JR - 4 + 2 , 1 + 5, 3 + 3
BK - 2 + 4, 2 + 4 , 5 + 1
MK - 0 + 5, 3 + 2 , 0 + 5
JW - 3 + 1 , 4 + 0 , 2 + 2
IC - 1 + 0 , 0 + 1 , 1 + 0

many, many combinatons possible
What am I missing here?
Isn’t it 3 possible combinations?

I consider Laird and Tex best 22. We are lucky we have some players who can replace them if required.

Laird isn't now or in the future, a plays in an area we have a line of players busting to get a get game. Funnily enough I even prefer Smith over Laird, much more damaging disposal, but I would be keen to run Cumming there and even trial a few youngsters to see what they can do.

Laird could retire tomorrow and we would be no worse off.

Laird, I don't - we look better without him, his ball usage is just not good enough for the position he is in.

Tex - teetering on the edge for me; but the structural factor favours him at this point. As I said, come finals games, high pressure, on the big expanses of the CG, he might be a liability.

Agree with Tex, he's right on the edge, shame he didn't get a rest earlier and another shame he didn't get a two week spell.

With Curtin improving every week on the wing we really don't have much depth in Texs position (unlike Laird) so I don't mind running with Tex - when fit.

Reckon hes loosened up a lot in his old age.
The time away, as well as his media role has probably helped expand his scope a fair bit.
Is that what we need though? I don't know about you but I don't want a players coach. I want a bastard like Blight that will drive high standards, win flags and never get invited over to a player's house for dinner.

If you went through our podcasts over the years, you'd find I've been wrong so many times it's not funny (well it is). But who cares? That's why we are here, and that's why people enjoy listening to our pod, not because we are the definitive be all and end all of Crows analysis, but because we have genuine discussion and debate about the club we all want to succeed. If I did a podcast to reinforce my ego that I was always right, I'd be rocking in the corner most of the time 🤣
Like when you said Gollant would get picked up by another side. I don't hold it against you even though it was a crime and you should probably be jailed for saying it.

Is that what we need though? I don't know about you but I don't want a players coach. I want a bastard like Blight that will drive high standards, win flags and never get invited over to a player's house for dinner.

I dont think pure Bastard gets it done.
I think thats exactly what Buckley tried to be first time around
Blight, Sheedy, Malthouse, Clarkson,Thompson and so on, could all be hard arses sure, but they all had people wisdom,charisma and degrees of eccentricity enough to get maximum buy in/self belief from their players,on top of what they bought as far as footy smarts.
Not sure Buckley holds those add-ons as natural parts of his makeup.

Any other Nicks critics starting to waver?

Saturday night was the first time I've thought we could maybe win a final or two with this guy.

I know Sydney were trash but it was more how our guys were genuinely getting around each other. Every good effort had team-mates there giving a pat on the back. Every player who ended up on the ground in a pack had a team-mate there instantly help him up. Seems like full buy in from everyone.
No, it's just the way Sydney play. You will always be close to your opponent. Its been the same every Sydney/Adelaide match since Roos.

Can't resist an unnecessary cheap shot, can ya? :confusedv1:

I don't get "excited' about others' good posts or interesting analyses.
I just acknowledge them at the time. Yours, too, when you make'em.

eg I have a lot of respect for davos44 although we often disagree;
Thanks and ditto.

Here is some fodder for you :p

The players have improved because of Nicks and the entire coaching staff.

Balme is on the board, he isn't that magical to turn around the club in 5 months.

Murray has been the perfect addition because Nicks was doing too much and this was acknowledged. Seeing your own faults is part of being a great leader.

Justin Reid deserves some real praise for his recruiting (Geelong style), he didn't want Galucci but the CEO of West Coast pulled rank, chose Jordan then mentored Justin Langer out of a job.

I'm keen to forgive Nicks for the terrible years because the core side of Dawson, Hinge, Keays, Worrell, Keane, Fogarty, Rachele, Soligo, ROB, Thilthorpe etc. have all played 40-60 extra games together.

Coaching McPherson, Rowe, McHenry, Hamill, Sholl, Schoenberg, Jones and Jake Kelly with Keays, Laird, McKay and Sloane as your primary mids is hard yards. Add a baby RT, baby Sam Berry and a last legs Luke Brown to that list and 7 wins doesn't look too awful. How TF did we beat Geelong and Melbourne in 2021?

He then had to turn over that 2020/2021 team from 2022 onwards.

#promotenicks

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Thanks and ditto.

Balme is on the board, he isn't that magical to turn around the club in 5 months.

Murray has been the perfect addition because Nicks was doing too much and this was acknowledged. Seeing your own faults is part of being a great leader.

Justin Reid deserves some real praise for his recruiting (Geelong style), he didn't want Galucci but the CEO of West Coast pulled rank, chose Jordan then mentored Justin Langer out of a job.

I'm keen to forgive Nicks for the terrible years because the core side of Dawson, Hinge, Keays, Worrell, Keane, Fogarty, Rachele, Soligo, ROB, Thilthorpe etc. have all played 40-60 extra games together.

Coaching McPherson, Rowe, McHenry, Hamill, Sholl, Schoenberg, Jones and Jake Kelly with Keays, Laird, McKay and Sloane as your primary mids is hard yards. Add a baby RT, baby Sam Berry and a last legs Luke Brown to that list and 7 wins doesn't look too awful. How TF did we beat Geelong and Melbourne in 2021?

