AFL depth charts

• Thread starter Thread starter m0nty

good job with the crows mate
just a couple of changes i'd do

Jericho is more of a small forward than a key forward (you can remove him entirely if you want)
Myke Cook is more of your flashy outside mid than inside
Tippett could be added to the rucks list
Douglas is more of a small forward than a tagger
Curnow could be classed as a tagger/inside mid more than outside
Edwards isn't really that much of a tagger
other than that pretty good

if it also goes in order of pecking order
Jericho would probably be at the bottom of the list
Dangerfield would be ahead of Campbell
Doughty and VB ahead of Douglas as taggers
Petrenko ahead of Gallman as small defenders
Cook (if you move him to outside mid) would be ahead of Armstrong and maybe Curnow

Bell is preferred thats the hard thing about a depth chart with AFL.

Johnston competes for his spot with Buckley, Wheatley, Bruce and even green... Bell is a strong quick defender (Sh%t year I know) who is in the side for balance.

Jamar is the better ruckman just does nothing after the tap... Johnson is a better footballer but struggles in the ruck and thats why he is considered the number two.... Sadly if we could morph them we would have a good player

Just a couple of suggestions for the Saints:

Dal Santo's definitely an outside midfielder
Sam Gilbert at 194cm is a key defender rather than small
McQualter and Baker are listed twice, as inside midfielders and taggers (they're the latter, if they're deliberately twice then Birss is another insider)
It's early to call on Jack Steven, but he's a tough little bugger who's more likely to play inside than out
Glenn Chivers from our rookie list is missing, small defender
And Luke Miles is a small defender

Can't have been easy, good job

good work monty. just a couple of changes id make with the cats:
  • I'd put Egan ahead of Harley for the key defenders - when they're both in he's definitely more important
  • Drop Gamble down a notch or two (behind Stokes but probably in front of Varcoe)
  • Swap James Kelly to an outside mid
apart from that its awesome

good work monty. just a couple of changes id make with the cats:
  • I'd put Egan ahead of Harley for the key defenders - when they're both in he's definitely more important
  • Drop Gamble down a notch or two (behind Stokes but probably in front of Varcoe)
  • Swap James Kelly to an outside mid
apart from that its awesome
Big call on the captain there!

Good point on Kelly.

Yeah good effort... But I will say that your the 1st person Ive ever seen rate Nick Stevens as an inside midfielder. If he was anymore outside he would play from the carpark.

Champion Data classified him as inside this year. Prior to Judd's arrival he was Calrton's #1 clearance player for multiple years.

His role has changed with Judd and Gibbs forcing him out of the guts, no question. Interesting to see what Champion do with him next year.

Good job.

For North,

• Harding is a small defender these days - probably third in line after Jesse Smith
  • Power played as a midfielder this year. I guess you would classify him as outside (you also have Power and Pratt twice in defenders and Power again in taggers)
  • Ben Davies and Blake Grima have already been delisted
  • David Hale is our number 1 key forward.
  • Petrie can fit in many catergories, will likely play CHB next year (and automaticaly be our best key defender), but based on 2008 you would have him top of the ruck list.
  • Matt Riggio is a midfielder (probably classify as inside).
  • Cruze Garlett is a small forward
  • Ben Ross will play midfield for sure (outside)

Sydney:

Key defenders:
Swap C.Bolton and Barry around

Outside mids:
Goodes
McVeigh
Jack
Shaw
Fosdike
Brabazon
Meredith
(Vespremi will be somewhere amongst them within 12 months)

Inside Mids:
Kirk
J Bolton
Buchanan
Bird (will be #1 in 2-3 years)
Ablett
Smith (will be #2 behind Bird)

Small Forwards:
Moore to #2 behind MO'L

Rucks:
Currie to #2 and White to the bottom. White is being groomed for a KP, will never be anything more than a pinch hitter if needed in the ruck.

Add Crouch to small defenders behind Bevan and add Shaw to taggers at #2.

Yeah, Sydney is a weird one, especially the mix between inside and outside mids. If you believe Champion Data, Sydney outside mids totalled only 3 games all year. I guess that's a consequence of there being so many stoppages and man-on-man tactics. It's probably a good idea to ignore them and go with your designations, TripleB.

Great work monty.

Would you consider the current categorisation to be appropriate?

I guess my main concern is that players have been categorised in KP / small defender and forwards. Just think if there was a category for medium forwards and general defenders, it would make more sense (possibly).

In a lot of teams, it is medium forwards that make the difference, e.g. ROK, Medhurst, Didak, etc.

Similarly, a lot of defenders these days can be tall but rather are playing as a "general" defender on the 3rd tall / medium forward rather than a KPP. Their main role ends up being more to generate the drive / rebound / provide support role to midfield. Luke Hodge is not a small defender, but rather a "general" defender who helps out and sets up creative options.

Great work monty.

Would you consider the current categorisation to be appropriate?

