Review Dees v the Suns and no Trac: the Good, the Bad and the Fugly

• Thread starter Thread starter Biffinator

Never been particularly fond of these ratings, but we got three of the top four this week so I'm temporarily a fan

View attachment 2574619
I'm sorry, I see 4/4. How dare you ignore club champion Grundy like that!

Seriously, I love the man. A great human being who I wish nothing but the best.

Bad

Crowd size. Shame there weren't more there to see it. Footy was electric and it was a perfect day. I get it was Easter Sunday, but not even 25k? C'mon Dees fans. The team is playing the most watchable footy we've seen in ages. Show up for the boys. Watching the game today where the G is packed, and we can only get 24k. Hopefully we show up against the Lions in a couple of weeks.
We're just not that big of a club man, our record against the Suns is 28k in round 1 , 2015.

Also I love the Dees and went to the other 2 MCG games, but I'm not passing up a holiday with my family and friends to go to a single game that had a possibility of not being a good experience lol

God it's funny reading oppo boards (particularly from other rebuilding teams) and seeing all this jealousy about how we're playing/how we've already gone past their team etc.

We've done a full 180 and are an exciting team again. Pretty incredible turnaround.
Saints one is pretty funny with their reactions to Steele's renaissance.

Unsure if anyone else has said this -

I just watched this again. I wonder if the reporter meant to say Jake (Melk) instead of Jack? Felt like SKing picked up on this when he said it was a reminder of what he was capable of.

Yeah, the actual reporter put out a tweet saying that - Doesn't make it any better after 4 goals and a potential mark of the year though...
Honestly seemed like it was just a crap attempt at a joke.

Thank goody for changing the game plan last season, we had the second fastest ball movement in 2025, king has improved the game plan, and has given the players the freedom in which to play that game plan, Goodwin implemented a faster ball movement but was not the right coach to be able to teach that kind of ball movement, with his defence mentally, the biggest change has been our all out attack, which has improved our close game finishing, it doesn't matter whether we are 20 points up, in the last quarter, or 20 points down, we play the same way we try and kick goals, until of course in the last 3 minutes, when we keep the ball and kick backwards and across. So thanks Goodwin, but it's great that you are gone also.

Far out watching the replay we had them on toast in the 3rd, could’ve put the game to bed if we finished better, but that’s okay.

Our midfield dominance is the most surprising thing early on this season, so much dash coming out, but also the defensive side with our tackling, Gold Coast looked bog standard compared.

Far out watching the replay we had them on toast in the 3rd, could’ve put the game to bed if we finished better, but that’s okay.

Our midfield dominance is the most surprising thing early on this season, so much dash coming out, but also the defensive side with our tackling, Gold Coast looked bog standard compared.
Yeah think we hit the post twice plus Sharpies miss? Game should have been over.

Melbourne v Gold Coast​

10 Max Gawn (MELB)
8 Jack Steele (MELB)
6 Kysaiah Pickett (MELB)
4 Tom Sparrow (MELB)
2 Jake Melksham (MELB)

LEADERBOARD​

29 Max Gawn (MELB)
28 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
25 Zak Butters (PORT)
24 Nick Daicos (COLL)
20 Christian Petracca (GCFC)
19 Will Ashcroft (BL)
19 Caleb Serong (FRE)
18 Callum Wilkie (STK)
16 Aliir Aliir (PORT)
16 Shai Bolton (FRE)
16 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
16 Kysaiah Pickett (MELB)
15 Harley Reid (WCE)
15 Josh Treacy (FRE)

24K from a smaller vic club against the suns is an okay showing for Easter Sunday

30K from Richmond against the suns is a poor showing for a regulation Saturday afternoon game

On a personal note I was tempted to go, but ****ed my back up good playing Good Friday. Being a country member sucks ass anyways, V/Line with the month of free travel cancelled all reservations for the month because assholes where spamming and hording reserved tickets once it got announced it was free.

Upon weighing up the possibility of going into Melbourne (yes for free) but maybe having to stand the entire two and a half hour journey with a sore back because there is no guarantee of getting a seat and then repeat on the way home, I decided it was more fun to watch it on the TV with friends

It's also cancelled my plans to go to ANZAC day eve

Tholstrup, Langford, Lindsay, Windsor midfield group could be future premiership nucleus in 5-6 years, or multiple busts. Not the same visible ceiling/certainty that you could see with Trac, Viney, Oliver and Brayshaw (being played out of position doesn't help), but key is that they have Kossie and Sparrow mkII plus Steele leading them, Kossie and Steele being genuinely elite players that Jones, Tyson and Cross weren't. Bernie played some all time great MFC footy but was older/not so durable and never going to last until the younger guys peaked.

May Steele have many seasons left in him. May Latrelle continue to be as high impact as he was on Sunday. May Sparrow's two weeks of decency become two more flags. May Howes keep doing everything.

We're just not that big of a club man, our record against the Suns is 28k in round 1 , 2015.

Also I love the Dees and went to the other 2 MCG games, but I'm not passing up a holiday with my family and friends to go to a single game that had a possibility of not being a good experience lol
We have plenty of supporters. We just have a lot of shitty one's who only show up in finals or big games. I know heaps of Dees supporters who have never bought a membership or bother to show up to any other games but the Tigers Anzac Game or Queens Birthday. I understand we have a smaller supporter base than some of the big clubs, but we still had 71k members at one point plus all the MCC members who barrack for the club. We wanted change and got it and tbh playing the most exciting footy we've seen in a very long time. 24k was a poor return. Probably half those were in MCC. Finals a few year ago we definitely equalled some of the bigger clubs in numbers at the games. Our fans are out there. Hopefully see some show up moving forward now we're playing an attractive brand.

