News AFL overhauls Academy and FS bid matching, discussing draft lockout

1) You never had Mac Andrew.

2) So you lost 3 players over 7 years, and think that somehow equates to the talent drain GC experienced every year for the similar period.

The year you lost Hogan, GC lost May (to the Dees), Lynch to the premiers, Jack Scrimshaw, Aaron Hall and Jarryd Lyons.
scrimshaw, Aaron hall and Lyons? LOL, elite! All whilst being gifted Mac Andrew from our Academy. Mac Andrew is worth more than those 3 players combined so still a massive net gain.

GC lost May and got Ben King with the draft pick. Totally fine.

Hogan and Jackson are bloody elite. McVee is an underrated jet. DOn't compare riff riff and compare them to Hogan and Jackson. Spare me.

You got them for free from the AFL. You were given advantages for being a very poor team. I like the draft, and equalisation. But let's not pretend you earn the advantages you are given in the draft when you're a struggling team. They're purely an equalisation measure - and it's certainly not a perfect equalisation measure.
Nah, because the cost is that you must finish low on the ladder to get them. Something which doesn't apply for the f/s rule or NGA. It's not a gift if you must qualify to get it with 23 weeks of trash football.

The draft is a system that gave you a heap of help from the AFL. You were given so many early picks that you eventually put a very good team together. Viney as a father son helped too.
Yep Viney is 1 father/son in 25 years. Significantly under the league average of father/sons. 4 more Viney's would put us up to league average and basically ensure more flags. That's why flags mean nothing anymore. If your a Pies, Dogs, Bris or Gold Coast fan, unfortunately any flag means very literal to anyone woh actually follows footy. Maybe the mainstream footy follower who also watches the Brownlow may get sucked into it but true footy nuts who look at footy holistically don't respect flags anymore. And the AFL made sure of that.

danster168 its hard to keep up but what are you exactly annoyed with here?

As has been mentioned, if you want something out of your NGA's, put something into it. Regarding father/sons, Melbourne have had a share of there own decent ones,

A super quick google search shows that Melbourne were the club who wanted the father/son rule as to gain access to Ron Barrassi

scrimshaw, Aaron hall and Lyons? LOL, elite! All whilst being gifted Mac Andrew from our Academy. Mac Andrew is worth more than those 3 players combined so still a massive net gain.

GC lost May and got Ben King with the draft pick. Totally fine.

Hogan and Jackson are bloody elite. McVee is an underrated jet. DOn't compare riff riff and compare them to Hogan and Jackson. Spare me.
You got May from the Hogan pick, by your own logic that’s a break even, so stop your “look at me” whining.

As has been mentioned, if you want something out of your NGA's, put something into it. Regarding father/sons, Melbourne have had a share of there own decent ones,

A super quick google search shows that Melbourne were the club who wanted the father/son rule as to gain access to Ron Barrassi
can you please list the multiple highly rated father/sons that melbourne have had a fair share of in the last 25 years?

Why put work in to your academy if the afl just screw us over and hand our academy players to other teams. The AFL are clearly corrupt. They even waited until after Tairon Ah-Mu's draft to create a new rule about Islanders etc. Now Ah-Mu didn't end up getting drafted but it's another snapshot into how the AFL have proactively killed the dees. Purposefully. The Mac Andrew corruption was as blatant as it could be. And make no mistake they would do it again. The AFL even tried to change the AFL f/s rule before we got Kalani White who wasn't even highly rated, he was a rookie. If he was a top 10 pick, the AFL would've changed the rules this year.

nobody respects flags anymore. Well the true footy fan anyway!

this has to be a rage bait bot dressed up as a 12 year old. Does BF qualify as social media? get this kid out of here please.

I wish that were the case that nobody respected flags, then I could actually be happy with my clubs performance at some point in my life.

You got May from the Hogan pick, by your own logic that’s a break even, so stop your “look at me” whining.
And what's your point? Gold Coast got Ben King from the May pick. When you lose good players, you get good picks as compensation (generally). Im just keeping people accountable who say the Gold Coast have lost a stack of players and Melbourne haven't. You think Melbourne would trade Hogan and Jackson for guys like Scrimshaw, Aaron Hall and Lyons? They'd need to chuck in 4 first rounders to balance that out.

nobody respects flags anymore. Well the true footy fan anyway!

this has to be a rage bait bot dressed up as a 12 year old. Does BF qualify as social media? get this kid out of here please.

I wish that were the case that nobody respected flags, then I could actually be happy with my clubs performance at some point in my life.
Let's say Gold Coast win 5 flags in a row, you honestly will respect it? You're saying you'll be like 'wow, how did they do it? Amazing recruiting, amazing development, elite coaching' etc? or be like me and think 'well the afl gifted them Noah Anderson, and kissed them 10 first round NGA picks for cheap'. I know what sounds more logical. Grow up and stop looking to mods just because you can't grasp a concept of a different opinion.

The AFL gifted them Anderson the same way they gifted Melbourne Angus Brayshaw........
one of the better points I've heard from any poster in here. But Brayshaw was a compo pick for losing Frawley (aka the same situation as Oscar Allen). I thought Anderson was basically just gifted to them without losing anything at all? just a free pick?

can you please list the multiple highly rated father/sons that melbourne have had a fair share of in the last 25 years?

