threenewpadlocks
Cool.The indomitable Team A![]()
On a completely unrelated note, do you happen to have a VIP manager at any sports betting companies?

Cool.The indomitable Team A![]()
So even if using your prefered measure - percentage rather than win/loss - you were still middle of the 9 teams in the top flight - not the best like CD shows because it cares how much you flog the shit teams by.The whole point of me saying it is that it was as a general principle, not as a blanket rule, and therefore context is irrelavent.
Over the course of a season, teams play largely similar schedules, in that they play every team at least once but not more than twice, and they have 11 home and 11 away games.
This is where I disagree. Across all games played among all top 9 teams last year, the Dogs had the 5th best percentage of those teams. We were competitive against the league's best, and somewhat unlucky to lose matches by narrow margins.
So even if using your prefered measure - percentage rather than win/loss - you were still middle of the 9 teams in the top flight - not the best like CD shows because it cares how much you flog the shit teams by.
Frigging LOLOLOLOL.Obviously, against common opponents, a team that wins one game by 60 points and loses one game by 5 points is a better team then one that wins two games bothby 10 points. Despite the better team having 1 win 1 loss and not 2 wins - at least in the context of who you believe, out of the two teams, would be more likely to defeat a common third team.
If you don't agree with that principle (and to be clear, I'm saying it at is just a general principle, not a hard and fast rule in all scenarios and in all contexts) what are we doing here? Disagreeing with that principle and saying WINZZZZZ only matter.
The whole point of me saying it is that it was as a general principle, not as a blanket rule, and therefore context is irrelavent.
Fixturing elements? You played 3 of the top 9 twice. It was below average for th top 9 teams.Yes. The middle of the 9 teams of the top flight, which was 9 teams last year. Therefore the Dogs were approximately about the 5th best team in the league. That through a mixture of luck and fixturing elements, we were only able to translate that into finishing 9th spot on the ladder.
By the way, just so you know, if total margins across 4 different matches across the final round of footy was only 36 points for if those 4 matches had gone the other way - just 6 more goals across 4 games by losing teams - Dogs would have finished top 4 on the ladder. Therefore, it is on that basis I'm comfortable in saying that the Dogs were approximately the fifth best team last year. You'll probably disagree with this with some sort of emoji and a "WHY DIDN'T YOU FINISH HIGHER THAN 9TH THEN" as if a bone-headed refusal to acknowledge the very slight differences in fixturing and simple dumb bad luck as existing makes you correct.
I've never said I rate Richards currently as a top 5 player. Don't put words in my mouth.But back to the point, the whole notion that you rate a couple of attacking players top 5 in the league in Richards
Yes, it explicitly is. It provides quite literally dozens of pages of how it rates players against each other, for example, there is a section that compares 2015 Bontempelli to 2015 Scott Pendlebury.And if you look at that PHD - it's not about evaluating individual players from different teams
The example you provided was a final where winning margin doesn't matter. Therefore your points are valid about not racking up the score, but it's only relevant for a final. Not for the vats majority of games, which are H&A, where you can meaningfully gain the advantage of percentage by going for the jugular. And guess what? Collingwood's 6 jugular 40+ point wins - not matched by other top 8 teams last year - got you to top 4 on percentage. Good on Collingwood. They ran up scores against bad teams and benefited significantly from it. The failure of GWS and Fremantle in also racking up big wins cost them top 4.We were never going to lose that game. But Dogs in our position probably would have gone for the jugular in the last and finished them off by 8 goals. Your general rule would rate you a whole heap better, because of a different winning end-game strategy.
You vastly overstate how different footy is at different parts of the game. You're acting like if the margin reaches 60 points they introduce a rule where everyone's only allowed to kick on their opposite foot.But general rules like yours don't work if the teams have a completely different strategy in terms of player management, best way of playing when you're leading, etc.
And if you look at that PHD - it's not about evaluating individual players from different teams - that's not what the system is built for. It's built as an attempt to evaluate teams. The individual player stuff is just spin off sales from a waste product.
Whilst it is an extreme example, my first thought would be to look more closely at the information available to understand why the blow-out in game 4.Team A beat Team C by a margin of 100-99
Team A beat Team D by a margin of 90-89.
Team B loses to Team C by a margin of 100-99
Team B defeats Team D by a margin of 120-60
They were very unlucky, especially when the Dockers went on a rampage in Rd 24 scoring 11 goals to 3 in the middle 2 quarters, Bont nowhere to be seenFrigging LOLOLOLOL.
Oh boy... what ARE we doing here?!?
We won't know that until much later in the year, in the same way that everyone wrote Collingwood off before the start of 2025, after Opening Round, and again leading into the 2025 finals series.I think it’s got something to do with your insistence Collingwood are “Contending”
But don't forget, Bont was awesome that day, and it was a 'virtual final'!They were very unlucky, especially when the Dockers went on a rampage in Rd 24 scoring 11 goals to 3 in the middle 2 quarters, Bont nowhere to be seen
No current season stats available
Bont had 10 touches, 161 metres gained, 2 tackles, 2 clearances and 2 intercept possessions in the 2nd quarter of that game.They were very unlucky, especially when the Dockers went on a rampage in Rd 24 scoring 11 goals to 3 in the middle 2 quarters, Bont nowhere to be seen
The vagrancy’s of the fixture?We won't know that until much later in the year, in the same way that everyone wrote Collingwood off before the start of 2025, after Opening Round, and again leading into the 2025 finals series.