I guess my main concern is that players have been categorised in KP / small defender and forwards. Just think if there was a category for medium forwards and general defenders, it would make more sense (possibly).

In a lot of teams, it is medium forwards that make the difference, e.g. ROK, Medhurst, Didak, etc.

Similarly, a lot of defenders these days can be tall but rather are playing as a "general" defender on the 3rd tall / medium forward rather than a KPP. Their main role ends up being more to generate the drive / rebound / provide support role to midfield. Luke Hodge is not a small defender, but rather a "general" defender who helps out and sets up creative options.
I'm doing it for coaches in Dream Team and other fantasy competitions, to help them evaluate fringe players, draftees and rookies in terms of how likely they are to get games in the short term future.

I know the categorisations have been smooshed up a little compared to Champion, but I think it's roughly accurate to how real AFL coaches evaluate their structure for the purposes of selection at a broad level: you have the key forwards and the non-key forwards, and the same for defenders, and roughly 3 of each.

If you wanted to be completely accurate to every possible player type then you'd have too many categories, I reckon. When you add up all the Champion variations it comes to 20, and that's excessive.

Gotcha... No probs.

PS - Just looking on St Kilda

Birss
Baker
McQualter

are in inside mids and taggers. You may wish to take them out of the inside mids list and rather leave them as taggers only.

For Port:

KPD: Carlile went passed chapling this year
Small defender: Chad is either a KPD or a midfielder, he currently plays midfield.
KPF: Salter would be above Cockshell, Lobbe and M Westoff, White would be above M Westoff (for now).
Small forwards: Krakour would be above M Motlop
Rucks: Brogan has surpassed Lade (had a fantastic year, largely unrecognisd)

Great effort though.

I struggle to see MickyO as a small forward. Not only is he tall, he plays as a marking target, albeit in a relatively unorthodox way. On the other hand, I wouldn't have ROK as a key forward. He probably could play that role but he doesn't. He could be classified as a small forward but I reckon he's an outside midfielder, despite being named at HFF every week.

I wouldn't even include White on the ruck list. He can pinch hit there, but so can LRT and Teddy Richards but you'd never put them as rucks. Whether he's a key forward or a key back is anyone's guess but if he's anything its a key something.

I also reckon Barlow is an outside mid, not a key forward and O'Dwyer should be included there too.

Essendon is pretty good, m0nty, and the following are pretty much nitpicking.

• Lonergan to jump ahead of Prismall and Houli as an inside mid
  • Reimers to swap with Prismall
  • Reimers and Myers also to small defender (point of reference: Hodge)
  • Welsh to inside midfielder
That's about it, and some of those are subjective anyway.

Well done.:thumbsu:

For the roos ...

• Move Petrie to best key defender
  • Matt Riggio is more of an outside mid
  • Hansen above Watt
  • Scott Thompson isn't small, key defender behind Watt
  • Josh Smith above Tarrant in the key forwards (I think Tarrant is being played as a defender but not too sure/injured most of the season)

Essendon is pretty good, m0nty, and the following are pretty much nitpicking.

• Lonergan to jump ahead of Prismall and Houli as an inside mid
  • Reimers to swap with Prismall
  • Reimers and Myers also to small defender (point of reference: Hodge)
  • Welsh to inside midfielder
That's about it, and some of those are subjective anyway.

Well done.:thumbsu:
Lonergan may jump ahead in future but at the moment he's behind. Prismall also has more runs on the board than Reimers at the moment.

Apart from tagger, you don't get double eligibility in this system.

Lonergan may jump ahead in future but at the moment he's behind. Prismall also has more runs on the board than Reimers at the moment.

Apart from tagger, you don't get double eligibility in this system.

Lonergan is at the very least ahead of Houli.
I meant Reimers to inside and Prismall to outside.

As for double eligibility, I'd still have Welsh as an inside mid and Reimers as inside as well.

Lonergan is at the very least ahead of Houli.
I meant Reimers to inside and Prismall to outside.

As for double eligibility, I'd still have Welsh as an inside mid and Reimers as inside as well.
I'd love to get stats to talk about the Bombers' roles changing, but unfortunately the AFL site isn't cooperating to show me clearances and other exotic stats. For the moment I'll stick with the CHampion designations, I think.

I'm happy to defer to the stats on Lonergan/Houli.

However, Welsh definitely became a midfielder from the Hawthorn game onwards, and played his best footy for the club in that time.

I'm happy to defer to the stats on Lonergan/Houli.

However, Welsh definitely became a midfielder from the Hawthorn game onwards, and played his best footy for the club in that time.
Just to demonstate your point:

http://www.pro-stats.com.au/psw/web/player_games?pid=2002043

For the sake of arguement I am ignoring the Richmond and Bulldogs games as he did not play a full game due to injury. In that period he averaged 3.8 clearances and 4.2 1st possesions a game (very much an inside midfielders stats).

He did play as a defensive forward in 2007 and early 2008 and as a small defender previously.