List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread III

Pies had a few I’d look at

Will Kelly being the other

Ruscoe has good pace and looked decent at hbf in games he played in the past
Every now and again you'll come out with something compelling. So I'll indulge. What on Earth do you see in Will Kelly? I have rarely seen a footballer so out of his depth

Will Kelly lol give me strength.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Meaningless, was it? Eddie's first win in 20-odd efforts, our only successful example of maintaining a lead in twenty weeks, a giant mental monkey off the back with that PC goal as the Suns pushed back, and a preseason without any crap from the media about a historic losing streak or tanking allegations.

I too want Reid. But assuming West Coast are still jizzing themselves silly with their ludicrous delusions, if we can't enact drastic change with two early shots at the first round and three later shots at it, we might as well shut up shop

Sorry but I don’t get all the hype about Eddie’s first win. I’d prefer his first win came in Cunnington’s or Ziebell’s last game. Both were winnable. Yet we didn’t go hard enough for long enough. Yet in a dead rubber against a disinterested opponent we looked much better.

I have a 12 year old who barracks for North. He goes to school with kids who barrack for Pies, Blues, Richmond and Essendon.

They are popular clubs that are winning most weeks.

While his own team hasn't won for 21 games in a row.

What am I supposed to do? Sit him down and say son, I know we haven't won for 22 weeks, but its part of a cunning plan to get the number 1 pick and pick 2 when Ben McKay leaves. And then we will have Harley Reid and McKercher and everything will be great....

I dont think that will work on a 12 year old.....LOL

It was Eddie's first win. It was a win that put a smile on my son's face. That's more important than moving up one spot in a draft.

In further evidentce of the poverty of this year's draft, Sydney - with picks 12, 45, 55, 91 to work with - delist Sam Reid and intend to re-rookie him ...... with a view to opening up another list spot for great flexibility at the draft.

So thin this draft, don't know why people bother

In further evidentce of the poverty of this year's draft, Sydney - with picks 12, 45, 55, 91 to work with - delist Sam Reid and intend to re-rookie him ...... with a view to opening up another list spot for great flexibility at the draft.

Keep the five.

Sydney will get two good kids from this draft, whoever they pick at with their first and then a bid match for Cleary. Doubt the boy will get bid on before 12. Quality that will slide.

I have a 12 year old who barracks for North. He goes to school with kids who barrack for Pies, Blues, Richmond and Essendon.

What am I supposed to do? Sit him down and say son, I know we haven't won for 22 weeks, but its part of a cunning plan to get the number 1 pick and pick 2 when Ben McKay leaves. And then we will have Harley Reid and McKercher and everything will be great....

It was Eddie's first win. It was a win that put a smile on my son's face. That's more important than moving up one spot in a draft.
This is it in a nutshell, we're a small supporter base as it is and there's a very real risk we lose a generation of supporters unless we start winning games regularly. Kids will either change to another team, have favourite players but not a favourite team or just be nonchalant towards North. "Yeah, my dad barracks for them"

That last win meant everything to kids, they could quickly forget about the previous 20 matches, mum & dad could tell them how we're going to be better next season and they might actually believe us. Then Harry Sheezel goes and wins the Rising Star. Don't ever underestimate the positive flow on effect of winning both on and off the field for the club and supporters alike.

This is it in a nutshell, we're a small supporter base as it is and there's a very real risk we lose a generation of supporters unless we start winning games regularly. Kids will either change to another team, have favourite players but not a favourite team or just be nonchalant towards North. "Yeah, my dad barracks for them"

That last win meant everything to kids, they could quickly forget about the previous 20 matches, mum & dad could tell them how we're going to be better next season and they might actually believe us. Then Harry Sheezel goes and wins the Rising Star. Don't ever underestimate the positive flow on effect of winning both on and off the field for the club and supporters alike.
Exactly, I suggest you go down to an Auskick session at a local ground.

Just count the number of kids wearing Collingwood and Richmond jumpers....

You can even see a lot of them wearing Dogs and Dees jumpers too.

Count how many are wearing North jumpers?....A team that hadn't won a game for 21 weeks....

Not many....

We NEED to start winning....We may not win many, but every win is HOPE and another reason for a kid to wear our jumper with pride.

What makes our round 24 win easier to deal with is the fact that West Coast deserved the wooden spoon. If it were a case where I felt all year that we were the worst team and that we needed the first pick, it would have stung a lot more.

Outside of the opportunity to blatantly tank, the round 24 result doesn't hold any greater weight than any other week of the season. It's also hard to get upset with our position considering how the PP and McKay situations worked out. There's no guarantee the AFL hand over the same priority assistance had we landed the top pick.

Reckon drafting Reid at pick one would have gotten more aus kickers excited about north than Eddie fords and norths dead rubber win
Yeah they would have been thrilled about bidding on Walter at 1 and then taking Reid at 2, they know how this stuff works.

Exactly, I suggest you go down to an Auskick session at a local ground.

Just count the number of kids wearing Collingwood and Richmond jumpers....

You can even see a lot of them wearing Dogs and Dees jumpers too.

Count how many are wearing North jumpers?....A team that hadn't won a game for 21 weeks....

Not many....

We NEED to start winning....We may not win many, but every win is HOPE and another reason for a kid to wear our jumper with pride.

Totally agree, I've got two young boys who wear north day in day out, and that win was huge for them. Also having a successful women's team is helping to keep them from being swaying but hopefully more to cheer going fwd. Just ludicrous to hear so called "supporters" wanted us to lose. Put ford to one side, the elation of the team as a whole was clear to see and the skip that will be still in their step when they return from their break..... nothing is better than a winning feeling

Couple things:
  • They’re contending
  • They have a couple academy boys next year
  • Every draft is approximately the same (+/- 10%) regardless of noise
  • List spots are tight and as a result, clubs have had to draft less

What makes our round 24 win easier to deal with is the fact that West Coast deserved the wooden spoon. If it were a case where I felt all year that we were the worst team and that we needed the first pick, it would have stung a lot more.

Outside of the opportunity to blatantly tank, the round 24 result doesn't hold any greater weight than any other week of the season. It's also hard to get upset with our position considering how the PP and McKay situations worked out. There's no guarantee the AFL hand over the same priority assistance had we landed the top pick.
I've seen this said before but it seems like rationalising a bad situation. Back to back to back spoons would have made it even easier to give us a priority package and if anything it would have been greater in value.

Indeed mate (as a father of 13 and 11yr olds) and at that age the friends in other club colours are becoming lippy, echoing the “povo club should just relocate to Tassie” crap they hear from their equally mouthy family members.

The final round win was worth it’s weight in gold for the next gen of North nuts.

I for one, watching us win that last game, felt so much better heading into an off season. Yes it has cost us Pick 1, but from a psychological point of view, at last winning a game again, was so much more important.

Sure it was against the Gold Coast, a terribly disappointing outfit if ever there was one (should never have been created in the first place) but winning any game of football, creates hope for the future and we as a football club need every ounce of hope we can get.

Following on from that the girls started winning games, which was so wonderful to see, and I, at least, felt we have some things to look forward to again.

List Mgmt. 2023 Trade & List Management Thread III