AFL Round 18 Coll v Suns Postmatch Discussion -Toasts - Roasts

And who would take his spot :confused:

I could think of a couple of people that would be good Captains: Scott Pendlebury and Luke Ball. Perhaps even Harry O'Brien. Nathan Brown, when he has recovered, could take his spot or maybe even Goldsack. Maxwell is in poor form lately and like somebody said above, only reason he's getting a game is because he is captain.

About the game: We did what we had to. As Frustrating as it was, at least we won. Should not have had that amount of points kicked against us but doesn't matter. I'm just glad we got through it without any major injuries except for maybe Dale Thomas but I'm sure he'll be back next week.

Extremely boring game to watch. Lets let the flogs beat up the final margin. I know deep down we were only in 2nd gear the whole night and still managed a 9 goal win.

Someone please tell Maxwell to play properly! Honestly he was the biggest spud tonight....

Maxwell was no worse then goldsack, Reid, or Harry. All were poor, all got lead to the ball, all made bad mistakes

Harsh to single out just the one

Difference is mate that Reid & Harry have ripped it up this year, Goldsack went well for a bloke that hasn't played a lot this year.

Maxwell has been rubbish in almost every single game this year!

Agree about JMac, he's had enough chances. GWS can have him.

I can't believe how easily they ran it off half back, and how much space we gave them.
I'm glad we got the win but that was by far our worst performance of the year.

Missing Wellingham more than I thought we would too.

Toast: Keefe, Leon, Steele, Pendles
Roast: JMac, Maxxy

Goldsack, played better then Maxwell and is better 1v1.

Sack kicked a goal, a torp and otherwise was as poor

And no, no isn't good as a one on one defender and his disposable even at his best is more sus then all our defenders. Thats why he's been mostly depth

Personally I'll take the win with a smile.
New ground, new side, (regardless of how crap they were 14 rounds ago), Macca coaching and we had it sown up after the 2nd.

Our mid-season slumps used to be far better.:rolleyes::)
Sheet...you'd reckon we have not done that once this season the way the board reads.

4 points and a week to polish up for the Dons.

Maxwell was appalling, Wood won the hit outs and was reasonable.

He was rucking against Fraser (who outbodied him ffs!) and zac smith, he should've won the hitouts. Both the suns were far more influential though

Surprised to hear you guys thinking we were slack...GC were really very competetive I thought, really took the game on.

Bit like when we played melbourne the two games last year...they had nothing to lose and just went for it.

Ablett was great all night.

I really liked Leon's game was sublime all night with only one misjudgement right near the end marring an otherwise perfect night.

BJ was a real brightspot, didn't quite see his injury, what happened?

Thomas corky is a concern for next week, it may take a week or two potentially...was puzzled why they put him back on...would have preferred ice and elevation at that point.

Pendles was really good, Ball fantastic as always, Swanny pretty good and Sidey had a good game.

Also leroy had one of his best games for the year and Wood also had his best game this year i think.

So I thought lots of positives. Gold Coast will be awsesome in a few years. Very good display by them tonight, i'm sure their fans will have very much enjoyed the game.

Difference is mate that Reid & Harry have ripped it up this year, Goldsack went well for a bloke that hasn't played a lot this year.

Maxwell has been rubbish in almost every single game this year!

I'm judging tonight

You can't single one out tonight, maxy has been scratchy all year and poor tonight, sack has played enough to not be led to the ball by q kid, same for chop

Honestly the only defenders that get a pass are taz and Davis

Sack kicked a goal, a torp and otherwise was as poor

And no, no isn't good as a one on one defender and his disposable even at his best is more sus then all our defenders. Thats why he's been mostly depth

Your right, he isn't as good he is better.

Goldsack disposal can hardly be any worse then Maxwell's, Goldsack is better at both those areas Maxwell is better reader of the play and directing our backline that is all.

On the type Maxwell has to play on (if he has anyone) Goldsack would easily do the job, not saying Goldsack is a star but he would fill the role and put pressure on for the spot which currently there is none.

Best: Ball, Sidebottom, Swan, Pendlebury, Leon, Johnson and Keefe (Looked a lot more switched on - showed a lot)

I don't think anyone had awful games - just majority of the team were below standard.

Credit where credit's due to Gold Coast - they have some ripper young kids.

Maxwell has copped a fair bit here, he wasn't woeful but definitely had some blunders.

We seemed to be in cruise control in the second half and were showed up by a team that wanted the ball a lot more then us.

Having said that, whatever we say, 4 points is 4 points and we still won comfortably and got out of the game reasonably unscathed.

One thing I will say is that we missed Wellingham's run and intensity.

Now lets move on and rub some salt into the wound of the Filth who have just been embarrassed by the Scum.

He was rucking against Fraser (who outbodied him ffs!) and zac smith, he should've won the hitouts. Both the suns were far more influential though

Wood had as much impact as both of them combined which was zero :p

:confused:

Barely saw Fraser apart from a few frees in the third and Smith was no impact whatsoever, only got a few touches late. Wood played his best game of the season, and was out rucking them both, and then was good around the contest. Sure he's not the best around the ground by 15 touches is respectable.

The most annoying part of tonight was Dwayne Russell....

Did anyone hear his comment, it went something like this...

"these two GREAT teams"...

Only Dunstel had the guts to say the we took the foot off the pedal. Russel was beating it up as a comeback by the Suns for the viewers....please...
i caught that line from russell too!

definitely a wtf moment

Agreed. They were close to climaxing whenever it looked like the Suns were going to kick a goal. When they kicked a goal in the third to bring it back to 54 points "this game is alive now"... Umm no it's not...

The way they spoke you'd have thought we were losing or something.

Your right, he isn't as good he is better.

Goldsack disposal can hardly be any worse then Maxwell's, Goldsack is better at both those areas Maxwell is better reader of the play and directing our backline that is all.

On the type Maxwell has to play on (if he has anyone) Goldsack would easily do the job, not saying Goldsack is a star but he would fill the role and put pressure on for the spot which currently there is none.

Oh yeah for sure, that goldsack of 60oddgames in and out of the side is clearly, superior to the premiership captain and all Australian nick Maxwell

Spare us, my brain hurts enough after listening go Dwayne Russell

AFL Round 18 Coll v Suns Postmatch Discussion -Toasts - Roasts