24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

I'm still a little bit confused with what Ratten said to Dunstan in pre-season. From what I heard Ratten say, he sort of didn't fully answer the question when asked about it and spoke about the things you mention - Bytel being ahead of him etc. Steele had an interesting ong in an interview a few weeks ago where he sort of hinted at Dunstan being told he wouldn't be picked. I don't think Dunstan has been hard done by at all, but it seems like he did get a bit of a strong message. It wouldn’t surprise me if there was a slight misunderstanding/miscommunication and Ratten/Dunstan walked away with different interpretations of the conversation.
View attachment 1203603

Well i heard it directly from the horses mouth on 3AW on the way to the Sandy v Essendon match a few weeks back.

He said he told Dunstand he had a few in front of him and had to work harder. Don't know how you misunderstand that. And the fact he did improve and did get in and has been in career best form, would sufggest there was no misunderstanding.

For me, this is exactly the situation where you invite a player to train with the club over the summer. Is his body cooked? Does he still have the hunger? Lets put him through a pre-season and find out. If his body gets through okay, and he still has that desire to perform, he gets a contract. We will have a ample list spots to fill this year (Carlisle, Robbo, Frawley, McKernan, Hunter are surely gone. One of Kent / Lonie and one of Clav / /Joyce too. That's 7 no brainers before we even touch the Billings, Ross and Dunstan situation). So zero risk to find out if Talia is worth a list spot
Its not just his body , his stats have started to drop since 2018 and he hasn't played a game this year , very doubtful that he will turn it around

On-field liability? How many games has he lost through his own mistakes? I can't think of any. He might not be the match winner we'd hoped for at pick 3 but he's contributed more than most of our list has since he's been at the club.

To me an on field liability is someone who barely touches the ball. Billings is not that player.

Lets say we let all 3 go we are not going to be a 10 to 18th range side, 10 th to 14th at worse and even if we keep all 3 at best an 8th to 12th side if those 3 play most games next year. I don't want us to waste 3 to 5 years being a nothing side 8th to 10th sort of thing. Be brave try and get 3 or 4 picks in the top 30 and play Clark - Coffield - Byrnes - Connelly - King - Sharman - Bytel - Paton - Marshall have Crouch - Hill - Steele - Howard - Wilklie - Membrey as your leaders. Give the young ones a chance, Billings - Ross - Dunstan have had 7 - 8 years time for freshen up. To win a flag you need a top 4 list we dont have that be brave like Port a couple of years ago.

Port were much closer and had a better list to start with. They had a couple of kids like Byrne Jones playing well and realised that they could cash in Pittard who was playing the same role. They lost Polec who was a bit like the equivalent of Jack Billings as a sort of good solid citizen type. They cashed them in for incredible overs. They got pick 11 for the two of them knowing that North had to lose their first round pick because Tarryn Thomas was expected to get bid on early so would have burnt that pick any way.

Dumping our players for pocket change wouldn't be brave it would be crazy. Remember that list ranking of players I did a few weeks back. That is still a very ordinary list. The thing we have going for us is that we have a huge bank of guys that are quite even. Take that away and we start to look very inexperienced and ordinary.

Next years likely list with out the three and minus likely delistings....

Coffield. C to B grade depending on how he comes back maybe scope for A.
Jones. Solid B with the odd A grade game.
Gresham. Solid B maybe injury prone maybe a star still.
Crouch. Solid B
Hill. solid B since mid season.
Steele. A grade gun.
Hanners. Done
Clark. Solid B- with potential A grade if he gets fit.
King. Late season form looks potentially elite.
Butler. C grade borderline best 22 but had one period of elite footy.
Ryder. 34 next year, must be close to the end.
Marshall. Not quite as good as we'd hoped yet. Could be a star still.
Howard. Solid B
Long. If he stays borderline best 22.
Higgins. Solid B wth scope to be a gun.
Bytel. Promising kid who looks a bit lost in the senior midfield.
Kent. Fringe depth.
Battle. Looks like we don't rate him.
Membrey. Had 2 below average years but solid B-.
Webster. solid B-
Allison. Unknown.
Byrnes. Promising kid, looks best 22.
Wood. Fringe player depth.
Paton. Solid B small defender coming off serious leg break.
Highmore. Very good prospect who should take a best 22 spot most weeks.
Sinclair. B plus rebound defender.
McKenzie- B minus player who sets the tempo.
Connolly. Developing running back wingman, might have to duke it out at Sandy with the new recruits.
One of Clav/ Joyce as back up tall defenders.
Sharman. Promising third tall.
Wilkie. Solid B defender who tries his guts out.

