Game Day 2017 National Draft

The OP for our new picks must be accurate and informative. Who should do it?

• Anyone

Votes: 39 35.5%
  • Wait for TD

Votes: 71 64.5%

Levers problem isn’t strength, it’s speed. He lacks the closing pace of a Rance which means he gets exposed if he plays loose in the intercept role on a key forward. He may develop in to a competent key defender in time. He may stay as a loose 3rd intercept type. But he’s never going to become that Rance or McGovern type who can mind the 1st or 2nd KPF imo. They can do what they do because of their speed and athleticism. Lever won’t be able to get away with that because he’s slow as a wet week and he’ll get exposed when his man goes on the lead, just as we saw vs Essendon this year.

I wouldn't have thought there was a big pace differential between Lever and McGovern. And jesus, this board has made a huge deal about 2 contests he lost to an All Australian forward who had his standard level of game- these contests weren't pace related.

Mate, he was beaten by Daniher, then Hooker, then Stewart that day. Essendon targeted every player that he was moved to and exposed him badly. They planned it beautifully, nullifying his intercept game and exposing him by targeting his direct opponent going inside 50.

And I doubt McGovern is as slow as Lever. He goes at 3.2 in a 20m sprint.

Mate, he was beaten by Daniher, then Hooker, then Stewart that day. Essendon targeted every player that he was moved to and exposed him badly. They planned it beautifully, nullifying his intercept game and exposing him by targeting his direct opponent going inside 50.

And I doubt McGovern is as slow as Lever. He goes at 3.2 in a 20m sprint.

Come on Apex, you know that that time was straight after a knee reconstruction and thus it's probably not reflective of his actual speed.

I agree that he is athletically at the bottom of what you'd like. He's not going to be as good as Rance, but I'd say the same about Michael Hurley.

I'd be very happy with either Coffield, Stephenson or Fogarty at 6.
I'm hoping for Stephenson personally. Love his intent, speed and his willingness to break the lines and his fearlessness to not take the safe option and instead back himself and try to move the ball into dangerous positions.

Love the way he moves but that double handed ball drop is a show stopper for mine

Ah well, I’m sure we can accomodate another.

I can see why Will Sutherland picked cricket. Dominated for the Vic’s today as a 17 year old. Would have made a good footballer though.
If he wasn’t pegged as a future international star he’d have picked footy every day. Writing was on the wall though given he was already the u18 Australian captain.

Would put Andrews ahead of him too. Genuine KPD.

Very true! For me until Lever does it as a KPD I can't compare him to guys already doing that job. Despite his production being great it means little because he largely isn't accountable for an opponent.

The overall question for this draft is do you go for the mid sizer that will impact in the short term as Lever has (Coffield, Stephenson and Fogarty) or the KPP (Brander and Balta)? The KPP is the slower burn and the greater risk, but might be more important if the game doesn't shift as many suspect it will.

So better than Langdon with 3 less years experience and better than Howe with 6 less years. In fact better than anyone currently playing the game, as a 21 year old. They would be justified in their excitement.

Better than any 21 year old playing the game? Or better than anyone playing the game? Now your just taking the piss unless you're just talking as an intercept marking 3rd tall.

And we get both Langdon and Howe for pretty much the same money Lever is on I'd reckon, bargain with 1 costing a late pick and the other a packet of twisties and change, as opposed to 2x 1st round picks.

Very true! For me until Lever does it as a KPD I can't compare him to guys already doing that job. Despite his production being great it means little because he largely isn't accountable for an opponent.

The overall question for this draft is do you go for the mid sizer that will impact in the short term as Lever has (Coffield, Stephenson and Fogarty) or the KPP (Brander and Balta)? The KPP is the slower burn and the greater risk, but might be more important if the game doesn't shift as many suspect it will.

Brander will be a slower burn but imo will play year 1 with already a reasonably solid core/trunk after being in the GWS sytem.

Would not trade our first round pick next year for another first round pick this year. Next year's draft is supposed to be really good. We don't know where we will finish. We could finish top 8 or similar to this year.

The hype about the 2018 draft seems to be about the top 5-6 kids, beyond that I'd doubt they're any better this years options. If you not planning on finishing 13-14 or lower then I'd doubt there's much risk. Danger is the season goes to shoit and you end up in the range of those really good players with no pick.

For mine Balta represents the best of both worlds. He's basically played every position on the ground including KPP, so he can potentially still be used on a wing/half forward flank like Reiwoldt was this year and Richardson was later in his career if a smaller forward line is used or they don't want him playing key defence. I suspect that the death of the 2x KPF setup has been vastly overstated by many here though.

Better than any 21 year old playing the game? Or better than anyone playing the game? Now your just taking the piss unless you're just talking as an intercept marking 3rd tall.

