Review R24: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. North Melbourne

Good:

Securing top spot by doing enough, a break is coming at the right time for guys like Soligo and Curtin
Really liked Berry and Peatlings games, very busy and provided some drive- 8 tackles and 400M gained for Berry, 3 goals, 3 GA's and 381MG for Peatling
Thilthorpe, Keays and Fogarty were excellent
Worrell in the last quarter. Read the play beautifully.

Job done, no injuries and we know who is going to go where in finals.

Dowling was great, should keep his spot. I was thinking, "he looks like an AFL player" on screen, great size, moves well, kicks on both feet. The polar opposite of Griffin Logue, that guy shouldn't be playing AFL.

If you looked at the team stats without the score you would think North won by at least 5 goals.

Laird, looked like a guy who had the week off. Ran on top of the ground.

Bad:
Draper and Bond, not this year guys. I think Draper ran to the most benign positions on the ground, like the pocket or 20M off the player with the ball in heavy traffic. Bond isn't good 1 on 1 (he can learn of course), he is better in traffic but seemed overwhelmed today.

Everyone was a bit off and they didn't want to be there, the risk of injury and guaranteed top 2.

Ugly:

Having to watch Hawks and Brisbane tomorrow hoping for a draw or Hawks to lose.

Finally saw the Keane rushed behind replay.

Not only was it clearly behind the post and should have been over turned into a point (first major stuff up that costs us 5 points), the commentators then proceed to say what a great call David Rodan, hope he is in the grand final because of calls like that.

I swear the AFL is just opposite land sometimes. They're so openly corrupt I'm actually sick of it.

Not only was it clearly behind the post and should have been over turned into a point (first major stuff up that costs us 5 points), the commentators then proceed to say what a great call David Rodan, hope he is in the grand final because of calls like that.

I swear the AFL is just opposite land sometimes. They're so openly corrupt I'm actually sick of it.

If you're sick of it now I suggest you find another hobby for the next month mate.

I remember it was after the Bulldogs win at Marvel, everyone started to think hmmmm maybe we could be the real deal. "Let's go win the last 6 and finish in the Top 4, then it's potentially two wins from a GF, anything can happen!". It seemed a bit fanciful - surely we would drop a game or two before finals?

Well, we won all of them, and we are now two home wins away from a Grand Final. It's there for us to grab if we're hungry.

Hey good job, and I'm all in on the Crows for the finals.

Now the umpiring was horrid and some of the decisions that went out way made me laugh. But it wasn't to favour North, it was because they're like Cabbage Daniel, just shit at their job.

It is a concern. Imagine losing a GF on either that goal that hit the back of the behind post or the mark Trembath took after 2 others had shared it for about a minute.

Anyways best of luck to you all.

Good: Getting the job done, getting a break now to prepare and hopefully get players back for the QF.
Bad: Not much, conceding a fairly highly score wasn't great though.

Ugly: The "stand" rule and 50 m penalties paid due to players not doing exactly what trigger happy umpires want are a stain on the game.

Imagine losing a final due to one of those decisions (yes, I remember the Jim Stynes incident).
Fifties were brought in to deter deliberate time wasting, where players were happy to concede 15 m.
Most of the 50 m penalties paid now would not have even been paid 15 m previously.

This has to be reviewed in the off season.

Bad:
Draper and Bond, not this year guys. I think Draper ran to the most benign positions on the ground, like the pocket or 20M off the player with the ball in heavy traffic.
Just on this - is that instruction or instinct? Because if its instinct then its bad

And I dont think its instinct

Are North fans the first in history to acknowledge they got laughably favorable umpiring?

Collingwood fans usually just sook it up when people point it out

That umpire who awarded Trembath that mark is going to have a terrible time justifying that. In slow motion replay he had perfect vision and could see Curtis and Curtin fighting for the ball with Trembath barely in the contest to begin with. Frankly I think it was outright cheating. He knew Curtin had it more than Curtis so couldnt call the mark in favor so he want the ludicrous option. Id even be surprised if we saw that umpire again.

Went to the game. A few things stood out.
The 3 talls (+ Dawson) marking superiority and ambidextrousness really contribute to a lot of our scores especially on the transition. The 3 talls are our POD and arguably our 2nd-4th most important players for this finals series.
We have a lot of similar paced players (pretty much our whole team) which really stood out especially without Rankine and against the acceleration of high draft picks LDU, Wardlaw, Mckercher, Sheezel and even guys like Curtis, Stephens. It is why we get dominated and get handpassed around out of the middle. Milera stood out from us and could be a midfield option. Smith still probably one of our quickest and is probably the perfect sub with his kicking and experience.
We do not really have any spuds in our team. Even our smaller framed players are visibly physically well built as compared to many twigs from North Melbourne. Quite staggering considering we both started rebuilding around the same time.
And have noticed Peatling is a very neat set shot.

