries we have had we no choice

im as pissed as everyone
ive been following since 85 and ive seen it all
theres people here that have financially supported this club for 50 years, i reckon they've seen a bit, reckon they've been upset a few times as well...and rightly so
if loyal members get frustrated and need time out and decide theyre not going to financially support the club then so be it, we are not entitled to tell them how they should feel, they've not said they dont or wont support us, they're just tired of forking out money...fair enough too

yesterday i was more than glass half empty but today the sun came up and its only footy.
hug ya partner, ya kids, ya mum, ya mates, ask them how they are doing, and offer help if they need it....thats what matters

ps
how ****ing shite was the umpiring
FMD!
Great post.

Sure, that doesnt make them immune to criticism.

Suggesting supporters pissed off about losing to the consensus bottom team this year is harsh and unhelpful IMO.

How in f***'s name was this not a free kick for unrealistic attempt?

Absolute joke of a decision. Happened in an area where all umpires could see clearly too.
What about 1grand find for hough hitting injured Marshall?week as p1ss afl you soft Weiner's.remember Steven Baker and Leigh Montagna suspended for same.

Again, names?
Players who would actually consider coming to us.
Ugle Hagan, but I would have a crack at both TDK and Ugle Hagan. Almost zero draft capital for both. We must keep our incoming top 5 pick and draft a mid.

Sick of being undersized. Get them both in.

If Ugle Hagan is a complete that at least the rest of the club only has to see him 16 hours a week.

I am sure he will enjoy the extra day, that will enable him to get stuck into those mid week pingas guilt free.

I remember telling my wife 5 weeks ago that we’ve finally got the rebuild right and we will be a threat in the next few years 😂 😂 😂

I also told here in 2014 that we would be contending again in 2018 😂 😂

No wonder she doesn’t take me seriously.
...that's not why...

Ugle Hagan, but I would have a crack at both TDK and Ugle Hagan. Almost zero draft capital for both. We must keep our incoming top 5 pick and draft a mid.

Sick of being undersized. Get them both in.

If Ugle Hagan is a complete that at least the rest of the club only has to see him 16 hours a week.

I am sure he will enjoy the extra day, that will enable him to get stuck into those mid week pingas guilt free.
Can be persuaded….as long as there are some pretty solid get out clauses in the contract.

gee theres been some absolute cracker posts in here hasnt there
lol

tdk would make us better, he is not just a ruckman

owens needs to go in the middle, i dont give a **** if robert harvey thinks he is a forward, he has a completely un natural goal kicking action that is shite as soon as he isnt on carpet with a dry ball, he is born to be in the middle, he crashes, bashes and makes repeat efforts...get him around the pill

box comes in
just play him ffs, if he is the future just get him in

collard needs a spell, butlers been injuried and was ordinary on the weekend, not sure if he needs to find some form after the injury and also not sure who else can come in to replace lance?

i know its hard people but lets not eat each other
we have had a complete shit draw form the afl
15th hardest in the league
we have been hit with injury, doogs and king going down has made it very hard, add to that losing battle and membrey, well that just adds to the probs

peeps giving hammer shit
was waiting tables not long ago, got **** all preseason, played as a forward and then at very short notice been told to go down back, yes he will make mistakes but that ball is coming in thick and fast and errors are going to happen, he has been there ten mins, ive seen multiple times when he has saved our ass, and sure, times when shit has not gone right, but thats going to happen, how old is he?, how many games has he played?
should we play him forward and have wilks as the number one defender?
how do we think that would go?

we have blooded some youth, theyre going to tire, make bad mistakes etc maybe we blooded too many but with the injuries we have had we no choice

im as pissed as everyone
ive been following since 85 and ive seen it all
theres people here that have financially supported this club for 50 years, i reckon they've seen a bit, reckon they've been upset a few times as well...and rightly so
if loyal members get frustrated and need time out and decide theyre not going to financially support the club then so be it, we are not entitled to tell them how they should feel, they've not said they dont or wont support us, they're just tired of forking out money...fair enough too

yesterday i was more than glass half empty but today the sun came up and its only footy.
hug ya partner, ya kids, ya mum, ya mates, ask them how they are doing, and offer help if they need it....thats what matters

ps
how ****ing shite was the umpiring
FMD!

great post and i agree, although i would say, people are underestimating the significance of the loss as a way of moving on.

WCE are terrible. their list is a good 2-3 years away atleast for being competitive. i'd say its more like a 5-10 year rebuild.

we on the other hand have a more senior list with more working parts and we absolutely bottled it against the worst team in the comp since fitzroy!

the biggest problem we have as a club is that there is literally no expectation on them. if we win, we are challenging. if we lose we are rebuilding. this dual narrative shit has to stop.

West Coast vs St Kilda

Players aged 22 and under

St K 11, WC 8

Players with 20 games experience or less
St K 6, WC 3

Players with 100 games experience or more
StK 9, WC 10

Crowd: 42,860 (Capacity 60,000)

So St Kilda was the younger team. 4th youngest in the AFL (by average age) on the weekend, but playing more kids than anyone.

Playing in Perth. Probably most of St Kilda's team had played there two or three times in their careers. Or not at all.

