Multiplat AFL Evolution 2

Oh, okay. Sorry, I didn't see that.
We're you back in your proper team after that?

Yeah, everything was fine after that. Didn't play any State finals (not sure how the real system goes as I don't follow, or watch, U18 State stuff anyway. Apologies for my ignorance on that) but I did play all the remaining games and finals for the Northern Knights, then got drafted (as a ruck) by Richmond at pick 18.

Why is everyone jumping on Ross's case when a WW dev slagged off AFL Live on a facebook forum while not disclosing the info that he was a WW dev fair game at that point imo

Well apart from not disclosing who he was (and I don't personally know if he is a dev or not, but I accept your notion that he is), at least he said something. Whether he's right or wrong at least he had the balls to say what he thought of the game. Ross didn't even do that.

I’ve found a bit of a workaround solution for the ruck glitch in my Freo coach career
If I go in with:
- Darcy as No 1 ruck
- Lobb as No 2 ruck starting at CHF
I end up with Darcy doing one tap then going to the bench with Lobb doing most of the ruckwork until he fatigues and Luke Ryan takes over
But....
If I go in with:
- Darcy as No 1 ruck
- Taberner as No 2 ruck starting on the bench
- Lobb at CHF
Then Darcy rucks until he fatigues at which point Taberner takes over, as soon as Tabs heads into the ruck, I change my 2nd ruck to Lobb, from then on Darcy and Lobb rotate properly through the ruck with Lobb and Tabs rotating through CHF and bench

I actually haven't had an issue with the ruck when playing as Richmond. I think it's due to Soldo starting on the bench so Nankervis and Soldo simply swap with each other.

Well apart from not disclosing who he was (and I don't personally know if he is a dev or not, but I accept your notion that he is), at least he said something. Whether he's right or wrong at least he had the balls to say what he thought of the game. Ross didn't even do that.

So he's being criticized by one side for being ambiguous and not commenting on the game but now he's being criticized because he didn't comment on the game? So basically there's no winning.

F*** me dead.

I played a game with GWS the other day where when Jacobs got tired they threw Himmelberg into the ruck. Okay, fair enough.

Then Himmelberg got tired and they threw Nick Haynes into the ruck.

Then Phil Davis.

Then Heath god damn Shaw.

The good news is that thanks to how ridiculously easy ruck contests are in this game, 5th choice ruck Heath Shaw still won the hitout every time.
When I play as Port, I get Byrne-Jones rucking more than Lycett lol.

The more I play this game the less I think it’s the best AFL game ever.

There’s just so many issues in it that hold it back and the more I think about the less things are better than Live one.

Live on still is still the smoothest AFL game to date. 9 years and 3 games later WW still can’t make a game that runs smooth. Players don’t feel like they have proper weight controlling them is too finicky and the ball physics are still out of whack. These were all things Live one never had a problem with.

The game looks like the modern AFL? I think we all bought into the hype too easily and lost our collective minds based off a couple of screenshots. The game only looks more like modern AFL in the forward or backline. If the ball is in the midfield it still looks like 18 loose pairs of players with the possible exception of of a spare man. Stoppages only the midfield are still way to loose.

HFF are the most useless position in the game and they positions themselves in the least dangerous positions possible. You have no option to allow them to push up to the stoppage.

The biggest fun factor of the game is it allows you to hold onto possession of the ball in the backline and perform numerous switches to unlock a defence. The problem is you have to fight the camera to be able to do this.

Performing handball chains is still a ****ing nightmare, Han all regular miss the target plus the size rarely runs into get positions to receive the ball, they’re always making runs that easily get cut off when they don’t need to if they just ran a little wider. Live one you could perform a hand ball chain 10 times easier.

In theory there are a lot of mechanics that Evo 2 has that a better than live ones, like tackling, evasion and marking. The problem is the players are so hard to control precisely that those features are either hard to pull off or less enjoyable.

Online is pissing me off.

Been trying to get a normal game for 30 mins now.

Hard to find a game that actually works. Struggle to get a 1v1 going, many die after you've spent 10 mins waiting to get started and the host connection is lost or you oppo leaves.

View attachment 857251

Giving you a like for the photo. Top stuff. Great that your wife doesn't seem to mind. Is there a sideboob version?

