Old Skool

Suspended
10k Posts North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor
Some thoughts on who is what and where and how they might go.

1) Hamish McIntosh: A huge year looms for the big ruckman. I see him in direct competition with the impressive rookie, Cam Pederson, for a spot in the best 22. Right now, I would give Hamish the nod, as I think he has a touch more class and definitely gives us more as a ruckman, but he MUST provide a consistent forward marking target and he MUST bring goals to the table.

2) Brad McKenzie: N/A

3) Ryan Bastinac: I expect Ryan to hit the ground running in 2012 and continue his improvement curve on his excellent 2010 debut season, entrenching his spot amongst the most exciting young midfield in the competition. His season targets are averaging 20 plus disposals and chalking up his first 30 possession game.

4) Liam Anthony: An interesting player, who has no problem with accumulating possessions. He must find more hurt factor in 2012, and he is in our best 22 when he is fit an firing. Has reportedly been training with the defensive group, but I’ll still be surprised if he actually plays in defence.

5) Ben Warren: I love this blokes application, but I have to concede that Ben is well and truly at the crossroads in 2012. IMO, Bens major issue is that he lacks star quality in any particular discipline of the game, outside of sheer willpower. He struggles to kick beyond 50, he’s not quite big enough to play key forward, he’s not quite quick enough to make up for his lack of star factor and he loses his feet in marking contests too often when he doesn’t take a mark. Will his willpower be enough to overcome his short comings? I believe that Bens best chance of cementing a spot in the side lie in moving in to defence, where his courage and willpower would see him sit on an opponent and charge straight out of defence when he wins the ball. He needs to have a serious word with his VFL coach about making the move.

6) Lachlan Hansen: The enigma. He has the best marking skills of any young KPP on our list, or the league for that matter, but seems to lack the body size to stand up in packs in the forward line and still grab the ball. He has also suffered from playing second fiddle to Petrie. Lachie is an outright running machine for a player of his size, and he has no problems with the contested stuff down back when he does not have to necessarily mark the ball, but impede an opponent. I still hold hope that he will make a name up forward but his venture forward may take a little longer than expected. CHB should be his to own in 2012.

7) Jack Ziebell: IMO, the most underrated young player in the competition, who just oozes leadership and hardness. He has the type of ability to stamp himself on a match which I have not seen in any North player since the departure of the great Wayne Carey. I really do rate him that highly. If all goes well he will have the football world buzzing by the end of 2012, and his improvement can be aligned to increased endurance and the fact that he isn’t going to ground nearly as often at the contest. A continued improvement curve and a few more goals in 2012 will do nicely.

I will update a few more tomorrow.

Nice write up :thumbsu:

I'm expecting good things from Bastinac next year, I reckon he'll average in the 20's for disposals. You nailed it on Milky, he worked his arse off for Werribee this year and deserved more opportunity in the seniors. He has put on a little bit more size from what I've seen at training. With Petrie/Edwards combo working well and Wright to come back in, I don't know how he'll get back into the seniors :confused:

Hard to argue with any of these comments.

I'd still see a role for Pedo and Hamish if Lachie plays in defence. Pedo might play a bit like Craig Sholl. On and off the ground, constant movement, leading out, accurate kicking for goal, looking for mismatches.

With assets like Hamish and Goldy on his list, Brad will have to give the dual ruckmen a go. If the new trial ruck rule is adopted this will encourage tall ruckmen over stop gap Leigh Brown types.

Liam Anthony's kicking was ragged at times last year. A problem I hadn't noticed in 2010.

David Hale stopped falling over as much when he got to Hawthorn. Benny can do it. And I too would like to see him trialled in defence. His AFL career as a medium sized forward will be short-lived.

As for JZ, hopefully he will take a split second longer before disposing of the ball and get his disposal efficiency up. With a good run with injury I think he can become a top 50 player by year end.