Who cares that West Coast have been struggling. Winning interstate is never easy for young players.

Plus, West Coast were riding high after getting so close to winning the previous week- being denied a shot at a winning goal by a brilliant chase down tackle.

And to top it off a recent premiership player of theirs passed away. Ensuring plenty of emotion in the three-quarters full stadium.

This is why I was very close to tipping West Coast.

And why the teeth gnashing in this thread is absurd.

Carry on.

West Coast vs St Kilda

St K 11, WC 8

St K 6, WC 3

StK 9, WC 10

So St Kilda was the younger team. 4th youngest in the AFL (by average age) on the weekend, but playing more kids than anyone.

Playing in Perth. Probably most of St Kilda's team had played there two or three times in their careers. Or not at all.

Who cares that West Coast have been struggling. Winning interstate is never easy for young players.

Plus, West Coast were riding high after getting so close to winning the previous week- being denied a shot at a winning goal by a brilliant chase down tackle.

And to top it off a recent premiership player of theirs passed away. Ensuring plenty of emotion in the three-quarters full stadium.

Carry on.
Should have played Jones. Doubt he would have been the difference, but we went in ridiculously inexperienced.

Jones and Clark combined for 65 possessions in the VFL- after combining for over 50 the previous week.

Clearly Ross has shown willingness to give the kids a go.

St Kilda fans claim to want this. But then we whinge when an inevitability of youth occurs. Ie inconsistency.

We like having it both ways.

Something about eating cakes springs to mind.

Jones and Clark combined for 65 possessions in the VFL- after combining for over 50 the previous week.

Clearly Ross has shown willingness to give the kids a go.

St Kilda fans claim to want this. But then we whinge when an inevitability of youth occurs. Ie inconsistency.

We like having it both ways.

Something about eating cakes springs to mind.
We don’t mind playing kids. But there’s a balance.
This was a must win to even the ledger with an away win.
They pulled the wrong lever.
Jones and Clark should’ve played at the very least.
Maybe Hastie over McLennan? He’s shown something and a little less raw.

I find it completely bewildering and disgraceful that an AFL player
1. Holds it like an AusKicker,
and
2. Has been allowed to continue to do so.

Pathetic from all involved.
Often thought this, the other guy who I've been absolutely shocked with is seeing Higgo's ball drop from a set shot. One goal off leading the Coleman though, those things are only a problem or noticeable when they aren't working.

The other thing is watching guys try to use their opposite foot. Over half of the club is embarrassing on their wrong foot, that's not over exaggerating.

rDVFJlo.gif

One thing about Travaglia, he sure is dedicated.

West Coast vs St Kilda

St K 11, WC 8

St K 6, WC 3

StK 9, WC 10

Carry on.

is this where we are at now... cherry-picking stats to justify a loss against a team who hasnt won a game all season and hadnt won their last game since august last year!

this is everything that is wrong with the club right now. we are so quick to try and justify stuff that just should never be acceptable.

i doubt ross is going with this angle. doubt anyone in the football dept is really.

that over 100 games stat is seriously misleading. you know how that stat looks as you dive deeper into it.

is this where we are at now... cherry-picking stats
How was that cherry picking?

However you define kids- age 22, age 21- we had more than West Coast.

to justify a loss against a team
nothing is being "justified".

This isn't a bloody court of law.

West Coast played 12 games in Perth last year- won 4, with 3 by 35 points or more. Lost 4 by 14 points or less

Them getting pumped in Perth is the exception, not the norm. (Contrary to perception)

who hasnt won a game all season and hadnt won their last game since august last year!
There were no games between August and March..

Who's cherry picking now?

this is everything that is wrong with the club right now. we are so quick to try and justify stuff that just should never be acceptable.
"Justifying"?

just explaining - with facts not emotion- why a loss wasn't surprising.

Call that whatever you want. Up to you.

i doubt ross is going with this angle. doubt anyone in the football dept is really.
Publicly?

of course not. They aren't idiots.

but the fact he didn't select say, Clark and Jones- tells you he prioritised development over results. Regardless what he says. Actions speak louder than words.

that over 100 games stat is seriously misleading. you know how that stat looks as you dive deeper into it.
How is it misleading?

Do explain.

I find it completely bewildering and disgraceful that an AFL player
1. Holds it like an AusKicker,
and
2. Has been allowed to continue to do so.

Pathetic from all involved.
Yep
Ffs get some biomechanics down there asap or don’t play him forward
If that was a GF he marks on 45 degree 40 out go grab a beer and save yourself the hassle ….can not trust him to kick straight at all

Maybe an extra day a week training on skills ?
I would genuinely like to know how much work we do on skills
I know it’s player talent too but I watch Dogs flick the ball around….then I watch us kick it straight back to opponents from 15 metres away OR handball behind a team mate running past and think….you couldn’t make this shit up just missing Benny Hill music …

Yep
Ffs get some biomechanics down there asap or don’t play him forward
If that was a GF he marks on 45 degree 40 out go grab a beer and save yourself the hassle ….can not trust him to kick straight at all
A combination of Ben Dixon and David Rath should have young Mitchito bowing to the fans at least half a dozen times per game 👍🏻

Autopsy Round 10 - West Coast v St Kilda