24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

People may not agree with me, but again I'll ask the big question; Why has the club not given it their all to keep him at St Kilda?

If he was good enough why aren't we contracting him at the same value of a few years ago? Because he's regressed.

Moreso that he was overpaid after having a great season in 2019 and we had to spend the coin on someone.

What is Mayne even?
hSJqsBl.gif

Talk about A Grade Saints without mentioning Wilkie? If he does a job on Hawkins like he did on Buddy last week, a lot of you experts are going to look silly.
He's not in the mix for one of the best defenders in the competition. He's a good reliable lockdown player and a nice kick, but he doesn't take the number one tall most weeks and he isn't an elite interceptor. Weitering, Andrews, May, Moore, Taylor are probably the main number one KPDs in the comp. Wilkie doesn't fit into that category. He's more of a second/third tall. Stewart, Lever, Grimes, Doedee are the pick of the bunch in this role. Wilkie is 38th in the league for intercept marks.

This isn't at all meant as a knock on him. He is a really reliable player and an important part of our team.

Because our midfield is so dominant? Even with him we are still a side that looks like we fit in a sort of 8th to 16th spot kind of range. We'll lose a lot of experience and depth next year and the only way we won't miss him is if a lot of players step up. So far more have stepped down than up unfortunately. Taking away quality depth even is making yourself more vulnerable to injury plunges. We lose Dunstan, Billings, Seb like people want and we probably go to 10th to 18th sort of range if we get a few injuries.

Some people like the build more than the destination I think or the club has conditioned them to keep churning and hoping we arse a Plugger or Riewoldt. Dunstan is getting coaches votes is because he's playing well. All hands on deck is not a plan that a hope. No side gets to play the same 22 players every week. Are you happy to miss finals again next year? I reckon that will be the outcome with the expected player movement and with the forum dream of culling Seb, Ross and Dunstan.

Our midfield has been missing key players on and off throughout the entire season and is not a dominant midfield even with all hands on deck. We desperately need a few of the young blokes to go from promising to consistently good and then to consistently very good. You make a good point that we're not good enough with him in the side... so do we keep giving him games or give Bytel a proper go to develop into a better player? You're forgetting that our younger guys are now into their 2nd, 3rd or 4th years... they're not babies anymore... we need to start relying on them as players who can stand up and play their role. Holding them back for the likes of Dunstan, who we know what we'll get, is counter productive IMO. I know I'm hard on him but I've seen these false dawns too many times.

I suppose it comes down to whether you consider Dunstan as depth or as an absolute lock for best 22 in 12 months time when we're pushing top 4. IMO he would only be staying on as a depth player... is that enough for him? That's doubtful. So we get what we can for him & hope Libba pulls another gem from the 2nd round.

As for Seb & Billings, well I think they are unfairly maligned. I was Seb's greatest critic after his last B&F win but he's had 2 pretty good years in a new role. Hopefully younger players go past him but he can stay as a back up. With JB I think it comes down to what we can get in return... an end of 1st rounder is the right price IMO. If it's after that then I prefer we keep him.

While there's no guarantee the injury gods will smile on us next year, you can't make list management decisions on 'what if we get a shitload of injuries'. You decide who stays and who goes on what is going to help the list win a bloody flag.

My personal opinion is that making Jack Bytel & co hardened, experienced senior players will get us closer to that than putting our trust in Luke Dunstan.

I’d say our A Grade players are Crouch, Marshall, Gresham, Hill and potentially King and Sinclair next year.

Steele is elite, top 5 mid in the game easily. Arguably the best two way mid.

Would rather play Byrnes over billings and get him up to 50 games as quick as possible and save 200k, reminds me a little of stuv in his early days.

Billings is a link man and he hasn't even been able to do that lately.

Unfortunately for whatever reason be it coaching or lack of confidence billings has never become the player we thought he could be. His first 50 games were pretty exciting, I honestly thought we finally drafted a beauty.

But I feel like he has declined in his last 50 games, dosent win 1 on 1s, dosent win his own ball, dosent defend well, goes up for the contested mark but always drops them, dosent kick goals under pressure and the few goals he does kick these days come from a quick turn over and he just happens to be in the right place at the right time by accident. Can't break lines because he doesn't have any speed.

I believe a fresh start for both billings and the club is the best thing, it might turn his career around and it'll give us the opportunity to play some of under 22 kids more regularly. But if billings does stay I wouldn't be surprised if he ends up playing more in the 2s and becoming the back up for injuries.

On DUB-LX2 using BigFooty.com mobile app

In terms of players that project to be really elite players for their position, I think Highmore really doesn't have to improve very much to get there. Since his game against Adelaide where he established himself at the level, he's averaging 3.6 intercept marks and 8.2 overall intercepts a game. Obviously, you can't just transfer that into a whole season like this, but if he could, it would place him fourth in the comp for both intercept marks and overall intercepts. That's really promising and I expect he will be right up there next year for intercepting defenders if he can play a full season.

People may not agree with me, but again I'll ask the big question; Why has the club not given it their all to keep him at St Kilda?

If he was good enough why aren't we contracting him at the same value of a few years ago? Because he's regressed.
Because we have paid other players significant money and can no longer afford to pay him a substantial amount without it being poor list management. We're currently paying Hanners and Hill significant money, both who have done far less than Billings over the last 2 season's.
If we lose him, we lose him, but he's not the squib or liability you're making him out to be

I'm talking less of the squibbing contests but more of the shitting himself in vital moments which he undeniably does.

I'm sorry if it wasn't true why would there be a narrative? Why would so many fans be consistently infuriated with him and why would the club be happy to let him leave for a 2nd round pick?