8) Daniel Wells: I think the time has come for us to reconsider our expectations of Daniel as an outright match winner, but he is stil a very, very good footballer all the same. In an ideal world, I think Daniel would be playing the offensive half back role, and I see him taking that path once the midfield reaches fruition in around 18 months time. More of the same from 2011 for Daniel in 2012.

9) Andrew Swallow: He stepped up in to the elite inside midfielder category in 2011 and was statistically on top of the pile when it came to clearances, contested possessions and tackles combined. He is an heir apparent to the captaincy and Sam Mitchells crown as the number one in and under midfielder in the competition. All we need to see from Andrew now is a little more offensive possession, a few more disposals and perhaps some more goals. He will become widely recognised as elite by the end of 2012.

10) Ben Cunnington: I see the raw potential in Ben to one day become our best pure midfielder of a very impressive bunch. In particular, one effort I saw from him towards the end of last season in the Richmond match was particularly eye catching. Anyone that has the recording should take note with 3:10 left in the 1st quarter where Ben flies in and intercepts a ball destined for Mitch Farmer, the ball flips over the back, Ben doubles back to win the ball from Tuck and bowls him over in the process then feeds out an underground handpass to Boomer who gives to Patch, who gives to LT and he scores a goal. It was super impressive (any chance someone could upload this? GR?). People have queried Bens pace, but IMO, he will never be lightning quick, it’s his anticipation, attack on the ball, one touch skills and super footy smarts that will see him make the grade. He just needs some endurance and some more muscle and he will be breaking tackles regularly. I expect Ben to be rightly considered one of the best 3 to 4 players of the 2009 draft by the end of the 2012 season.

11) Michael Firrito: Spud has been a magnificent servant to the club who has always put the team before himself. I would have liked to have seen a little more attacking from him in 2011, but with an immature midfield, he would be reluctant to take too many chances. IMO, back pocket is probably his best position, but he is headed by the classier Scott McMahon for that role. I would like to see Spud take more chances and contribute more rebounds in 2012 (5th in 2011)

12) Lindsay Thomas: Board watchers will know that I have been calling for Lindsay to play further afield for some time and he certainly shined in that role towards the end of 2011 with a season record equalling 11 inside 50’s in round 24 v Richmond. He wasn’t helped by the coach asking him to play the small forward defensive/marking forward role, as marks tended to lead Lindsay to have set shots where he found himself in terrible trouble. Let’s face facts, Lindsay is a 1000% instinctive footballer, and the extra space and speed available playing further afield allows him to play more to that strength. He needs to employ Stephen Milnes tactic of playing on at all possible times when taking a shot on goal. I believe a move upfield in 2012 will see Lindsay rated as the most improved player on our list by seasons end.

13) Leigh Adams: Patch, along with Swallow is the most consistent of the new breed of North players. Much like Wells, I long for the day when we have the luxury of assigning Patch full time to the forward flank. My only gripe is that I would love like to see more goals from Patch in 2012 (16 in 2011). There’s no reason as to why he shouldn’t double that tally.

14) Gavin Urquart: A frustrating player. I was at Gavin’s most brilliant game in the VFL a couple of years back in the semi final v Casey and I am aware how devastating he can be when he is on song. Brad Scott and his VFL coaches appear to have pigeon holed Gav as a lockdown half back who can roll forward and set up goals and in his defence I saw quite a few examples when he did this only to be ignored by his VFL team mates. Gav is at the point where he needs to approach the 2012 season as if his life depends on it, as that will be the case from a football perspective. He must win more of his own ball, and he needs to find aggression. If I was his coach I would be sticking him with needles before a match and giving him some of the old Pagan/Barassi treatment. I would even pat him on the back if he snotted someone and got reported. As it stands, the odds would have to be against Gavin making the grade past 2012. The ball is squarely in his court.

4) Liam Anthony: An interesting player, who has no problem with accumulating possessions. He must find more hurt factor in 2012, and he is in our best 22 when he is fit an firing. Has reportedly been training with the defensive group, but I’ll still be surprised if he actually plays in defence.