Midfield is Hanners, Crouch, Hill, Jones and Steele. Clark and Gresham as rotations from BBF, small forward. Byrnes and Bytel developing along side new recruits.
Forward line of King, Sharman, Higgins, Membrey, Butts, Long, Kent, Wood.
Rucks Heath, Ryder and Marshall
Backs Wilkie, Howard, Webster, Paton, Coffield, Highmore, Allison and Clav/ Joyce.

There are some good pieces but that doesn't look very deep or high end. To me the best players are Steele and maybe Howard then hope King, Clark, Gresham and Coffield etc take a huge leap forward. Looks more likely to go backwards than forwards to me. Sides like Gold Coast and Carlton will step forward I reckon and we could easily slip behind them if they make a bit of a surge and we cut our depth out. We'd be an injury to Steele off bottom 3 I reckon.

People may not agree with me, but again I'll ask the big question; Why has the club not given it their all to keep him at St Kilda?

If he was good enough why aren't we contracting him at the same value of a few years ago? Because he's regressed.

I think they want to lose his wage after over paying him for years and we have a tighter cap than we'd like. In an ideal world they keep him on a reduced contract. Something that would be commensurate with out put.

People may not agree with me, but again I'll ask the big question; Why has the club not given it their all to keep him at St Kilda?

If he was good enough why aren't we contracting him at the same value of a few years ago? Because he's regressed.

Not a big question at all.

1) Billings at time of last contract was one of the few A grade players we had. Other players like Steele, and Sinclair, Clark, Coff, had not come on. The trades had not joined.
2) We needed to spend 95% on our SC, he got a great contract , so did Dunstan, so did DMAC. He was never worth the money he was on. Hannebery got big $$ cause nobody else wanted to koin us
3) Billings was not worth the report 700 to 750k he received then and he is not worth it now. Was worth somewhere between 450-60k and thas his range now.

Has been injured since R5, like so many others who play AFL. But yes a squib etc :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Well i heard it directly from the horses mouth on 3AW on the way to the Sandy v Essendon match a few weeks back.

He said he told Dunstand he had a few in front of him and had to work harder. Don't know how you misunderstand that. And the fact he did improve and did get in and has been in career best form, would sufggest there was no misunderstanding.
I'm not saying it's justified, but when Steele is publicly saying that Dunstan was told he wouldn't play, and it's being ran by multiple journos, I'm open to the possibility that there was some confusion. Dunstan ultimately getting picked doesn't mean he didn't get told he wouldn't play months prior or misunderstand Ratten's message.

None of them look too good to me. Talia is a maybe and you'd want a couple of independent medical reports. The rest are too old or not really a priority. What is Mayne even? A sort of utility defenderish/ HF Flanky kind of thing. I'd prefer DMac. Rocky if Dunny goes perhaps but he's old, you'd have to hope someone can step up in the meantime.
I'm only thinking for depth 1-2 years max. I'm %100 behind shifting Seb and JB, and Dunny I can handle either way, but it does leave us thin on depth so it's just about addressing that in the short term till some of the kids grow.

Port were much closer and had a better list to start with. They had a couple of kids like Byrne Jones playing well and realised that they could cash in Pittard who was playing the same role. They lost Polec who was a bit like the equivalent of Jack Billings as a sort of good solid citizen type. They cashed them in for incredible overs. They got pick 11 for the two of them knowing that North had to lose their first round pick because Tarryn Thomas was expected to get bid on early so would have burnt that pick any way.

Dumping our players for pocket change wouldn't be brave it would be crazy. Remember that list ranking of players I did a few weeks back. That is still a very ordinary list. The thing we have going for us is that we have a huge bank of guys that are quite even. Take that away and we start to look very inexperienced and ordinary.

Crouch. Solid B
Steele. A grade gun.
Hanners. Done
Howard. Solid B
Kent. Fringe depth.
Webster. solid B-
Allison. Unknown.
Connolly. Developing running back wingman, might have to duke it out at Sandy with the new recruits.

Midfield is Hanners, Crouch, Hill, Jones and Steele. Clark and Gresham as rotations from BBF, small forward. Byrnes and Bytel developing along side new recruits.
Backs Wilkie, Howard, Webster, Paton, Coffield, Highmore, Allison and Clav/ Joyce.

There are some good pieces but that doesn't look very deep or high end. To me the best players are Steele and maybe Howard then hope King, Clark, Gresham and Coffield etc take a huge leap forward. Looks more likely to go backwards than forwards to me. Sides like Gold Coast and Carlton will step forward I reckon and we could easily slip behind them if they make a bit of a surge and we cut our depth out. We'd be an injury to Steele off bottom 3 I reckon.
All based on current form, you can't rate them on how they will go next year.

Butler a C? Was in AA squad last year, whose to say that wasn't his usual and he has had a bad year.
What would Dunstan have been rated last year? And you reckon we have one A grade player? C'Mon man

Not a big question at all.