I don't want Jack Steele to leave but he makes mistakes. I don't want Snags to leave? I don't want Dmac to leave?

At the end of the day Billings is an on-field liability without enough redeeming features to make it worth keeping him.
Everybody on this Forum wanted DMac gone before this season

That still doesn't answer the question of why the club is letting him go?

Apart from clickbait article who says Saints are letting him go? He has been offered his worth to us. If he accepts our offer we haven't let him go. If he decides to leave under FA we can match.

Only then if we don't match will we be letting him go.

That still doesn't answer the question of why the club is letting him go?

Surely if there was negotiating wiggle room the club would get to a fair point regardless of earlier contracts but news reports indicate the club is happy to let him leave?

Who says they’re letting him go? They’ve offered him a contract, but he is within his rights to look around. I think he’ll stay.

I think anyone calling him or any AFL player a squib is just pathetic, frankly.

Don't tell me journo's are dart throwing about trades? Surely that never happens.

Out of the two would rather keep Billings. Can cover Dunstan with Bytel.

After R5 if someone said we would get a R3 or even a R2 for Dunstan we would have said ' where do we sign'?
I'm the opposite. Rather keep Dunstan and ship out Billings. We'll get more for Billings. I don't think either of them will take us anywhere.

Who are your A graders?
Dont know, eveyone thought Dunny and DMAC would get delisted at the beginning of the year, Sinc's was just a GOP, Butler was the next Milne, and Sharman was the bloke assaulting the White House on Jan 6th. The only Connelly was Bill or Roh and Battle would tear it apart this year, along with a Hanners who ran the best 3klm time trial at the club. Higgins was just a small forward

How anyone can gauge who will be an Agrade going forward is anyones guess. To me King, Steele, Marshall are dead set A grade, Butler and Higgins at their best, and if Gres and Clark come back fit, could be but who knows.

Dont know, eveyone thought Dunny and DMAC would get delisted at the beginning of the year, Sinc's was just a GOP, Butler was the next Milne, and Sharman was the bloke assaulting the White House on Jan 6th. The only Connelly was Bill or Roh and Battle would tear it apart this year, along with a Hanners who ran the best 3klm time trial at the club. Higgins was just a small forward

How anyone can gauge who will be an Agrade going forward is anyones guess. To me King, Steele, Marshall are dead set A grade, Butler and Higgins at their best, and if Gres and Clark come back fit, could be but who knows.
not everyone's convinced on Dmac and Dunstan but Sinclair is the ultimate example. There isn't a person here who would doubt his place in our side and his value to the best 22 if you asked. Though he was one of those people we thought we'd outgrown once Richo had left. He had that article celebrating him finally getting a game with Ratts after a few months.

This club is doing nothing good with Battle.

We should trade him for the Weed.
The blokes a bit of a squibb but is a taller KPP & does have some talent to work with.

Billings not playing for the rest of the season would give him ample time with his management to get his contract sorted and if it's not done by next week I fully expect him to go.
Use his compensation to pick up Riccardi or Brander.

I may as well add my two cents in ....

I rate Billings and would be happy to keep him.....but.....in terms of our structure, what he brings to the team and what he has to offer in the future, even at a 2nd round compo pick, the added flexibility that gives us in draft and trade may be too good to pass up. The same goes for Dunstan, Ross and Battle.

I'm not advocating that we jettison all four, but do think it wouldn't be too big a loss if we were to trade two.

He says here that he was told he wouldn't play. He doesn't use the word 'again', but it's not unreasonable to assume that is what he means.
View attachment 1203681
you heard of broken telephone. Steele might not have heard Correctly. Dunstan may not have told Steele the truth. People just don't know what is the actual truth.

Our midfield has been missing key players on and off throughout the entire season and is not a dominant midfield even with all hands on deck. We desperately need a few of the young blokes to go from promising to consistently good and then to consistently very good. You make a good point that we're not good enough with him in the side... so do we keep giving him games or give Bytel a proper go to develop into a better player? You're forgetting that our younger guys are now into their 2nd, 3rd or 4th years... they're not babies anymore... we need to start relying on them as players who can stand up and play their role. Holding them back for the likes of Dunstan, who we know what we'll get, is counter productive IMO. I know I'm hard on him but I've seen these false dawns too many times.

I suppose it comes down to whether you consider Dunstan as depth or as an absolute lock for best 22 in 12 months time when we're pushing top 4. IMO he would only be staying on as a depth player... is that enough for him? That's doubtful. So we get what we can for him & hope Libba pulls another gem from the 2nd round.

As for Seb & Billings, well I think they are unfairly maligned. I was Seb's greatest critic after his last B&F win but he's had 2 pretty good years in a new role. Hopefully younger players go past him but he can stay as a back up. With JB I think it comes down to what we can get in return... an end of 1st rounder is the right price IMO. If it's after that then I prefer we keep him.

While there's no guarantee the injury gods will smile on us next year, you can't make list management decisions on 'what if we get a shitload of injuries'. You decide who stays and who goes on what is going to help the list win a bloody flag.

My personal opinion is that making Jack Bytel & co hardened, experienced senior players will get us closer to that than putting our trust in Luke Dunstan.

I reckon Dunstan is best 22, every year we hope, apart from last year we are disappointed. We have moved on 3/4 of the list in 3 years. That's a full rebuild if we push out what's left. We purge when things aren't immediate but keep the average ring-ins who are no better to justify their recruitment. At some point they have to do some hard work instead of hoping to get some more cast offs to create magic and subvert the normal rebuild model. We will be young and inexperienced next year, cutting away at that is a bad idea. If we lose a few of our best 10 players every year eventually we will either arse some development or hit the skids again and have to do it the hard way.