Preview 2022 draft prospects

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

The way I look at the draft board at the moment is if he gets past WCE, we could get him with our pick. Hopefully there’s 2 WA boys at 12 for the Eagles, and they choose the other.

Absolutely. If both WA clubs pass on him early we can definitely get this kid. And he is ready to play. A bull.

My advice to you is watch him play because you clearly haven't. There wouldn't be one club who classifies him as a pack bursting contested marking beast which is what you're ripping him for. He'll be an outstanding 3rd tall forward and debut well before 3 years is up which is one on the more ridiculous things I've read, I just can't take that seriously.

If what you are saying translates. Look at McMahon. He was 198cm probably 90kg+ and has had two years in our system. If Liam was playing in the championships this year he too would be a standout. But the problem is that they are too slight and their skills don’t translate to AFL. Nothing against the kids. I hope they do make it and prosper. But unfortunately this is as far as their journeys will go. It’s tough, so is life. Not everyone makes it.

I totally disagree with the criticism of Jefferson.

Main issues:
1/. Not big enough body.
Weight
Weighed in at 76kg (draft Central) and 78kg (AFL.com). I believe he weighed in at 84kg at the combine.
Nick Riewoldt weighed 81kg when drafted.
Jack Riewoldt 85kg.
Ben Reid 82kg.
James Frawley 81kg.
Jack Gunston 74kg.
James Sicily 76kg
Height
He is 195cm
Nick Riewoldt 193cm.
Jack Riewoldt 193cm.
Ben Reid 195cm.
James Frawley 193cm.
Jack Gunston 193cm.
James Sicily 185cm.
2/. Not high enough numbers
Yes he doesn't get high disposals but he does have great team attitude and tackles and smothers to lock the ball in the forward line.
3/. Other. I note he was injured towards the back end of the season.

So you’ve put up some of the successes even though their body shapes were no where similar to Jefferson’s.

What about the 20 kids delisted every year since the competition started like the McMahon’s of this league who more appropriately represent Jefferson’s plight and don’t make it. A lot more of them and for similar reason. You know the ones that are easily forgotten.

As simple as no. Not a chance to translate anything unless he puts on 25kg and grows 5cm.

So Jack Gunstan (when drafted) needed to put on 25kg and grow 5 cm to be a good player? Why does Jefferson have to be Tom Hawkins? Some of you have seriously entered the twilight zone.

FFS Jefferson plays nothing like Gunston.

Only a few pages ago you were comparing him to Harry Jones (which miraculously and coincidentally happens to be the groupthink cut and paste comparison).

Why does he have to be Tom Hawkins for people to want him as a player?

I'm pretty sure we'd all take Bayley Fritsch in our forward line and he averages under 10 disposals a game and is absolutely no Tom Hawkins.

Sure, having a big hulking forward is important, but so is having a natural forward who knows how to get goals on the board.

And taking Jefferson doesn't mean that he's the only forward we're allowed to have in the team for the next 10 years.
You're missing the point. Most people want us to get a big strong KF, Jefferson isn't that. would I take him if he's at our first pick, well yes. At the moment Jefferson is a poor mans Eric Hipwood. Jefferson will always be a 2nd or 3rd tall forward, that's why I don't have an issue with us taking him. I am just pointing out that he won't be the number one banana in our forward line going forward.
OK, now listen carefully. People on here have been crying out for a big contested marking KF beasyt since cloke. I am saying he is not the beast we are after and doesn't look like he will develop enough to be that beast. He will always be a second or 3rd tall. No one is saying he's no good, just not what people are expecting.

If what you are saying translates. Look at McMahon. He was 198cm probably 90kg+ and has had two years in our system. If Liam was playing in the championships this year he too would be a standout. But the problem is that they are too slight and their skills don’t translate to AFL. Nothing against the kids. I hope they do make it and prosper. But unfortunately this is as far as their journeys will go. It’s tough, so is life. Not everyone makes it.

I don't know Jefferson at all, but where the comparison with McMahon falls down is that Liam hasn't actually been a good player at any level, whereas Jefferson was an AA under 18 player.

FFS Jefferson plays nothing like Gunston.