1) Billings at time of last contract was one of the few A grade players we had. Other players like Steele, and Sinclair, Clark, Coff, had not come on. The trades had not joined.
2) We needed to spend 95% on our SC, he got a great contract , so did Dunstan, so did DMAC. He was never worth the money he was on. Hannebery got big $$ cause nobody else wanted to koin us
3) Billings was not worth the report 700 to 750k he received then and he is not worth it now. Was worth somewhere between 450-60k and thas his range now.

Has been injured since R5, like so many others who play AFL. But yes a squib etc :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

That still doesn't answer the question of why the club is letting him go?

Surely if there was negotiating wiggle room the club would get to a fair point regardless of earlier contracts but news reports indicate the club is happy to let him leave?

All based on current form, you can't rate them on how they will go next year.

Butler a C? Was in AA squad last year, whose to say that wasn't his usual and he has had a bad year.
What would Dunstan have been rated last year? And you reckon we have one A grade player? C'Mon man

Who are your A graders? I reckon I was generous with a lot of them. Steele is a gun then we have a very even group of good but not excellent talent. We have about 5 guys with above average potential in King, Gresham, Clark, Coffield and Marshall. Then some promising kids in Bytel, Byrnes, Highmore and Sharman but realistically not all will even make it let alone all be stars. Our depth is very even but not high end IMO, it's our strength and our weakness. Take away the best of that GOP talent and we lose the only thing we have that makes us strong to me.

Butler is hard to read. He had a good season at Richmond then fell away and he had 3/4 of a great season with us and dropped right off. Where would you rate him. He's a fringe player right this moment and may get back to me.

Who are your A graders? I reckon I was generous with a lot of them. Steele is a gun then we have a very even group of good but not excellent talent. We have about 5 guys with above average potential in King, Gresham, Clark, Coffield and Marshall. Then some promising kids in Bytel, Byrnes, Highmore and Sharman but realistically not all will even make it let alone all be stars. Our depth is very even but not high end IMO, it's our strength and our weakness. Take away the best of that GOP talent and we lose the only thing we have that makes us strong to me.

Butler is hard to read. He had a good season at Richmond then fell away and he had 3/4 of a great season with us and dropped right off. Where would you rate him. He's a fringe player right this moment and may get back to me.
The word A grader is such a weird one. People use it in context of the team as well as the competition. Some people are of the belief that across the competition there’s only a handful of “A graders” which would be the genuine out and out stars of the competition. Others rate a grader as just being a top player at your team.

Even the top 5-10 of a team really tends to only have 1-2 genuine a graders

Lets say we let all 3 go we are not going to be a 10 to 18th range side, 10 th to 14th at worse and even if we keep all 3 at best an 8th to 12th side if those 3 play most games next year. I don't want us to waste 3 to 5 years being a nothing side 8th to 10th sort of thing. Be brave try and get 3 or 4 picks in the top 30 and play Clark - Coffield - Byrnes - Connelly - King - Sharman - Bytel - Paton - Marshall have Crouch - Hill - Steele - Howard - Wilklie - Membrey as your leaders. Give the young ones a chance, Billings - Ross - Dunstan have had 7 - 8 years time for freshen up. To win a flag you need a top 4 list we dont have that be brave like Port a couple of years ago.
Forgot Higgins - Highmore - Sincs who i think are all very good

We need to add some real class but easier said then done, think we have a good base to start with
Really think a couple of new assistant coaches to help Ratts would be a huge benefit

He was an early start pick. He hasn't lived up to his potential. Compare with Farren ray. Farren wasn't that bad but he was disappointing for an early pick

On V2023 using BigFooty.com mobile app

The word A grader is such a weird one. People use it in context of the team as well as the competition. Some people are of the belief that across the competition there’s only a handful of “A graders” which would be the genuine out and out stars of the competition. Others rate a grader as just being a top player at your team.

I'd probably say top 50 maybe even top 100 AFL players maybe at a stretch are A grade. Elite your top 25 AFL players or so maybe. B graders are your next tier down of very good but not absolute top end.

See to me A grade referred to Elite or Star in the same way. Only Steele to me was an A grader. It pretty much meant All Australian or All Australian contention

It's a good point that the language around these types of categories can vary and be a bit difficult to gauge at times. However you want to phrase it though, I do think we lack at least a couple of really high quality players. The way I think about it is that contending teams need several players who could be one of the best players in wins regularly throughout the year - and have a narrow gap between their best and worst.

