jenny61_99
Premium Platinum
More likely no front bum either![]()

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
More likely no front bum either![]()
Reckon he will be a much better coach second time round.
We currently have a top #6 attack & defence... but have had a soft draw so far.
What am I missing here?ANB - 5 + 3 or 5 + 3 or 4 + 4
JR - 4 + 2 , 1 + 5, 3 + 3
BK - 2 + 4, 2 + 4 , 5 + 1
MK - 0 + 5, 3 + 2 , 0 + 5
JW - 3 + 1 , 4 + 0 , 2 + 2
IC - 1 + 0 , 0 + 1 , 1 + 0
many, many combinatons possible
Not when you consider attaching particular players and coaches to the numbers.What am I missing here?
Isnāt it 3 possible combinations?
I consider Laird and Tex best 22. We are lucky we have some players who can replace them if required.
Laird, I don't - we look better without him, his ball usage is just not good enough for the position he is in.
Tex - teetering on the edge for me; but the structural factor favours him at this point. As I said, come finals games, high pressure, on the big expanses of the CG, he might be a liability.
Yeah Iām missing something as I only see 3 possible options.Not when you consider attaching particular players and coaches to the numbers.
top 6 only ?We currently have a top #6 attack & defence... but have had a soft draw so far.
We are going to find out whether we can maintain it against the better sides.
Pies for me are currently the standout.
Is that what we need though? I don't know about you but I don't want a players coach. I want a bastard like Blight that will drive high standards, win flags and never get invited over to a player's house for dinner.Reckon hes loosened up a lot in his old age.
The time away, as well as his media role has probably helped expand his scope a fair bit.
We currently have a top #6 attack & defence... but have had a soft draw so far.
We are going to find out whether we can maintain it against the better sides.
Pies for me are currently the standout.
That's what the graph measures... within the top 6 for both.top 6 only ?
2nd for both.Our forward line is the best in the league.
Like when you said Gollant would get picked up by another side. I don't hold it against you even though it was a crime and you should probably be jailed for saying it.If you went through our podcasts over the years, you'd find I've been wrong so many times it's not funny (well it is). But who cares? That's why we are here, and that's why people enjoy listening to our pod, not because we are the definitive be all and end all of Crows analysis, but because we have genuine discussion and debate about the club we all want to succeed. If I did a podcast to reinforce my ego that I was always right, I'd be rocking in the corner most of the time![]()
+Watching Fox Footy, you can tell Bucks bloody loves us.
Dinkum?He could not give any more signals heād love to coach us.
Uhhhh, stick to the topic Jen.Absolutely! Iād have him in a heart beat!
Is that what we need though? I don't know about you but I don't want a players coach. I want a bastard like Blight that will drive high standards, win flags and never get invited over to a player's house for dinner.
No, it's just the way Sydney play. You will always be close to your opponent. Its been the same every Sydney/Adelaide match since Roos.Any other Nicks critics starting to waver?
Saturday night was the first time I've thought we could maybe win a final or two with this guy.
I know Sydney were trash but it was more how our guys were genuinely getting around each other. Every good effort had team-mates there giving a pat on the back. Every player who ended up on the ground in a pack had a team-mate there instantly help him up. Seems like full buy in from everyone.
Thanks and ditto.Can't resist an unnecessary cheap shot, can ya?
I don't get "excited' about others' good posts or interesting analyses.
I just acknowledge them at the time. Yours, too, when you make'em.
eg I have a lot of respect for davos44 although we often disagree;
Has he ever once admitted to his shortcomings as a coach? I haven't seen this really humble Buckley but I admit I don't watch a lot of football media.
Thanks and ditto.
Here is some fodder for you
The players have improved because of Nicks and the entire coaching staff.
Balme is on the board, he isn't that magical to turn around the club in 5 months.
Murray has been the perfect addition because Nicks was doing too much and this was acknowledged. Seeing your own faults is part of being a great leader.
Justin Reid deserves some real praise for his recruiting (Geelong style), he didn't want Galucci but the CEO of West Coast pulled rank, chose Jordan then mentored Justin Langer out of a job.
I'm keen to forgive Nicks for the terrible years because the core side of Dawson, Hinge, Keays, Worrell, Keane, Fogarty, Rachele, Soligo, ROB, Thilthorpe etc. have all played 40-60 extra games together.
Coaching McPherson, Rowe, McHenry, Hamill, Sholl, Schoenberg, Jones and Jake Kelly with Keays, Laird, McKay and Sloane as your primary mids is hard yards. Add a baby RT, baby Sam Berry and a last legs Luke Brown to that list and 7 wins doesn't look too awful. How TF did we beat Geelong and Melbourne in 2021?
