List Mgmt. 2016 Potential Draft Picks

• Thread starter Thread starter wayb2912

There is less risk involved in getting Simpkin and Witherden than if they had a history of soft tissue injuries, or dislocated shoulders, or had each done a knee.

I sense people would crack it if we got a small forward with our first pick, but Simpkin at the very least would allow Wingard to spend more time in the midfield, which would also allow Gray to spend more time up forward. It would be a good pick to help get players we already have around the ball more.

Witherden i'd be well happy with.
Still think Marshall will be one of those picks though, especially the latter one.

With our first two picks, we will undoubtably just get the "best available player" whether a small forward, full back or whatever.

While you're right about the potential benefits of getting a player who plays in a position we already have covered like a small forward, what effect they may have on where Wingard and Gray may play would have nothing to do with the thinking behind our first two picks. Even the best small forward (Ainsworth) would not be pencilled in to our 22 for 2017 and would, at best, be added to our depth chart. By 2018, Impey, Neade or even Johnson may own the role. There are just too many imponderables.

Best available with our first two picks, best available with a bias towards future needs with 3 and 4, slider we had in the first 30 odd with our fifth or (if no-one fits this bill) mature draftee that covers an immediate need. We seem likely to go 39 and 5 again, so we will pass at PSD and take two rookies after a reassessment of needs.

Im not a massive fan of Twomeys PD 2 days out from the draft. He just rings the clubs and works out the order by asking the right questions.
I rate his top 30 talent much much more.
18 days to go.

Could be a big change on the night that affects who we take. If, for instance we are looking at Berry and Marshall as our first two but then Scrimshaw is unexpectedly not taken earlier, who is left out to hopefully still be there in the 30s? The list managers will need to take a wish list and it will include a lot of players who we expect to have no chance of getting but have to consider. Conversely, they will also have to look at second-choice players and we may end up getting someone who does not seem to be in the best position.

Would need to have a massive opinion of Simpkin to go with in our first 2 picks or possibly our 1st pick. Notice the plans were to move him into the midfield before he broke his leg and he is a little taller than I thought at 181cm. Port could be throwing out a few red herrings as well, not that I would mind Simpkin. Interesting that neither would make an immediate impact which was mentioned as a criteria as both are coming of long term injuries. Ty Simpkin comes across as a terrific kid though.

There is less risk involved in getting Simpkin and Witherden than if they had a history of soft tissue injuries, or dislocated shoulders, or had each done a knee.

I sense people would crack it if we got a small forward with our first pick, but Simpkin at the very least would allow Wingard to spend more time in the midfield, which would also allow Gray to spend more time up forward. It would be a good pick to help get players we already have around the ball more.

Witherden i'd be well happy with.

Still think Marshall will be one of those picks though, especially the latter one.

If Logue and Marshall are on the board at 14, I reckon we'll take a punt and say one of them will be there at 17. You'd be happy drafting either of them with 17.

14 would be a goal kicking mid/forward if I was drafting. We need more rotations through the forward line - Young is great as a forward but doesn't really cut it as a mid because he's still too one way with his running. Neade has limitations as a midfielder because of his size (is only ever going to be a stop gap). The only forwards that ran through the middle with any success were Wingard, Gray and Impey.

If Wingard and Gray swap, Impey and Pick 14 should swap.

I seriously don't think anyone could **** this draft up. As long as Parker sticks to looking for multi-dimensional players like he's been doing, we'll be fine.

Im not a massive fan of Twomeys PD 2 days out from the draft. He just rings the clubs and works out the order by asking the right questions.
I rate his top 30 talent much much more.
18 days to go.
Yeah his PD is a joke - he gets all the inside knowledge that others can't get then only publishes a day out from the draft. Only does it to get pats on the back at how accurate he is which they then use as "proof" that he knows the draft so well. If anyone wants to impress me, put out a legit phantom a month before the draft once the champs/combine is over but teams haven't had time to sit and settle on who they want.

how many players will we be listing next season? 38? 39? 40?

as it stands now, from my estimate, we have picks 14, 17, 30, 31, 80 and 89, based on every other team's current vacancies and how many we have

80 could easily turn into a pick in the late 60s/early 70s when GWS Academy bids are factored in, plus passes and father/son bids, we could still draft a decent player in this range

89 could be eliminated all together if we either "pass" or sign a delisted free agent like Jake Barrett

I'd imagine if we did sign Barrett, then 80 would probably be a pass

I seriously don't think anyone could **** this draft up. As long as Parker sticks to looking for multi-dimensional players like he's been doing, we'll be fine.

images
(storm cloud) :eek:

Yeah his PD is a joke - he gets all the inside knowledge that others can't get then only publishes a day out from the draft. Only does it to get pats on the back at how accurate he is which they then use as "proof" that he knows the draft so well. If anyone wants to impress me, put out a legit phantom a month before the draft once the champs/combine is over but teams haven't had time to sit and settle on who they want.