People like to discredit the accolades in the game, but I think things like AA squad of 40 and coaches votes are reasonable indicators of top players. We have Steele who is clearly one of the best in the comp, but after that I doubt we have anyone who is even in the mix for top 50 this year. Melbourne have Petracca, Oliver, May and Lever who would be locks for the AA squad of 40. Salem a possibility. Bulldogs would have Bontempelli, Macrae and Dale as locks for the 40. Liberatore a maybe. Geelong probably has Hawkins, Guthrie and Stewart in the 40. Dangerfield and Cameron clearly top players in the comp too but have had injury prone years. Brisbane has Andrews, Lyons, McCluggage, Lyons and Cameron as top players in their position.

I think we have some players who could get to that level, but we need them to have big pre-seasons and develop quickly. I'm confident that King is close. We need some of Clark, Coffield, Gresham, Byrnes, Highmore etc to get to a very high level.

Crouch. Solid B
Steele. A grade gun.
Hanners. Done
Howard. Solid B
Kent. Fringe depth.
Webster. solid B-
Allison. Unknown.

A reasonable summary. Especially on the A graders, the better players have come from other clubs in the main , like Jones , Howard, Crouch etc, they were not A graders at the clubs they departed from and they are not now. If they have very good seasons in 2022 without missing many games then they could move up to that level, commensurate with that would be finals for the club.

I would expect King to go through the roof next year and hoping that Marshall can as well. That gives us 3 players that are top level and can make the AA squad and Steele may make the final AA team ( should this year). Gresham can be A grade if he plays more forward than mid. I do like the improvement in Sinclair. The rest are GOP's. The long shot could be Sharman if he hits the gym.

It's a good point that the language around these types of categories can vary and be a bit difficult to gauge at times. However you want to phrase it though, I do think we lack at least a couple of really high quality players. The way I think about it is that contending teams need several players who could be one of the best players in wins regularly throughout the year - and have a narrow gap between their best and worst.

People like to discredit the accolades in the game, but I think things like AA squad of 40 and coaches votes are reasonable indicators of top players. We have Steele who is clearly one of the best in the comp, but after that I doubt we have anyone who is even in the mix for top 50 this year. Melbourne have Petracca, Oliver, May and Lever who would be locks for the AA squad of 40. Salem a possibility. Bulldogs would have Bontempelli, Macrae and Dale as locks for the 40. Liberatore a maybe. Geelong probably has Hawkins, Guthrie and Stewart in the 40. Dangerfield and Cameron clearly top players in the comp too but have had injury prone years. Brisbane has Andrews, Lyons, McCLuggage, Lyons and Cameron as top players in their position.

I think we have some players who could get to that level, but we need them to have big pre-seasons and develop quickly. I'm confident that King is close. We need some of Clark, Coffield, Gresham, Byrnes, Highmore etc to get to a very high level.

Melbourne also has Gawn who is still considered a top 5 ruckman despite having not as good a year as normal because he's being used differently.

I'm not saying it's justified, but when Steele is publicly saying that Dunstan was told he wouldn't play, and it's being ran by multiple journos, I'm open to the possibility that there was some confusion. Dunstan ultimately getting picked doesn't mean he didn't get told he wouldn't play months prior or misunderstand Ratten's message.
Steele didn't say Dunstan was told he wouldn't play again. Steele said he also thought Dunstan's career was over at St Kilda.

Those are different statements.

A reasonable summary. Especially on the A graders, the better players have come from other clubs in the main , like Jones , Howard, Crouch etc, they were not A graders at the clubs they departed from and they are not now. If they have very good seasons in 2022 without missing many games then they could move up to that level, commensurate with that would be finals for the club.

I would expect King to go through the roof next year and hoping that Marshall can as well. That gives us 3 players that are top level and can make the AA squad and Steele may make the final AA team ( should this year). Gresham can be A grade if he plays more forward than mid. I do like the improvement in Sinclair. The rest are GOP's. The long shot could be Sharman if he hits the gym.

I hate the idea of it because Ryder is a gun but I think Marshall needs to be a solo ruck to get back to meeting his maximum potential. It's like throwing away your crutches though. He makes a pedestrian midfield look a lot better. I hope King keeps up his late season form. I'd take that even, I'm not greedy.

I'm talking less of the squibbing contests but more of the shitting himself in vital moments which he undeniably does.

I'm sorry if it wasn't true why would there be a narrative? Why would so many fans be consistently infuriated with him and why would the club be happy to let him leave for a 2nd round pick?

I don't want Jack Steele to leave but he makes mistakes. I don't want Snags to leave? I don't want Dmac to leave?

At the end of the day Billings is an on-field liability without enough redeeming features to make it worth keeping him.

He pulled out of a marking contest in a game in Adelaide in 2014.

Some supporters have long memories and with others it's just a case of saying something often enough that you believe it.

I reckon most fans who are keen to move him on are just frustrated that he isn't the player that we all wanted him to be (and that he has shown on occasions). JB has been fumbling too often and for too long now which is a infuriating part of his game.

He's far from a liability IMO.