Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Feels like this off-season is about as crucial as it gets. Got the opportunity to set ourselves up for an extended tilt. Waste it and I see us falling back into the pack pretty quickly.

Majority of names here in red will be gone within 3 years. It's a really thin list of quality

About that... but there's about half that have quality. How you look at it probably depends on whether you're a glass half full/half empty type...
Nah it's not. Majority of AFL players don't make it and most of those guys are after 20 draft picks. One or 2 might make but most will go, same shit happens every year

Duursma sounds like exactly what we need, someone who can rotate midfield/forward duties with Trac.

The knock on him right now is apparently his midfield work. Having the chance to learn that role alongside Clarry and Trac should ensure that's not an issue going forward.

McKercher is the other kid I hope we're looking at if Freo's pick stays in the top 5. He's more a pure mid who seems similar to Zac Merrett in that he's a little undersized, but can win his own ball and use it well on the outside. Being a Tassie kid will make him an interesting one to watch come draft night though. I wonder if he slides a bit due to likely being a target for the new franchise in a few years time.

The knock on him right now is apparently his midfield work. Having the chance to learn that role alongside Clarry and Trac should ensure that's not an issue going forward.

McKercher is the other kid I hope we're looking at if Freo's pick stays in the top 5. He's more a pure mid who seems similar to Zac Merrett in that he's a little undersized, but can win his own ball and use it well on the outside. Being a Tassie kid will make him an interesting one to watch come draft night though. I wonder if he slides a bit due to likely being a target for the new franchise in a few years time.
What exactly does use it well on the outside mean? Is he lacing out kicks to forwards and finding blokes in space to break lines? Need guys who can give us something a bit different to what Viney and Clarry can do, and extra mid who is just another ball winner would be a massive waste.

Don't think the Tassie thing will affect it at all tbh. It's ages away and you back yourselves in. Anyway you'd get well compensated by the AFL if they walked.

Zane Duursma actually played a game for Casey this year, had a bit of a run on the wing and half fwd flank from memory. didn't exactly set the world on fire but did a couple of nice things from his 12 touches. he reminded me a bit of Cale Morton for what it's worth.

TBH early career Morton would be ok for us atm. If he's not afraid to take the odd hit someone who knows how to find space and use it well would be very handy.

McKercher is the other kid I hope we're looking at if Freo's pick stays in the top 5. He's more a pure mid who seems similar to Zac Merrett in that he's a little undersized, but can win his own ball and use it well on the outside.
McKercher is a gun. He reminds me of Oliver they way he can pull away from the contest and he has a nice left foot too.

Morton gets drafted by a decent club and he's a ******* gun. He was so good in his first 2 years but our coaching completely ****ed him
you reckon?

His biggest issue that he was too ****ing soft for the league

Did nothing when he went to West Coast either

you reckon?

His biggest issue that he was too ******* soft for the league

Did nothing when he went to West Coast either
Mate those kids get one go at it, once their confidence is crushed for years they don't get it back. Petracca has never thrown himself back with the flight of the ball once never stopped him, but he was developed in a good club with good coaches.

Can you imagine how badly we would have ruined Dustin Martin or Nic Nat. Doubt either of them would have been playing AFL by the time Roos came to the club.

Take a look at our current list of players who are 25 or under, and what age they'll be in three years. There's probably 13 quality players there, from what we've seen so far.

Fritsch, Lever and Salem will be 29/30 in three years and could still be damaging.

Petracca will be 30 and probably spending most of his time forward.

The biggest hole on the list would seem to be the midfield. Oliver is the only gun in there.

JT's choice is that we use our picks, in a deep draft, to round out the list with the likes of Watson, McKelcher or Duursma... or go all in on Reid... who is 'once in a generation' talent.

I'm happy with whatever JT decides, but it would be really exciting to get Reid over the line. In the middle with Oliver & Petracca, he would really be a game changer for us straight away.

And we'd still have a pretty good on-ball unit in three years time too.

Clayton Oliver
28​
Josh Schache
28​
Harrison Petty
26​
Charlie Spargo
26​
Kade Chandler
26​
Tom Sparrow
25​
James Jordon
25​
Kysaiah Pickett
25​
Trent Rivers
24​
Daniel Turner
24​
Kye Turner
24​
Bailey Laurie
24​
Deakyn Smith
23​
Jake Bowey
23​
Taj Woewodin
23​
Blake Howes
23​
Jacob van Rooyen
23​
Judd McVee
22​
Andy Moniz-Wakefield
22​
Kyah Farris-White
22​
Matthew Jefferson
22​
Will Verrall
22​
Oliver Sestan
22​
Jed Adams
22​
My, you've selected almost the entire list of players; many who won't even make it.

I've just counted 8 players from your list that we can say are definitely AFL standard, right now. 8 from 24... that's 16 who have barely shown they will do much, IF at all.