But thats the whole point of his phantom, he works for the AFL, its meant to be based on as much fact as possible as opposed to just his opinion

My main issue is he doesnt do the whole draft like Burgan used to, only usually does the first two rounds

But thats the whole point of his phantom, he works for the AFL, its meant to be based on as much fact as possible as opposed to just his opinion

My main issue is he doesnt do the whole draft like Burgan used to, only usually does the first two rounds
Sure, but firstly I don't get the point of it then. Just wait the extra day to see the actual draft. Unless it is 100% accurate you're not really getting anything you don't know.
Secondly, they do a fair bit of back slapping saying how good he is where I maintain it's only actually impressive if he can put these things together at least a few weeks in advance.

Sure, but firstly I don't get the point of it then. Just wait the extra day to see the actual draft. Unless it is 100% accurate you're not really getting anything you don't know.
Secondly, they do a fair bit of back slapping saying how good he is where I maintain it's only actually impressive if he can put these things together at least a few weeks in advance.

If: You want to talk unjustified back slapping.

Damian-Barrett.JPG

Then: I'm your Huckleberry

Twomey's PD is like releasing a trailer for a film. You think you know what will happen but twist! Which may or may not be there, considering so many trailer just seem to be `entire plot in 60 seconds'. Same with PD.

The Big Footy phantom draft is up and running if anyone hasn't noticed. Only up to Sydney so far. Berry and Logue both went top 10.

I agree. Isn't the whole idea to be an actual prediction of who will take who and where?
Hardly a true prediction if you ask the club first.

I think people are reading too much into the immediate impact thing; ken said GENERALLY have an impact not always.

Gutfeel says hayward goes before marshall but i really want him. Scharenberg aswell becUse of his footy brain and exquisite clearence work but i also feel partington about him where he just goes before our pick. Everyones going to moan but i do like sam walker as a back ready for it flanker. Scored well on the kicking test and theres a good vid of the test on youtube. Can never have enough genuine ball users. We got rid of hoon o shea stewart for a reason; they couldnt kick. Walker can and pretty well at that wouldnt mind him at 31

Could be a big change on the night that affects who we take. If, for instance we are looking at Berry and Marshall as our first two but then Scrimshaw is unexpectedly not taken earlier, who is left out to hopefully still be there in the 30s? The list managers will need to take a wish list and it will include a lot of players who we expect to have no chance of getting but have to consider. Conversely, they will also have to look at second-choice players and we may end up getting someone who does not seem to be in the best position.

All list managers would have in order their "cheat sheet" for the evening, crossing off all players as they're selected.

Each player listed in priority order. This is standard practice.

If Wingard and Gray swap, Impey and Pick 14 should swap.

Heh. I see wot you did there. Impey and Pick 14 have already been swapped once ;)

Footyprophet have moved Vilis out to 43 on the back of the medical news. They have Berry going to the Bulldogs the pick after ours. I would hope that we pick him up. Todd Marshall is down as being taken two places before us. Even though there is a chance he would fall to us, I am not sure the list managers and Ken would be too interested, they seem to have decided that Charlie, Paddy, Justin and (later) Dougal will be our forward line.

Luke Ryan, yes is a half back flanker but are we interested in him at 19? Sydney a good chance at 19. He is only 20 years old or so and ready to impact as Ken wants

The Big Footy phantom draft is up and running if anyone hasn't noticed. Only up to Sydney so far. Berry and Logue both went top 10.

Gee Dub takes Todd Marshall for Port with pick 15.

Pick 15. Port Adelaide- Todd Marshall (Murray Bushrangers) 197cm 86kg

Marshall is the highest rated player I have left on my board and I'm a big advocate for taking the best available player with your first pick. I think he is so raw and filled with so much potential. He has attributes that few key forwards have and they are becoming more desirable for modern AFL players. He is clean below his knees and has really good agility for a big man. He can clunk a contested mark when he gets a leap at it which is good because he is very weak in one on one contests due to his thin frame. He looks as if he hasn't been into a gym in his whole life and a couple of AFL pre seasons will do wonders for his development. He is not afraid to chase and tackle which is great to see in a big man as forward pressure seems to be a big thing at the moment.

I've seen a comparison to Darcy Moore thrown around lately and it is one that I tend to agree with. He has similar athleticism and a slight body with good hands. He remains more dangerous and comfortable closer to goals and I think this may be due to his lack of fitness. I think he would complement a big marking and big bodied forward like Charlie Dixon quite well and projects as a much better version of Dougal Howard. I think he has a massive ceiling and is the sort of guy who could be anything once he commits fully to a proper program and learns how to position himself in a contest and gets a bit of a fitness base up.

I genuinely want for one day the main 4/5 phantom drafters to all put some made up prospect in their phantoms in like the late second round and watch his name jump around everywhere
Art Vandelay. New to the game, having come to football after growing dissatisfied with trying to work in the Latex industry.

Just for information, and to see on draft night if we have missed out on a slider, this is the result of our trading of draft picks. I have only included the picks up to 49.
Initially we had picks 9 and 49 and our 2017 first-rounder.
Then we had 9, 19, 30, 49 and the 2017 first-rounder had been traded away.
We finished trade week with 14, 17, 30, 31.