News Harley Bennell - Ends at Freo in 2019

• Thread starter Thread starter yakka man

Went onto Optus after wafl GF and can confirm it was like concrete under foot....I was shocked at how hard the surface remained after the criticism earlier in 2018. Felt reminiscent of the WACA under foot, maybe harder.

Lucky for Harley and his calves he has never had to experience it.

Bell wasn't ruthless enough last year.

Bennell was signed on for 2019 for at least a month before Bell took over. Lyon was the one that heavily influenced re-signing him. That rumour around trade period of Bell threatening his contract, if true, was just small man's syndrome. There were/are no grounds to terminate his renewed contract.

Brad Hardie who I can’t stand believes that Rosich/Lyon pushed the contract for Bennell through before Bell was appointed.

Personally I would have kept Sheridan on for another year and let Bennell go. Yet I understand the potential upside of Bennell. I just don’t think his body is up to it. And there isn’t any upside to Sheridan.

Even if Sheridan has a solid year at GWS and Bennell doesn’t manage a game it isn’t a big issue as we would be giving opportunity to another who will be around for 2020.

Let’s hope Bennell can get on the park but odds are certainly stacked against him regardless of what Ross Lyon and Colin Young have to say.

I don’t see Bennell as taking opportunity away from any of the younger players, at least for this year anyway. And from players comments during interviews, they seem suitably impressed with him during training. I’ll remain hopeful that he’ll be able to work his way back and play this year.

Anyway, as frustrating as it is for us as fans on his constant injuries, it’s probably much worse for him. If it’s not working out i think he’ll call time himself and hang up the boots.

Brad Hardie who I can’t stand believes that Rosich/Lyon pushed the contract for Bennell through before Bell was appointed.

Personally I would have kept Sheridan on for another year and let Bennell go. Yet I understand the potential upside of Bennell. I just don’t think his body is up to it. And there isn’t any upside to Sheridan.

Even if Sheridan has a solid year at GWS and Bennell doesn’t manage a game it isn’t a big issue as we would be giving opportunity to another who will be around for 2020.

Let’s hope Bennell can get on the park but odds are certainly stacked against him regardless of what Ross Lyon and Colin Young have to say.

Same, even though their decisions don't seem directly related, I would of preferred we kept the garunteed depth for our squad and someone who actually has an impact on the team's off-field culture and morale. Also even if Bennell plays again he's going to be a limited player, the projected upside and impact he had at the end of 2015 is a lot different to 2019. I still see some of his contested work in the forward half and finish for goal still being in-tact, although everything else will be down.

Also even if Bennell plays again he's going to be a limited player, the projected upside and impact he had at the end of 2015 is a lot different to 2019. I still see some of his contested work in the forward half and finish for goal still being in-tact, although everything else will be down.
Who knows? It's not like he was injury free when at Gold Coast either. In and out 3 times with injury in 2015 wasn't he? And in and out twice in the '13 and '14 seasons.

Tbh I'm kind of surprised he hasn't just given up himself - I wish people would put themselves in his shoes for a moment. And whilst he hasn't given up I still don't see the harm in keeping him on the list this season.

Who knows? It's not like he was injury free when at Gold Coast either. In and out 3 times with injury in 2015 wasn't he? And in and out twice in the '13 and '14 seasons.

Tbh I'm kind of surprised he hasn't just given up himself - I wish people would put themselves in his shoes for a moment. And whilst he hasn't given up I still don't see the harm in keeping him on the list this season.

Still averaged 16 games a season for them, probably more if you include preseason, could also add all the games he was dropped for disciplinary reasons and not injury. His body is a lot different now to what it was at the Gold Coast and I actually had a think before about how convincingly would he actually be able to get a B22 spot considering how he would be used and presumably protected.

Like I said before, it's frustrating for everyone involved but I'm convinced we're at true breaking point with him now. Hope I'm wrong but I also said that throughout the course of the last three years.

A good employer will always be transparent with its employees.

Tbh I'm kind of surprised he hasn't just given up himself

Whether he plays or not he's still making 200k+ a year for doing laps of the oval. Why would anyone voluntarily give that up?

It's only 200k. I know a heck of a lot of people who get paid a fair bit more than that that don't have to keep their bodies in pristine shape, don't have to watch everything they eat, don't have to deal with media scrutiny, don't have to push their bodies to the limit, and get to do the off season stuff we see a lot more regularly than footballers do. And of course it's unlikely Harley is going to find himself in a job like that outside of football but I don't think we should pretend it is an easy life for the money they make.

I don’t think he was saying it was easy. Just the best option for Harley atm and not one he’d easily give up.

Mate there would be more to it than what people think but it's a pretty good gig getting 200k in your 20s to play sport.

I don’t think he was saying it was easy. Just the best option for Harley atm and not one he’d easily give up.
True. But a lot of players do give it up when it's probably the best option for them as well, and that's even when they've been through just a small fraction of what Harley's been through. I just think he deserves a bit of credit for sticking with it. The easy option would have been to give up. He wants to play as much as we want him to I'm sure. The off field stuff has been blown so out of proportion - and media uses every opportunity to stick the knives in, and it appears to be contagious ;)

What players give it up when it's their best option? They are either forced to because they're delisted/injured/ill, or they have other options that pay well enough for them to surviive and are less work. WTF is Bennell going to do if he gives away footy? He's not halfway through an MBA.

