Preview Semi Final: Changes vs. Hawthorn

All info about the match, including tickets, barcode/ticket requests can be found via our Finals Hub

A reminder that the sharing of barcodes is at your own risk and we won’t be responsible for any misuse of barcodes.

He will get booed, is that really worth discussing on a TV show....? The blokes an absolute campaigner.

I.said a about a month ago Adelaide home games were being painted into the second coming of the New Den (Millwall) which is hilarious to see...

We have a really passionate supporter base that has been starved of success, but the media shifting narrative on the apricot slice brigade to being a bunch of deranged, unsafe supporters is really a sight to behold 🤣🤣 Adelaide oval will soon become a no travelzome for victorians.
I wouldn't be surprised if one of these Vic media outlets campaigns for a change of venue due to safety reasons.

Midweek tackle discussing how Ginnivan will be received and started going on about how awful our crowds are.

Apparently our crowds are the only hostile ones out there. I suppose that’s a good thing really.
It was all well and good when nearly every other fan base and media network were shitting on Ginnivan for antagonising and drawing frees, but when it comes to us now it’s time to raise it as an issue.

They also forget the Pies fans giving it to him last year, which is hypocrisy on all levels.

After everything that happened in the last few weeks nobody cares about Ginnivan. At all.

I think they're desperate to keep any momentum rolling on a non-story.

Crowd will be your standard home finals crowd. Loud, proud, mostly positive, almost certainly unhappy when the umpires pay their usual deliberate out of bounds nonsense. Normal stuff.

After everything that happened in the last few weeks nobody cares about Ginnivan. At all.

I think they're desperate to keep any momentum rolling on a non-story.

Crowd will be your standard home finals crowd. Loud, proud, mostly positive, almost certainly unhappy when the umpires pay their usual deliberate out of bounds nonsense. Normal stuff.

Yep. Ginnivan hasn't done anything specific to agitate Crows supporters outside of being a generic unlikeable player

Now Jack Gunston on the other hand...

I hope the crowd boos every single Hawthorn kick. From every player. Just to piss off the Victorian media flogs.
Collingwood players try and get under rankines skin - no worries.
Adelaide crowd tried to get under Collingwood players skins - nah can’t do that.

Collingwood players try and get under rankines skin - no worries.
Adelaide crowd tried to get under Collingwood players skins - nah can’t do that.
The only issue is Ginnivan thrives off it. I personally wouldn't boo him. Not because he's not a diving flog, but because he performs better as the villain.

But I have zero issue with the crowd booing anyone they like, especially if it makes the the oppo player feel distracted, uncomfortable and unwelcome. Fully support sledging as well if it's game based (e.g. a skill error, pulling out of a contest)...why shouldn't those within earshot tell them how poor they are playing!

Yep. Ginnivan hasn't done anything specific to agitate Crows supporters outside of being a generic unlikeable player

Now Jack Gunston on the other hand...

He stuck the finger up at the crowd. I reckon that would get you booed by most support bases. Especially after the hand to the ear after kicking a goal....

If he does that during the game, sure.

Not sure many supporters will care about the finger incident from last time

The only issue is Ginnivan thrives off it. I personally wouldn't boo him. Not because he's not a diving flog, but because he performs better as the villain.

But I have zero issue with the crowd booing anyone they like, especially if it makes the the oppo player feel distracted, uncomfortable and unwelcome. Fully support sledging as well if it's game based (e.g. a skill error, pulling out of a contest)...why shouldn't those within earshot tell them how poor they are playing!
Reverse psychology and cheer him every time he gets the ball?

I know the media are all about Hawthorn this week, but there’s a lot of glossing over that 2nd half performance on the weekend.

GWS had 40 entries by half time and had a decent enough score on the board, they weren’t playing that badly. However, the Hawks went at at a perfect conversion from shots 40m+ and this just isn’t sustainable every week; it’s one of those out of the box performances (First Crack highlighted how rare it is).

Hawthorn started missing in the 3rd and then that’s where GWS pounced and erased a 42 point lead in 15 minutes. This is what happens if you can’t keep up with perfect conversion from a low number of entries. Hawthorn’s midfield got smashed during this period. Giants fell away as they were carrying a few into the game under injury clouds and the Hawks kicked a goal from a HTB to steady and win.

Day is why they got off to the fast start against us last time as Newcombe struggled. Given Newcombe’s first half last week, he’s the one we have to limit to avoid that happening again. They’ve got Weddle back since then, but we have Michellaney to counter that.

A lot less external media pressure on this game as well with the media putting their full praise on Hawthorn and not giving us a great chance. I am confident we will be a lot better this week, whether that is enough I guess we will find out.

Preview Semi Final: Changes vs. Hawthorn