List Mgmt. 2022 Trade & List Management Thread II

Key Dates:

Friday 07 October at 5.00pm

Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Monday 10 October
NAB AFL Draft Nominations open (9am)
AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer 3 Day Period Ends (5pm)

Wednesday 12 October at 7.30pm
AFL Trade Period closes – players and selections

Thursday 03 November at 9.00am
AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) commences

Wednesday 09 November at 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) closes

Friday 11 November at 9.00am

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) commences

Tuesday 15 November by 5.00pm

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) closes
AFL Trade Period closes – selections only

Monday 21 November by 3.00pm

NAB AFL Draft Nominations close

Monday 28 November at 7.10pm

2022 NAB AFL Draft Round One (Venue TBC)

Father/Son, Academy & NGA and Players Bidding opens.

Tuesday 29 November

AFL Trade Period – selections only (5.45pm to 6.30pm)

2022 NAB AFL National Draft Round two until completion (7pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period opens (10pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) commences (10pm)

Rookie Upgrade Period closes (11pm)

AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3) closes (11pm)

Wednesday 30 November

NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft (3pm, online)
NAB AFL Rookie Draft (3.20pm, online)

Thursday 01 December by 4.00pm

Final AFL Club List Lodgement

Sorry mate not across the prospects at the moment. I'd want more than 12 and 15 for pick 2 though. I'm not opposed to drafting him but I think the Cadman comparison to J.Cameron is generous. The latter was near dominating TAC Cup as a 17 yo.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah, and all those Pendlebury comparisons never turn into Pendlebury either, it doesn't make them bad players, they just have some similarities, who makes it and who doesn't there is no science to it.

I don't think Cadman is going to be that gorilla key forward, he has similarities to Logan McDonald in that sense, but I think he could become an elite AFL forward.

I think Larkey will make an excellent 2nd forward but we don't really have an elite FF or CHF. Will we go after Cadman? I don't know, we have had ample opportunity to take KPP and have passed on them before.

We don't really know what Clarkson/Viney think, hard to guess. I'd be happy to go with Wardlaw and Sheezel... but we haven't looked like picking up a recycled key forward like a Bruce or anyone else and Comben/Edwards seem a mile off it atm.

Sure, but the tone of your previous posts on this was if they don't come to the table with pick 2 + quality, we should take 8 and F1 anyway. You seem to have changed your stance on the latter.
I don't know where you've pulled that from.

The whole way through I've been talking about Sheezel and ports f1. My point has been that everyone wants massive overs and to hurt Port, but if it comes down to it a small win (Sheezel and ports f1) is better than having 12 months of this bull shit and getting through to next year to get less (ports 2023 and 2024 firsts).

That’s one of the reasons I think Sheezel could be the guy we really want, he has elite kicking skills and his entries, goal sense and setting up of teammates i50 creates so many scores.
Sheezel would be an upgrade on jhf in that regard day 1.
I worry he seems a bit inconsistent.

North Melbourne, Port Adelaide and West Coast continue to work on a mega deal that is drawing in clubs such as the Brisbane Lions, Greater Western Sydney and Geelong and could unpack deals to send Jason Horne-Francis and Junior Rioli to Port Adelaide, pick two to North Melbourne, pick eight and a future first to West Coast while enabling the Giants to get their hands on the No.1 pick, Esava Ratugolea to Port Adelaide and Jack Gunston to the Lions.

Meanwhile, Geelong rejected an offer from Collingwood to trade Oliver Henry to the club after the Cats secured pick 25 in a pick swap with the Lions on Friday and are certain to obtain pick seven from the Gold Coast next week as part of the Jack Bowes deal.

Collingwood offered to trade Henry, pick 16 and pick 41 to Geelong for pick 7 and 25, however, the Cats rejected the deal. The Cats had used pick 18 to get Tanner Bruhn from the Giants on Friday and remain optimistic they will achieve a deal to obtain Henry, who wants to live in Geelong and play alongside his brother.

The Magpies, however, want a first round pick in return for the uncontracted Henry, who was chosen with pick No.17 in the 2020 national draft. They are frustrated to be losing him just two years after. Geelong still have a future first round pick but having traded out their future second round pick they would need to trade in a future pick under current AFL rules.

Someone sell me on sheezel.

Happy to be wrong but I get big jimmy Toumpas vibes

But the essence of multi club deals is that a third club can bring something to the table that makes it work, when it wasn’t working for the original two clubs. Again, if we get more than Port was offering initially, that’s a win, regardless of whether they give us more directly.
Three way traded are fine.

But there's an old maxim that complexity is often designed to conceal.

And so I reckon Port are putting up these increasingly complex deals where everyone comes out ok, but hoping like hell that nobody notices they make out like bandits.

North Melbourne, Port Adelaide and West Coast continue to work on a mega deal that is drawing in clubs such as the Brisbane Lions, Greater Western Sydney and Geelong and could unpack deals to send Jason Horne-Francis and Junior Rioli to Port Adelaide, pick two to North Melbourne, pick eight and a future first to West Coast while enabling the Giants to get their hands on the No.1 pick, Esava Ratugolea to Port Adelaide and Jack Gunston to the Lions.

