Review Dees v the Suns and no Trac: the Good, the Bad and the Fugly

Seems the mainstream news are all now taking notice of Melbourne - and the players are also having fun and starting to believe.

Melksham, who will play his 250th AFL game next week, said it is “super exciting” to keep up their winning ways under King.

“There is no way anyone in the footy fraternity thought that we were a shot at anything this year,” he said.

“To win these first three games and win the way that we’re winning has been super exciting and we’ve come to shock the competition.

“We’re getting up, we’ve got a side full of youth and excitement — modern-day players with speed and flair. We’re having a good time out here.”

“I want them (supporters) to get excited about what they’re seeing,” King said.

“(We’ve got) a team of experienced legends of our club that have won the ultimate and a group of young men that are experiencing things for the first time.

“We want to be a team that can challenge in every phase of the game and be dangerous with and without the ball and be fun to watch.”

That's right up there with that journalists asking Chris Scott if he was happy that Trac has settled in to his knew club. Really strange question. Thing is it's not like the old days where he could have meant some other Jack. There are no other Jack's

These are Make a Wish journalist's surely?

My unexpected favourite part of kingball is the absence of the always present "we haven't kicked a goal in 40 minutes, let's try swapping which end petty or tmac is at".

You just knew the game was done whenever goody swung that pearler.

Crowd was small but very loud in the second half. Melksham taking the hanger sent the members stand around me into orbit.

Great vibes, a ton of fun. Pickett to Pickett football is incredibly entertaining.

Good: Defensive pressure from quarter time onwards. Guys like Chandler, Sparrow leading the way.
Bad: Tom Mcdonald's fumble in 20m of space that lead to a goal. Then getting rag dolled by Walter.
Ugly: My smugness is going to get really bad after Sparrow continues to be a gun now that he actually gets his role. Also Windsor proving that he certainly is never, and will never, be elite.

****, felt like a kid watching Danihers team again this afternoon. Pure unbridled joy.

-Kozzy makes Nas look like Jay Kennedy Harris.
-Melksham will be pulling goals out of his arse when he's 50.
-Gawn deserves to be mentioned amongst the greatest few players of his era.
-Steele was awesome.
-Tholstrup was solid, if he managed to kick the ball off his foot instead of his shin on a few occasions it would have been a great game.

After hearing sKing talk publicly a few times post appointment, I thought we'd copped Robo Goody v2. How wrong was I.... you look at teams like Carlton and Essendon stuck with yesterday's men and I just feel extremely fortunate that he's ours.

David Zita just said we should get Fritsch back next week, too.

Easy swap for Laurie, who heads to the 'never again' pile.

Fugly: This reporters career.

Second worst question i've heard this year. The first being the reporter who asked Chris Scott after his side got smashed by the suns in opening round 'if it was good to see Petracca playing footy happy?'

Just got home. Amazing game. My takes:

Terrible crowd, but boy it was loud for 1/4 capacity.
I think we have got the list in a pretty bloody good shape. Transition and run is night and day difference.
Sparrow cops a lot of ^&*( from supporters but the guy runs all day and gives his all.
Checkers and Steele probably the best 2 senior recruits we have ever brought in.
Chandler becoming a favorite. Real Mongrel about him.
Kozzy worth every cent. You can feel the crowds energy when he goes near it.
Max has free drinks for life. Anywhere he goes.
Sharp could really elevate game if he cleaned up his disposal.
That bald umpire needs to be investigated. 2 calls had to be over ruled and missed 2-3 EASY HTB right in front of him. Terrible.
Tmac. He has been a solid warrior for some god awful times, but we really to find a replacement soon.

Imagine what King could have done with Tracs game.
It’s only 4 games and I know it’s boring, however, King is making Goodwin look stupider by the week. I would’ve taken 0-4 if we’d shown a bit. 3-1 is out of this world, imagine if we’d had a coach of this calibre from 22-25. We certainly win a final, probably feature in a prelim and it isn’t total nuff territory to think that another GF or flag was possible.

