Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

Grundy, Harmes, Jordon, Dunstan, Hibberd all already gone and we "don't have list spots"?

We're focusing on the top of the draft for two reasons:

1) It's widely considered to drop off after the top 20
2) We don't need a ton of young speculative players, we need a few top quality ones

Also, the trade period is literally 2 days in.

Can you just pace yourself a bit maybe?
With a couple more retirements next year, more $$$ will be freed up. Got a feeling if we are going to land a big fish, it will be next offseason. Looks like we'll probably have a dip at Reid, but i reckon we won't have enough to satisfy WCE. But 2 very highly rated kids coming in would be quite handy. Probably lacking top end young talent really.

Yep, I mean I get it that some people want to be constantly entertained by trades, but clearly our list has very specific needs and that's what they're working on addressing. Much better than the 'scattergun' approach we used to take.

We're in a strong position within the context of things we need to do, but we should have all learned by now that you don't judge an MFC trade period 2 days in.

Would have been one of the great robberies

The pick Richmond pitched for the trade was eventually used on 31 gamer Corey Ellis.

Notable players still on the board were Lever, Jack Steele, Touk Miller, Brayden Maynard, Bailey Dale and Caleb Daniel.

Trengove failed their medical and they still got boned!

Grundy, Harmes, Jordon, Dunstan, Hibberd all already gone and we "don't have list spots"?

We're focusing on the top of the draft for two reasons:

1) It's widely considered to drop off after the top 20
2) We don't need a ton of young speculative players, we need a few top quality ones

Also, the trade period is literally 2 days in.

Can you just pace yourself a bit maybe?
Exactly. Plus the recruiting team have repeatedly nailed the draft so we have to fit in upgraded rookies and we don’t have as many delistings.

And it’s as if we haven’t done the exact same thing for years now. Did people come into this trade period thinking we weren’t going to try it again? It was so obvious, the sooking is embarrassing. Only wish we pulled it off last year and got Bailey Humphrey.

The pick Richmond pitched for the trade was eventually used on 31 gamer Corey Ellis.

Notable players still on the board were Lever, Jack Steele, Touk Miller, Brayden Maynard, Bailey Dale and Caleb Daniel.

Trengove failed their medical and they still got boned!
God Imagine having Touk now from that draft off Richmond's pick

Does anyone know much about GWS salary situation?

We need to do something with all our cap space. I am thinking if we can snag GWS pick 7 in exchange for eating the $1 million bucks owed to Haynes.

If the footy department still has a hard-on for Reid, then surely picks 6+7+11 would be a compelling offer.

Preserves our 2024 draft hand and helps get a deal done without needing to put one of our WA boys on the table (JVR, Rivers, McVee)

Alternatively, pitch 7+11 in exchange for Norf's pick 3. Hit the draft with 3 & 6 which would be my preference.

You would rather geriatric Tmac on our list than a pick 27 18 year old?

Need to agree to disagree.
Mate we could have taken a kid at 27, we have free spots on the list if we want to use them.

Rookie rules are so confusing, but here's my read on it having researched.

We started the year with 36 senior list spots taken, and have lost five of those.

That means we now have 31, and presumably 33 with McAdam and Fullarton.

That leaves five spots to be filled, one of whom will have to be D.Turner being promoted. Every other rookied player can remain on that list, including (I believe) McVee.

That leaves four senior list spots. We could have used 27 if we had wanted to.

Furthermore, there may well be a coming change regarding the return of the veterans list, where one player with 10 yrs of service can be listed outside the main list: Club champions set to benefit from flagged list change

Tom would qualify.

I am also struggling to make sense of the inactive list; unsure whether Melksham could be listed on there ahead of next season.

Having them around is annoying, but you can't go turfing out contracted Premiership players

Does anyone know much about GWS salary situation?

We need to do something with all our cap space. I am thinking if we can snag GWS pick 7 in exchange for eating the $1 million bucks owed to Haynes.

If the footy department still has a hard-on for Reid, then surely picks 6+7+11 would be a compelling offer.

Preserves our 2024 draft hand and helps get a deal done without needing to put one of our WA boys on the table (JVR, Rivers, McVee)

Alternatively, pitch 7+11 in exchange for Norf's pick 3. Hit the draft with 3 & 6 which would be my preference.

These Haynes scenarios don’t make sense with our lack of list spots. We would just be burning another on another geriatric.

Mate we could have taken a kid at 27, we have free spots on the list if we want to use them.

Rookie rules are so confusing, but here's my read on it having researched.

We started the year with 36 senior list spots taken, and have lost five of those.

That means we now have 31, and presumably 33 with McAdam and Fullarton.

