24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

I’m of the same belief. A regular pattern would be trade in 1-2 and draft 1-2 good prospects and maybe 1 speculative picks. If we can get 3 good mids and a few speculative picks in one go it’ll mean if say next year’s trade prospects are more enticing we won’t have fallen behind in the youth department. Averages out. There doesn’t seem to be many interesting trade prospects or free agents. They’ve all re-signed. Good time to sell though with our free agents somehow possibly ending up the most enticing.
Yeah. I just don’t think there is much Uncontracted talent available this year. Save everything for king next year

What's the go with Pat Lipinski? I think he slots into our 22 and is close mates with Coff
There was a dogs supporter somewhere on our trade thread a month or two ago and I asked about Pat Lipinski

Sure! Starting with weaknesses:
  • He's slow. Draft year, he finished right down the bottom in the sprint test (among the bottom few, not sure on exact finish). On the plus side, he tested very well for endurance, and I think his agility score was reasonable (although not 100% on that one). Unfortunately, his pace doesn't seem to have improved much, and as a Dogs fan it really starts to stand out once you're aware of it.
  • He applies very little pressure when the opposition has ball in hand. I can't tell you how many times I've watched him plant his feet, and just lean sideways lazily with an arm outstretched while an opponent runs straight past him with ball in hand. He's also constantly allowing people to slip easy tackles.
For positives:
  • One of the best inside 50 kicks on the Dogs list, and probably right up in the top 5% in the comp. Great field kick and has fantastic hands in congestion, doing well at finding a team mate and palming the ball off quickly. Reasonably strong overhead (for a midfielder) so he's done okay when playing up forward, although he's not a "forward". At most he's a high half-forward / wing, but ideally you'd have him in the midfield with good defensive mids around him (especially those with pace).
  • Speaking of work in congestion, a lot of Dogs fans took to calling him "Bont-lite" a couple years back, because his movement in traffic and ability to create space around him really reminded you of a young Bontempelli. Probably not on the same level I've seen from Hunter Clark at times, but still a definite strength.
  • When given more responsibility in the midfield in previous years, he's been able to rack up touches (30+ a few times, and 25+ a bunch more) and does strike me as a smart footballer. I'd say that when given the opportunity, he's consistently good for 25+, and would semi-regularly hit the 30s. Not an accumulator on the level of Crouch, Mitchell and Macrae, probably closer to the levels that Petracca, Bont and Martin hit (where you trust them to have 20+ good possessions, but will sometimes have a big game where they go 30+). Although I wouldn't say he's as damaging as Bont and co.
Honestly, I think now is a great time to target someone like him. He's getting 30-35 touches every week in the VFL and kicking multiple goals (had 35 and 1 against Sydney's VFL side, also managed 31d and 3.2 against Geelong VFL, and 35 and 1.1 against GWS VFL). Given he's on the fringes, he'd be gettable for unders, meaning a team could probably get away with handing us a bunch of later picks so we have points for Darcy, rather than handing over one good pick. So a couple of thirds would be doable. Based on current picks, your Pick 45 plus change for Lipinski is something I can see happening.

He's a definite AFL quality player, just can't get the opportunity in our system due to not being the right fit. Can see him exploding in form elsewhere, but won't happen with us

I quite like the idea of Wallis. Would come cheap and cost very little in draft capital and could be a valuable contributor.

Talia is in the same boat for me but I think fills an even larger hole at CHB. Minor concern that he has struggled with injury this season but previous to that he was magnificently consistent and obviously of extremely high calibre.

We should move on from Carlisle and Frawley but hold Claverino and Joyce for another season.

I would be tempted to use our first pick in the ND on the best beast key defender but am conscious we will miss out on the type of attacking midfielder we so desperately need. Could Owens and Windhager film this need allowing us to grab a first round quality KPD?

If so our KPD stocks would look like the below in some order of quality.

Starting 22

Howard
Talia

Depth

Battle
Joyce
Claverino
1st Rd pick

Pretty solid when you consider all our medium defensive and intercept options.