Only a few pages ago you were comparing him to Harry Jones (which miraculously and coincidentally happens to be the groupthink cut and paste comparison).
Third talls, watch some bloody games, we've already confirmed you have no idea. I'm here to address the nonsense you're spouting and come draft night will be the reckoning and confirmation of your complete lack of judgement when it come to football talent. Jefferson is not a key forward no1, it's as plain as the nose on your face, AFL clubs will know this, it's not a crime and will still go early.

He's not a third tall either. Stupid suggestion that he is

Why does he have to be Tom Hawkins for people to want him as a player?

I'm pretty sure we'd all take Bayley Fritsch in our forward line and he averages under 10 disposals a game and is absolutely no Tom Hawkins.

Sure, having a big hulking forward is important, but so is having a natural forward who knows how to get goals on the board.

And taking Jefferson doesn't mean that he's the only forward we're allowed to have in the team for the next 10 years.
Much like we could have had if we'd kept Oliver?

You're missing the point. Most people want us to get a big strong KF, Jefferson isn't that. would I take him if he's at our first pick, well yes. At the moment Jefferson is a poor mans Eric Hipwood. Jefferson will always be a 2nd or 3rd tall forward, that's why I don't have an issue with us taking him. I am just pointing out that he won't be the number one banana in our forward line going forward.

OK, now listen carefully. People on here have been crying out for a big contested marking KF beasyt since cloke. I am saying he is not the beast we are after and doesn't look like he will develop enough to be that beast. He will always be a second or 3rd tall. No one is saying he's no good, just not what people are expecting.

He's not a third tall either. Stupid suggestion that he is
According to Cal Twomey he is but here's you saying he's not and we have others saying he's not Tom Hawkins (you don't say) which can mean only one thing, at 195 Matt Jeffereson isn't tall! It's starting to get embarrassing for some and in just over 3 weeks time the frauds will be exposed.

So you’ve put up some of the successes even though their body shapes were no where similar to Jefferson’s.

What about the 20 kids delisted every year since the competition started like the McMahon’s of this league who more appropriately represent Jefferson’s plight and don’t make it. A lot more of them and for similar reason. You know the ones that are easily forgotten.

There are always going to be players that don't make it.

People were pointing out that Jefferson wouldn't make it because he is too light.
Being 76kg/78kg/84kg what ever Jefferson is isn't going to make or break him as a KPF.

It's going to be the same as every other player skill, attitute, luck, etc.

According to Cal Twomey he is but here's you saying he's not and we have others saying he's not Tom Hawkins (you don't say) which can mean only one thing, at 195 Matt Jeffereson isn't tall! It's starting to get embarrassing for some and in just over 3 weeks time the frauds will be exposed.
Wow, this is really important to you. I hope he becomes a big strong 195cm unit. We should probably revisit this in 3 years, not 3 weeks

Mate I’m not sure what’s with the chip on your shoulder or narcissistic manner of your posts.

I’m comfortable with the amount of junior (and state footy) I watch, particularly since I’ve also got a young family.

I also contribute to junior game day threads and phantom draft threads throughout the year (most years). Even more so with growing interest over the years.

Which is more than I can see from your posting history in regards to juniors. Coincidentally that only appeared once the media draft analysis started.

I also only ever posit my posts as opinion and am always happy to have a difference of opinion. Whereas you seem to consider yours the ‘truth’ and then attempt to belittle fellow posters.

In my over a dozen years on this platform I don’t think I’ve ever encountered someone quite like you. Particularly not a fellow Collingwood supporter.

Draftees with Collingwood links:
Nicky Christian F&S 195cm, ??kg, KPD, Collingwood weighing up drafting son of 1990 premiership star
Nick McLarty 199cm, 102kg, R/F, brother of Sam former Collingwood draftee
Toby Murry 198cm, 80kg, KPF, brother of Sam Collingwood and Nick Adelaide
Olli Hotton 181cm, 77kg, M/F, son of Trent Collingwood and Carlton player.
Henry Hustwaite 194cm, 84kg, D/M brother of Campbell Collingwood VFL captain
Mutaz El Nour 192cm, ??kg, DEF, Collingwood VFL

Brothers - Get one to try and get the other?:
Lewis Hayes 197cm, 81kg, KPD, brother of Sam Port Adelaide ruckman we have been linked to.
Ollie Hollands 183cm, 71kg, MID, brother of Elijah Gold Coast Suns top 10 pick