Does anyone else see Liam as a possible replacement for Brady down back?

He can accumulate like Brady, his disposal isn't amazing (like Brady)

But can he lockdown a player like Brady?

If so, would be very valuable, and dangerous

I'd still see a role for Pedo and Hamish if Lachie plays in defence. Pedo might play a bit like Craig Sholl. On and off the ground, constant movement, leading out, accurate kicking for goal, looking for mismatches.

As for JZ, hopefully he will take a split second longer before disposing of the ball and get his disposal efficiency up. With a good run with injury I think he can become a top 50 player by year end.

• Totally agree with the first part.

• By the end of next season we will have these players in the 'top fifty'
9. Andrew Swallow
15. Todd Goldstein
28. Drew Petrie
30. Jack Ziebell
44. Ryan Bastinac

Some thoughts on who is what and where and how they might go.

1) Hamish McIntosh: A huge year looms for the big ruckman. I see him in direct competition with the impressive rookie, Cam Pederson, for a spot in the best 22. Right now, I would give Hamish the nod, as I think he has a touch more class and definitely gives us more as a ruckman, but he MUST provide a consistent forward marking target and he MUST bring goals to the table.
Pedo is an interesting one.

I really rate the guy. I think his all round game makes him more valuable to the team than some players who are less rounded, but have a skill that is more elite. There is also no reason to doubt he has improvement left in him either given he will be having his first full AFL pre-season this year.

Assuming none of them play in a key defensive position then only 2 of Pederson, Edwards, McIntosh and Hansen should play IMO.

Thanks mate for the write up.

I just thought about LA training down back and wondered if it's purely to improve his defensive mind set. I know it's one of his weaknesses, so maybe they thought to throw him in with the defenders, see the world from their point of view, then maybe it will help him think about it more when playing his usual game.

Or he may just line up in the back half next year?

Perhaps that will happen. It would certainly help the confidence of a player with a bad shoulder injury, if he didn't have to run both ways in heavier traffic all the time.

LA has all the tools to play half back and J-Mac could play in the midfield group provided his endurance is up to scratch.

Jack Ziebell to play forward only?

1) I am happy for him to stay in the midfield now that he is staying upright most of the time.

2) He WILL go forward as his career progresses.

15) Luke Delaney: Luke is very much in the old school of full backs, and if he succeeds as a long term AFL player, it will be in that position. He has excellent disposal efficiency (87%) and has shown the ability to compete well in the air against the gorilla forwards. He appears to have good foot speed on a straight line, but may need to work a little harder on his defensive smarts when it comes to "hemming in" his opponent and utilising the boundary line to his benefit. He is in contention with Tarrant and Grima for the full back spot, and a lot may revolve around the utilisation of Hansen.

16) Scott Thompson: Our best defender in heavy traffic and top shelf when he is given the freedom to play an attacking role. Hunter is an elite defender at ground level. He ranked highly in AFL one percenters and rebounds. He reads the play as well as anyone on the list and his is only weakness is in the air against the bigger forwards. I would love to see play an attacking half back role in 2012.

17) Nathan Grima: A player who had a troubled 2011 and while I have him in our best 22 when he is fit, I do query his ability to negate the better marking forwards in the competition. IMO, Nathan is a classic 3rd tall defender and I would favor Delaney and Tarrant ahead of him for a full back position. Nathan is better suited to play true CHB but will he get the opportunity ahead of the more naturally talented Hansen? One thing that can never be questioned is Nathans application and work rate. He led our one percenters in averages in 2011 and was AFL top 20 in that category. He has elite endurance for a taller player and his disposal is solid.