Watching that Twistie guys stream

The game looks better on a stream than it does in person ? Well on my 55" Samsung tv it looks a bit scratchy at times. But watching the stream it looks ok ? I'm so confused!!

Even the frame rate looked ok-ish, mine can't decide whether it wants to stay in fast forward mode or slow down.

I should add that I do love playing this game, and I think it's the best AFL game I've played by far - regardless of what came before it. Sure, some games in the past have had one or two better features, and AFL Live was great - for it's time. But, by and large, it's nowhere near as good as Evo 2 - which is fine as it's a much older game. I personally don't give a squat about who the developer is on any game as long as it's a decent game.

Having said that, there are a lot of bugs in this game, but (hopefully) most - if not all - will be ironed out in time. Scratch that, they're not ALL going to be ironed out. There will still be bugs/features that will be left. That's the nature of ANY game. One of the things I personally don't like is the fact that as soon as I grab the ball I immediately get pinged for holding the ball. I have faith that this will be fixed sometime soon though. I've only ever played career mode on this game - as indeed I do with any sports game, given the chance.

Some of the things that people have said about the game on this forum are simply just not present in the matches I've played - and I've played about 60 or 70 matches so far. It makes me wonder if they're just not good at the game in the first place. I mean I'm not that great, but I just don't get many of the issues that these other guys complain about. My expectations are, probably, nowhere near as high as other peoples are also. I can forgive the occasional bug or two if they don't break the game. For instance the bug of running to a spot to mark the ball, only to have your player hit an invisible wall which he runs around, is still present in this version of the game. Annoying, yes. Game breaking, no. Not to my mind anyway. Maybe for someone else it is. Messed up rosters don't bother me that much - mainly because I don't really know what players are on what teams in the first place! Crowds singing the wrong club songs, commentators saying the wrong things (like how your team has no chance of winning when they're already 10 goals up with two minutes to go) are easily fixed in a patch.

When I first started seeing the videos for Evo 2 I thought that there had been very little that had changed. Hardly any new features added. For the most part this is true but, in my opinion, Evo 2 is much more smoother and refined than AFL Evolution 1 - and, therefore, more fun. You do have to muck about with the sliders though, to start getting really good games. Just using the standard difficulty system is not enough - for me anyway. It's trial and error. You've just got to experiment with the sliders to get to a place that you're happy with, game wise. Someone in a earlier post said that they liked AFL Live because you could have 18 players tag the opposition full forward in the final minutes if you wanted to. How is that in any way representative of the actual game of Aussie Rules? I've played most - if not all - of the AFL games since the 1990's and I've enjoyed a lot of them - but I've not enjoyed them as much as I've enjoyed playing Evo 2. There's plenty of room for improvement however.

The more I play this game the less I think it’s the best AFL game ever.

There’s just so many issues in it that hold it back and the more I think about the less things are better than Live one.

Live on still is still the smoothest AFL game to date. 9 years and 3 games later WW still can’t make a game that runs smooth. Players don’t feel like they have proper weight controlling them is too finicky and the ball physics are still out of whack. These were all things Live one never had a problem with.

The game looks like the modern AFL? I think we all bought into the hype too easily and lost our collective minds based off a couple of screenshots. The game only looks more like modern AFL in the forward or backline. If the ball is in the midfield it still looks like 18 loose pairs of players with the possible exception of of a spare man. Stoppages only the midfield are still way to loose.

HFF are the most useless position in the game and they positions themselves in the least dangerous positions possible. You have no option to allow them to push up to the stoppage.

The biggest fun factor of the game is it allows you to hold onto possession of the ball in the backline and perform numerous switches to unlock a defence. The problem is you have to fight the camera to be able to do this.

Performing handball chains is still a ******* nightmare, Han all regular miss the target plus the size rarely runs into get positions to receive the ball, they’re always making runs that easily get cut off when they don’t need to if they just ran a little wider. Live one you could perform a hand ball chain 10 times easier.

In theory there are a lot of mechanics that Evo 2 has that a better than live ones, like tackling, evasion and marking. The problem is the players are so hard to control precisely that those features are either hard to pull off or less enjoyable.
This is pretty much spot on and sums up most of my issues with the game.

I should add that I do love playing this game, and I think it's the best AFL game I've played by far - regardless of what came before it. Sure, some games in the past have had one or two better features, and AFL Live was great - for it's time. But, by and large, it's nowhere near as good as Evo 2 - which is fine as it's a much older game. I personally don't give a squat about who the developer is on any game as long as it's a decent game.