Tholstrup, Langford, Lindsay, Windsor midfield group could be future premiership nucleus in 5-6 years, or multiple busts. Not the same visible ceiling/certainty that you could see with Trac, Viney, Oliver and Brayshaw (being played out of position doesn't help), but key is that they have Kossie and Sparrow mkII plus Steele leading them, Kossie and Steele being genuinely elite players that Jones, Tyson and Cross weren't. Bernie played some all time great MFC footy but was older/not so durable and never going to last until the younger guys peaked.

May Steele have many seasons left in him. May Latrelle continue to be as high impact as he was on Sunday. May Sparrow's two weeks of decency become two more flags. May Howes keep doing everything.
Way too early to say this and we aren't about to win a flag from 7th next year but it's giving me Bulldogs 2015. Widely tipped for the bottom 4 after they axed McCartney (who developed their midfield guns and ours in record time) and lost Griffen, played with something like 'nothing to lose' freedom under new coach, and a bunch of kids who in a sudden reset were able to thrive in different roles under a coach who gave them confidence to play a more natural game.

Need to see us play the Hawks or Dogs or Swans or Lions at the MCG ASAP so can tell where we are really at. R6 to KB going to be a lot of fun. Glad we get to play the Dockers again at the MCG too (though our double ups are brutal for a side that finished bottom 5 last year, Dogs, Hawks, Dockers and Suns could end up being the top 4, plus Richmond and Essendon).

It's fantastic to see us playing well. But yeah, gotta cool the jets i reckon. Can just as easily see us losing to the Bombers this week. It's not going to be linear the results. I don't think most Dees fans are getting carried away, but it looks like the team have no ceiling. I don't think I've heard the word rebuild used once. Doesn't give the club or players an out. Expectations within I'm assuming are still high. Maybe not premiership high, but making finals or at least the wildcard weekend would be an achievable result I'm assuming. Will be interesting if we can sustain this run and gun style all season. When the grounds get heavy, we might see a dip.

I don't think I've heard the word rebuild used once. Doesn't give the club or players an out. Expectations within I'm assuming are still high. Maybe not premiership high, but making finals or at least the wildcard weekend would be an achievable result I'm assuming. Will be interesting if we can sustain this run and gun style all season. When the grounds get heavy, we might see a dip.
Yeah that's what's so exciting. Everyone took the piss when King said that we saw ourselves as a top 8 side bc the fans were convinced we were going to finish bottom 5, which was fair looking at the team on paper before R1, but clearly they see the team playing together the way that it is to be more than the sum of its part.

You're right in that a loss to a bottom side is inevitable. Could v well be Essendon or ANZAC Eve. 2015 Dogs lost to the Saints and us who were both trash plus the 17th placed Lions but still came within 7 points of beating Adelaide in the finals. Won't forget the absolute thrashing they gave us in the repeat game in 2015 though, one of worst obliterations we've experienced which is saying something.

The real interest this year isn't us playing finals, it's how the kids go about it against the top sides. Dockers game was brutal but they're a different beast in Perth and just especially structured to thrash us like they did twice last year, was ineviable. Excited for every game we have at the MCG against the contenders. Crows in Adelaide and Suns return game in GC should also be good, we did well in both of those encounters last year. If we can kill a few giants this season I'll be stoked even if we miss finals because we're up and down against our fellow bottom sides from last year.

Melbourne v Gold Coast​

10 Max Gawn (MELB)
8 Jack Steele (MELB)
6 Kysaiah Pickett (MELB)
4 Tom Sparrow (MELB)
2 Jake Melksham (MELB)

LEADERBOARD​

29 Max Gawn (MELB)
28 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
25 Zak Butters (PORT)
24 Nick Daicos (COLL)
20 Christian Petracca (GCFC)
19 Will Ashcroft (BL)
19 Caleb Serong (FRE)
18 Callum Wilkie (STK)
16 Aliir Aliir (PORT)
16 Shai Bolton (FRE)
16 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
16 Kysaiah Pickett (MELB)
15 Harley Reid (WCE)
15 Josh Treacy (FRE)
Ha id swear dimma went to King and said **** it we lost who did you rate I'll give em the votes.

Thank goody for changing the game plan last season, we had the second fastest ball movement in 2025, king has improved the game plan, and has given the players the freedom in which to play that game plan, Goodwin implemented a faster ball movement but was not the right coach to be able to teach that kind of ball movement, with his defence mentally, the biggest change has been our all out attack, which has improved our close game finishing, it doesn't matter whether we are 20 points up, in the last quarter, or 20 points down, we play the same way we try and kick goals, until of course in the last 3 minutes, when we keep the ball and kick backwards and across. So thanks Goodwin, but it's great that you are gone also.
I think you can see someone for Stockholm syndrome

Need to see us play the Hawks or Dogs or Swans or Lions at the MCG ASAP so can tell where we are really at. R6 to KB going to be a lot of fun. Glad we get to play the Dockers again at the MCG too (though our double ups are brutal for a side that finished bottom 5 last year, Dogs, Hawks, Dockers and Suns could end up being the top 4, plus Richmond and Essendon).
At least we have a win against the Suns to offset the rough draw. Need to beat the gimmes both times and maybe pinch another one against the good teams.

The real interest this year isn't us playing finals, it's how the kids go about it against the top sides. Dockers game was brutal but they're a different beast in Perth and just especially structured to thrash us like they did twice last year, was ineviable. Excited for every game we have at the MCG against the contenders. Crows in Adelaide and Suns return game in GC should also be good, we did well in both of those encounters last year. If we can kill a few giants this season I'll be stoked even if we miss finals because we're up and down against our fellow bottom sides from last year.
We beat Freo last year. It was a Pickett special.