24. James Frawley - Link
25. Dean Kent - Link
38. Oscar Clavarino - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link
42. Max Heath - Link
45. Sam Alabakis - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Average players need to be very careful testing the water.

Average player Tom Ledger tested the waters and that didn’t end too well.

nHdy2BD.jpg

To me drafting a lucky dip as we have seen , all I want is the best available in the top 10
Same as a draft pick but without the years to wait
Gringo , I wouldn't have a clue about Brander , but having him and Battle I feel would be better than Joyce and Clavarino and as you said he is a double of Battle just about - he went at pick 13 in the draft and has plenty of upside as has Battle.
They can both play forward and back and if King goes down we have a capable body to fill in.

Both are 22 and have hit the age where they can start to show how good they are.

Ward, Hobbs, Mc Donald, Sons, Draper, Jackson, Browne, Erasmus types should be around.

So many good mids with high production this year. We'd be mad to take a KPB unless he's so insanely good that he makes it a no brainer. I was keen if we had a second pick as a late first rounder but not when it's our only pick. Apparently he's a super quiet kid as well.

Rookie that Sclensong Schlongsong fellah...and get Talia for a year or two (if...and only if... he passes a strongly reviewed medical) The former might be a bit raw but that's not necessarily a negative. Scope for improvement.

The recruiting team by all accounts had been keeping an eye on Sharman for a while according to what I've read and pounced knowing his abilities , Ratten has been able to let the play his natural and is thriving and he could easily prove a outstanding player.
But Heath could easily come on quicker than most ruck prospect's - the reason is he picks up a lot of possessions around the ground , looks like they have picked another 2 good ones.

For the life of me I cannot see why any player would choose to play for Gold Coast. It makes absolutely no sense at all.
The lifestyles pretty good for a young bloke on the coast plus you’re anonymous in the street and away from the media glare. My guess is that most would prefer to play in front of a packed house with family and friends around but it takes all types.

The lifestyles pretty good for a young bloke on the coast plus you’re anonymous in the street and away from the media glare.
And then there’s the glamorous eye candy [emoji2957]

6V8yx46.jpg

And then there’s the glamorous eye candy [emoji2957]

6V8yx46.jpg
By what has happened at the Gold Coast losing all there players no one wants to play there , unless you are from there.
Just look at all there top draft picks , anyone that was any good left.
We have football states like WA and SA with 2 teams and then you give Queensland and NSW 2 teams and they are Rugby states , they would of be better pouring the money into NT or Tassie who follow the sport.

Morris on Fox saying Ross want's to test the waters and see what's out there and believes Dunstan & Ross could leave

Pretty much assumed that a while back as it was announced months ago that Ross was about to re-sign.
When a week or two passes and nothing happens, ya know they're looking elsewhere. Good luck to him.

So called ITK's only give info that is current at the time they are given information. Things ALWAYS change. An example is that O'Meara told my training group in Feb of the year he was traded that he would only go to Carlton or North. If he isn't an ITK of himself, I don't know who is.

You have the right to listen or not to anything posted here, but really you don't have the right to lecture what anybody else should listen to.
Its ridiculous now.

Pretty much assumed that a while back as it was announced months ago that Ross was about to re-sign.
When a week or two passes and nothing happens, ya know they're looking elsewhere. Good luck to him.
This is really a good sign because it shows that the depth in the squad has put heat on the established players and they are feeling it might be easy at another club and they can get easier money than having to fight for there positions if they stay.

You can tell by the caliber of the players looking at options - Billings , Dunstan and Ross - they are at the age where they expect to reap there final big contract however they don't realize that there ability does not warrant the money they expect to get.
All 3 have been on very good money , for instance Billings was said to be on around 800k which shows the lack of talent the club had at the time and now with Steele , Marshall , King , Hill , Crouch , Jones , Howard our talent base has improved and bringing Billings , Dunstan and Ross a reality check.

Our squad has now a abundance of young talent which about to overhaul the older players with the likes of King , Higgins , Gresham , Paton , Clark , Coffield , Highmore , Byrne , Bytel , Battle , Connolly , Sharman have all shown they have the standard to play AFL and are all 22 or younger - this amazes me because the media don't even mention how young our base is and how talented they are.

We have a number of players at the age where they should be about to show there best and in this list I would put Steele , Marshall , Sinclair , Howard , Butler , Wilkie , Jones who are all around the 25 mark and have big careers in front of them with Steele now showing clubs we have a genuine super star.
Now you add Billings , Dunstan and Lonie to the bracket of players who should be in there prime who are around 25 and we have a 22 who would hold there own against most clubs and this not even including Hill , Membery , Crouch , Webster , Ross , Hannerbery , Ryder and McKenzie who is only 25yrs of age.

So you can see why Ross , Billings and Dunstan are looking at moving because the think they have can get easier money else where.
If this is the case well it's good they go because we want leaders who will push the youngsters to higher standards and by the look these guys are leaving a St Kilda that is basically in it's best shape it has been since they have been at the club all because they realize they might not cut the mustard if they stay.