Other:
Jhye Clark 180cm, 77kg, MID, Collingwood supporter and Father is sponsor?
Mitch Szybkowski 186cm, 84kg, MID, Collingwood supporter
Elijah Tsatas 186cm, 79kg, MID trained with Collingwood

ELIJAH TSATAS (OAKLEIGH CHARGERS)
Midfielder, 186cm, 79kg
An athletic midfielder with speed to burn, Tsatas has an ability to impact both on the inside of the contest and the outside. A co-captain of Oakleigh Chargers last year, the former Surrey Park junior has an athletics background and has competed in the 400m and 100m hurdles at national level. It was therefore little surprise that Tsatas finished equal-ninth in the running vertical jump at the NAB League testing day in March, clocking up a score of 93. Tsatas also has good foot skills and looks up to Greater Western Sydney’s Josh Kelly.
He trained with Collingwood during January as part of the AFL Academy program, but is a Richmond fan who was in the stands for the Tigers’ drought-breaking premiership in 2017. Tsatas had 25 disposals, six marks, four score assists and kicked one goal for Vic Metro in its under-17s clash with Vic Country last year, finishing as the fourth-ranked player on the ground.

JHYE CLARK (GEELONG FALCONS)
Midfielder, 181cm, 77kg

A hardworking midfielder with strong aerobic capacity, Clark is the son of well-known Geelong local footy coach Steve Clark. The Saint Ignatius College Geelong student thrives on the contest. He loves to win the hard ball and clearances in tight and is also a tackling machine. Clark looks up to Melbourne’s Christian Petracca and has been working to add more breakaway speed from the contest to his game over the off-season. Clark is also highly capable in the air with his marking ability. Clark was named Vic Country’s best player at last year’s under-17 championships and logged 17 disposals (10 contested), five clearances and four tackles against Vic Metro. He also played three games of senior football for Queenscliffe in the Bellarine Football League last year.
The Collingwood supporter trained with Geelong during pre-season as part of the AFL Academy program.

MITCH SZYBKOWSKI (DANDENONG STINGRAYS)
Midfielder, 186cm, 84kg

A big-bodied inside midfielder, Szybkowski is renowned for his hardworking attitude on the field and on the training track. A Beaconsfield junior, the Caulfield Grammar student is composed around stoppages and can use the ball well by hand of foot.
Szybkowski is a Collingwood supporter and has long looked up to captain Scott Pendlebury. However, he trained with Melbourne during pre-season as part of the AFL Academy program and also took plenty away from watching the likes of Clayton Oliver and Christian Petracca go about their work on the track. Szybkowski had 17 disposals and three clearances for Vic Country in its under-17s match with Vic Metro last year.

Draftees with Collingwood links:
Nicky Christian F&S 195cm, ??kg, KPD, Collingwood weighing up drafting son of 1990 premiership star
Nick McLarty 199cm, 102kg, R/F, brother of Sam former Collingwood draftee
Toby Murry 198cm, 80kg, KPF, brother of Sam Collingwood and Nick Adelaide
Olli Hotton 181cm, 77kg, M/F, son of Trent Collingwood and Carlton player.
Henry Hustwaite 194cm, 84kg, D/M brother of Campbell Collingwood VFL captain
Mutaz El Nour 192cm, ??kg, DEF, Collingwood VFL

Brothers - Get one to try and get the other?:
Lewis Hayes 197cm, 81kg, KPD, brother of Sam Port Adelaide ruckman we have been linked to.
Ollie Hollands 183cm, 71kg, MID, brother of Elijah Gold Coast Suns top 10 pick

Other:
Jhye Clark 180cm, 77kg, MID, Collingwood supporter and Father is sponsor?
Mitch Szybkowski 186cm, 84kg, MID, Collingwood supporter
Elijah Tsatas 186cm, 79kg, MID trained with Collingwood

ELIJAH TSATAS (OAKLEIGH CHARGERS)
Midfielder, 186cm, 79kg
An athletic midfielder with speed to burn, Tsatas has an ability to impact both on the inside of the contest and the outside. A co-captain of Oakleigh Chargers last year, the former Surrey Park junior has an athletics background and has competed in the 400m and 100m hurdles at national level. It was therefore little surprise that Tsatas finished equal-ninth in the running vertical jump at the NAB League testing day in March, clocking up a score of 93. Tsatas also has good foot skills and looks up to Greater Western Sydney’s Josh Kelly.
He trained with Collingwood during January as part of the AFL Academy program, but is a Richmond fan who was in the stands for the Tigers’ drought-breaking premiership in 2017. Tsatas had 25 disposals, six marks, four score assists and kicked one goal for Vic Metro in its under-17s clash with Vic Country last year, finishing as the fourth-ranked player on the ground.