Balic did just last year. Was he half way through an MBA? Thomas Bugg retired just the other week to be a social media influencer... ha ha ha ha... Michael Apeness retired because he wasn't willing to go through the rehab again. The vast majority of AFL footballers don't have amazing high paying jobs waiting for them when they finish football. Bennell is hardly alone in his circumstances. Or does he have less chance of finding similar average paying work because he isn't...?

Balic was on the gear and had mental health problems i.e. he was ill. Bugg was on the rookie list on minimum pay and obviously fancies life as an influencer and who knows what that pays - people make livings off their youtube channels these days. Apeness was moved onto the rookie list and saw two new talls brought in.
You can argue it all you like but very few players leave AFL when it is their best option to stay, mostly their hand is forced

True. But a lot of players do give it up when it's probably the best option for them as well

I can't think of a single player who voluntarily gave up footy when offered a large contract to keep playing.

It's almost always a lack of contract offered, medical or age reasons forcing people to retire.

I'm not trying to give him a Victoria Cross guys... I just wanted to say something nice about his efforts sticking with it, without it resorting to a "but he's just in it for the money" generalisation... The media have excelled in completely assassinating his character. You guys are Freo supporters and yet seem to want to fight to the death to stop someone from supporting him. Good work media, Bravo!

Long post - skip if you do not like dribble - but it is semi positive, with a slice of reality - something 6pr struggle with unless it is wrapped in blue and yellow.

I still think Bennell was worth the punt, it still might work out. They clearly have Bennell in cotton wool, and any signs of anything and he is on restricted duties. "Not ideal" as the furor would say. It is not like we have given away much to keep him on the list. Those that will be fighting for a game in 2019 from the main list :
1. Ballantyne
2. Matera
3. Darcy
5. Crowdern
6. Hughes
7. Dixon
8. Tucker
9. Taberner
10. Kersten
11. McCarthy
12. North
13. Sturt
14. Schultz
15. Valente
16. Meek
17. Coyler
18. Bewley
19. Cox
20. Switkowski
21. Jones
22. Banfield
23. Duman
Then rookies :
24. Carter
25. Giro
26. Nyhuis
27. Watson

Of this list, I could easily drop 10 players and I would still pick Bennell for a 1 year contract in the chance, just the chance that he gets a run at it. Is it going to happen?

After the recent setback, maybe not, but still maybe. Why? The bloke is simply ahead of everyone on this list by a long way, and he is ahead of most blokes that are starting 22. There is no foul in keeping him on the list in my opinion. If he was a fringe player, he would have been chopped a long time ago.

Is it a story? Yes. Is it boring? Yes? Does it reflect anything in the Freo culture? Nope, maybe just that they will support players through injury. Spin : write what you like - it is simple math to me - keep your best players, support the best with injuries until no later than age 28* depending on type of injury and number of times (and role - forwards\rucks can have restricted roles).

Put it this way. If Nic Nat does another knee when he comes back - do they chop him? Obviously different personalities and marketability, but the reality is that they are hired athletes. Stupid rhetoric - yep, definitely cut him.

Lastly, does our club need Harley? The answer is our club does not need anyone, and at the same time it needs everyone. The culture and message needs to be ubiquitous and that is work hard, do the right things by the club and team mates, and strive for success. If we analyse incidents at Freo, then Harley has been relatively clean, so he gets a pass there. WTF clean - yeah check the history - he is actually mild compared to others. He has been reportedly one of the hardest on the training track so he gets a tick there. He is one of the most skilled, and best decision makers so he gets a tick there.

The body is the issue. Unfortunately it looks like it might not be up to him anymore.

I will say this. At least the bloke gave himself the best opportunity in adversity to give it a red hot crack. There have been many that have simply turned to the easy option of this is all too hard, and I was not made for this. Josh Simpson, that bloke that went to Hawthorn, Sylvia (a very tragic story). Point? Well Harley has never given up, he probably tries too hard, and his burst speed is the cause and the problem.

That is my opinion. I know that many believe that the next spot on our list could be a magical pick - the next Mic Barlow - but please - spare me. He was pick 8 in the rookie draft and had been tried at 2 AFL clubs. We are talking about an end pick in the rookie draft, or keeping a player (like Sheridan - who is simply not on the starting 22 by a long, long way.)

Keeping Harley means nothing to our list, as much as Ballantyne and Kersten - they provide cover but will unlikely be in the team much in 2019. A fit Harley is a lock starting 12 player. Do the math, you keep Harley until he turns 27 in October 2019. At that point, you pull the trigger early on the 28 rule. However at 26 he is worth the investment, and it is an investment. It is a speculative investment in a high risk area, with high dividends, with low costs associated.

Who would have thought Zac Clarke could have come good? Now 28 and a premiership WAFL player, and back onto an AFL list.

Hope you enjoyed the read. I have a boat to catch - going crabbing.