Unofficial Preview 2013 Draft Watch

A late pick or rookie we should really look at is Brady Grey from Burnie. Massive upside. First year of footy, for mine was very close to BOG in the TSL grand final in a losing side. Has played soccer up until this year (state rep) and has tested unbelievebly well at the camp. His dad was a very good player in the old stae wide league in the days when Tassie footy was good.

James Battersby 2013 SANFL Highlights:

James Battersby 2013 SANFL Reserves Highlights:

Cameron Giles 2013 SANFL U/18 Highlights:

James Aish:

Matt Sharenberg:

Need a crumber, KPD, KPF and classy/speedy mid.

I have a feeling we may wait til next draft for a young KP prospect as that crop look to have greater depth in talls with this year light on.

Firrito and/or Cam Del be able to hold the fort depth wise in DEF with Maj/Currie as FWD depth. Hopefully Curran can also get on the park and could be used at either end.

James Battersby 2013 SANFL Highlights:

James Battersby 2013 SANFL Reserves Highlights:

Cameron Giles 2013 SANFL U/18 Highlights:

James Aish:

Matt Sharenberg:

Looking at those highlights I reckon I'd take Luke over all those kids. Yes even Aish

Need a crumber, KPD, KPF and classy/speedy mid.

So boys in the know give me some names and who they play like.

As a rookie, Arthur Bennell from East Perth as a crumber, the problem free Garlett.

VFL watchers, who were the standouts there this season? Who will the next Barlow, Pods, Dwyer, Gibson etc be?

From all state leagues in tipping 4-5 of the following will go:

Chris Cain, Ben Brown, Josh Glenn, Joel Tippett, Mitch Thorp, Mitch Banner, Scott Sherlock, Mat Suckling and
Kane Lambert.

Cain and Brown tested exceptionally well at the combine.

Tippett, Sherlock and Banner also tested really well at each of their state screenings.

Chris Cain, Ben Brown, Josh Glenn, Joel Tippett, Mitch Thorp, Mitch Banner, Scott Sherlock, Mat Suckling and
Kane Lambert.

Tippett, Sherlock and Banner also tested really well at each of their state screenings.

I'd be happy to rookie Sherlock. What do we know about Cain?

Kane Lambert.

Didn't nominate.

With our pick 30, these are a few players i hope we look into:

Jonathon Marsh

He reminds me of Aaron Black so much with his ability at ground level and his presence up forward, a bit smaller than Black hence why he can also play as a tall midfielder/wingman. Doubt he will be around our pick 30 though, maybe late teens or early 20s will see him go.

Jay Kennedy Harris

Our most likely target. Good chance he will be there at our first pick in 30, fills our needs beautifully. His a Smallish half forward flanker but i think he will become a outside midfielder a bit later in his career, Think of Brad Hill from the Hawks. imo his ready to play AFL now and would be ideal.
1_U18VMSA13MW0215.jpg

Dayle Garlett
We all know about his off field issues and we all know he can play. Question is do we want him? have a look at the video clip and judge for yourself.

244320-dayle-garlett.jpg

Riley Knight

Something about him that makes me feel like his going to be a good AFL player. His endurance is elite, his skills are elite and can also kick goals. his an outside midfielder. imo will be available at our first selection but i think he could slide to our next pick (47 i think) 1 question though, does he fit our needs?
Riley-Knight.jpg

I reckon we're missing some attention grabbing names, and propose we look strongly at the following:
  • Kade Kolodjashnij - speaks for itself (has to, no-one else is going to be able to speak it). If he's gone by our pick, go for his brother Jake.
  • Marcus Bontempelli - thought about it, but I'm thinking more of a fit with Carlton. Not sure why.
  • Ben Lennon - Just imagine what we could do with this working class hero as long as he doesn't succumb to the mind games of taggers.
  • Christian Salem - Looks good, but I'm concerned that after one poor season he might be the subject of the annual BF witchhunt.
  • Jarman Impey - Has 'name' written all over him.
  • Dallas Willsmore - Same here, although I'd only be willing to look at him if he changed his name by deed poll to "Dallas Willsmore the Fourth."
  • Daniel McStay - Not really as 'out there' as I'd like, but he's a keeper.
  • Mitch Honeychurch - Sweet, choirboy type with a memorable name. Could be a late pickup.
  • Fraser Fort - Frasers are always interesting, and this is the kinda guy we could build our defence upon.
  • Orazio Fantasia - My personal favourite. The draft pick of our dreams!
  • Michael Apeness - a gorilla forward to replace Drew?
  • Jake Greiser - this guys a smooth mover; perhaps a bit too slick though?
  • Zac Webster - Word is 'The Dictionary' is an outside chance. Not outstanding in any one area, but has everything else you'd want. An etymologists dream come true!
  • Matthew Merlo - No way! I'm not drinking Merlo!
  • Aidan Franetic - Nice sense of urgency in the way he goes about it; could be more composed.
  • Sam Heavyside - at 73kgs this guy is a complete fraud. Do not want.
  • Peter Steffe - Good for the membership thread, not sure about his other qualities though.
  • Matthew Boag - Lives in his brother, James, shadow, but still Premium.

Dayle Garlett: We all know about his off field issues and we all know he can play. Question is do we want him? have a look at the video clip and judge for yourself.

It was a good sign that in the 2nd highlight, he didn't seem to run any faster when the police sirens were going off in the background. ;-)

Giants want a top 10 for Adams, and brizzie won't let the doc go for 30-31 when Carlton have 27-28.
Given the exodus of players from Brisbane, they could be interested in some of our players, like Wright or Greenwood perhaps?