Who’s the best KPD kid in the draft? And would it be worth overlooking a decent mid option? Pick 6 is pretty nose bleedy for key back but I would pay it for May, Lever, Andrews, Weitering
Gibcus is the best kpd but he might not make it to our pick 8. Then who knows after that

We are 1 game ahead of Carlton and you could argue their list is better

I reckon we have a better spread of GOPs and have good B depth all the way through where they have a better top end and some unreliable middle tier players. They have potential to have quality kids move in to that middle tier and soar. That's why I want to keep our beige blanket to stay whole.

Gibcus is the best kpd but he might not make it to our pick 8. Then who knows after that

I really don't want to use a first round pick on a KP in a midfielders draft.

Sounds like he could be a good option for us. We’ve been bleeding heavily with an undersized and not very talented CHB.

He probably doesn't come on for 4 years, won't help now.

Old mate gringo suggested this weeks ago LOL he got shot down big time LOL

Our forward line is playing better now so I'd actually prefer other pieces but he was their leading goal kicker last year and was originally drafted and playing as a mid.

He probably doesn't come on for 4 years, won't help now.

If we think we need a top 5-10 CHB now, what about when it’s actually the missing link in 4 years when King has won his 3rd Colman and we haven’t even made a GF.

Silly hypothetical sure, but maybe it’s worth investing heavily now into an area we have so terribly neglected since the great Hugh Goddard let down.

I’m not convinced we can turn any of our currently listed players into a competent CHB and if that’s the intention with Allison, then I find that pretty worrying in a lot of ways. I doubt that’s the case though.

Sam Taylor for the giants looks quite skinny and has been taking intercept marks on all the big boys

196cm to Alison’s 195?

I think we are planning on finals next year. Talls generally don't come on for 4 plus years. We still need gun mids and this draft looks stacked with gun mids and they all come on quicker generally. If we lose Dunny, Seb and Billings and draft a KPB with our only first rounder I'll have to wonder about Gags. Haven't chased mids in the draft for a few years and we probably only have one live early pick with NGAs. If we go all in on King we won't be getting anywhere near mids for a couple more years.

If we think we need a top 5-10 CHB now, what about when it’s actually the missing link in 4 years when King has won his 3rd Colman and we haven’t even made a GF.

Silly hypothetical sure, but maybe it’s worth investing heavily now into an area we have so terribly neglected since the great Hugh Goddard let down.

I’m not convinced we can turn any of our currently listed players into a competent CHB and if that’s the intention with Allison, then I find that pretty worrying in a lot of ways. I doubt that’s the case though.

Apparently we want a stopper back so Howard can play CHB.

I know. But not sure if the elite midfield talent will be available at our pick. But it is pretty deep with mids so maybe. Gotta remember Owens and windy (if we get them) are both handy mids

I think it sounds like Owens is more a tallish utility that played some recent wing.

Played in the guts for sandy in there last game and was named in the best. But yes you are right. Cal has him in the draft team of the year on the wing

Draft experts reckon he has a good contested game. He’s played there a bit more recently and shown promise. Other reports have said he’s got good core strength standing up in tackles. If he can get clearances and inside 50s as well as run and carry he’ll sound like the type of player we missed with bont. Obviously nowhere near as good but the same type of player in the role they play and build. I’m not expecting him to be a Brownlow but fill a niche role we haven’t drafted.
“Owens gathered 25 disposals, seven clearances and five inside-50s for the Sandringham Dragons against Greater Western Victoria Rebels in the NAB League and once again showcased his run and carry”

“29 disposals and a goal”

Played in the guts for sandy in there last game and was named in the best. But yes you are right. Cal has him in the draft team of the year on the wing
Strong when tackled, gets clearances, can run and carry on the wing, tall enough to rest forward and take a mark and be a threat. Sounds like exactly the type we’re missing

Apparently we want a stopper back so Howard can play CHB.

Hmm okay well Talia seems to me like the obvious call for that to happen next year and hope Claverino and Joyce can provide some cover.

For the record, Id be more than happy to draft the best attacking mid available at no.8. However, if Gibcus is being touted that highly, if I was pulling the levers and I’m glad I’m not lol it would be very hard to resist locking away that piece of the puzzle.