2014 QAFL

• Thread starter Thread starter Sir G

have you blokes recruited anyone?

I'm running around in the QAFA this year so haven't been around the QAFL squad to see if there are any new faces. UQ Sport scholarships should come out soon though so there should be at least a couple of recruits there.

Whisper is Labrador have recruited Simon Seddon from Kyabram in the GVFL. Seddon had a good year with Southport in 2012... good player.

Think the scholarship players will make little difference - some will play very spasmodically for UQ if in the U18 squad plus they are just kids - if UQ are hanging their hats on these boys then it will be a long year.

I'm hearing on the long list of grape vines in regards to Seddon at Lab, they also have another 14 coming from country Vic, if this is the case and they are in the draft at Southport how would their local lads be feeling.
If it's true and I'm hearing it from a lot of good reliable football personal shut the gate it will be all one way traffic!

I'm hearing on the long list of grape vines in regards to Seddon at Lab, they also have another 14 coming from country Vic, if this is the case and they are in the draft at Southport how would their local lads be feeling.
If it's true and I'm hearing it from a lot of good reliable football personal shut the gate it will be all one way traffic![/quote

Bungles,
any names of these so called 14 recruits ?

I mean, any good quality players that are good enough to perform well at this new QAFL level... Seddon will for sure.Labrador finished second last in 2013, have lost 4 of their top players to the Southport list and Thurlow drafted. They will need to pick up some good quality recruits.

I mean, any good quality players that are good enough to perform well at this new QAFL level... Seddon will for sure.Labrador finished second last in 2013, have lost 4 of their top players to the Southport list and Thurlow drafted. They will need to pick up some good quality recruits.[/quote} Labradors new coach is a ripper but he will also recruit heavily and has done so in Cairns and the GV previously, it is a dangerous precident to set by recruiting that many players it means you will have to do it again in 2 years... side note PBC recruited heavily and contue to do so then at the league meeting cry poor when told of increace on costs....

I mean, any good quality players that are good enough to perform well at this new QAFL level... Seddon will for sure.Labrador finished last in 2013, have lost 4 of their top players to the Southport list and Thurlow drafted. They will need to pick up some good quality recruits.
EFA ;)

Couldn't agree more Speedy, well said, there is simply not enough revenue in Queensland football to spend big, it will bring clubs to there knees! Play the kids and develop, ie Magpies.

Not a sustainable model but obviously they feel that they need to ensure they are competitive in the QAFL - maybe a few good kids will filter through too. And just bc a bloke comes from Vic doesn't necessarily mean he is a star in this comp. I reckon wait and see.

smy,
agree, ...recruiting guys from Victoria doesn't mean they will be stars at QAFL level...eg. Seddon will be good, but a club needs to recruit guys that have a strong reputation/playing history in a good standard comp down there. Over the past 7 years I have seen a lot of Victorian recruits come up here and not deliver to their expectations. And in most cases this has been because the Neafl and Qafl comps up here are of a higher standard then these recruits thought.... hence a lot of them see only the season out and return home with their tail between their legs.
Certainly goes to show that aussie rules in QLD is still not a highly regarded state to play in from the interstate neighbours ( though recognition of this has improved )
You can see what Conlan and co, are trying to do with the standard of QLD footy... yes some hard decisions, some upset clubs and supporters,.....but its all to do with raising the standard and providing a better pathway for ones that may be drafted.Correct me if Im wrong, but no born and breed queenslander was drafted this year... yes , 3 or 4 where rookie listed, but not selected in the main draft.
I think the Neafl comp in 2014 will be a very high standard and hopefully the QAFL will improve, which it should.

Yeah I agree Stuyd - despite the heartache for people involved with the traditional QAFL clubs, imo I think the restructure makes alot of sense, placing clubs where their financial capacity is, rather than their historical success rate. The NEAFL has to gain credibility throughout Australia, not just in Qld, and not among club supporters but from those who count, the recruiting agents (on the basis that the AFL more or less finance this comp). It will be interesting to see how it all pans out but would nearly guarantee that the NEAFL will put out more draftees in due course bc people can now start compare apples to apples. Great to see the mature agers get picked up though like Thurlow - these types of players seem to be making their way pretty well in AFL circles currently out of Qld.

Gentleman, Labradors' obligation as with all the clubs is to its members and supporters to find the model for sustained success.It has spent recent times helping the AFLQ getting players Rookie listed or drafted and behaving like the good corporate citizen.This was a waste of time, it must as all other clubs find their own formula for success and each club will be different, do not make the mistake of doing AFLQ's job for them ( or listening to them )look after your own club.They do not care about the football people in this state they are concerned about themselves, the brand and KPI's.
Get good people around your club and choose the direction you wish to go, all cannot be the same.It still needs an influx of quality players because development here would stall otherwise.