Having said that, there are a lot of bugs in this game, but (hopefully) most - if not all - will be ironed out in time. Scratch that, they're not ALL going to be ironed out. There will still be bugs/features that will be left. That's the nature of ANY game. One of the things I personally don't like is the fact that as soon as I grab the ball I immediately get pinged for holding the ball. I have faith that this will be fixed sometime soon though. I've only ever played career mode on this game - as indeed I do with any sports game, given the chance.

Some of the things that people have said about the game on this forum are simply just not present in the matches I've played - and I've played about 60 or 70 matches so far. It makes me wonder if they're just not good at the game in the first place. I mean I'm not that great, but I just don't get many of the issues that these other guys complain about. My expectations are, probably, nowhere near as high as other peoples are also. I can forgive the occasional bug or two if they don't break the game. For instance the bug of running to a spot to mark the ball, only to have your player hit an invisible wall which he runs around, is still present in this version of the game. Annoying, yes. Game breaking, no. Not to my mind anyway. Maybe for someone else it is. Messed up rosters don't bother me that much - mainly because I don't really know what players are on what teams in the first place! Crowds singing the wrong club songs, commentators saying the wrong things (like how your team has no chance of winning when they're already 10 goals up with two minutes to go) are easily fixed in a patch.

When I first started seeing the videos for Evo 2 I thought that there had been very little that had changed. Hardly any new features added. For the most part this is true but, in my opinion, Evo 2 is much more smoother and refined than AFL Evolution 1 - and, therefore, more fun. You do have to muck about with the sliders though, to start getting really good games. Just using the standard difficulty system is not enough - for me anyway. It's trial and error. You've just got to experiment with the sliders to get to a place that you're happy with, game wise. Someone in a earlier post said that they liked AFL Live because you could have 18 players tag the opposition full forward in the final minutes if you wanted to. How is that in any way representative of the actual game of Aussie Rules? I've played most - if not all - of the AFL games since the 1990's and I've enjoyed a lot of them - but I've not enjoyed them as much as I've enjoyed playing Evo 2. There's plenty of room for improvement however.

Increase the time allowed for holding the ball or whatever it's called in the sliders, mate. I have mine at 80 and it gives you an extra 2 seconds or so with the ball before being pinged, it's much better. I agree with a lot of what you said. A patch or two will hopefully iron out at least half the major issues we're encountering. A fair chunk (not all) of the gameplay annoyances can be mitigated with adjusting sliders but I feel like a lot of folk on the thread are either unaware of their existence or aren't utilizing them

Really enjoying the ability to switch play and patiently build from the back. Move the defensive structure around until you’re happy to go. Got that Eagles game plan down. This beats the hell out of 18 1v1s.

I’ve also found moving the prior opportunity slider to 60 has been a great upgrade. Most things that feel like they should be ball are, and very rarely do you get one that seems stiff.

Yes the AI being shit and kicking out on the full and kicking to 2 on 1 contests 20 meters out from goal trying to switch the play is because people aren't good at the game.

The majority of the complaints with the game have nothing to do with anything that could be interpreted as the players skill being the issue but the programming around the AI and the decisions it makes which kill the game completely.

I did refine and sent that list of bug lists and other feedback based on this thread. (around 50 across categories like gameplay, AI, sound, pro/coach etc)

Now we wait to see if they acknowledge during the week or two

Really enjoying the ability to switch play and patiently build from the back. Move the defensive structure around until you’re happy to go. Got that Eagles game plan down. This beats the hell out of 18 1v1s.

I’ve also found moving the prior opportunity slider to 60 has been a great upgrade. Most things that feel like they should be ball are, and very rarely do you get one that seems stiff.

That was like modern footy. Multiple switches waiting for an opening. Took full advantage of it. Looks great

HoneyBadger35 Take Venables off you stupid campaigner.

da575cb401882aa1c0e6dcd550f79bb8.jpg

Yes sir, sorry sir, an older boy told me to do it.

Dynamic camera is completely different online than it is on single player. It’s unusable in the former. You have to kick upwards when coming out of defence, and side on at all other times. But it seems to be fine on single player against the AI, and the best camera angle for the job. I’m confused. Anyone else?