JHYE CLARK (GEELONG FALCONS)
Midfielder, 181cm, 77kg

A hardworking midfielder with strong aerobic capacity, Clark is the son of well-known Geelong local footy coach Steve Clark. The Saint Ignatius College Geelong student thrives on the contest. He loves to win the hard ball and clearances in tight and is also a tackling machine. Clark looks up to Melbourne’s Christian Petracca and has been working to add more breakaway speed from the contest to his game over the off-season. Clark is also highly capable in the air with his marking ability. Clark was named Vic Country’s best player at last year’s under-17 championships and logged 17 disposals (10 contested), five clearances and four tackles against Vic Metro. He also played three games of senior football for Queenscliffe in the Bellarine Football League last year.
The Collingwood supporter trained with Geelong during pre-season as part of the AFL Academy program.

MITCH SZYBKOWSKI (DANDENONG STINGRAYS)
Midfielder, 186cm, 84kg

A big-bodied inside midfielder, Szybkowski is renowned for his hardworking attitude on the field and on the training track. A Beaconsfield junior, the Caulfield Grammar student is composed around stoppages and can use the ball well by hand of foot.
Szybkowski is a Collingwood supporter and has long looked up to captain Scott Pendlebury. However, he trained with Melbourne during pre-season as part of the AFL Academy program and also took plenty away from watching the likes of Clayton Oliver and Christian Petracca go about their work on the track. Szybkowski had 17 disposals and three clearances for Vic Country in its under-17s match with Vic Metro last year.
Szybkowski is the only prospect we're likely to get out of the three. Hustwaite and Hotton maybe. I'm not sold on Hotton, either.

I don't know Jefferson at all, but where the comparison with McMahon falls down is that Liam hasn't actually been a good player at any level, whereas Jefferson was an AA under 18 player.

That was McMahon's profile. He was always going to be a project player. Clearly, the project is over now. 2020 was about taking a large class to pick and choose the best. Macrae, Ginnivan, McCreery and McInnes are the fruits. McMahon, Chugg and Poulter didn't show enough. Henry was a sook and in a special category.

Hine did fairly well with the later selections but bungled the trade on our first rounder.

That was McMahon's profile. He was always going to be a project player. Clearly, the project is over now. 2020 was about taking a large class to pick and choose the best. Macrae, Ginnivan, McCreery and McInnes are the fruits. McMahon, Chugg and Poulter didn't show enough. Henry was a sook and in a special category.

Hine did fairly well with the later selections but bungled the trade on our first rounder.

I always thought the trade on our first rounder was primarily a PR exercise to sell a bumper draft crop.

Hopefully Macrae and McInness kick on, otherwise it'll be a pretty lean crop.

I always thought the trade on our first rounder was primarily a PR exercise to sell a bumper draft crop.

Hopefully Macrae and McInness kick on, otherwise it'll be a pretty lean crop.
We had to make it a PR opportunity, otherwise we would have fully disintegrated. At least we were able to sell "drafting the future".

Macrae and McInnes probably won't feature a lot in the best 23 but should aim for 3-5 games each.

Matthew Jefferson Draft Profile.

Jefferson can be a key forward and it's not plain on my nose that he can't. Strength and accuracy can both be improved and Wade would work on both if he landed at the Pies. He's been injured but still managed to put up a few bags. FL clubs will know what they can work with. Aaron Cadman is not the only player capable of being a key forward in this draft.

Now, it is interesting you're comparing him to Jones because RookieMe also compare him to Harrison Jones. Jones isn't well known by most people.

In his early career, he'll probably play as a third tall as most key forwards start not as the marking post midfielders rely on.