Re: Draft Picks 10, 24, 26 & 33

In short:

PICK 10: Kane Lucas/Ben Cunnington/ Koby Stevens/ Luke Tapscott
PICK 24: Ryan Bastinac/ Allen Christenson/ Mitch Duncan
PICK 26: Jordan Gysberts/ Bradley Sheppard/ Kake Melksham
PICK 33: Ryan Hardwood/ Callum Bartlett/ Max Gawn

ROOKIES: Roland Ah'Chee/ Levi Casboult/ Mitch Fisher/ George Long/ Cameron Milne/ Justin Van Unen/ Marcus Marigliani/ Broc McCauley
Nice write up dude.:thumbsu:

Looks like we've got a nice pool of players to potentially pick from with each of our picks. Fair to say Talia would come into consideration if one or both of Lucas and Cunnington are picked before 10?

Dunce. What happened, did someone update their phantom draft with Callum going earlier than expected and you decided to follow the herd? Don't bother answering that, I don't care.

Sigged.:cool:

Ant 555 is spot on.

I chatted to him at the Franston vs Bendigo game in 2008.

Thats why I asked him to compare Marigliani and Barlow.

HFF should be happy as his love child Alex Silvagni is doing pre season training at Fremantle.

Ben, You are cynical for one so young !:p

See below:

That's fair enough. I wasn't trying to have a dig, but trying to sort the bombersno1 types from the likes of yourself. ;)

FWIW, Geelong is interested in Marigliani.

I was genuinely unsure whether it was a great post (which I now know it was) or a groupthink post.

Anyone can do a phantom draft, but it takes people like ant555, foj1 or HFF_07 to do one worth reading.;)

Never say never , i am as interested as anyone at how they will go after the first two. Nothing would surprise me this year.
I suspect he will be gone in the top 6 but you never know. I am hearing a few rumours that my tall preference in Talia may well be gone too.

I wouldn't mind WCE taking Talia at 7. Good - decent KPP will be worth their weight in gold in this draft. As you've already stated, and as a few on the Eagles board have recognized, the subsequent drafts are going to be rather barren when it comes to KP talent. Take them while you can get them, even if it means having to pay slightly over the odds to get them.

Just look at the predicament the Dogs are in. They have a lot of quality in the midfield, but not enough quality KPP to win them a flag. The time to get KPP is NOW!
Look at the big picture and discern what you'll be needing during the draft famine that's to come.

Btw, I've enjoyed your posts in this thread and it's reasonings.

HFF do you think Melksham will be there for pick 26? or 24 for that matter. From what ive gathered after his Granny performance people hav him going between 10-16 really. Lucas Melksham Christenson Gawn :p

I am a fan of Gawn at 33 atm (if he is there) anyone seen much of him live (HFF, Ant)? been injured with ACL this year. Read a report on Bombersno1 draft (not reported by bombers) stating his most recent measurement puts him at 208cm and growing. He is also one of younger ones in this draft. Look at the footage on draft rater and he looks fairly mobile for being as big and solid as he is. As well as okay skills. Huge potential

Ant 555 is spot on.

I chatted to him at the Franston vs Bendigo game in 2008.

Thats why I asked him to compare Marigliani and Barlow.

HFF should be happy as his love child Alex Silvagni is doing pre season training at Fremantle.

Ben, You are cynical for one so young !:p

I have actually gone off Alex, after watching him a couple of times this year, he seemed to go off the boyle when things didnt go his way and often dropped to go in and out of games. I liked the way that both James Wall and James Flaherty were better defeders this year than Alex.

As for the Marigliani V Barlow comment.

Barlow is more of a running player, who is a more flashy type of player, whereas Marigliani is a more grunt type of player, will get 20 + possesions, but you wouldnt know he had it that many times.

If you are questioning my creadability Yaco, that is fine, i dont mind. these are just my comments on certain players. All for the fans of BigFooty :thumbsu:

Dunce. What happened, did someone update their phantom draft with Callum going earlier than expected and you decided to follow the herd? Don't bother answering that, I don't care.

On a related note, while I'm in this thread (and have long wanted Bartlett) I'll say that if no one really slid to #24 (like Christensen) and we thought North was a chance to take Bartlett in between our picks I'd take him at 24. Another reason why I'm not a recruiter, and I don't even know if North grabbing him at 25 is remotely likely but who knows, it's possible someone may even take the risk before us (but it would be a pretty big gamble).

I think the mail on Bartlett was very simialr to that of Swift's story last year. Everyone was raving on about this kid who dominated under 16 football, but had two knee reconstructions in following years. No one bothered to look at him (Swift) until people went on about all the possible candidates and went, jeesh, this kid can play, speaking about Swift. Some people on here were even contemplating us taking him at pick 5. Pretty happy with Hurley I must say, and Swift at 20 or what ever it was is about right.