18) Shaun Atley: A "solid" debut from our jewel of the 2010 draft, and he showed in glimpses that he has the tools to play at the elite level. Particularly noticeable was his willingness to retain the ball and take on an opponent. This highlights a valuable AFL character trait, he does not panic. The kids work rate is excellent and he appears to work just as hard when he does not have the ball. His evasive skills are top class, and should progress to the elite level. His disposal efficiency was slightly concerning at 66%, but combined with his meager TOG at 50%, then I am prepared to overlook that issue until his fitness gets up to speed. He is apparently "tearing it up" in the weights room, and at 81 kg, it is needed. In an ideal world, I would love to see Shaun eventually played off half back, but that disposal efficiency needs to lift 15-20%.

19) Sam Wright: "Mr Mercurial" approaching his 4th season now, and I feel he is ready to arrive. He has wowed the coaching staff with the one area he seriously needed to improve, fitness, and he will enter 2012 with a mature body having stacked on 5kgs since his arrival. I see him forming an excellent double act with the equally mercurial Keiran Harper. They both reek of match winner. His efficiency is good, he can manufacture goals from nowhere and he now only has to lift his diposal count up in to the high teens to become the medium forward we all expect.

20) Drew Petrie: He arrived as a key forward in 2011, and was duly awarded with an AA spot, but he would still be dissatisfied with his final goal tally of 48. He played better than that. 48.41 was a poor result. A Disposl efficiency of 68% was not good enough and Drew has been working hard to rectify the situation. His contested possession rate for a key forward was outstanding (8.0), which is a midfield level standard. An elite contested mark, I expect Drew to crack the 60 goal mark in 2012.

21) Cameron Richardson: We all know he can find the ball and he racked up 3 x 17 disposal games on debut before finding his way on to the sub bench, and then in to the seconds, where he again ammased big totals of possessions. Cam's disposal let him down at times (66%). His round 2 game against Collingwood was solid despite many of his team mates having a bad day. He has been hampered by injury and will have a delayed start to the 2012 season. I'm still backing him to make the grade, he gets too much of the ball to dismiss.

Cheers OS. Great write up !
I'm looking fwd to seeing how Wright goes this year too. If his fitness has improved as they reckon, then it should be a breakout season for him. Got too many tools not to be a classy footballer ie nice kick, good mark and great football sense. Only question mark is his pace. But hopefully his other attributes compensate for that

I can't see Sam ever being quick. His pace is between his ears. He's the sort of player that can win a match with 10 disposals inside 50.

The temptation will be for opposition coaches to play attacking half backs on Sam, but if they stuff up or there is a turnover up field, they will pay a high price.

Great writeup OS.
Many insightful comments.
None more so than on Luke Delaney needing to improve on 'hemming players in' and use of the boundary.
Craig Scholl comes to mind. He was a genius at leaving what looked like enough space boundary side to tempt an attacker to take him on there and almost almost always finishing up on his arse over the line.
All kids but specially young defenders should be shown video of the masters of this skill.
Arch was good at it too but he hurt so much that oppo players adjusted their judgement of "enough space" after one or two attempts.
It's a subtle skill.

The thing I noticed most about Atley when making all those highlight vids of him is that he takes a little longer than most with his disposal. Now I put this down to two things. The first is that he backs his evasiveness in and trusts his sidestep. A great asset to have. But the second, is that I noticed he knows his limitations and may see the first option, but then overlooks it for a handball or a safer option by foot. Sort of a positive way to overcome a negative I guess.

I really hope he can turn this around, he would go from good to great instantly. I'm his number one fan though, cant wait to see how far his come over the last 12 months, what better game for rd 1.

When you sit down and look at our potential forward line, it does make you salivate with anticpation. I mean we all know how good Petrie is but add in Black, Kennedy, Adams, Harvey, Thomas, Wright, Harper and Edwards and not only is it potentially lethal but very flexible too.

It is our decade for success:thumbsu:

Great stuff, although I don't agree with Jack Ziebell being the most under rated young player in the comp.
I think he's rated just about right for the time being, coming off 2 serious injuries and having one good year.

