VFL 2017 VFL Magpies Fixture

• Thread starter Thread starter MagpieBat

What's with the Vick Park games, the same day seniors games, they are not double headers at all the 2 grounds are 15 km apart, there is zero motivation to get both games. The VFL teams is purely their to serve the senior team, and that means home games should at HC, and straight into rehab, no room for nostalgia here. The park the cars once, watch the second half of the ressies and walk over the bridge is too good, its like Eddie designed just for me. Victoria park FFS really, how many people who were watching the pies play back in a day go and watch ressie football, most people from that era, would be in their 40;s and upwards. Its time the pies truly grow up,, cut the fan service with game day activities, Kiss cam, ressie nostalgia at VP, just become the footy and financial beast which we all want.

What's with the Vick Park games, the same day seniors games, they are not double headers at all the 2 grounds are 15 km apart

That was enough for me. What absolute dribble.

What's with the Vick Park games, the same day seniors games, they are not double headers at all the 2 grounds are 15 km apart, there is zero motivation to get both games. The VFL teams is purely their to serve the senior team, and that means home games should at HC, and straight into rehab, no room for nostalgia here. The park the cars once, watch the second half of the ressies and walk over the bridge is too good, its like Eddie designed just for me. Victoria park FFS really, how many people who were watching the pies play back in a day go and watch ressie football, most people from that era, would be in their 40;s and upwards. Its time the pies truly grow up,, cut the fan service with game day activities, Kiss cam, ressie nostalgia at VP, just become the footy and financial beast which we all want.
Free entry byo and has a vibe...

Forgot to comment here when it came out before Chrissie but I'm glad there's games back at Vic Park. Last year's schedule was awful and I never once felt inclined to go to Olympic Park for a game.

Also shamelessly plugging my desktop wallpaper below. If anyone wants me to convert it to mobile hit me an @ or PM

Forgot to comment here when it came out before Chrissie but I'm glad there's games back at Vic Park. Last year's schedule was awful and I never once felt inclined to go to Olympic Park for a game.

Also shamelessly plugging my desktop wallpaper below. If anyone wants me to convert it to mobile hit me an @ or PM

Looks great, Tim!

Looking forward to games this year
1 - heaps of exciting draftees / talent coming through
2 - lots of games at VP (not a fan of the current HC set up - dear Pies chiefs, how about better / higher tested weather protected seating?)

Yep, rich pickings this year. More games at the venue which is named after me.:) A swag of new and young talent to salivate over. And while I am disappointed over the loss of Tapping, footy clubs evolve and move on, and Rivers may prove an able replacement. The VFL in 2017 is all good!

Or that you are named after the venue...:cool:

I will NEVER go to the holden centre

Man you just broke Big Footy/Collingwood with that reasoning! Victoria Park is the heart and soul of the club. Playing free entry games there allows, you know, actual collingwood supporting, real collingwood people to support the club. And if no games are played there the council has no reason to persist with keeping the space in the longterm.

The only things the holden centre has superior to Vic Park is the scoreboard and proximity to the G. But by that logic we'd be better playing games at Punt rd than Vic Park. In every other way football at Vic Park is superior. The Holden Centre is a great training facility obviously, but favouring it to Vic Park like you have is like arguing that Etihad is better than the MCG because your train pulls in to southern cross station. Strewth.

Man you just broke Big Footy/Collingwood with that reasoning! Victoria Park is the heart and soul of the club. Playing free entry games there allows, you know, actual collingwood supporting, real collingwood people to support the club. And if no games are played there the council has no reason to persist with keeping the space in the longterm.

The only things the holden centre has superior to Vic Park is the scoreboard and proximity to the G. But by that logic we'd be better playing games at Punt rd than Vic Park. In every other way football at Vic Park is superior. The Holden Centre is a great training facility obviously, but favouring it to Vic Park like you have is like arguing that Etihad is better than the MCG because your train pulls in to southern cross station. Strewth.
So in other words get ****ed

This is such a sore point (that, and no awning/shelter at the Holden Centre).

When will the club/Yarra Council stump up for an electronic scoreboard that actually works? Drives me crazy.

Call me odd but I almost enjoy getting down to the VFL at Vic Park with some tinnies more than going to some seniors games (especially at Shittihad Stadium). Relaxed vibe and the memories of going there for legit games as a kid. Yakking to the nice old bird behind the bar. Free entry is a nice bonus. Traditional heartland. What's not to like?

Agree. It's a great afternoon. Our good performances under Tapping also helped.

I am behind you in more ways than one