As for Bartlett, he is going to be a very solid player, and could be anything, but his injuries really curtailed his year. On the back end of draft year, people are finally realsing that this kid can play and taking into account his previous seasons. Same goes for Max Gawn, knee reconstruction in round 5, but some people in the know rate him as possibly the best ruckmen from the 18s this year.

HFF do you think Melksham will be there for pick 26? or 24 for that matter. From what ive gathered after his Granny performance people hav him going between 10-16 really. Lucas Melksham Christenson Gawn :p

I am a fan of Gawn at 33 atm (if he is there) anyone seen much of him live (HFF, Ant)? been injured with ACL this year. Read a report on Bombersno1 draft (not reported by bombers) stating his most recent measurement puts him at 208cm and growing. He is also one of younger ones in this draft. Look at the footage on draft rater and he looks fairly mobile for being as big and solid as he is. As well as okay skills. Huge potential

As mentioned in my initial post on all the prospects. I think that Melksham will be there at 24/26. He had an indifferent year. Although he did play well in the grand final, he was not an out and out superstar all year. I would love to see him at the Bombers but seem to be getting the impression that he will go somewhere in between 13 and 22.

As for Gawn, I just wrote, I think he is the best pure ruckmen from this years pool. Really showed something before his injury, and although he is going to be coming off the back of a knee reconstruction, two rookies in the forms of Bock and Gawn would be a super combination to back up on.
As you have mentioned, he is a younger player, and has plenty of development left in his young frame, in terms of him growing, I dont think he will catch Sandilands height, but may get up to 210cm.

As mentioned in my initial post on all the prospects. I think that Melksham will be there at 24/26. He had an indifferent year. Although he did play well in the grand final, he was not an out and out superstar all year. I would love to see him at the Bombers but seem to be getting the impression that he will go somewhere in between 13 and 22.

As for Gawn, I just wrote, I think he is the best pure ruckmen from this years pool. Really showed something before his injury, and although he is going to be coming off the back of a knee reconstruction, two rookies in the forms of Bock and Gawn would be a super combination to back up on.
As you have mentioned, he is a younger player, and has plenty of development left in his young frame, in terms of him growing, I dont think he will catch Sandilands height, but may get up to 210cm.

Sorry i should have put a :eek: in there as i was a lil shocked to see a different opinion on bigfooty usually by this time of draft year everyone has same order. Good to hear. Would love Melksham around then if we get him draft day ill be happy :thumbsu: I enjoyed your right up keep it up mate

I wonder if Melksham could go later due to being fairly small/light. Leigh Adams comes to mind in the 2006 draft. He was a Vic Metro captain but didn't get taken until the rookie draft. Others could give more insight on his ability to play at AFL.

Melksham will be taken anywhere between pick 15 - say pick 26. That is just my opinion of him. A fairly level headed kid as well as his footballing ability. That will definitely hold him in good stead with the recruiters.

No worries buddy, love this time of the year. Love looking at the different cominbations of kids that could possibly end up at the EFC, the different players that slide, bolt, the ones you predicted (Broc McCauley is my man, predicted it last year ;)) and the ones that fall. Any ways Rusman, always here to help, hopefully guys like myself and Ant555 can help a bit more than some other posters around the traps where names need not be mentioned :rolleyes:

Cheers mate :thumbsu:
Theres only so much you can get out of the footage and reports. Last year i thought okeefe looked like a star and wanted him with our 2nd rounder ended up sliding to carlton late. Also thought ash smith looked better then what he got picked up at.

I think I may over rate Melksham this year based on his performance in granny so ill keep that in mind. Obviously his stand our performance.

Out of curiosity, to the guys in the know - how was Steele Sidebottom's form leading into the TAC Grand Final last year in comparison to Melksham's?

I'm not saying that Melksham's GF performance was as good but both players stocks raised significantly post TAC GF. The main criticism I've read about Melksham is his inconsistency this year but he has shown he can be pretty damaging.

Out of curiosity, to the guys in the know - how was Steele Sidebottom's form leading into the TAC Grand Final last year in comparison to Melksham's?

I'm not saying that Melksham's GF performance was as good but both players stocks raised significantly post TAC GF. The main criticism I've read about Melksham is his inconsistency this year but he has shown he can be pretty damaging.

Steele Sidebottom had a very good finals series, people just wanted to see what they wanted to; that was his 10-goal outburst in the Grand Final, he was actually really good all through the finals series.

Melksham on the other hand did have a good grand final day, but was very poor the week before. That has always been one criticism of his I have had, iron that out, and you could have anything with this kid.

Melksham will be taken anywhere between pick 15 - say pick 26. That is just my opinion of him. A fairly level headed kid as well as his footballing ability. That will definitely hold him in good stead with the recruiters.

On that logic he would appear unlikely to go to Essendon. Depends how recruiters rate him I guess.