And we get both Langdon and Howe for pretty much the same money Lever is on I'd reckon, bargain with 1 costing a late pick and the other a packet of twisties and change, as opposed to 2x 1st round picks.
I don't get the hype over Lever tbh. The loose intercepting role is one of the easiest jobs in defence. We had Jason Cloke play the role well in the early 2000's. We then had Maxy (who was garbage 1v1) play it to AA standard whilst directing the entire back 6. More recently we've had Jeremy Howe go in to the role after being fairly average for most of his career playing forward and 1v1 defence and turn in to a star in the role. Hell, even Oxley could dominate in the role if he wasn't being manned up.

If he was like Rance or Jeremy McGovern, who mind the 1st or 2nd KPF while simultaneously playing that intercept game then I could see why fans would be getting excited, but he's just plain bad in 1v1 situations. If he stays playing the same role for the duration of his career, then I think he'll be a star, but honestly, you can get these loose intercept type players for so much cheaper than Melbourne payed. I'm so glad we didn't get him. Would have set back our drafting another 2 years.

I don't get the hype over Lever tbh. The loose intercepting role is one of the easiest jobs in defence. We had Jason Cloke play the role well in the early 2000's. We then had Maxy (who was garbage 1v1) play it to AA standard whilst directing the entire back 6. More recently we've had Jeremy Howe go in to the role after being fairly average for most of his career playing forward and 1v1 defence and turn in to a star in the role. Hell, even Oxley could dominate in the role if he wasn't being manned up.

If he was like Rance or Jeremy McGovern, who mind the 1st or 2nd KPF while simultaneously playing that intercept game then I could see why fans would be getting excited, but he's just plain bad in 1v1 situations. If he stays playing the same role for the duration of his career, then I think he'll be a star, but honestly, you can get these loose intercept type players for so much cheaper than Melbourne payed. I'm so glad we didn't get him. Would have set back our drafting another 2 years.

Agree. Don't dispute how good he is in the role, just not sure that role merits the salary he was chasing. Think he'll likely play a similar role at the Dees with 2 of Frost or the McDonald brothers playing the key defensive roles so he may well end up being a fantastic player for them for years to come.

The hype about the 2018 draft seems to be about the top 5-6 kids, beyond that I'd doubt they're any better this years options. If you not planning on finishing 13-14 or lower then I'd doubt there's much risk. Danger is the season goes to shoit and you end up in the range of those really good players with no pick.

It's being compared favourably to the talent pool of 2001, which had not only top 3 guns but genuinely good to star talent mixed right through it.
Bartel Kelly Johnson Ablett jnr Swan Mitchell Medhurst Dalsanto Montagna Waite Sampi Hanson etc

Next years draft apparently not only has superior top end but also depth.

Come on Apex, you know that that time was straight after a knee reconstruction and thus it's probably not reflective of his actual speed.

I agree that he is athletically at the bottom of what you'd like. He's not going to be as good as Rance, but I'd say the same about Michael Hurley.

He had almost a full year of recovery behind him including being able to fully concentrate on getting in top condition for draft camp type events.

He unlike many top prospects who test didn't rock up still sore from a tac GF and season of footy.

He likely would of been training his arse off for the tests at DC.

He had almost a full year of recovery behind him including being able to fully concentrate on getting in top condition for draft camp type events.

He unlike many top prospects who test didn't rock up still sore from a tac GF and season of footy.

He likely would of been training his arse off for the tests at DC.

I'll remember that the next time that I read about how Scharenberg is going to experience physical improvement due to having had an ACL injury two years ago.

If he wasn’t pegged as a future international star he’d have picked footy every day. Writing was on the wall though given he was already the u18 Australian captain.
These days with 20/20 taking off you don't even need to be an international superstar (or even a regular) to be earning more than the average footballer. And if you become an international superstar I'd guess you earn at least 3x what the best footballer will earn. + cricketers can potentially earn big money well into their 30s. The tide has definitely turned and I reckon most youngsters are now viewing cricket as more attractive.

Yeah 20/20 has certainly shifted the landscape. Who would have thought that domestic cricket could become a liscence to print money, but that’s exactly what the BBL is!

I'll remember that the next time that I read about how Scharenberg is going to experience physical improvement due to having had an ACL injury two years ago.

That's a bit unfair in response to Loki. I don't remember him saying that Scharenberg's athleticism or power will improve. Like most of us I believe the thought process is that with time the confidence in his body will return not that he'll simply become a better athlete.

FWIW I'd say with that greater confidence he'll start taking on those harder kicks rather than the simple sideways option, present to more dangerous spots as an outlet and get better balance between defence and attack.