After being gaslit with “working incredibly hard/contest defence” for years, we’re being shown that you don’t have to work incredibly hard to score, in fact it’s almost the opposite. Thank Christ for Guerra and the board acting to remove Goodwin last year, we probably win the spoon and still have Trac and Clarry on the books stinking it up.

Bit of feral at the footy, the new era is here 😍

View attachment 2573338
lol, saw this just now watching the recording, its after Langford's goal for anyone wondering. She really carries on for a while swearing her little heart out.

Good: Small crowd but the acoustics were great. Genuinely sounded like 45-50k. Robbo and the game-day team need to take a bow again. Vibes are brilliant. Was great to see Lego Kosi burn that kid in the sprint :laughing:

Bad: Umpiring. As a neutral watching, it was horrendous. It wasn't just the frees/missed frees, but basic stuff. The 8m kicks being paid marks for the Suns was Auskick level officiating.

Fugly: The Saints giving away Steele.

how good is it watching these close games knowing that we can hit the scoreboard? i actually enjoy them now and are don't get too worried that we're going to lose.
for the last few years Goodwin made close games feel like absolute torture, grinding it out playing crap footy and then we usually lost the game anyway to top it all off.
So much this.

I wasn't able to watch from about halfway through the third quarter but checking my phone and seeing us keep kicking goals in reply was genuinely a weird sensation. I honestly refreshed the page a couple of times coz I thought "this must be wrong".

It’s only 4 games and I know it’s boring, however, King is making Goodwin look stupider by the week. I would’ve taken 0-4 if we’d shown a bit. 3-1 is out of this world, imagine if we’d had a coach of this calibre from 22-25. We certainly win a final, probably feature in a prelim and it isn’t total nuff territory to think that another GF or flag was possible.

After being gaslit with “working incredibly hard/contest defence” for years, we’re being shown that you don’t have to work incredibly hard to score, in fact it’s almost the opposite. Thank Christ for Guerra and the board acting to remove Goodwin last year, we probably win the spoon and still have Trac and Clarry on the books stinking it up.
I reckon goody is suffering a bit right now with all the praise for sKing.

Makes me sound like a campaigner, but **** him. We supporters had to suffer his shit for years.

Great game to watch as a natural, I’m petrified of the thought of what you guys are gonna do to us. I was a bit saddened by the crowd turn of only 24k. That trade with north Melbourne in 2018 that landed you pick 11 to get Pickett was unreal, you might genuinely have a top 5 player in the game.

It also gives me hope about getting a quality coach and seeing how quick things change, I’m really interested in James Kelly, who you guys I think had second after king. Anyways I’m dreading next week, and to win playing in that manner was so good to watch, it really reminds me of the 2021 grand final where you just slapped up bulldogs but you’re able to pull that type of football more often.
Mate it’s Easter Sunday afternoon against an interstate side. It’s an absolute graveyard fixture.

Sick game of footy, we really controlled that outside of the first 10-15 mins.

Sparrows tackling in the 2nd half was sick. Whole team's desperation to hunt the footy and the man was 10/10. Also thought Windsor's tackling was great.

Gawny, Koz and Steele were excellent. Steele is looking like a fantastic pick up, was brutal around the ball and was also very composed and brought others into the game nicely. He also seems to be moving pretty well, definitely playing much better footy than the last few years at the Saints.

Chin and Sharp have been really solid and consistent this year. Latrelle kicking that goal after getting smashed in the contest was awesome, ground went bananas.

Howes very clean and composed. Also loved us playing the clock nicely in the last. You can tell the players are loving having a bit more freedom on the field, they're actually using their brains to think through situations instead of panicking and bombing it. Our inside 50s were also very good quality generally with very little bombs - meant Ballard/Collins/Andrew couldn't intercept on us. Also liked Roots effort and presenting all day.

Great day at footy. Kozzy pickett Lego race character needs to be nerfed