List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion - part 2

North look doomed. They don't look state league quality.

They're on a hiding to nothing.

We bottle it, but, we had an idea to be the bayshide club and organise with state leagues and around to be the go to club so Hawks could swoop in and go that extra mile for the cash and plaudits.
Bombers finally pissed off and went to Tulla to go "you know what? Might as well go see the state and think a bit".
Dogs and others are at ground level holding clinics, meetings, signing things and such.
And then there's North...

Arden st is fine, we can just re do a single building and she'll be right.
Maybe we can fit a porta on this lot?
What if we go for #475 midfielder? Run a bit, no prob.
Would be nice if we had a second oval, alas....
I like it here, screw all those other agreements, I'll make this work!

Obstinance can only go so far before you need to learn how to swim a small pond of footy in Vic.

The rumour is that Windy/Agent are asking for north of $850k a year.

We want to keep him but the difference could be 150-200k in offers.
If we are paying Aleer anything near 7-750k a year, Windy is worth the 850k+ a year they are asking for imo
He’s been great the 2nd half of the season, we gotta look after our own first, won’t take much for a Geelong or Hawthorn to come crawling in, offering 100-150k more and we can say sayanara to Windy when he’s about to hit the peak of his powers.

If we are paying Aleer anything near 7-750k a year, Windy is worth the 850k+ a year they are asking for imo
He’s been great the 2nd half of the season, we gotta look after our own first, won’t take much for a Geelong or Hawthorn to come crawling in, offering 100-150k more and we can say sayanara to Windy when he’s about to hit the peak of his powers.
Surely they're just posturing with Windy, getting to an agreed dollar amount. Just can't see us losing him.

You’d hope so but can never be to sure, we don’t have an abundance of good midfielders, our two youngest and best are due to be paid.
Giving them unders seems stupid to me, we are only scratching the surface with both of them.
We’ve been so vocal about how we need to sort out midfield mix out, we’ve finally done it and now we are offering average contracts out. I don’t like it personally, I liked the thought of Aleer early days but not at the expense of one of these boys, no way.

Up until yesterday I was confident Nas would stay.
My son & I came over from SA for the game, a mate of mine from Melbourne used to sponsor Terry Milera, Nas’ family were over & we spoke to Terry after the game. Obviously he did not say Nas is staying or going, but his exact words were “we just want him closer to home.”
Take that as you will, but obviously his family are pushing for him to go back to SA.
Thanks for the loyalty, Tez….
( It’s an hours flight away, seriously!)

If Port or Adelaide want him then they’ll need to pony up. I’ve heard comparisons to Dawson returning home, but reality is we’re dealing with a player who is already top 5 in the comp.

By the end of the season he could well be:

All-Australian
St Kilda Best & Fairest
Top 5 in the brownlow
Top 5 in the AFLCA awards (another two BOGs and he could win this)

We’re not talking about a couple of late first rounders, a future picks.
I just don’t know how they do it.
And You would hope the AFL would not sign off an obviously unfair deal.
You soundly hope….but then again…

You’d hope so but can never be to sure, we don’t have an abundance of good midfielders, our two youngest and best are due to be paid.
Giving them unders seems stupid to me, we are only scratching the surface with both of them.
We’ve been so vocal about how we need to sort out midfield mix out, we’ve finally done it and now we are offering average contracts out. I don’t like it personally, I liked the thought of Aleer early days but not at the expense of one of these boys, no way.
Love Windy, love the way he is developing, love yesterdays game but.
Aleer or Windy aren't worth 750k let alone 850k.
31 possessions against a young midfield whose experienced mids are slower and more one positioned than Macrae, is not the glowing endorsement people are claiming.
Look you can only play who your opposition is but until he is doing that regularly against finals teams he can't demand superstar money.
He needs to be handsomely paid, you can see the development, as someone else said maybe front ended a tad and heavily incentivised with KRA'S.
Probably what they are haggling over.

Oh and this thing about Terry Milera, ask Collards family where they would prefer him, or any player away from home for that matter.
Just because he said that, does not mean he is demanding it. Of course he want him home, ask any FIFO family where they want the person working away from home.
Of and this demeaning of players personally has to stop. It is a bit tongue in cheek about Battle, but posting stuff about NAZ being a mummy's boy and she need to wipe his arse, is bang out of order.
It's childish and churlish.

Love Windy, love the way he is developing, love yesterdays game but.
Aleer or Windy aren't worth 750k let alone 850k.
31 possessions against a young midfield whose experienced mids are slower and more one positioned than Macrae, is not the glowing endorsement people are claiming.
Look you can only play who your opposition is but until he is doing that regularly against finals teams he can't demand superstar money.
He needs to be handsomely paid, you can see the development, as someone else said maybe front ended a tad and heavily incentivised with KRA'S.
Probably what they are haggling over.
He’s had more than a couple good games this year, the consistency will come, I’ve been really impressed with him since they’ve cut him loose from tagging.
He has pace, he’s hard at it and he compliments Nas well, he’s never gonna be an elite kick but plenty of gun mids have been ordinary kicks.
If you had a choice of Windy or Aleer for 750k a year I’d be taking Windy every day of the week.

He’s had more than a couple good games this year, the consistency will come, I’ve been really impressed with him since they’ve cut him loose from tagging.
He has pace, he’s hard at it and he compliments Nas well, he’s never gonna be an elite kick but plenty of gun mids have been ordinary kicks.
If you had a choice of Windy or Aleer for 750k a year I’d be taking Windy every day of the week.
Look I understand totally what you are saying, but we don't need to decide either/or.
We can't attract players so we have had to save the SC to go after some players.

I am sure the money quoted TDK and Aleer is front ended. Someone said yesterday like a sign on bonus and after the first year or two it will be 1.2 and 600k.
Regardless, we can't have a situation where we overpay 5 or 6 players and Max out our SC in a year or two and then lose a Tauru because we can't stump up the cash to keep him.
We have seen what has happened to Carlton, overpaying 6 of their best and are now in a world of hurt where they actually need to offload 1 or two of them.

I feel Windy needs to be paid but if the 850k is anywhere, near what he wants, it could stretch us SC wise going forward when Travaglia, or Wilson or Tauru or Hastie wants to be overpaid.

How did it happen that he got through all the way to us?
Have to address this. Is Matthew Lloyd actually brain-dead or is it an act?

He was on the Footy Show saying we were praying no bid before 40 for Windy and we really got a beauty.
Then he went on to call us whingers and say we got Windy for nothing. The absolute fool contradicted his own statement.
We whinge you f-wit because we had to wait to after pick 20 ( Lloyd was wrong on that as well) before we could pick him up, unlike the Northern States that could pick him up anywhere for free.
And where did Cam McKenzie go? Top ten, our NGA, but we couldn't touch him.

So sick of these brainless so called experts.

Some one-on-one time with Enright to refine his defensive skills and he'll be a good addition.
He has one of the best defenders in the League next to him in Wilkie.
Still feel we need to retain Howard. Him fit with Aleer makes our backline look, at least on paper, much better.