Meanwhile, Geelong rejected an offer from Collingwood to trade Oliver Henry to the club after the Cats secured pick 25 in a pick swap with the Lions on Friday and are certain to obtain pick seven from the Gold Coast next week as part of the Jack Bowes deal.

Collingwood offered to trade Henry, pick 16 and pick 41 to Geelong for pick 7 and 25, however, the Cats rejected the deal. The Cats had used pick 18 to get Tanner Bruhn from the Giants on Friday and remain optimistic they will achieve a deal to obtain Henry, who wants to live in Geelong and play alongside his brother.

The Magpies, however, want a first round pick in return for the uncontracted Henry, who was chosen with pick No.17 in the 2020 national draft. They are frustrated to be losing him just two years after. Geelong still have a future first round pick but having traded out their future second round pick they would need to trade in a future pick under current AFL rules.

Got to be a lot more than 2.

Someone sell me on sheezel.

Happy to be wrong but I get big jimmy Toumpas vibes

Sheezel is a forward, as of now, he has deceptively good marking skills, especially contested for his size (about 184-186, not quite sure), and has amazing goal sense. He is relatively slow but has an elite tank, which allows him to put on suitable pressure as well as cover the ground without being an electric forward. The tank combined with his skills give him a pretty high floor I think. He is a high-impact per possession player and genuinely elite inside 50 constantly creating for his teammates, and unselfish. he’s also had a pretty much full year unlike the rest of these guys. He’s elite by foot and with decision making, pulls off all the little things that many others can’t.

His cons are his lack of speed for the position and lack of midfield exposure, although he has had a couple good midfield performances.

Three way traded are fine.

But there's an old maxim that complexity is often designed to conceal.

And so I reckon Port are putting up these increasingly complex deals where everyone comes out ok, but hoping like hell that nobody notices they make out like bandits.

We shouldn't be using pick 1 in the JHF deal. This just obfuscates the problem. We could do a deal with GWS at a later time if we decide to split 1, they would likely offer 3 + 12.

So how do we get to 2 being enough for JHF? This is the crux of the problem, Port can't get 2 from West Coast because they wont cough up enough. They can't do a deal with us directly because 8 and FF isn't enough.

They don't have the trade capital so us throwing in pick 1 into the mix so 12 vanishes isn't a good outcome.

‘Still got to give up something’: Why mammoth four-club trade is far from done deal​

Port Adelaide may need to contribute more to the reported four-club mega trade deal that would see Jason Horne-Francis and Eagle Junior Rioli land at the Power, according to former number one draft pick Bryce Gibbs.

Speaking on SEN SA on Saturday, Gibbs said the proposed deal that would see GWS land pick one, North Melbourne hold picks 2 and 3 and West Coast finish with picks 8 and 12 could “certainly happen”.

It would mean GWS give up picks 3 and 12 to move up to 1, West Coast give up pick 2 and Rioli, the Kangaroos lose pick 1 and Horne-Francis while Port Adelaide would be giving up pick 8, and potentially their future first rounder to the Eagles.

“Port are adamant they are not giving up any of their young talent,” Gibbs said.

“If you’re going after high profile talent and early picks and things, you’ve still got to give up something.

“Port obviously dug their heels in with a lot of their young stars. They’ve shut (the approaches from rivals) down all quickly.”

Under the draft point index, the Giants would be giving up a combined 3502 points (picks 3 & 12) for the 3000-point pick 1.

North would jump from the 3000-point value of pick one to a combined 4751 for picks 2 and 3.

West Coast would be moving up from 2517 draft points for pick 2 to a combined 2819 for picks 8 and 12 – but they would also lose Rioli.

It was reported the Eagles asked about the likes of WA youngster Mitch Georgiades and defender Dan Houston as part of the deal for Rioli, but those approaches were knocked back.

With a now four-club trade flagged, Gibbs said the proposed deal could get every club what they wanted.

“It certainly could happen,” he said.

“And if it takes an extra couple of teams to join in for something like this, absolutely they have to look at it.

“It looks like everyone could benefit greatly.”

Gibbs, who himself is a number one draft pick who ended up with a trade, said Horne-Francis “takes the cake” in that special group that includes the likes of Jack Watts, Brett Deledio and Tom Scully.

“He takes the cake – he’s doing it after 12 months (asking for a trade). It took me 11 years to come to that decision,” he said.

Fox Footy’s David King believes a deal for Horne-Francis for pick two isn’t enough on its own to satisfy the Roos.

“I just don’t think it’s enough,” he said.

“You’ve had a pick one and he’s had a year of development. You’ve got to prize him out of contract as well.”

Gibbs described the proposed four-club deal as “fascinating” and didn’t put it past the Roos to stand firm and hold onto Horne-Francis if a deal did not meet their demands.

