Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency XIII

I've got no love for the bombers but I tip my hat to you guys for standing your ground. **** em, make them pay or hit the road. 👊

Feel the same way about how you guys handed the Curnow situation. Will always hate the Blues but mad respect for how your club handled that and your haul. That's what it should take to dislodge an elite player under contract.

It’s insane to me that this is a real thread on the hawthorn board the amount of complaining about us not accepting is hilarious over there
Hilarious. And their mods are ****wits.

It’s insane to me that this is a real thread on the hawthorn board the amount of complaining about us not accepting is hilarious over there
beware the norf bored lol

Curnow and Petracca were contracted players and cost similar. Merrett is slightly older but is a club captain and by far the healthiest of the 3.
Yeah I don't think they should have been worth what they got either but he's your player so you're perfectly fine with asking what you want for him.

Depends on if WCE North or Richmond want him. All of these teams have money to burn and if they are willing to bring him in there’s nothing he can do
Our club has just announced we wont be going for Ah Chee. So there is one less. But Adelaide will most likely grab him, or one of the other bottom clubs.
Our fans think we should but it is what it is I guess.

Melts on the Hawforn board are hilarious 🤣

Lol, their 3 so called "first round" offers were garbage pick 10 (16) 22 (2nd round) and F1st (see pick 22) nowhere near it.
boncer34 summed it up, that revised suggestion was essentially the same shitty offer with minimal changes in pick numbers

Yep

They offered 9 and 31 for 10 and 22 to the blues

Crazy for them to think that moved the needle after we barely responded to them previously

I thought it was a okay offer tbh. I don’t think it was Rosa’s call either as it needed board approval.

I’m clearly bias here but it’s a werid decision by hawks to wait so late and not have two legit firsts to hand over. Then setting the 7pm deadline? Why play games.

Targeting a superstar captain means present a good offer day one. Give both teams the full period to engage everyone to try figure a win win out.

I think my favourite part is that our people sat in our meeting room all afternoon calmly doing their jobs while Petroro ran up and down the corridor, gesticulated and yelled at Hawthorn people and Hawthorn’s own staff were all itchy the whole time like they weren’t quite sure what their next move was or what they wanted to do.

Completely different atmosphere

Bravo Matty Rosa
Serious grapefruits
Fiorini was a good get.
Stil reckon we might trade for pick 2
Who was it you are after at pick 2? CDT?
I'm hoping Eagles get a decent offer for pick 2, so we can get an extra player in the top 10.

Eagles selectors are always very secretive but guessing we will get Duursma at #1.

Personally, I want the eagles to get Duursma and Patterson. Looks like GC have not left themselves with enough points to bid on him.

Also other clubs have gotten better adding players, Hawks stand still and Pies regress. Game moves fast and they'll rue trying to be dickheads.

This is also a message to other clubs that when we have contracted A graders we wont buckle at the knees cos you come knocking and you'll actually have to play ball like Sydney and Gold Coast. Also a message to our players that contracts are there for a reason.

This will galvanise us.

EAD hawthorne

It may galvanise supporters for a couple days but it won’t galvanise the club. Your captain, who doesn’t want to be there, has to return even more unhappy and will probably ask to leave again next year where you’ll get a worse offer.

I just don’t understand it, he’s 31 next year, you’re in a rebuild, take the picks and accelerate the rebuild. This actually sets you guys back years. I thought it was a fair offer considering his age.

Why did you want to keep a guy who doesn’t want to be at the club and won’t be playing the next time you’re contending for finals?

It may galvanise supporters for a couple days but it won’t galvanise the club. Your captain, who doesn’t want to be there, has to return even more unhappy and will probably ask to leave again next year where you’ll get a worse offer.

I just don’t understand it, he’s 31 next year, you’re in a rebuild, take the picks and accelerate the rebuild. This actually sets you guys back years. I thought it was a fair offer considering his age.

Why did you want to keep a guy who doesn’t want to be at the club and won’t be playing the next time you’re contending for finals?
It galvanises the rest of the playing group potentially against him. Depends if they have spines or not.

We’ve got a heap of early picks, we need leaders who can set the standard. Yeah Zach might be a whinger, a sook, a turncoat but my word he shows his teammates how to get to work on the field.

If you rip the guts out of the club with adequate replacements you run the risk of becoming another North. You need to strike a balance and without a decent player coming back in return and a collection of mid to late first rounders it was never going to cut it. Just look at what Melbourne and Carlton received and tell me we were getting a good deal.

At a minimum they needed to put Pick 9, 2026 F1 and 2027 F1 on the table and a second rounder in there somewhere would’ve been the sweetener. Position of picks on the first round means everything and theirs weren’t cutting the mustard…

I don’t necessarily know if people on here just claim to follow football but don’t really pay attention, but picks are just about the last thing we need.

We already have just about the best hand in this draft and continue to heavily invest in youth even without moving Merrett. We’re already far too young as a cohort, hence our consistent messaging on players needing to be involved.

What the club hasn’t been able to demonstrate in my living memory is that they are aligned from the top down, they all want the same thing and are willing to have an uncomfortable discussion. That to me shows we are fair dinkum and it’s really game on starting right now.

I would have been happy to deal him out on our terms, but they weren’t met, the Hawks were happy to lead him down the garden path and then leave him at the altar, so fair play to them I guess for pissing Merrett and Petroro off for no real reason?

Pendles At the same age in 2017 collingwood finished 13th. Would you go back and trade him for pick 14,27 and the year after 20?

….i would have accepted the offer, but it wasn’t that strong when you see the real pics that’ll be used.

31 next year

Will play all of 2026 at 30. Will play all of 2027 at 31.

Same as Trac.

but it won’t galvanise the club.

Will galvanise both the supporters and the club. Already has.

It's also a matter of principle. We'll have more A graders someday, and if you bend the knee now you bend the knee in the future. Clubs need to know to be serious. Players also need to know that we won't bend or fold easily on contracts.

#15 + #25 in a shit draft + #21 next year and a player I had to ****ing Google is not a point of difference enough to outweigh all of that. Would rather galvanise the club while we continue the rebuild we're already on and bet on Merrett having more good years left in him, all while not handing the Hawks a flag on a platter.

Won’t be playing the next time you’re contending for finals?

Haha the inner troll comes out at the end. It's more likely you guys win the ****ing spoon by then.

Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency XIII