All there is is wishful thinking.
Sure, no doubt some will come good from that list, just on laws of averages. But we cannot count on them yet.

So with this reasoning, I want us to draft kids from the top 2 Rnds.

Just like McVee and Jvr... no doubt we will grab some talent from our early picks who will shine early. On that law of averages.
McVee and Jvr are ready now, and will be a lot better over your 3Yr vision.

The more kids we take, the better our strike rate will be.

Spending 2 or 3 early picks, is like gambling with the family home. 3 shots for 1 opportunity only increases the odds for a bigger payout, but extends the chances way out, and we pay for a failure or injury to that one pick for a long-time into our future.

If the draft is as deep as they say, I wouldn't mind seeing us downgrade picks. If we do get a top 5 pick, turning it into two mid firsts and getting some young mids in wouldn't be a bad thing. Unless Duursma is available, of course, kid looks well suited.
I've heard some recent talk that this draft is strong in the top 2 rounds, and just flattens off from there. With the top 10 best.

Its time to keep our hand and use it as we are placed... just try to move our 2nd Rnd picks up a little.

Maybe trade our future pick again, on advancing our Rnd2 picks, or for father sons/academy kids, who warrant selection.

McKercher is a gun. He reminds me of Oliver they way he can pull away from the contest and he has a nice left foot too.
We need Talls; & a mid with foot speed who can slide out of scrums and deliver with effect. Quicker over the ground than Tracca and Oli.

A slippery type like a Merrett or a Neale.?

A project mobile ruck/forward.... tall 200+Cms... A replacement for Gawn and the loss of LJackson.

My, you've selected almost the entire list of players; many who won't even make it.

I've just counted 8 players from your list that we can say are definitely AFL standard, right now. 8 from 24... that's 16 who have barely shown they will do much, IF at all.

All there is is wishful thinking.
Sure, no doubt some will come good from that list, just on laws of averages. But we cannot count on them yet.

So with this reasoning, I want us to draft kids from the top 2 Rnds.

Just like McVee and Jvr... no doubt we will grab some talent from our early picks who will shine early. On that law of averages.
McVee and Jvr are ready now, and will be a lot better over your 3Yr vision.

The more kids we take, the better our strike rate will be.

Spending 2 or 3 early picks, is like gambling with the family home. 3 shots for 1 opportunity only increases the odds for a bigger payout, but extends the chances way out, and we pay for a failure or injury to that one pick for a long-time into our future.
Who are the 8?

I liked him at first some months back, until i had a good look at his game via video.

He looks a bit one paced yet again.
Not slow, yet not quick... And not all that quick on a turn.

It concerns me that his skills might be blunted at AFL level, by the lack of genuine speed. His basics appear all strong.

But what weapons does he add to what we do not have.?

You think rival list managers are trawling Big Footy to see which kids they should bid on?
Of course not. Your being ridiculous.

But if enough people get on a bandwagon it can raise a players profile enough to peak interest over others.

I believe we missed a player by one pick position, last draft.?

Of course not. Your being ridiculous.

But if enough people get on a bandwagon it can raise a players profile enough to peak interest over others.

I believe we missed a player by one pick position, last draft.?
A kid getting exposure in u18 championships is hardly a smokey. If it was a smokey and someone with connections to that player was on here saying "Melbourne are talking to player not really on the radar" then there could be some risk of interest getting triggered and a raised profile.

Every AFL recruiting team will have an opinion on Kynan Brown as he's been in the obvious talent pathways and anonymous internet forum posters won't change those opinions one bit.

If Melbourne want him and they think the pick they'd need to invest is fair, they will get him.

It's only the romanticism of father-son and the minor discount that has any of us interested in him. If his name was Gerry Smith none of us would care about him.

Who did Melbourne miss in the last draft by one pick? Are you thinking of 2020 with Max Holmes? There is already a debate over whether Melbourne just missed him or Geelong got in many picks ahead of where Melbourne would've taken Holmes.

I know Melbourne wanted Tom Lynch way back when and Gold Coast got in one pick before Melbourne to take him, so Melbourne went for Lucas Cook :embarrassedv1:

player not really on the radar
I'm getting at a father-son maybe rising the board, by one or possibility 2 spots. All positions count in this competative game.

I personally would rather talk them down, than lift them up the order.

I'm getting at a father-son maybe rising the board, by one or possibility 2 spots. All positions count in this competative game.

I personally would rather talk them down, than lift them up the order.
That's fine, you can talk Kynan Brown down if you think it will make a difference.

I haven't seen Kynan Brown crack the top 40 of any draft watcher prospects list.

When a player is down that end of the draft one or two spots is no big deal. No team is letting any player who they genuinely think will be a star slide that low. It's always pretty speculative at that draft pick range.

Melbourne will get Brown if they want him, it's not possible for Melbourne to be trumped by a pick or two because he's a father-son.