Why put work in to your academy if the afl just screw us over and hand our academy players to other teams. The AFL are clearly corrupt. They even waited until after Tairon Ah-Mu's draft to create a new rule about Islanders etc. Now Ah-Mu didn't end up getting drafted but it's another snapshot into how the AFL have proactively killed the dees. Purposefully. The Mac Andrew corruption was as blatant as it could be. And make no mistake they would do it again. The AFL even tried to change the AFL f/s rule before we got Kalani White who wasn't even highly rated, he was a rookie. If he was a top 10 pick, the AFL would've changed the rules this year.
as I said, what you put in is what you get out.

Appears Melbourne (and St Kilda) are cottoning on to what is in the South East.

Jack Duggan, Kiran Symes, Chris Van Gruenen, Noah Labroy, Oliver Green, Sonny Whyley all names to look out for in the Melbourne and or Saints academy.

one of the better points I've heard from any poster in here. But Brayshaw was a compo pick for losing Frawley (aka the same situation as Oscar Allen). I thought Anderson was basically just gifted to them without losing anything at all? just a free pick?
Getting both Rowell and Anderson was a priority pick situation granted to Gold Coast the same way that priority picks were granted to Hawthorn and Richmond in the last 20 years.

But those are Victorian dynasty clubs right?

Start of first round priority picks granted
2001 Freo (traded to Hawthorn), St Kilda and West Coast. Luke Hodge, Luke Ball and Chris Judd.
2003 Bulldogs, Carlton and Melbourne - Cooney, Walker and Colin Sylvia
2004 Richmond, Hawthorn, Bulldogs - Deledio, Roughead, Griffen
2005 Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn - Marc Murphy, Dale Thomas, Xavier Ellis
2007 Carlton Kreuzer
2009 Melbourne Tom Scully

I mean, why would you be questioning validity of Gold Coast when you've got nearly all the recent AFL premiers getting handouts from the AFL. And adding in Geelong which built its dynasty through a strong bunch of father-son selections taken with single third (and later) round picks.

Getting both Rowell and Anderson was a priority pick situation granted to Gold Coast the same way that priority picks were granted to Hawthorn and Richmond in the last 20 years.

The Suns finished last that year, so had pick 1 anyway. But I think you are right, they got pick 2 as a freebie as Rowell and Anderson are BFF's. The hope I guess was it would make them more likely to stick at the Suns.

And they are both signed through to free agency so I guess it worked to an extent.

Correct. Anderson was handed to them the same way as the Dees were handed Tom Scully.

I believe the next response will be to point out that Tom didn't play in their premiership side so that doesn't count but Anderson undoubtedly will play in the Suns first flag should it happen this cycle and so it does count and will be manifestly unfair because various reasons .... <--- trying to save Danster some time :)

Start of first round priority picks granted
2001 Freo (traded to Hawthorn), St Kilda and West Coast. Luke Hodge, Luke Ball and Chris Judd.
2003 Bulldogs, Carlton and Melbourne - Cooney, Walker and Colin Sylvia
2004 Richmond, Hawthorn, Bulldogs - Deledio, Roughead, Griffen
2005 Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn - Marc Murphy, Dale Thomas, Xavier Ellis
2007 Carlton Kreuzer
2009 Melbourne Tom Scully

I mean, why would you be questioning validity of Gold Coast when you've got nearly all the recent AFL premiers getting handouts from the AFL. And adding in Geelong which built its dynasty through a strong bunch of father-son selections taken with single third (and later) round picks.
This remains the wrong way to look at it (as always)

Those teams always had pick 1/2/3, although the priority pick was technically designated at the start of the draft, practically the difference was that they "gained" pick 2/3/whatever.

In a universe with no priority picks, the Dogs would have not selected Farren Ray and Tom Williams, not Cooney and Griffen.

as I said, what you put in is what you get out.

Appears Melbourne (and St Kilda) are cottoning on to what is in the South East.

Jack Duggan, Kiran Symes, Chris Van Gruenen, Noah Labroy, Oliver Green, Sonny Whyley all names to look out for in the Melbourne and or Saints academy.
why look out for them? afl will change the rules whenever the dees get a good one. Or they'll change the zones.

Geez I remember it well.

Tell you what, we'll let you keep grumbling about the gifted flags and "woe is me poor demons". Keep posting with as many asterisk as your heart desires mate, you need an outlet too. World keeps moving on around you either way.

And what's your point? Gold Coast got Ben King from the May pick. When you lose good players, you get good picks as compensation (generally). Im just keeping people accountable who say the Gold Coast have lost a stack of players and Melbourne haven't. You think Melbourne would trade Hogan and Jackson for guys like Scrimshaw, Aaron Hall and Lyons? They'd need to chuck in 4 first rounders to balance that out.
lol, you listed 3 players from a 7 year period. One of those players is a role player at best, but you’re trying to make out he is something special.

You’re not keeping anyone accountable. You’re having a sook about nothing and trying to compare it to a club repeatedly ransacked by Vic clubs.

And the whole time, neglecting to acknowledge the impact repeated player losses had on GC.

Assuming they move it to 2 draft picks matching (let's assume 2 firsts) do you think it would be a good idea instead of just the matching but it gives the team who missed out on the player the ability to accept the bid match as a trade?
For example this yrs draft
Let's say pick 3 was worth 9 11 (carltons firsts) when wce bid on Dean, wce either have the option of accepting as a trade and get those picks or move back the one spot from the cartlon matched bid?.