Player Watch #14 Callum Mills (c)

Callum_Mills_2017.4.jpg

Callum Mills

Callum Mills is one of the best young players in the AFL. The QBE Sydney Swans Academy graduate won the 2016 AFL Rising Star award and was selected in the AFL Players’ Association’s 22Under22 team in three of his four eligible years. Mills is a small defender with uncompromising courage who’s also capable of shifting through the midfield. The New South Welshman was elevated to Sydney’s leadership group during the 2018 pre-season at the age of just 21, and he’s now a member of a five-man leadership panel alongside co-captains Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker and Dane Rampe, as well as Lance Franklin.

Callum Mills
DOB: 02 April 1997
DEBUT: 2016
DRAFT: #3, 2015 National Draft
RECRUITED FROM: North Shore (NSW)

Headphones , is this taking the piss
I am with you on this one. Not because I can't hear the questions (I can) or because I need to hear the questions (I don't), but because the club literally addressed this issue in the past with fans, and went through a phase of providing subtitles during the questions, and even during the answers. So they're aware it's an issue for some supporters, but obviously aren't interested in doing a thing about it.

(I am on a tear at this stage)

I am with you on this one. Not because I can't hear the questions (I can) or because I need to hear the questions (I don't), but because the club literally addressed this issue in the past with fans, and went through a phase of providing subtitles during the questions, and even during the answers. So they're aware it's an issue for some supporters, but obviously aren't interested in doing a thing about it.

Yep it's all well and good the club talking about diversity and inclusion and promoting the club as one for all supporters, but the old saying of practice what you preach does come to mind.

There will be plenty of Swans fans who are deaf/hard of hearing.
There will be a cost associated with subtitles, but if inclusivity comes at a price,so be it.

No Bedford, it's not. Wearing headphones works from some people. it's a valid and genuine suggestion.
Tell me this then Ticky 009:, i don't have headphones and i'm watching on the Swans website , why should i need them ! Should they say that if you put them on you can hear the questions , turn it up .

Tell me this then , i don't have headphones and i'm watching on the Swans website , why should i need them ! Should they say that if you put them on you can hear the questions , turn it up .
You shouldn't. And I 100% agree that not hearing the questions clearly during interviews is annoying. But also no need to have a go at another poster who finds using headphones is useful to them in those circumstances, it was a suggestion kindly meant.

I said headphones is this taking the piss , it was question . Wouldn't even know where to start , do i buy headphones to listen to reporters asking questions to swans players on our website ?

Headphones , is this taking the piss
No, it's not... but hey, I don't care, I was just trying to help. You just continue not hearing the questions.

PS They generally come with you phone... or if you cant' find them, buy a cheap pair at Woolies / Coles.

1670266642390.png

Jesus! Write to the bloody club! They will tell you they are not responsible for this media... the AFL is!

No, it's not... but hey, I don't care, I was just trying to help. You just continue not hearing the questions.

PS They generally come with you phone... or if you cant' find them, buy a cheap pair at Woolies / Coles.

View attachment 1568112
I wasn't having a go at you , just couldn't believe it . I really won't be buying any though to listen to reporters

They need to fix the issue which has been going on for years - its ruddy annoying when we can't hear or even read the questions being asked.

I even toggled Captions On in the youtube video - but only Mills voice is captioned - even youtube can't decipher what the reporters are asking:eekv1::tongueoutv1:

Jesus! Write to the bloody club! They will tell you they are not responsible for this media... the AFL is!
I do not believe that. The whole reason I am critical of our media team is because I compare it to that of every other club, and they pale in comparison in many areas. So unless the AFL has instructed solely our club's media team to suck, I'm assuming it's within our own control.

I have actually written to the club though about their coverage of the team and I specifically (arguably condescendingly) mentioned that it's for their own good that they improve in their coverage. It's not good for the fans to be relying more on training reports from fan forums or our players going on external podcasts for illuminating insights than our own media team. The club pours what I imagine is a large amount of money and resources into their media department and yet I have heard some fans say they've uninstalled the Swans app, stopped watching Swans-produced content, don't follow them on social media etc. because of how little it offers. If there's a few fans like that, I'm sure there would be more out there.

It's hardly an Earth-shattering problem but I also think it's hardly a crime to want the club to be the best it can be.

I do not believe that. The whole reason I am critical of our media team is because I compare it to that of every other club, and they pale in comparison in many areas. So unless the AFL has instructed solely our club's media team to suck, I'm assuming it's within our own control.