That leaves five spots to be filled, one of whom will have to be D.Turner being promoted. Every other rookied player can remain on that list, including (I believe) McVee.

That leaves four senior list spots. We could have used 27 if we had wanted to.

Furthermore, there may well be a coming change regarding the return of the veterans list, where one player with 10 yrs of service can be listed outside the main list: Club champions set to benefit from flagged list change

Tom would qualify.

I am also struggling to make sense of the inactive list; unsure whether Melksham could be listed on there ahead of next season.

Having them around is annoying, but you can't go turfing out contracted Premiership players

Way I see it is

Players out: 7
1. Dunstan
2. Hibberd
3. Grundy
4. Harmes
5. Jordan
6. Smith
7. Melksham (Moved into rookie)

Leaves us with room for 7

In:
1. Mcadams
2. Fullerton
3. Mcvee
4. Turner
5. K.Brown
6. Draft pick 6
7. Draft pick 11

Hence pick 27 (or Haynes) we have no room for.

Do we have anyone else out of contract? Seston?

Way I see it is

1. Dunstan
2. Hibberd
3. Grundy
4. Harmes
5. Jordan
6. Smith

In:
1. Mcadams
2. Fullerton
3. Mcvee
4. Turner
5. K.Brown
6. Draft pick 6
7. Draft pick 11

Smith was on the rookie list.

Regardless, what you're discounting is that we went into the season two below the maximum.

Way I see it is

1. Dunstan
2. Hibberd
3. Grundy
4. Harmes
5. Jordan
6. Smith

In:
1. Mcadams
2. Fullerton
3. Mcvee
4. Turner
5. K.Brown
6. Draft pick 6
7. Draft pick 11

To clarify here, there is limited flexibility with the total list number and make up of it from what I understand.

Primary list is between 36-38 players. Total list spot number is 44.

It's not as simple as same number of players in as are going out.

To clarify here, there is limited flexibility with the total list number and make up of it from what I understand.

Primary list is between 36-38 players. Total list spot number is 44.

It's not as simple as same number of players in as are going out.

Why wouldn’t we want an extra 2 players developing/adding depth? Like Ashton Moir at pick 27 for example.

Why didn’t we take a mid season pick last year?

Why wouldn’t we want an extra 2 players developing/adding depth? Like Ashton Moir at pick 27 for example.

1. Save money/cap room
2. Keep flexibility for pre-season supplementary picks (train-on players) and/or the midseason draft.

Come on mate, plenty of people have tried to explain the complexities of all this to you here, and frankly I can't be bothered.

Why don't you just hold off on commenting until the end of the trade and draft period? You'll save yourself and everyone else a lot of hassle, and you can rant to your hearts content if you hate the end result.

1. Save money/cap room
2. Keep flexibility for pre-season supplementary picks (train-on players) and/or the midseason draft.

I just checked, we have 44 on our list before those 7 spots opened.

So we were at max - only way we might have an open spot is if Farris-White is cat B. In which we would have 1 spot left after K.Brown, Pick 6 and Pick 11

So strange decision to not take pick 27. It would only mean

1. We have another target (maybe mysterious person to spend our cap)
2. We want flexibility (which is bizarre as 27 is a decent pick)
3. I can’t count

I just checked, we have 44 on our list before those 7 spots opened.

So we were at max - only way we might have an open spot is if Farris-White is cat B. In which we would have 1 spot left after K.Brown, Pick 6 and Pick 11

I believe we had 37 on the primary list this year, with 7 rookies.

And again, primary list is between 36-38 players, it's not a matter of the exact same number in and out.

Over the past 24 hours, Harrison Petty appears to have updated his instagram bio. Removing all reference to MFC.
Take it as you want.....

Attachments

• ScreenShot2023-10-10at8_57.0.thumb.png.85bfda2380828b7093e60e4faca4c876.png
    ScreenShot2023-10-10at8_57.0.thumb.png.85bfda2380828b7093e60e4faca4c876.png
    132.6 KB · Views: 91
  • Screen Shot 2023-10-12 at 12.02.01 am.png
    Screen Shot 2023-10-12 at 12.02.01 am.png
    68.6 KB · Views: 86
Over the past 24 hours, Harrison Petty appears to have updated his instagram bio. Removing all reference to MFC.
Take it as you want.....

Adelaide a shit to deal with. Were shit on Lever deal and dragged while sooking it up. Rorted Dawson out of Sydney for unders, did everything humanly possible to avoid paying pick 5 for Rankine.

Now they are saying they will play “hardball” on Mcadam because we don’t want to trade Petty.

They can get ****ed. They will probably try toss us pick 14 and try call it a day.