Increase the time allowed for holding the ball or whatever it's called in the sliders, mate. I have mine at 80 and it gives you an extra 2 seconds or so with the ball before being pinged, it's much better. I agree with a lot of what you said. A patch or two will hopefully iron out at least half the major issues we're encountering. A fair chunk (not all) of the gameplay annoyances can be mitigated with adjusting sliders but I feel like a lot of folk on the thread are either unaware of their existence or aren't utilizing them

Good God! just checked my sliders and found that the "No prior opportunity time" was set to 5! No wonder I always got pinged! Funny though, I have no memory of changing this slider at all.

Yes the AI being shit and kicking out on the full and kicking to 2 on 1 contests 20 meters out from goal trying to switch the play is because people aren't good at the game.

The majority of the complaints with the game have nothing to do with anything that could be interpreted as the players skill being the issue but the programming around the AI and the decisions it makes which kill the game completely.

Yes, there are aspects of the AI that are problematic, however if you know how to play the game as it currently is you should be aware not to call for the ball at certain times because these things WILL happen. They shouldn't, but they do currently, so it is broken in that regard.

With that being said, I never call for the ball until the AI teammate is directly facing me - because they will just kick the ball out on the full in the direction they're facing otherwise. I personally think that's quite funny myself - unless it's at a critical time in the game. So my comment about some people not knowing how to play the game properly still has some merit. Humans can adapt to a situation - knowing exactly when to call for the ball in this example. Software can't adapt. It's stuck where it is until it's patched/fixed. Having said that, if you cannot adapt and make proper decisions based on the information you're getting from the game then you don't know how to play the game properly. That's simple logic. Now it shouldn't be like this. We, as gamers, shouldn't have to adjust in this way, so it's clearly issues with the game itself. However, a patch or two should be able to fix these issues.

As for the AI kicking to 2 on 1 contests and kicking out short from goal in an effort to switch play, I ALSO see this on a weekly basis (when we have games) in the REAL AFL, so our real life footballers must be broken as well. The trouble with Evo 2 is not that this happens, but that it happens far too often.

Great clip. You couldn't do that in previous AFL games. This is why I think this (for all its many faults) is the best footy game I've played. And I've played most of them, and all of them from AFL Live onwards.

It actually looks like the Eagles playing!

Cannot wait for patches to start smoothing out the rough edges.

Given it seems you're across marking, are you able to give a breakdown to the perfect mark? I have been struggling with this part of the game massively. How do you approach it yourself?

I have been positioning myself in the middle of the circle, in front of my opponent, and yet I still find myself being outmarked? Any pointers?

Sounds like you're doing it right. Are you bracing once you get into position?

I also try to bump (if I do it too early I'll give away a free, so I guess that part of it is about timing).

In a pack situation I tend to spoil rather than try to mark.

I don't consider myself an expert, but I am finding it more intuitive than past games.

Really good clip. What are your camera settings? It looks like it is usable. I also noticed you are using the lock on player option by the looks of the radar. Are you using it in conjunction with the radar? I have the radar on but I don't think I have looked at it yet.

I use side camera mid, 35 zoom and 55 height.

I have experimented with kick assist being on or off, and this clip was with it on. My understanding is that with it on, it loosely selects a teammate in the direction you’re holding your L stick. Doesn’t guarantee anything, but puts it in their vicinity. I use that in conjunction with the R1/RB player lock when I’ve taken a mark and have time to flick through options. If I really have difficulty getting the kick assist to highlight who I want, then and only then do I use the R stick to get the right teammate circled, before locking them in with R1.

The R stick is too difficult to use reliably in open play, but I’ve found that in the kick mark game style that I’ve enjoyed using it’s easy enough and reasonably intuitive when you have some time to assess.

The first four of those kicks I reckon were with the player lock on, the rest were just feeling the right distance and some help from kick assist. Setup distance short, if that influences it at all, kick in setting regular or whatever it’s called (not huddle).

Switching is useful as **** and seemingly always available in you defensive 70 or so. The other useful thing is referring to the radar to check if a switch is on. With that clip there, I wasn’t desperate to set one up for the sake, but I went short, had nothing on, glanced at the radar and saw a circle by itself, so went the switch. That’s become my fallback option now if I don’t immediately have a teammate on, because kicking long down the line isn’t advantageous the way the game is currently playing.

Multiplat AFL Evolution 2