Not disagreeing LAB - might argue that Labrador haven't had success, maybe not in the perceived way that is considered the norm but surely having guys drafted must sit somewhere... - in any case I reckon for any club administrators it needs to be always kept in mind that you are just caretakers passing thru and that the longevity of the football club is significantly more important than any short term success that can be achieved. Use Zillmere as an example - basket case of a football club, went bust 2-3 x under different names and in turn do not exist in any real shape or form no matter how people want to look at it. Where do the old boys from the various forms of this footy club go for reunions etc. Labrador will always be the poor cousin to Southport in terms of finance but as we all know this does not define a footy club either. I think the Tigers are in an ideal situation now to obtain the best footballers on the northern end of the GC bc I don't reckon the majority will be quite good enough to be competitive footballers in the new NEAFL. No idea how much the footy club is spending on players for 2014 but reckon there is enough damn good players for a QAFL standard to be a top 4 side in the region, including some excellent juniors (although appreciate your 18's are struggling but a good coach in charge which is a massive plus).

A lot of interesting comment on Labrador here at the moment, its committee over the past few years had been working to a plan to ensure it was a strong and long term successful club which I doubt will change. Its recent success is that it has had six player drafted or rookied in the past six years. It is one club that has developed talent consistantly.There junior base is very strong talent wise so I am sure there will be a good mix of local talent for all to see. No doubt Southport will be keeping an eye on them.

lab,
yes well said... proof is in the pudding as they say.Yes all relegated clubs were very disappointed after all the hard yards put in over the past 3 seasons.So as you say, time for these clubs just to get on with it and try and be successful in the new QAFL comp......

A lot of interesting comment on Labrador here at the moment, its committee over the past few years had been working to a plan to ensure it was a strong and long term successful club which I doubt will change. Its recent success is that it has had six player drafted or rookied in the past six years. It is one club that has developed talent consistantly.There junior base is very strong talent wise so I am sure there will be a good mix of local talent for all to see. No doubt Southport will be keeping an eye on them.

Who are the six? I count 5.

Thurlow (ess)
Retzlaff (lions)
Wrigley (lions)
Jones (melb)
Stewart ( port)

None except retzlaff are Labrador boys... Jones and Stewart both played elsewhere before being picked up so drawing a bow to claim them. Same as the sharks claiming pfeiffer.

Labrador have the right to recruit who they like as long as they keep within the points system. They are in the fortunate position where they have a profitable licensed premises and can afford higher spending than the other clubs. They are the only club with a full time staff and he isn't going to sit on his hands. They have a good coach who knows plenty of blokes. Good on them if its true if they have got good recruits, puts pressure on all the other clubs to lift their game. Team to beat with morningside IMO.

Early predictions:

Ladder:

Morningside 16 wins
Labrador 15
Broadbeach 14
Palm beach 12
Mt gravatt 10
------------
Western magpies 8
Sandgate 7
Surfers 6
Grange 3
UQ 0 (with a few smashings)

Leading goal kicker: Abey (70 goals)
League medal: Shelton
Rep game: qld to get the upset if on a hot day up here. Game in vic = 10 goal win to vaca.

Who are the six? I count 5.

Thurlow (ess)
Retzlaff (lions)
Wrigley (lions)
Jones (melb)
Stewart ( port)
Beams (lions)

None except retzlaff are Labrador boys... Jones and Stewart both played elsewhere before being picked up so drawing a bow to claim them. Same as the sharks claiming pfeiffer.

Labrador have the right to recruit who they like as long as they keep within the points system. They are in the fortunate position where they have a profitable licensed premises and can afford higher spending than the other clubs. They are the only club with a full time staff and he isn't going to sit on his hands. They have a good coach who knows plenty of blokes. Good on them if its true if they have got good recruits, puts pressure on all the other clubs to lift their game. Team to beat with morningside IMO.

Early predictions:

Ladder:

Morningside 16 wins
Labrador 15
Broadbeach 14
Palm beach 12
Mt gravatt 10
------------
Western magpies 8
Sandgate 7
Surfers 6
Grange 3
UQ 0 (with a few smashings)

Leading goal kicker: Abey (70 goals)
League medal: Shelton
Rep game: qld to get the upset if on a hot day up here. Game in vic = 10 goal win to vaca.
dont think vultures will finish in the 5