Game Day 2023 AFL DRAFT

There are some names (good ones) not drafted each year. Do you think all of the above will get picked up in the rookie draft?
One of the issues is half the teams in the comp don’t have any spots. 9 teams took 3 or less players at the ND

Many teams have also targeted their rookie spots for delisted players.

I doubt all parties would’ve agreed to trade another 2nd to get back into this draft though, given the need for Welsh points, so a trade-in likely comes around pick 40-50 at the highest. Yes you increase your chances of getting a good player out of your haul by getting another pick, but only by a slim amount

But yes, a slim amount is still an amount. Hamish would’ve wanted to, but it wasn’t his decision to keep him on the list. I wonder whose it was? (I’m not sure it would’ve been entirely Reid’s choice either)
I'm not sure I agree.

We traded out of the late stage of this draft a long way out. We constantly talked about getting earlier in the draft. We had multiple options to create more list room and Hamish would have massive influence on how many picks they would be looking to take.

There was quite a bit of coverage from draft watchers who felt the talent thinned later after a strong start, and many of the later selections are players with question marks. Maybe Hamish fell into this camp.

T
Clearly we are developing Rachele, Soligo and Pedlar as mid fielders.

For example - in their 3rd season Rozee (62) and Butters (65) started to get some regular CBAs
In their second year Rachele (140), Soligo (112) and Pedlar (82 - which essentially started from round 9) attended double

And yes perhaps Port had a better midfield in 2021 than we did in 2023 which restricted their numbers but the point remains it is clear we are building them into those roles

Tell you what, if our boy Curtin really does play like Jordan Dawson as a midfielder, i'll back our best midfield in over theirs now going forward.

Dawson, Laird, Crouch, Pedlar, Rachele, Rankine, Curtin

JHF, Rozee, Butters, Drew, Wines

I'm not sure I agree.

We traded out of the late stage of this draft a long way out. We constantly talked about getting earlier in the draft. We had multiple options to create more list room and Hamish would have massive influence on how many picks they would be looking to take.

There was quite a bit of coverage from draft watchers who felt the talent thinned later after a strong start, and many of the later selections are players with question marks. Maybe Hamish fell into this camp.
Yeah nah.

We couldn’t create any more list spots and move more players to the rookie draft, our rookie list is capped with Hamill and Borlase.

You keep talking down Borlase as a sign we didn’t rate the draft. Maybe the club does though? Just because you don’t doesn’t count for shit. We also didn’t know we were a chance of getting Curtin until days before the draft and they clearly wanted Borlase for depth.

Why the focus on Sloane? Because he’s 34 at the start of the year, not 32 like you tried to state. His footy sucked in the second half of the year and he would free up a list spot.

Hamish “no capacity even if we wanted to grab a 4th player as a slider”. If you’re still suggesting he wouldn’t want to grab one player after 27 you’re deluded. So the question is will you ever concede keeping Sloane was a bad move even if it turns out there were decent players taken after 27?

T

Tell you what, if our boy Curtin really does play like Jordan Dawson as a midfielder, i'll back our best midfield in over theirs now going forward.

Hopefully our guys don't melt under Finals pressure like Butters et El did.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

takes an otherwise disappointing preseason and moves it up a couple of notches - especially Curtin - what a result. Another very likely ELITE player to add to our growing list. Edwards also looks excellent. Looks like we got our first 2 realistic choices here.

Also my biggest fear (well besides arachibutyrophobia) of losing Burgess never came to fruition. He is possibly our clubs biggest single competitive advantage and the only club where the Head Coach may not be the highest paid member of the footy staff (IMHO and with no inside intel besides using intuition)

1700602879781.png

T

Would back it in anyway - we have beaten them 3 times out of the last 4.

I still think he's good depth as a pure lockdown defender if mass injuries hit (like it did late in 2023). At least we know he can hold up at AFL level. I think if Petty comes next year though he's pretty likely gone from the Crows.
We have also brought Burgess in who also pushed Borlase down the order. Murray, Butts, Worrel, Curtin, Keane, Burgess and Borlase.

We shouldn't have promised to rookie him, it should have just been we will 'look to rookie him'. I would rather now that we rookied a project ruck or a small forward. We are now in good shape with our key defenders depth wise.

Port always spending more than their means...
Yep, in all ways.

They are like a single Mum with 3 ankle biters buying the latest I-Phone every year. I rang Kane once with the same analogy (when Power were off to hot/humid conditions in the middle east from memory each pre-season) and I think Kane was genuinely offended

Hopefully our guys don't melt under Finals pressure like Butters et El did.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I suspect our young back half next year will solidify and hopefully improve further with games and when murray comes back assuming he can regain his form, we should look very promising across all 3 1/3s of the field.

Yep, in all ways.

They are like a single Mum with 3 ankle biters buying the latest I-Phone every year. I rang Kane once with the same analogy (when Power were off to hot/humid conditions in the middle east from memory each pre-season) and I think Kane was genuinely offended
Why a single mum and not a single dad? That’s offensive

Why are we obsessed with the Sloane contract?

They could have moved a second player to the rookie list like they did last year. Instead we're re-signing Borlase for a year.

We chose Borlase over another pick - which showed how little they wanted it.

Curtin, Butts, Worrell, Keane, Burgess, Himmelburg - we're fine for tall defenders now, but we're keeping Borlase too.
Are you as bored by this Sloane stuff as others? Just not sure why this board feels compelled to go OVER and OVER the same issue every few days. Not sure anyone thinks Sloane should have been re-signed so we all already agree and on the same page. Silvers and Kelly said however that Dawson needed support (the leadership stuff he was new at and struggling somewhat) and Sloane is the key person providing this as an experienced respected leader and ex-captain. Its an intangible that wont be measured by disposals etc but not hard to imagine Dawson even had input into the decisioan to re-sign Sloaney. Does anyone consider Dawson may NOT have had the exceptional breakout season without Sloane supporting him?

