Mod. Notice VALE @The Other Dean (& best wishes McGooley - NMFC BF's behind you)

If there is one situation to sum up Dean, it was the night of Roosistence.

He was on edge all night and had to go take a nervous leak. In true Dean style, it coincided with the exact moment that Tim Rogers tried to call him up on the stage to acknowledge him. And everyone is looking around, wondering where he is, word makes it back that he’s in the dunny.

Needless to say when he finally emerged, he was pretty chuffed that he managed to avoid the spotlight.

See you round old mate.

****. I’m so sorry, sending love to his family and friends. He meant a lot to all of us and we’ll always remember what he did to save our club.

I wonder if it's possible to compile his most memorable/liked posts/takes in his honour. It would be good that everyone here is familiar with his body of work.

I recall liking a fair few of his posts in my time.

Wouldn't be that easy ...

one thing about getting old is that you don't keep up with music the way you might have.

TOD was the perfect cheat code. Every year he'd do a thread full of music I'd missed or bands I'd never heard of that were great and we have ... had pretty similar tastes in music mostly.

But one thing I'll never understand is how he could hate Cold Chisel and especially Khe Sahn.

"Its a song about a Vietnam Vet with severe PTSD on his way to the airport with a pocket full of speed so he can blow all his money in brothels in SE Asia. In the bloody '70s. Its literature..." grumble grumble. "What about Star Hotel or Four Walls then?" Hrrmuuuumph.

Even the smartest of us still haave our dumb biases lol.

**** Cancer.

But one thing I'll never understand is how he could hate Cold Chisel and especially Khe Sahn.

He mentioned to me that he once got ejected from a Cold Chisel gig, so maybe he held a grudge?

Awful news. Undeserved, unfair and can only imagine how hard it must be for his family and loved ones.

Rest in peace TOD.

Chief - TOD as an ex-mod of the site, FYI if you're not already aware. Wondering if perhaps there is something that can be done to acknowledge his contributions here?

I don’t think I personally had any interactions with TOD, he may of largely stopped posting around the time I started reading/participating.

It’s clear though he was loved and respected by many on here, so thoughts and condolences to you all in the BF North community.

And sincere condolences to his friends and family IRL.

I know you are another night owl, Toes, but it was always so nice to check Bigfooty in the morning and find a bunch of likes and thoughtful replies and new posts that Dean had left overnight, like Christmas presents.

LOL this is so true.

The last PM I got from him on BigFooty (before most of our communication went to text message) was from 1:30am.

I first met The Other Dean at the Roosistence gig. I was already a few beers in, I dare say he was too. I was new to BF and thought I had joined some cool new club .... anyway, I explained Rickety, he explained The Other Dean, though be fecked if I could ever remember his name was Dean whenever I saw him :-D and just called him Todd. Ended up there only being 1 Dean in anycase! Over the next little while we might share a beer, though more often a bit of a chat while heading off wherever either of us was heading to. I reckon I bumped into him at the show once .... maybe.
Swapped a message or 2 an age ago now .... bloke wasn't just part of the furniture, he's folklore. Alternative folklore perhaps.
RIP mate.

Terribly sad news, RIP Dean and condolences to his family.

Sometimes you whip through a thread quickly and skip some / many posters but whenever I saw a TOD post, I would read it regardless. He was an adept wordsmith. Will be missed around here for sure.

Absolute shithouse news.

We've lost some incredible people over the years, and TOD ranks right up there with the best.

Rest in Peace Dean, you will go down as an incredibly important piece of not only North Melbourne BF, but the club itself. We will be forever thankful.

TOD set a standard on here of wit, humour and kindness that was rarely matched.

I can never remember seeing him write a cross word to anyone or about anyone.

He never took himself or his role on here too seriously and through the highs and lows these past 20 whatever years he always offered a glimmer that things would get better for Nmfc.

Before his illness he took some time away from here and the place was worse for it;and whenever he popped back in for some posts I hung on every word typed.

For me, on here, he was never “the other”, he was ‘The Dean’

Will be sadly missed here

Go well TOD😭
Well said Gaso. He was one of the funniest, most insightful posters on a forum with plenty of great posters. And as you say kind, I remember him welcoming me almost immediately I posted on BF. He will indeed be sadly missed.