Steele Sidebottom had a very good finals series, people just wanted to see what they wanted to; that was his 10-goal outburst in the Grand Final, he was actually really good all through the finals series.

Melksham on the other hand did have a good grand final day, but was very poor the week before. That has always been one criticism of his I have had, iron that out, and you could have anything with this kid.
Yeah I assumed Sidebottom would have had to have a pretty good year to go at 11. Your prediction of Melksham going around 15-26 seems pretty fair and about where most had him in phantom drafts prior to the GF.

Would be nice to have him and Bastinac available to choose from at 24. Would be very interesting to see who we'd take.

I'm leaning more and more towards getting an out-and-out small forward.
Our midfield works, altho it's a bit shallow on real top-end class.
Our tall stocks are OK for the moment.
The ruck can wait another year before looking at replacing Hille & Laycock.
Davey & Jetta are not doing the job - full stop.
Weakness, solution, simple as that.
I think there's often real rewards on offer for clubs who don't over-think long-term strategy, and just pick what's in front of them for the here and now. We (IMHO) have that opportunity.
Sounds like the mids on offer are much of a muchness, with so many varying opinions.
So either Taylor or Christensen with 10.

WA were clearly the best team in the champs this year on the back of stellar performances from the likes of Morabito and Kane Lucas. If the gods shine on Essendon on draft day and Lucas is still around at pick ten then grab him! I like the idea of Zakarakis teaming with Myers and Lucas, all of a sudden our midfield might have a bit of class!

Hopefully Christensen is still around at 24, little gazza ablett clone would be a ripper in our side in a few years.

I'm leaning more and more towards getting an out-and-out small forward.
Our midfield works, altho it's a bit shallow on real top-end class.
Our tall stocks are OK for the moment.
The ruck can wait another year before looking at replacing Hille & Laycock.
Davey & Jetta are not doing the job - full stop.
Weakness, solution, simple as that.
I think there's often real rewards on offer for clubs who don't over-think long-term strategy, and just pick what's in front of them for the here and now. We (IMHO) have that opportunity.
Sounds like the mids on offer are much of a muchness, with so many varying opinions.
So either Taylor or Christensen with 10.

How is Taylor a small forward? He aint that small!:eek:

How big is he? I read he's not a kpp... so medium forward. Whoever fits the bill though, whether it's he or Christensen or Jetta or whatever.

I don't really follow the kids that much. Other than there's clearly no consensus on who will be the best available midfielder, and apparently it's a pretty flat pool of talent from 5 onwards down to the 20s.

Hardly, the point still stands. He was very good, and I knew this. But like Tom Swift has had a lot of injuries. He is unknown in terms of how he will go at AFL level. The reality is someone will punt on him in the 2nd round, whether that be us, I do not know.

How could you have possibly seen anything he has done ?
This is the same as Swift last year when you claimed to have seen him play yet he had not played since under 16 level.
You are right someone will pick him up but once again you are going on reading the information and not actually seeing!

How big is he? I read he's not a kpp... so medium forward. Whoever fits the bill though, whether it's he or Christensen or Jetta or whatever.

I don't really follow the kids that much. Other than there's clearly no consensus on who will be the best available midfielder, and apparently it's a pretty flat pool of talent from 5 onwards down to the 20s.

Steve Johnson sort of height- more a 2nd/3rd tall than a small forward. Even Christensen is more likely to be a midfielder than a small forward even though he has played as a small forward a bit.

Sorry but the gig is up for you. I did the search and found that you had posts in various areas of big footy on every weekend from the 5th of April right through until the Champ series started and then during the champ series.
All the posts had the same IP adress and came from the same network area center so there is no possible way you could have seen any of the games you claimed to have seen or traveled anywhere to see them.

So i would recommend anyone who want's to know about the draftee's simply go straight to bombersno1 source which is afldraftinfo.com or do a google search :D

By the way afldraftinfo is a bloody good siite. They have some outstanding draft profiles there and plenty of footage.:thumbsu:

How is Taylor a small forward? He aint that small!:eek:

He aint big either at 188cm and he is on the skinny side. The fact that he has very, very good pace and extremely good hands at ground level will lead him to having to play a small/medium forward role anyway as although he can take a grab he is not strong enough body wise to do anything else and lets face it his most magic bits of play have been swooping onto the footy with incredible one handed pick ups.

Sorry but the gig is up for you. I did the search and found that you had posts in various areas of big footy on every weekend from the 5th of April right through until the Champ series started and then during the champ series.
All the posts had the same IP adress and came from the same network area center so there is no possible way you could have seen any of the games you claimed to have seen or traveled anywhere to see them.

So i would recommend anyone who want's to know about the draftee's simply go straight to bombersno1 source which is afldraftinfo.com or do a google search :D

By the way afldraftinfo is a bloody good siite. They have some outstanding draft profiles there and plenty of footage.:thumbsu:

9ihcmp.jpg