If there isn’t an emoji they aren’t at their bestBont had 10 touches, 161 metres gained, 2 tackles, 2 clearances and 2 intercept possessions in the 2nd quarter of that game.
Or should I mention his 203 metres gained and go in the 3rd quarter?
"Nowhere to be seen"
It's incredible how wrong you always are.
So a fellow Pies supporter gets something wrong, you understand it to be wrong, and somehow your response is to... pre-emptively mock the correction?But don't forget, Bont was awesome that day, and it was a 'virtual final'!
I'm glad it says 'new method' and not 'accurate method', because when in 2025 a player kicks more goals than any other player has since 2009, and that player is only ranked the 52nd best player in 2025, it doesn't do a very good job of 'assessing player performance'."Abstract
This thesis creates a new method for assessing player performance in Aus-
tralian football, specifically for an application to the Australian Football League
(AFL)."
I think you're lost, but please... tell us more about these 'vagrancy's'....The vagrancy’s of the fixture?
I’d like to think that every team has an even chance to win and I’m not going to stir the pot.
However
It does come into play and any lover of the game who can look at it with unbiased eyes recognises it.
There is also, IMO, the challenge teams whose Marvel home games have.
Which isn’t something MCG attendants need to concern themselves with but. We are talking about “contending” as you put it.
It's also inaccurate, and it can be argued even more so, to say that 41 out of 46 players played an equally bad game statistically worth zero but you seem to love that method too soI'm glad it says 'new method' and not 'accurate method', because when in 2025 a player kicks more goals than any other player has since 2009, and that player is only ranked the 52nd best player in 2025, it doesn't do a very good job of 'assessing player performance'.

I've never said I rate Richards currently as a top 5 player. Don't put words in my mouth.
Yes, it explicitly is. It provides quite literally dozens of pages of how it rates players against each other, for example, there is a section that compares 2015 Bontempelli to 2015 Scott Pendlebury.
The example you provided was a final where winning margin doesn't matter. Therefore your points are valid about not racking up the score, but it's only relevant for a final. Not for the vats majority of games, which are H&A, where you can meaningfully gain the advantage of percentage by going for the jugular. And guess what? Collingwood's 6 jugular 40+ point wins - not matched by other top 8 teams last year - got you to top 4 on percentage. Good on Collingwood. They ran up scores against bad teams and benefited significantly from it. The failure of GWS and Fremantle in also racking up big wins cost them top 4.
You vastly overstate how different footy is at different parts of the game. You're acting like if the margin reaches 60 points they introduce a rule where everyone's only allowed to kick on their opposite foot.
No, by virtue of percentage benefits, by the fact that only 4/5 players can be benched, and you know, pride the footy played in big margin games is still largely representative. Sure, not as representative as the footy played in a close game or with the score at 0-0, but still largely representative.
It's quite obvious you skimmed the thesis paper where the first 50 or so pages was about the mathematical basis of establishing location-on-the-field-equity and not the remaining 200 pages (and, you know the abstract of the paper) that then, after that establishment, discusses it in the context of rating papers. You literally just scrolled down the first 50 or so pages and are completely misinterpreting it lol and that's actually pretty funny. Read the abstract, which is essentially the summary:
"Abstract
This thesis creates a new method for assessing player performance in Aus-
tralian football, specifically for an application to the Australian Football League
(AFL)."
Your words "it's built to evaluate teams".
If that was the case, why does the first line in the first paragraph of the entire thesis literally state "this creates a new method of assessing player performance".
Am I allowed to use laughing emojis now because you tried to claim that the Thesis did something different to its literal first sentence explaining what it was doing?
?? That isn't what you were blabbering about.
Wrong.
The linear relationship exists. Per that link.
I've said numerous times that I rate Daicos as the 4th best player despite the ratings system having him 16th. The obvious corollary of such logic of how I rate Daicos is that there would be players, like Richards, that the ratings system rates 2nd but I rate outside the top 10.You don't rate Richards as a top 5 player, yet you're writing a heap about how highly you trust these player ratings of midfielders...
"It doesn't suit my argument to suggest that winning scores by big margins is good and suggests that the team doing so is actually good at the sport, because it might suggest that Bontempelli is a good player, so I'm just going to say it's not actually good.Do you understand that it's very common in a heap sports to treat all games like a final in terms of maximising the likelihood of victory without caring about precentage or net run-rate - whatever the tie breaker used is? And it's quite recent that some teams have made to playing multiple styles in one game rather than rolling out the same plan no matter what. You're not going to see Collingwood repeating that GWS final where GWS locked it down for repeat stoppage and Pies hit it the same spot and did the same thing over and over again. One repeated plan just isn't a thing anymore for many teams
Cool mate. At least it went through the PhD process of having a supervisor, being defended, and being written by someone who is clearly intelligent enough to be an academic to this level, written by one of the most senior employees of Champion Data who was in that role for a lengthy period of time.I was ridiculing the PHD - a PHD on the waste product of a system that doesn't work for it's purpose - evaluating teams. Someone has written a PHD on it's evaluation of players - which isn't actually what it's doing - it's just something they sell off - because it creates a talking point for the media and some buy it.
You're literally just telling yourself this to make yourself feel better, rather than taking the thesis for what it is... that is building upon scientific exploration of others... which is what academia and it's applications is. Isn't all academia that cites other work just the "waste product" of that work? How is any research that builds upon the research of others just not "waste product" according to your logic here? My god. This is incredible. I don't understand it, so it must be bad and therefore worthy of illogical and misguided derision. All because I just want to say Daicos good Bont bad like some caveman.The individual player stuff is just spin off sales from a waste product.