He then had to turn over that 2020/2021 team from 2022 onwards.
#promotenicks
"Loved", for the fodderThanks and ditto.
Here is some fodder for you
The players have improved because of Nicks and the entire coaching staff.
Balme is on the board, he isn't that magical to turn around the club in 5 months.
Murray has been the perfect addition because Nicks was doing too much and this was acknowledged. Seeing your own faults is part of being a great leader.
Justin Reid deserves some real praise for his recruiting (Geelong style), he didn't want Galucci but the CEO of West Coast pulled rank, chose Jordan then mentored Justin Langer out of a job.
I'm keen to forgive Nicks for the terrible years because the core side of Dawson, Hinge, Keays, Worrell, Keane, Fogarty, Rachele, Soligo, ROB, Thilthorpe etc. have all played 40-60 extra games together.
Coaching McPherson, Rowe, McHenry, Hamill, Sholl, Schoenberg, Jones and Jake Kelly with Keays, Laird, McKay and Sloane as your primary mids is hard yards. Add a baby RT, baby Sam Berry and a last legs Luke Brown to that list and 7 wins doesn't look too awful. How TF did we beat Geelong and Melbourne in 2021?
He then had to turn over that 2020/2021 team from 2022 onwards.
#promotenicks
This game is stark:Yeah, 2022 is when our list is in the worst state it was in throughout the entire rebuild. Was a borderline expansion side, especially early on, afterall who can forget a lineup with an average experience level of 54 games against Collingwood and it spent a lot of time hovering around the 65 game mark (which is a "you're going to get belted" threshold). Having a consolidation season in that backdrop is a sneakily underrated season (especially as we'd trade our first so there isn't the what could be if we were really shit scenario).
AlllllRighty! <<rubs hands together, folds sleeves up>>Here is some fodder for you![]()
12 games and 8-4 this year (with big wins over lower-ranked teams) have not convinced me of that, but I'm open to persuasion which I'm hoping will come over the next 11 games.The players have improved because of Nicks and the entire coaching staff.
Yeah, I know he's a Board memberBalme is on the board, he isn't that magical to turn around the club in 5 months.
I agree, especially wrt Forward Craft/ movement and delivery to them.Murray has been the perfect addition
By Nicks? When, please? Got any links?because Nicks was doing too much and this was acknowledged.
Now, now, calm downSeeing your own faults is part of being a great leader.
What? CEO of West Coast? Justin Langer?Justin Reid deserves some real praise for his recruiting (Geelong style), he didn't want Galucci but the CEO of West Coast pulled rank, chose Jordan then mentored Justin Langer out of a job.
I've said often that I give him a Mulligan for 2020-21.I'm keen to forgive Nicks for the terrible years because the core side of Dawson, Hinge, Keays, Worrell, Keane, Fogarty, Rachele, Soligo, ROB, Thilthorpe etc. have all played 40-60 extra games together.
Yep, see above.Coaching McPherson, Rowe, McHenry, Hamill, Sholl, Schoenberg, Jones and Jake Kelly with Keays, Laird, McKay and Sloane as your primary mids is hard yards.
Mate, that was ONE win from 17th. poz, and 4 out of the Top-8.Add a baby RT, baby Sam Berry and a last legs Luke Brown to that list and 7 wins doesn't look too awful.
I'm tempted to say Geelong and Melbourne complacency/hubris, but tbh I don't remember (well, only that it surprised everybody).How TF did we beat Geelong and Melbourne in 2021?
Yep, but c'mon, that's his job. That's why he's paid the big bucks.He then had to turn over that 2020/2021 team from 2022 onwards.
Loved that; nice touch, made me snort coffee.
I agree, especially wrt Forward Craft/ movement and delivery to them.
When the Crows create a turnover say at HB, two things happen:
--- they run and spread to create options
--- most players with the ball lower their eyes and really look for a good option.
As a side-issue, short-passing has improved a lot. Keane's a prime example. He now hits targets that he was missing a year ago. His improvement has been a real asset.
I was trying to find xscore for the Sydney game. Where do you get these numbers?That's not a Murray thing, that's been a hallmark of Nicks sides in the last 3 years. Pretty much once we get it half way, we're usually one of the most efficient teams out. The issue had been getting the ball out of defense.
That said, the focus on lowering the eyes may be the silver lining of the 2023 missed opportunity. Since then, our shot selection has improved markedly, going from an xScore of 3.09 (which is really bad) to a league average 3.28 in the past two years (and Adelaide has been top 4 in goal accuracy in these two years). One thing that was ironically true in 2023 is we were really bloody good at goalkicking, just that we kneecapped ourselves by shot selection.