“There’s so much uncertainty at the (North Melbourne) footy club. I daresay that’s a part to play in Jason’s decision to request a trade back to Adelaide,” Gibbs said.

“It’s fascinating.

“The way (Swan Tom) Papley turned around and had such an amazing year after his trade request to Carlton was denied; you look at Josh Dunkley who requested a trade to Essendon. He goes on to have an amazing year and wins the Bulldogs’ best and fairest.”

Gibbs said it was clear Horne-Francis’ only option to return home for 2023 was Port Adelaide, given Adelaide are “all in” on Izak Rankine.

‘Still got to give up something’: Why mammoth four-club trade is far from done deal​

"the Kangaroos lose pick 1 and Horne-Francis

Under the draft point index, the Giants would be giving up a combined 3502 points (picks 3 & 12) for the 3000-point pick 1.

North would jump from the 3000-point value of pick one to a combined 4751 for picks 2 and 3.

West Coast would be moving up from 2517 draft points for pick 2 to a combined 2819 for picks 8 and 12 – but they would also lose Rioli.

It was reported the Eagles asked about the likes of WA youngster Mitch Georgiades and defender Dan Houston as part of the deal for Rioli, but those approaches were knocked back.

With a now four-club trade flagged, Gibbs said the proposed deal could get every club what they wanted.

“It certainly could happen,” he said.

“And if it takes an extra couple of teams to join in for something like this, absolutely they have to look at it.

“It looks like everyone could benefit greatly.”

Gibbs, who himself is a number one draft pick who ended up with a trade, said Horne-Francis “takes the cake” in that special group that includes the likes of Jack Watts, Brett Deledio and Tom Scully.

“He takes the cake – he’s doing it after 12 months (asking for a trade). It took me 11 years to come to that decision,” he said.

Fox Footy’s David King believes a deal for Horne-Francis for pick two isn’t enough on its own to satisfy the Roos.

“I just don’t think it’s enough,” he said.

“You’ve had a pick one and he’s had a year of development. You’ve got to prize him out of contract as well.”

Gibbs described the proposed four-club deal as “fascinating” and didn’t put it past the Roos to stand firm and hold onto Horne-Francis if a deal did not meet their demands.

“There’s so much uncertainty at the (North Melbourne) footy club. I daresay that’s a part to play in Jason’s decision to request a trade back to Adelaide,” Gibbs said.

“It’s fascinating.

“The way (Swan Tom) Papley turned around and had such an amazing year after his trade request to Carlton was denied; you look at Josh Dunkley who requested a trade to Essendon. He goes on to have an amazing year and wins the Bulldogs’ best and fairest.”

Gibbs said it was clear Horne-Francis’ only option to return home for 2023 was Port Adelaide, given Adelaide are “all in” on Izak Rankine.

Speaking on SEN SA on Saturday, Gibbs said the proposed deal that would see GWS land pick one, North Melbourne hold picks 2 and 3 and West Coast finish with picks 8 and 12 could “certainly happen”.

It would mean GWS give up picks 3 and 12 to move up to 1, West Coast give up pick 2 and Rioli, the Kangaroos lose pick 1 and Horne-Francis while Port Adelaide would be giving up pick 8, and potentially their future first rounder to the Eagles.

Ahh unless I'm wrong wouldn't we be losing at least 6000 point value with JHF & Pick 1 going out the door. Stupid article that I hate myself for having read

Am I missing something? How is 3 and 12 enough for 1?

Because we’d be getting an extra pick to not draft a player we don’t seem to want to draft anyway.

I really doubt it will be. The logic on what a few teams are having to give and get isn't really making a lot of sense.

Only slide 2 spots in the draft order and pick up another ok pick. Depending on the team and the draft it's a good deal. Pick 1 does has prestige attached to it though, it's not just a sterile draft mechanism, so a good sweetener wouldn't be out of the question.

EDIT: FML I can't believe I'm so conditioned to us being shit that pick 12 is just an "ok" pick. I remember when we would bit peoples hands off for something like that.

Because we are only moving pick 1 down two spots and there probably isn't a massive difference between Cadman, Wardlaw and Sheezel, if there was someone a long way ahead of the pack like JHF last year, then it wouldn't be enough.

I don't know where you've pulled that from.

The whole way through I've been talking about Sheezel and ports f1. My point has been that everyone wants massive overs and to hurt Port, but if it comes down to it a small win (Sheezel and ports f1) is better than having 12 months of this bull s**t and getting through to next year to get less (ports 2023 and 2024 firsts).

We won't get Sheezel with 8. Most of us are OK with 2 + F1/player, but not OK if it can't be done (I can't see Port getting 2, btw).

If you whole original point was based on people here rejecting 2 + F1/player, you haven't read the room.

My read of your original post was you saying we take what we're offered rather than hold onto him. Maybe I got it wrong, maybe you weren't clear.

I.e.
  • pass on trades that help your team because you want to screw another team
implies people are willing to reject 2 + F1/player.