Autopsy 2025 Preliminary Final: Hawks get rolled

I'm surprised we were not thumped by more. 20-5 centre clearance in the context of the 6-6-6 rule is going to get you heavily scored against. Especially if your opposition forward line includes a player like Cameron.

Umpiring was horrible when the game was up for grabs, but the umps were not winning Geelong those centre clearances (at least not most of them :) ).
Ah... YEAH they were. Dangerflog wasn't allowed to be touched, while Newcombe and Ward were being held all night before they'd gotten near the ball. That was ALL on the umpires.

Great season and lots of great memories.

Midfield has been our Achilles heel all year and it got exposed today which I thought it would.

Can't understand how CJ got to be sub in 3 finals given his performances in all were error ridden. I don't know what he brings to the team, but Sam obviously does.

Would have love to have seen more of McKenzie and HH this year and confused as to why they get dropped after a bad 1/2, never to return, when we sorely lack midfield depth and rotation.

Hopefully we get to see more of Serong next year and hopefully we don't lose all 3.

Umpiring was a disgrace, but you're never going to win a final with a centre clearance count as absymal as ours.

Hopefully Chol isn't suspended for the start of next year. Him firing is crucial to our success and early wins.
With hindsight we should have somehow got a game or two into McKenzie, HH, Bmac and Serong in August. It felt like it was too late to sway CJ out for anyone. He was horrible.

Disappointed after the good start but looking at it holistically, they were the more consistent team all year and were favourites for a reason

We started well but couldn't capitalise as well as them when they had momentum.

Some of our players are just too soft and go missing in tough times.

They have a lot of players who aren't that great but because they are in a great structure look better than they are.

Without looking at any stats, thought Sicily was our best.

Next year add hopefully Day and Merrett to this team and we will get a lot more ascendancy in the middle.

It is what it is. Sun will rise again tomorrow

I have never understood when you are getting spanked in the middle but have ruck capable of dictating where the ball goes, why on Earth do the coaches not try the ruckman smashing the ball forward, and away from the immediate vicinity where we are getting spanked.

You have your half forward ready for it. It can’t be any worse than repeatedly watching your ruck drop it at his feet and the midfielders get beaten for it.

It was a big lead up that got dragged out players probably felt that too. That was poor form Hudson calling Watson the invisible man. I feel exhausted too from this game but at least it's over haha.
Hudson's been throwing a lot of sly little jabs at Hawks from last few games he commentated.

At 3QT Sam had his arm around Wiz shoulder and Hudson made a snide remark about Sam and (paraphrasing ) how he is now leaning into the human side of things.
He's finding it hard to hide that Cat's supporter in him.

Heads up lads. Talking from a neutral supporter who has endured many prelim losses the last 10 years.

Your squad is real good.
Your core squad is also real young.
Shit will be talked about Watson but dude is 20 and will have many 3 goal+ games the further his career goes. Ginnivan was clearly hampered the last two weeks. Newcombe cant do it on his own but you have reinforcements coming with Merrett and even Allen to help straighten you up even more. Another season and pre season of battle and barass together. Butler/Mackenzie/Ward coming through and probably one of your top 3 players in Day injury free.
Weddle is 21 and my favourite player from your team. Dangerfield just went absolutely ape shit with some help from the umps no one could really do anything about.

But the shining light and the difference between what we had and what you currently have is that you have a ruthless coach who will take names and give no ****s and actually has footy smarts to strategise instead of a fairy that just talks a lotta stuff but no action

Prelim losses ****in suck they drain the life out of supporters because its literally the second last step to a flag. I have much faith that with all things being equal you will be right around the mark with tonights experience yet again this time next year

That’s the one we need to lose to win a flag over the next few years.

Get a preseason into Lewis and Dear, experience into our mids (and get Merrett and Trac by hook or by crook) and we are almost there.

Someone earlier said we lack midfield leaders and it showed today.

Couldn't be more proud of the boys tonight. 3 big finals, improved from last year with improvement still needed.

Lewis i think we just saw what he can be, a dominant forward. Just needs to be healthy and get a good preseason in.

Worpel just didn't look himself, he is off to the eatery.

Cj, has the traits but unfortunately for me, he isn't good enough.

We need a fit will day and zach merrett to support the newk.

Just a petty mention, think the umps were

Again, couldn't be prouder of this team. HAWTHORN 2026 HERE WE COME

Ok calmed down

Really proud of the team and the players and everyone at the club for making a Prelim from 8th

Umpires can eat a bag of *****

They are team built on tagging. Smith, Holmes and tonight Dangerfield all get time and space to work with because Atkins, Mullins and O'Connor hold the other teams best o players out of it. We really need an enforcer to go after the tags - back in the 80s Gary Ayers would do it - just go and give the taggers some of the attention they give. Somehow the umpires never catch any of this.

When we had the game early and they couldn't score we could only manage 3.6 - had that have been 6.3 then they have to change the way they play.

Their small forwards torched us. We needed one less tall defender and one more smaller defender for balance.

We were outcoached. God I despise Chris Scott - but he and his tactical team did way more work on our strengths and weaknesses than we did on theirs. Need to improve the tactical side of our game.

We clearly know what we need to go further.

Proud of the players that played tonight and through the year but I'm sure not all will be at the club next year

Heads up lads. Talking from a neutral supporter who has endured many prelim losses the last 10 years.

Your squad is real good.
Your core squad is also real young.
Shit will be talked about Watson but dude is 20 and will have many 3 goal+ games the further his career goes. Ginnivan was clearly hampered the last two weeks. Newcombe cant do it on his own but you have reinforcements coming with Merrett and even Allen to help straighten you up even more. Another season and pre season of battle and barass together. Butler/Mackenzie/Ward coming through and probably one of your top 3 players in Day injury free.
Weddle is 21 and my favourite player from your team. Dangerfield just went absolutely ape shit with some help from the umps no one could really do anything about.

But the shining light and the difference between what we had and what you currently have is that you have a ruthless coach who will take names and give no ****s and actually has footy smarts to strategise instead of a fairy that just talks a lotta stuff but no action

Prelim losses ****in suck they drain the life out of supporters because its literally the second last step to a flag. I have much faith that with all things being equal you will be right around the mark with tonights experience yet again this time next year
Appreciate that mate, well said.

Thought you said this wasnt a thread to pi55 on our own?
Theres a big difference between saying someone is a bit vanilla and some of the vitriol directed at our players.

The now: Great game by Gunston. Won or halved every contest, even when up against 2 opponents. Moore as ever energetic.

The alternative universe: if the cats had Newc and Day to worry about, one would have got off the chain and dominate

The dream: Newc, Day, Merrett and Trac rotating through the midfield with Nash / Finn as the negating mids and Ward / McKenzie coming off the bench... that would be unstoppable.

2001? WTF!
Are you serious? Haven't you been paying attention last 4 seasons?
I was at that 2001 PF and there was a consensus that it was an honourable loss. We were all pretty confident that 2002 and beyond was our time to shine but the truth was that only two players on the list would win a flag for hawthorn and that was Crawf and Croad (both in their last games).

Autopsy 2025 Preliminary Final: Hawks get rolled