I have actually written to the club though about their coverage of the team and I specifically (arguably condescendingly) mentioned that it's for their own good that they improve in their coverage. It's not good for the fans to be relying more on training reports from fan forums or our players going on external podcasts for illuminating insights than our own media team. The club pours what I imagine is a large amount of money and resources into their media department and yet I have heard some fans say they've uninstalled the Swans app, stopped watching Swans-produced content, don't follow them on social media etc. because of how little it offers. If there's a few fans like that, I'm sure there would be more out there.

It's hardly an Earth-shattering problem but I also think it's hardly a crime to want the club to be the best it can be.
I don't mind if you believe it or not... but,

I wrote to them in 2019 and 2020... and both responses were the same... and then I called them in 2021 and was told 'The AFL pays and controls the media, who is interviewed, the topics, and what makes it to the net'. The Swans can pass on our recommendations, but all AFL site content (including the clubs) is controlled (owned & operated) by the AFL.

There are thousands of us who feel the same way, but the AFL doesn't care... it just wants to make money.

I don't mind if you believe it or not... but,

I wrote to them in 2019 and 2020... and both responses were the same... and then I called them in 2021 and was told 'The AFL pays and controls the media, who is interviewed, the topics, and what makes it to the net'. The Swans can pass on our recommendations, but all AFL site content (including the clubs) is controlled (owned & operated) by the AFL.

There are thousands of us who feel the same way, but the AFL doesn't care... it just wants to make money.
That may be so, but like I said, our media still pales in comparison with rival clubs, so maybe we just need to do more from our end, with the media that we can control. There are plenty of club-driven engagement we could get better in.

For example, Matty Roberts debuts, and the club has a video of him finding out about it, and a video of him calling his family about it. Angus Sheldrick, who was taken in the same draft, debuts, and there's not a single video about it. There is literally no excuse for this sort of inconsistency. They're so all over the shop sometimes I wonder if Scomo has made our media department another one of his secret ministerial positions.

That may be so, but like I said, our media still pales in comparison with rival clubs, so maybe we just need to do more from our end, with the media that we can control. There are plenty of club-driven engagement we could get better in.

For example, Matty Roberts debuts, and the club has a video of him finding out about it, and a video of him calling his family about it. Angus Sheldrick, who was taken in the same draft, debuts, and there's not a single video about it. There is literally no excuse for this sort of inconsistency. They're so all over the shop sometimes I wonder if Scomo has made our media department another one of his secret ministerial positions.
I wrote to the Swans a couple of years ago & suggested some more information on player injuries would be greatly valued by supporters.

Not sure if it was me nagging or not, but the weekly “injury update” article did debut & personally, I really like it.

Some of the interviews have also been quite insightful over the past two years - albeit they tend to always focus on a very narrow cross-section of the list.

I agree with caesar88, the club’s website is annoyingly superficial, but I sense it is (slowly) on the improve.

I have no issue with the content of what you are saying, just who you are blaming... and you are assuming the AFL would publish.

The AFL clearly still thinks the only reason we go go to a game is to see Buddy!!???

My off-season deep-dive #7 is Callum Mills.

I don't think I have been so effusive in my praise for a Swans player since George Hewett, and guess what? I ain't stopping now!

Mills to me exists in this weird parallel dimension where he is so obviously the current Swans player whose altar we should be worshipping at, yet he's still strangely underrated? He's become part of the furniture now, probably because he has achieved so much in the first half of his career already - Rising Star, Best and Fairest, Captaincy, All Australian. But I'm actually way more excited by what the second half of his career has in store for him.

I actually think to get the best out of Mills, his output may actually drop, but it will be best for the team, and further highlight his importance. In a similar way to how we could easily have Heeney dominating our forward entries and kicking 3-4 goals every week like he's often done playing the lone hand down there, but we instead play him as a key cog in a functioning forward unit.

I loved seeing Mills get 37 touches in one of the most dominant individual performances of the year against the Hawks in Tassie. But just as impressive was his less-dominant 23 disposal game in the qualifying final against Melbourne, opening up space at stoppages for our more attacking mids to work into, then pushing out to the wing and half back to marshall play and keep our structure. Mills was still able to get coaches (and POTY) votes in that game, but it ended up being our team's best performance of the year, far superior to the game against the Hawks where Mills was so colossal because we needed him to be.

That Melbourne game I reckon is going to be something of a blueprint for his future. There will be others who may end up catching the eye more because of the nature of the way they play. And when we watch those players highlights back, just off to the side we will see the work Mills is putting in. Brilliant blocking, sweeping on the defensive side, holding his width from the contest. The little things that can easily go unnoticed but that are pivotal to making the midfield work.