But as you say, if we truly wanted another player in the national or rookie draft, we either move Bond (or another player) to rookie list OR we don't offer to re-sign Borlase / Hamill. Clearly we weren't rating the residual players after pick 30 ish in the draft including Moir and all these other unlikely options taken after that.

Anyway its been done to death

Are you as bored by this Sloane stuff as others? Just not sure why this board feels compelled to go OVER and OVER the same issue every few days. Not sure anyone thinks Sloane should have been re-signed so we all already agree and on the same page. Silvers and Kelly said however that Dawson needed support (the leadership stuff he was new at and struggling somewhat) and Sloane is the key person providing this as an experienced respected leader and ex-captain. Its an intangible that wont be measured by disposals etc but not hard to imagine Dawson even had input into the decisioan to re-sign Sloaney. Does anyone consider Dawson may NOT have had the exceptional breakout season without Sloane supporting him?

But as you say, if we truly wanted another player in the national or rookie draft, we either move Bond (or another player) to rookie list OR we don't offer to re-sign Borlase / Hamill. Clearly we weren't rating the residual players after pick 30 ish in the draft including Moir and all these other unlikely options taken after that.

Anyway its been done to death
ITS BEEN DISCUSSED BECAUSE THE DRAFT JUST HAPPENED AND WE HAD NO LIST SPOTS TO PARTICIPATE PAST 27.

I would have thought that was obvious.

So your solution is we get rid of a contracted player or don’t agree to keep Borlase even though he showed promise and the club clearly wants to keep him for one more year.

All of this sounds more feasible than re-contracting a cooked 34 year old.

ITS BEEN DISCUSSED BECAUSE THE DRAFT JUST HAPPENED AND WE HAD NO LIST SPOTS TO PARTICIPATE PAST 27.

I would have thought that was obvious.

So your solution is we get rid of a contracted player or don’t agree to keep Borlase even though he showed promise and the club clearly wants to keep him for one more year.

All of this sounds more feasible than re-contracting a cooked 34 year old.
but we didnt want anyone after this. If we did we had options as Kristof said. Have you considered Sloane may have helped Dawson have both a breakout year as a player and also improve his leadership of the team?

Did you miss Hamish comments predraft?

“No capacity to take a 4th player even if we wanted to like we did last year”

If you believe Kristofs options were plausible that’s on you. He doesn’t rate Borlase, the club clearly does.

Dawson is a big boy, his breakout year was because he was played in a position that suits him. Tex is still around to help with his leadership. To suggest we’d keep a cooked player on our list so he can help our captain with his leadership for one year and potentially miss out on a 15 year player is nuts. We didn’t have the capacity to draft a player past 27, just think about that.

Many teams have also targeted their rookie spots for delisted players.
Not sure how many teams. I think Twomey mentioned that there are a total of 15 players who've been delisted, with their clubs committing to re-signing them as rookies

Just wanted to make some points regarding giving Sloane 1 more year .
We could have sent him off at last home game as a champion of the club .
Can anyone seeing him getting picked every week so apart from where club tag as resting him I wonder how he and club will handle him being dropped to SANFL .
It just isn't going to end up nicely for club or Sloane who will not play regularly in SANFL .
It is just going to look like Crows handling badly there champions . AGAIN

If you believe Kristofs options were plausible that’s on you. He doesn’t rate Borlase, the club clearly does.

Dawson is a big boy, his breakout year was because he was played in a position that suits him. Tex is still around to help with his leadership. To suggest we’d keep a cooked player on our list so he can help our captain with his leadership for one year and potentially miss out on a 15 year player is nuts. We didn’t have the capacity to draft a player past 27, just think about that.

What were the options to get back into the draft?

We already used 1 of our future 2nds to move up the draft. We had to keep our future 1st and 2nd to leave the option open to get a pick in before Welsh. So we're talking about trading back in with a future 3rd or 4th.

You're advocating for more picks in the 40s/50s/60s whilst the club are actively trading up in the draft.

I wouldn't have given Sloane a contract but I'm fine with the strategy of concentrating at the early part of the draft.

Is there an element of FOMO at play here? You were watching the coverage, hearing that these picks in the 50s/60s are complete steals etc. They say that every year.

lets agree to disagree mate. i think we have covered all bases now

i certainly understand your position and - as clearly mentioned - agree with everyone basically saying he should NOT have been re-contracted but it was also obvious it was happening as I reported after hearing Silvers speak at the pre game Lions game this year and reporting back to all on here (and for reasons that werent predominantly playing related).

We just had a great national draft - the most exciting in many years with a chance with Curtin we have just discovered our MOST elite player. I am personally moving on to that as Sloane is done and dusted for 2024 - now out of our (clubs) control so personally moving on, cheers

Think we did well in draft though not sold with my very limited knowledge on Ryan but wished we had not promised Borlase especially now strengthen backlines and therefore could get a ruckman or forward like Callinan etc left in rookie draft .

Port: “were glad we got out of this draft.. dont rate it highly”..

also Port: use three late picks in said draft…
The AFL mandates that clubs make a minimum of 3x selections in the ND, noting that rookie upgrades count towards this total.

Did Port upgrade any rookies? They may well have had no choice but to make 3x late picks.

Game Day 2023 AFL DRAFT