#promotenicks

Yeah, 2022 is when our list is in the worst state it was in throughout the entire rebuild. Was a borderline expansion side, especially early on, afterall who can forget a lineup with an average experience level of 54 games against Collingwood and it spent a lot of time hovering around the 65 game mark (which is a "you're going to get belted" threshold). Having a consolidation season in that backdrop is a sneakily underrated season (especially as we'd trade our first so there isn't the what could be if we were really shit scenario).

Thanks and ditto.

#promotenicks
"Loved", for the fodder
and
the hashtag is hilarious :D.
I'll get back to you, over my morning coffee.

Yeah, 2022 is when our list is in the worst state it was in throughout the entire rebuild. Was a borderline expansion side, especially early on, afterall who can forget a lineup with an average experience level of 54 games against Collingwood and it spent a lot of time hovering around the 65 game mark (which is a "you're going to get belted" threshold). Having a consolidation season in that backdrop is a sneakily underrated season (especially as we'd trade our first so there isn't the what could be if we were really shit scenario).
This game is stark:

1277 games over 23 players with 4 players making half that total.

GWS 2012 sort of stuff.

AlllllRighty! <<rubs hands together, folds sleeves up>>
Appreciated :thumbsupv1: :sneaky:.

1748903499472.png

12 games and 8-4 this year (with big wins over lower-ranked teams) have not convinced me of that, but I'm open to persuasion which I'm hoping will come over the next 11 games.
Let's review after the next 2 games and again at year's end? (weren't Carlton flying mid-2022 and still miss the 8? Shit happens)
What I do admire --- yes, admire --- is the man's patience.
Those first 2 years must have been tortuous.
He inherited a mess of players and their mixed, conflicting attitudes; also Assistants not of his choosing.
Yeah, I know he's a Board member :rolleyes:, but my guess is he's been having several subtle 'conversations'.
He's not the I-am-going-to-only-attend-Board-meetings type.
Murray has been the perfect addition
I agree, especially wrt Forward Craft/ movement and delivery to them.
When the Crows create a turnover say at HB, two things happen:
--- they run and spread to create options
--- most players with the ball lower their eyes and really look for a good option.
As a side-issue, short-passing has improved a lot. Keane's a prime example. He now hits targets that he was missing a year ago. His improvement has been a real asset.
because Nicks was doing too much and this was acknowledged.
By Nicks? When, please? Got any links?
My impression has been the Club has done all it can to justify Nicks' 2-year extension, to prop Nicks up.
I've resented the AFC being a training ground for rookie Coaches.
Seeing your own faults is part of being a great leader.
Now, now, calm down :winkv1:. "Inspiring", he ain't --- watch any one of his pressers for starters.
Being self-aware of one's own shortcomings is bloody hard to do, but I see continued signs of Nicks' stubbornness. Even so, changes have been made.
The man has been listening.
What? CEO of West Coast? Justin Langer? :drunk:
I've said often that I give him a Mulligan for 2020-21.
Those players would have played 40-60 games together, regardless of who was Coach.
Or are you saying Nicks kept them together?
Coaching McPherson, Rowe, McHenry, Hamill, Sholl, Schoenberg, Jones and Jake Kelly with Keays, Laird, McKay and Sloane as your primary mids is hard yards.
Yep, see above.
I'm not whingeing about 2020-21, however the 2023 ==> 2024 pre-Season produced a nightmare 2024 start and set us back 6 months. That's on Nicks.
After 10th in 2023, we should have been no worse than 10/11/12th in 2024.
Add a baby RT, baby Sam Berry and a last legs Luke Brown to that list and 7 wins doesn't look too awful.
Mate, that was ONE win from 17th. poz, and 4 out of the Top-8.
How TF did we beat Geelong and Melbourne in 2021?
I'm tempted to say Geelong and Melbourne complacency/hubris, but tbh I don't remember (well, only that it surprised everybody).
Cherry-picking the odd good win which lowly teams pull off now and then doesn't make Nicks a genius.
Yep, but c'mon, that's his job. That's why he's paid the big bucks.
Whoever was Coach would have had that task
BUT, I'll repeat,
I am appreciative of his patience.
Loved that; nice touch, made me snort coffee.

I agree, especially wrt Forward Craft/ movement and delivery to them.
When the Crows create a turnover say at HB, two things happen:
--- they run and spread to create options
--- most players with the ball lower their eyes and really look for a good option.
As a side-issue, short-passing has improved a lot. Keane's a prime example. He now hits targets that he was missing a year ago. His improvement has been a real asset.

That's not a Murray thing, that's been a hallmark of Nicks sides in the last 3 years. Pretty much once we get it half way, we're usually one of the most efficient teams out. The issue has been getting the ball out of defense.

That said, the focus on lowering the eyes may be the silver lining of the 2023 missed opportunity. Since then, our shot selection has improved markedly, going from an xScore of 3.09 (which is really bad) to a league average 3.28 in the past two years (and Adelaide has been top 4 in goal accuracy in these two years). One thing that was ironically true in 2023 is we were really bloody good at goalkicking, just that we kneecapped ourselves by shot selection.

That's not a Murray thing, that's been a hallmark of Nicks sides in the last 3 years. Pretty much once we get it half way, we're usually one of the most efficient teams out. The issue had been getting the ball out of defense.

That said, the focus on lowering the eyes may be the silver lining of the 2023 missed opportunity. Since then, our shot selection has improved markedly, going from an xScore of 3.09 (which is really bad) to a league average 3.28 in the past two years (and Adelaide has been top 4 in goal accuracy in these two years). One thing that was ironically true in 2023 is we were really bloody good at goalkicking, just that we kneecapped ourselves by shot selection.
I was trying to find xscore for the Sydney game. Where do you get these numbers?

Review R12: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Sydney Swans

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.