Billings was the guy I was hoping would raise up to another level but at 27 next year he basically has shown his best and to tell you the truth Neal - Bullen and Amon have comparable stats or better and a telling factor is they both average around 4 to 4.5 tackles and Billings doesn't crack 2 tackles a game which is telling in a team that has lost more than we have won this year.

So in a nutshell let them go , we will only get better as we have seen when we let players like Bruce , Newnes move - all players who knew there place in the 22 was under threat.

ST KILDA

Jack Lonie has been out of favour in the past few weeks, he’s had interest from Carlton, Brisbane and Collingwood in recent years, it’ll be interesting to see what happens there,” Morris said.

St Kilda's [PLAYERCARD]Luke Dunstan[/PLAYERCARD] and [PLAYERCARD]Jack Billings[/PLAYERCARD] in 2015. Picture: George Salpigtidis
St Kilda's Luke Dunstan and Jack Billings in 2015. Picture: George SalpigtidisSource: News Corp Australia

Jack Billings is a free agent. The Saints are happy to keep him, but on their terms. They’re not going to pay more than what they think he deserves, he’s got a multi-year deal in front of him. Genuine chance to go if he wants opportunities elsewhere or a better deal elsewhere and the Saints can get a second-round pick back in return as compensation.

Luke Dunstan has had a great revival in the second half of the year, there’ll be clubs that are interested in him, I think the Gold Coast Suns are absolutely going to be one of them at the end of the year. He’s a free agent so he can do as he pleases.

Seb Ross I’m told is eager to test the market and see what’s out there. A two-time best and fairest and a free agent, so like Dunstan and Billings he can do as he pleases.

“I think especially Dunstan and Ross are more likely to leave than Billings, but all three could absolutely leave at the end of the year.”

By what has happened at the Gold Coast losing all there players no one wants to play there , unless you are from there.
Just look at all there top draft picks , anyone that was any good left.
We have football states like WA and SA with 2 teams and then you give Queensland and NSW 2 teams and they are Rugby states , they would of be better pouring the money into NT or Tassie who follow the sport.

I think that's about lack of competitiveness though. Peak Brisbane had no problem keeping the side together. This young group coming through looks the real deal. They seem to be chasing a much better model at the moment. If they can hold it together until they start to head back up the ladder they should be a very good side. I can see them shooting up the ladder at some point but need a few guys to take big leaps at the moment.

I worry that if they appoint Ross he will take them all the way. They have some genuine guns.
no, if they appoint lyon he will get them to the finals but won't win a grand final, just like he did with saints and freo.

This is really a good sign because it shows that the depth in the squad has put heat on the established players and they are feeling it might be easy at another club and they can get easier money than having to fight for there positions if they stay.

You can tell by the caliber of the players looking at options - Billings , Dunstan and Ross - they are at the age where they expect to reap there final big contract however they don't realize that there ability does not warrant the money they expect to get.
All 3 have been on very good money , for instance Billings was said to be on around 800k which shows the lack of talent the club had at the time and now with Steele , Marshall , King , Hill , Crouch , Jones , Howard our talent base has improved and bringing Billings , Dunstan and Ross a reality check.

Our squad has now a abundance of young talent which about to overhaul the older players with the likes of King , Higgins , Gresham , Paton , Clark , Coffield , Highmore , Byrne , Bytel , Battle , Connolly , Sharman have all shown they have the standard to play AFL and are all 22 or younger - this amazes me because the media don't even mention how young our base is and how talented they are.

We have a number of players at the age where they should be about to show there best and in this list I would put Steele , Marshall , Sinclair , Howard , Butler , Wilkie , Jones who are all around the 25 mark and have big careers in front of them with Steele now showing clubs we have a genuine super star.
Now you add Billings , Dunstan and Lonie to the bracket of players who should be in there prime who are around 25 and we have a 22 who would hold there own against most clubs and this not even including Hill , Membery , Crouch , Webster , Ross , Hannerbery , Ryder and McKenzie who is only 25yrs of age.

So you can see why Ross , Billings and Dunstan are looking at moving because the think they have can get easier money else where.
If this is the case well it's good they go because we want leaders who will push the youngsters to higher standards and by the look these guys are leaving a St Kilda that is basically in it's best shape it has been since they have been at the club all because they realize they might not cut the mustard if they stay.

Billings was the guy I was hoping would raise up to another level but at 27 next year he basically has shown his best and to tell you the truth Neal - Bullen and Amon have comparable stats or better and a telling factor is they both average around 4 to 4.5 tackles and Billings doesn't crack 2 tackles a game which is telling in a team that has lost more than we have won this year.

So in a nutshell let them go , we will only get better as we have seen when we let players like Bruce , Newnes move - all players who knew there place in the 22 was under threat.

I agree with pretty much all you've said. These guys (maybe not Dunstan so much) have been riding the club for years. Paid handsomely for being ever so slightly above average. In fairness I think Ross and this year's version of Dunstan have tried to get the best out of themselves (Membrey, despite his deficiencies is another whom I admire for this) Billings on the other hand could have pushed himself to be better, and the fact that he didn't & hasn't speaks volumes about him. There was no incentive for him, cushy and safe in the knowledge that he didn't have to try because our list was so poor. A guy with his ability should've been leading the way. It will be a rude awakening for him if he does leave...he will not find life easy.
None of them will...but at least the other two will give it a crack.