I also think playing a role where he doesn't need to be dominating in the midfield will give Horse the chance to use him in other ways. If we need plugging in defence, or leadership on the outside, or even the rare occasion where we need to put a hard tag on someone. These dimensions to his game may end up costing him the All Australians and Brownlows we know he's capable of, but it's when these dimensions are added to his midfield game that you get a grasp of what a champion he could become.

Because to me, the player I think he's in the mould of is a Luke Hodge. A brilliant player no doubt, but for someone widely considered a top 5 player of the last 15 years, only two top 10 Brownlow finishes in his career undersells how good he was a little. He was no doubt hurt in the accolade department by the fact he played wherever he/Clarkson saw fit, whenever he/Clarkson saw fit. It made Hawthorn great, it made Hodge great, and it made whatever award recognition he did or didn't receive completely redundant. He's now remembered as arguably the key player and stalwart in the most successful team of the 21st century.

I think this sort of route is the best way we can get the most bang for our buck where Mills is concerned (which is saying something, considering he's already the best player in the second-best team in the comp!) What's most pleasing though is that even if this isn't the trajectory Mills' career takes, we know either way we're going to get a fantastic, committed player in any capacity he's in. That is such a rarity to have, so it can't be overstated how lucky we really are to have him.

My off-season deep-dive #7 is Callum Mills.

I don't think I have been so effusive in my praise for a Swans player since George Hewett, and guess what? I ain't stopping now!

Mills to me exists in this weird parallel dimension where he is so obviously the current Swans player whose altar we should be worshipping at, yet he's still strangely underrated? He's become part of the furniture now, probably because he has achieved so much in the first half of his career already - Rising Star, Best and Fairest, Captaincy, All Australian. But I'm actually way more excited by what the second half of his career has in store for him.

I actually think to get the best out of Mills, his output may actually drop, but it will be best for the team, and further highlight his importance. In a similar way to how we could easily have Heeney dominating our forward entries and kicking 3-4 goals every week like he's often done playing the lone hand down there, but we instead play him as a key cog in a functioning forward unit.

I loved seeing Mills get 37 touches in one of the most dominant individual performances of the year against the Hawks in Tassie. But just as impressive was his less-dominant 23 disposal game in the qualifying final against Melbourne, opening up space at stoppages for our more attacking mids to work into, then pushing out to the wing and half back to marshall play and keep our structure. Mills was still able to get coaches (and POTY) votes in that game, but it ended up being our team's best performance of the year, far superior to the game against the Hawks where Mills was so colossal because we needed him to be.

That Melbourne game I reckon is going to be something of a blueprint for his future. There will be others who may end up catching the eye more because of the nature of the way they play. And when we watch those players highlights back, just off to the side we will see the work Mills is putting in. Brilliant blocking, sweeping on the defensive side, holding his width from the contest. The little things that can easily go unnoticed but that are pivotal to making the midfield work.

I also think playing a role where he doesn't need to be dominating in the midfield will give Horse the chance to use him in other ways. If we need plugging in defence, or leadership on the outside, or even the rare occasion where we need to put a hard tag on someone. These dimensions to his game may end up costing him the All Australians and Brownlows we know he's capable of, but it's when these dimensions are added to his midfield game that you get a grasp of what a champion he could become.

Because to me, the player I think he's in the mould of is a Luke Hodge. A brilliant player no doubt, but for someone widely considered a top 5 player of the last 15 years, only two top 10 Brownlow finishes in his career undersells how good he was a little. He was no doubt hurt in the accolade department by the fact he played wherever he/Clarkson saw fit, whenever he/Clarkson saw fit. It made Hawthorn great, it made Hodge great, and it made whatever award recognition he did or didn't receive completely redundant. He's now remembered as arguably the key player and stalwart in the most successful team of the 21st century.

I think this sort of route is the best way we can get the most bang for our buck where Mills is concerned (which is saying something, considering he's already the best player in the second-best team in the comp!) What's most pleasing though is that even if this isn't the trajectory Mills' career takes, we know either way we're going to get a fantastic, committed player in any capacity he's in. That is such a rarity to have, so it can't be overstated how lucky we really are to have him.
Your best so far.

Good post caesar88.

Just wondering how to tally this with all your touting of Rowbottom, and how I thought you have been saying (or am I confusing you with someone else?) for the second half of the season he was our best and most valuable player?

Lastly, what does 'sweeping' mean? As in Mills is sweeping on the defensive side? Thanks.

Player Watch #14 Callum Mills (c)