Hot Topic 2016 DRAFT

• Thread starter Thread starter HARKER

Brodie is still favorite for Ess at No1 in my book.

Brodie the is most safe pick, pretty much burst proof. I do think Essendon may trade pick1
Think the AFL will want Essendon to trade the pick too.
What Essendon need most is another Key Forward to partner JoeyD they can trade down and get Marshall, they won't take him at number 1.

Haha mate, youre including Parish, and their number 1 pick in their list. Me including two kids from next years draft is hardly ridiculous.

Including Cunners and two kids yet to be drafted in this year and next year is a bit of a stretch is all.

I hope youre right. But you're the king of optimism.

Him (or McLuggage), Merrett, Parish. Bam. Already ahead of us rebuilding their midfield.

Shoulda let Hurley go. Idiots.

Yeah. I was genuinely rapt that they kept Hurley. They could have gone from an impressive rebuild to a very impressive rebuild.

But because of the saga they are locked into this list that is now spread out like Brown's cows.

Hurley is good but i reckon not getting rid of Hooker or him makes a chance at 17 further away.

Yeah. I was genuinely rapt that they kept Hurley. They could have gone from an impressive rebuild to a very impressive rebuild.

But because of the saga they are locked into this list that is now spread out like Brown's cows.

Hurley is good but i reckon not getting rid of Hooker or him makes a chance at 17 further away.

Agree 100 percent. Also dont discount the 800k per season on a 6 year deal. Thats going to come back and bite when those kids start holding out their hands.

Brodie the is most safe pick, pretty much burst proof. I do think Essendon may trade pick1
Think the AFL will want Essendon to trade the pick too.
What Essendon need most is another Key Forward to partner JoeyD they can trade down and get Marshall, they won't take him at number 1.

Brodie is bloody good and will be bloody good at AFL level.

He also compliments Heppell, Parish and Merrett well with some size and inside muscle.

I think they'll keep 1 and probably go Brodie.

Brodie is still favorite for Ess at No1 in my book.
It will absolutely gut me if they get Brodie.

I have had a bit to do with this kid a couple years ago and still see him and his family around the traps now, absolute freak of a talent and a great family.

I have mentioned him on our board for the past couple of years hoping we will somehow land him but if he is taken by these drug cheating *****, I will be absolutely devastated.

Zaharakis is handy for them too. If they had a Clarkson assistant I'd have been worried.

They won't be attracting many players either with what I'd imagine is little cap space left.

I'd take Brodie if I were them, great replacement for Jobe whenever he retires.

He also compliments Heppell, Parish and Merrett well with some size and inside muscle.

Now all we need is McCluggage to pull a Wingard and let interstate clubs know he'll head home after him first contract and its come on down the McCluggage.
Either that or get him to go for a little drive 3 nights out from draft night.;)

Agreed. Think they should keep #1. Brodie will be fantastic replacement for Watson, who you think may not even come back to footy.

Around the time Gill came out saying he was shocked how CAS could find the drugs cheats guilty and there would be no further penalties because they had been harshly dealt with in the past.
That was in regards to AFL sanctions, not players moving to a grievance tribunal to claim breach of contract.

That's not a sanction at all, that's a tribunal process where the AFL/club and AFLPA agree upon the members and chair. The player then has to prove that there's cause to terminate their contract.

Unless they signed an iron-clad waiver (assuming that's even legal), I don't think their failure to buck the party line on revealing the number of injections on forms or not asking critical questions is grounds for the Dons not being adjudged as negligent.

None of them have the expertise to make any assertion about Dank et al's actions, so why would they be held accountable in that sense?

In the end they're re-signing for three reasons:

1. Bond with the playing group
2. Significantly administrative and FD changes
3. Fear of their (lack of) opportunities outside of Essendon

That was in regards to AFL sanctions, not players moving to a grievance tribunal to claim breach of contract.

That's not a sanction at all, that's a tribunal process where the AFL/club and AFLPA agree upon the members and chair. The player then has to prove that there's cause to terminate their contract.

Unless they signed an iron-clad waiver (assuming that's even legal), I don't think their failure to buck the party line on revealing the number of injections on forms or not asking critical questions is grounds for the Dons not being adjudged as negligent.

None of them have the expertise to make any assertion about Dank et al's actions, so why would they be held accountable in that sense?

In the end they're re-signing for three reasons:

1. Bond with the playing group
2. Significantly administrative and FD changes
3. Fear of their (lack of) opportunities outside of Essendon

I understand the process and should a player go to grievance tribunal it will be as impartial as the initial panel AFL panel that dismissed the case in the first place.

Maybe I am reading too much between the lines, but this is the AFL that always acts in its self interest and this debacle being over and * being a powerhouse is in its self interest.

Will be interesting to see how things play out with Hibbert with * wanting more than pick 27 when the Dees don't have a first round pick. It won't go to the grievence tribunal.

I understand the process and should a player go to grievance tribunal it will be as impartial as the initial panel AFL panel that dismissed the case in the first place.

Maybe I am reading too much between the lines, but this is the AFL that always acts in its self interest and this debacle being over and * being a powerhouse is in its self interest.

Will be interesting to see how things play out with Hibbert with * wanting more than pick 27 when the Dees don't have a first round pick. It won't go to the grievence tribunal.

The Dees deserve a good deal for Hibberd after forking out 25 for Melksham last year....
They obviously don't value second round picks having wasted the one the year before on Lumumba. Say what you like about Dodoro, he has got good value for the bunch of hacks they have traded out after the drug cheating.

yes and they got lucky - or, more accurately - were smart picking up Laverde and Merrett when they fell in the draft order.

I fear Essendon will get what they want, again.

Where we have a leg up on Essendon is our rebuild will have a lot of players in the same age group ala Geelong and Hawthorn, whereas Essendon seem to be really staggered, like Brisbane in the early 00's.

I fear Essendon will get what they want, again.

Where we have a leg up on Essendon is our rebuild will have a lot of players in the same age group ala Geelong and Hawthorn, whereas Essendon seem to be really staggered, like Brisbane in the early 00's.

I think that we have the better young talent but I can understand Essendon saying they have.

Merrett, Parish, Fantasia, Francis, Langford, Laverde & Daniher. (I don't particularly love Langford but maybe)
Gleeson, I'm not that big on and Redman???

We have Cripps, Docherty, Byrne, Weitering, CCurnow, Silvagni, Mckay and Plowman who all seem pretty safe to me.
Cuningham maybe, but it would have been nice to at least have had DVR & Jaksch here also.