Just on Ross. Something has happened. That was a done deal according to Lethers and on a reduced deal - said before the first bounce against Geelong earlier in the year.

They must have got stuck into him for going home after all. If we lose all of those three and the kids don't take a massive step up I reckon we could easily struggle to make finals for the next 2 years. We will be a very young side and really only have Steele who is top shelf and King who is coming.

A midfield of Steele, Jones and Crouch with maybe Gresham, Clark and Bytel doesn't sound very dominant. Lethers is going to end up being a genius or the dickhead that got us sent to Tasmania.

I reckon a Premiership is a fair way off, they don't like to move fast. We have done it in a strange way replacing all our mid career talent with ring ins and avoiding the draft. Probably should have bottomed out for a few years 5 years ago.

Rookie that Sclensong Schlongsong fellah...and get Talia for a year or two (if...and only if... he passes a strongly reviewed medical) The former might be a bit raw but that's not necessarily a negative. Scope for improvement.
I would be very surprised if the big schlong was still there at a Rookie pick , he has been talked up a fair bit lately

Yeah, he seems to have stepped up a gear, since not being picked up mid-season. We might get lucky still.
Who knows what our recruiting & trading team has in store for us...it's been eventful the last couple years.

I like the idea of targeting Mitch Wallis for our forward line. We need a small forward that can contest in the air if need be. When ever we play any 2 of Butler, Lonie, Gresham the opposition medium defenders have a field day intercepting. Kent is not good enough and Long has yet to perform consistently enough.

Plus it’s an extra player we can run through the middle. Also a leader which we need more of.
Here we go again , any player coming from another club is going to bring leadership when they come to us , Really :rolleyes:

Ps , sorry mate i didnt meant to direct that at you but its the common thing to say on here , so and so will bring leadership when we would not have a clue

I agree with pretty much all you've said. These guys (maybe not Dunstan so much) have been riding the club for years. Paid handsomely for being ever so slightly above average. In fairness I think Ross and this year's version of Dunstan have tried to get the best out of themselves (Membrey, despite his deficiencies is another whom I admire for this) Billings on the other hand could have pushed himself to be better, and the fact that he didn't & hasn't speaks volumes about him. There was no incentive for him, cushy and safe in the knowledge that he didn't have to try because our list was so poor. A guy with his ability should've been leading the way. It will be a rude awakening for him if he does leave...he will not find life easy.
None of them will...but at least the other two will give it a crack.

I disagree with this, Billings and Ross were easily in our top 5 players for a long time. You can argue about how good they are compared to the rest of the competition but they earned their wages. Both were paid well on actual output. Dunstan was unable to contribute to the side because of a lack of skill and fitness and was well paid on potential and because we had to pay someone. Same with DMac. Both have come good this year but neither was a good investment in wages until now.

Losing Billings but keeping Hill seems insane. I think Hill is a downgrade on Billings and he's getting paid like a superstar. It's been a really poor trade so far even with Hill playing his best footy for us in the second half of the season. Billings would look at the trade and rightly think he was worth his wage.

Ross probably feels undervalued, being asked to move further and further from the midfield and doing the team thing. If he wants to be a true outside mid he probably has to move. He's probably someone we'll see at another club and see what he actually contributed. You don't win multiple B and F awards and poll Brownlow votes if you are shit.

Despite Dunstan being a poor investment until now he is contributing on a similar level to Crouch so you would think something like 20% less than Crouch would be a fair wage for an extra inside mid. He improves the midfield and makes it function better as a whole.

They must have got stuck into him for going home after all. If we lose all of those three and the kids don't take a massive step up I reckon we could easily struggle to make finals for the next 2 years. We will be a very young side and really only have Steele who is top shelf and King who is coming.

A midfield of Steele, Jones and Crouch with maybe Gresham, Clark and Bytel doesn't sound very dominant. Lethers is going to end up being a genius or the dickhead that got us sent to Tasmania.

I reckon a Premiership is a fair way off, they don't like to move fast. We have done it in a strange way replacing all our mid career talent with ring ins and avoiding the draft. Probably should have bottomed out for a few years 5 years ago.

I think Caroline wilson may have been on the money and to be fair to her. She generally is - people don’t like acknowledging it because it generally is her breaking news that isn’t great to hear.

however I disagree with you on bottoming out. Free agency has completely changed the landscape. Example Finish second bottom and think you are getting the second best kid and 1 of 2 only elite players? Nope bottom club lets an ageing star walk and you get screwed.

I like to look at it factually. If all 3 left and we got 3 second rounders. What did we losing playing wise?
Experience ✅
Talent ❌ (only 1/3 is highly talented)

Dunstan had another purple patch and probably hurt us towards the end.
Billings has given us minimal for 18 months
Ross is the whipping boy of a lot of posters.

we also get say 1.5-1.7m in cap space back.
So we are left with an Arsenal and currency to make deals if we choose.