22) Todd Goldstein: Put a stranglehold on the number 1 ruck spot in 2011 and should hold that position for the next decade. The best tap ruckman I have seen at North since G. Dempsey. He just needs to keep doing what he is doing. I would like to see Todd lift his contested marks (0.8) and goal averages (0.6) in 2012.

23) Kieran Harper: He made an eye catching debut in 2011, and only needs to lift his fitness to start making a real impression on matches. He is DEADLY around goals and I'd like to see him push his disposal stats past 15 (9.9) in 2012.

24) Levi Greenwood: The archetypal North footballer, courageous, tough and unfashionable. 2011 was write off, forget it. He only managed 13 matches and a 74% TOG. Many believe he may settle in defence, and I can also see a future there, but not until the midfield matures. Levis fitness is back where it should be, and with 41 games and 3 seasons under his belt, he now needs to take the next step. Disposal efficiency also needs to improve (62%).

25) Robbie Tarrant: 2012 looms as a make or break year for the unlucky Tarrant and I feel the club have to throw the dice and give him a good run of matches at senior level. He has all the tools to make the grade having decent disposal, good speed for his size, and strength. He is also the best overhead mark on the list after Petrie and Hansen. He has always looked much better in defence, rather than forward, and is a consistent good performer at VFL level. He is in a head to head battle with Delaney for a senior berth, it's now or never time for Rob.

26) Ben McKinley: Much maligned by fans who are quick and superficial in judgement, Ben has a tremendous amount of ability. He was downright dominant on more than a few occasions at VFL level. He has borderline elite footy smarts, and an excellent work ethic. On many occasions I witnessed Ben run all the way from the Werribee offensive goal square to the Werribee defensive goal square in order to place pressure on the opposition. He is unfortunately the classic "tweener" whereby he isn't quite tall enough to play KPP, doesn't have the Edwards type overhead marking skills to compensate for his lack of height, and he also doesn't possess any true speed. His hand and foot release speed is not exactly quick either. Ben also let himself down with some wayward kicking in the VFL where he could have turned bags of 3, 4 and 5 goals in to eye cacthing bags of 7, 8 and 10 goals on multiple occasions.A classic old school full forward, Ben must throw everything at his footy in 2012 and employ a killer instinct in front of the Werribee goal in order to force the hands of the senior selectors. At the moment he is in competition with Edwards, and he needs to show the level of goalkicking and work rate imporvement exhibited by Edwards in order to take the next step. The highly rated Aaron Black is also breathing down his neck, so it's do or die for Ben in 2012.

27) Aaron Edwards: "Azza" had a very much improved 2011, and he has shown every player on the list what can be done when someone completely dedicates themselves to their footy. He has now cemented his spot in the side, and could quite feasibly crack the 50 goal mark in 2012 with the same work rate and a better midfield supply. Aaron was the best performed 3rd marking forward in the AFL in 2011 (1.9 gpm).

28) Will Sierakowski: Tearing it up on the training track and is alleged to have excellent foot disposal. Wait and see.

26) Ben McKinley: A classic old school full back, Ben must throw everything at his footy in 2012 and employ a killer instinct in front of the Werribee goal in order to force the hands of the senior selectors.
With a name like McKinley this is an understandable error. ;)

Great write up.

Re Wellsy off the half back flank in years to come. Sounds good at face value, however, I would judge it a bad move.

From my point of view, his spectacular 11 was due to Scott having him play inside, as well as outside - as opposed to his traditional strictly outside role. I reckon this really freed him up to do what he does best - get the pill, use the pill. In July, the great man himself put it thus:

''I always knew that I could play inside. That's how I played as a kid. But I think when I started at AFL level, I was pretty small, and they wanted me to play outside. After a while, you lose a bit of confidence going in there, so it takes time to get back into that style. But that's helped me, and it's something I knew I could do.''

I reckon he might be the type of player that doesn't get the most out of his game by playing a constrained role (ie) outside delivery man - and potentially, this includes creative half back. I would not want to flirt with form, and would leave him in his current role, body permitting.