How’s the commentator’s radio silence when North get three gifted goals in succession. Peatling then gets a 50m penalty that was actually there, and they’re crying.
They were deadset barracking for north.

What the **** was Laird thinking with the bump, he just got back from a suspension for a bump, so he does a bump for no ****ing reason, what a complete ****head.

I'd drop him even if he isn't suspended, what a dickhead.

That guy ends up with concussion caused by the whiplash and Laird is returning same weekend as Rankine. There’s enough risk these days getting suspended in play doing otherwise legal actions. Fancy picking off a player off the ball in a dead rubber one week out from finals having just come hack in yourself and spending a week all about us losing one of our most important players for a month.

He’s lucky there’s no concussion, so it’s only 1.

Good: Getting the job done, getting a break now to prepare and hopefully get players back for the QF.
Bad: Not much, conceding a fairly highly score wasn't great though.

Ugly: The "stand" rule and 50 m penalties paid due to players not doing exactly what trigger happy umpires want are a stain on the game.

Imagine losing a final due to one of those decisions (yes, I remember the Jim Stynes incident).
Fifties were brought in to deter deliberate time wasting, where players were happy to concede 15 m.
Most of the 50 m penalties paid now would not have even been paid 15 m previously.

This has to be reviewed in the off season.

I worry about Keane for that reason. He doesn't know a lot of the intricacies, like how he could have got that ball over the line as opposed to strangling the post or whatever the hell he was trying to do.

Little things can have big consequences in finals.

I worry about Keane for that reason. He doesn't know a lot of the intricacies, like how he could have got that ball over the line as opposed to strangling the post or whatever the hell he was trying to do.

Little things can have big consequences in finals.
We've seen Keane give away holding frees when out of position, the worry would be a "right in front of me" type free.

Other than that, I was pissed off with ROB giving away 3 soft holding frees in the ruck last week.
Not being the strongest clearance team, cheapies like that can really burn the side.

Does anyone know of Burgess has been putting us through a higher training load over the last month to ready us for finals? I recon we’ve looked quite flat over the last month but have still been managing to win
Gotta hope there’s something in there similar to Marathon runners tapering off before the big race. Not a runner myself, so not sure how that all works but we’ve got probably the best sports science team in the comp and they’ll be all over this.

That umpire who awarded Trembath that mark is going to have a terrible time justifying that. In slow motion replay he had perfect vision and could see Curtis and Curtin fighting for the ball with Trembath barely in the contest to begin with. Frankly I think it was outright cheating. He knew Curtin had it more than Curtis so couldnt call the mark in favor so he want the ludicrous option. Id even be surprised if we saw that umpire again.
The ball actually ended up in Curtin's hands, and Trembath just ripped the ball out and claimed the mark. Farcical.

I've been tied up most of the day, so beyond checking the scores occasionally no idea how the game went

How was the form of Dowling and Draper?
I think both struggled. Draper more so. Got caught a lot and don't think he had any effective disposals.

Dowling got a couple of simple opportunities and made the most of them. Outside of that I thought he also really struggled with the pace of it.

At the same time they also agreed it was a point. It's like they forgot that part was also rodan's call

The AFL made it very clear they wouldn’t suspend players for umpire contacts like Dawson’s, even if the 4th one. The suspension was only for severe contact or deliberate contact. He will just cop a heavy fine.

Good
Milera
TT
Fog
Keays
Berry
Smith
No injuries
Worrell
Edit - also good was our defence not losing their minds when we got that string of outrageous umpiring calls in q4.

Bad
Midfield
North scoring 100 points
Bond - Curtis made him look silly
Draper - didn’t get it much, used it badly when he did

Ugly
Laughable umpiring in q4

We need to find our best footy again, that standard won’t cut it.

Pretty professional performance in the end. Didn't blow then away but were a step ahead all day long.

Dowling proved he belongs in the side. Smith was pretty good in his quarter as well.
Brodie has been good when needed to replace Laird this year. Don’t think we lose much if Laird is suspended for the 1st final.

He’s defending like every contest is his last and offering a good option on offensive plays. All his teammates seem to really get around him whenever he kicks a goal or has a good defensive play.

Review R24: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. North Melbourne