All Divisions General NFNL Discussion Thread

Have been doing some reading on the competitions that have 'thirds' and how it is working for them. It looks like it is in many cases and so is something that I am sure others will look at also. Previously I was staunchly against it due to our experience in the VAFA with SUPER clubs having more than one thirds and how that impacted other clubs. That said, after some reading it seems that it's something worth considering - maybe?

Friday Night Comp for Thirds
  • supports players who want/need to work Saturdays a little better
  • for players not keen on two nights a week training or better for Mon and Wed?

• Could it replace Saturday Reserves football?
  • Could it free up some room for Saturday women's football? (19's, Womens, Senior mens?)
  • Does kit keep more people playing at grass roots level?
  • Does it have a shorter playing season? 10 - 12 games?

It will of course come with issues around:
  • Ground availability/lighting
  • Volunteers
  • Umpires
  • Takes players from Reserves teams?

Have not done enough investigation, but in some comps this is thriving. Not sure.
Eastern footy league has comp that plays every Friday night! Dont know anyone out that way.
Also NFL has plenty of games on Fridays so would hard to get it up and going IMO!
You could join masters like Parade college have this year. Mappa are you having a run?

Have been doing some reading on the competitions that have 'thirds' and how it is working for them. It looks like it is in many cases and so is something that I am sure others will look at also. Previously I was staunchly against it due to our experience in the VAFA with SUPER clubs having more than one thirds and how that impacted other clubs. That said, after some reading it seems that it's something worth considering - maybe?

• Could it free up some room for Saturday women's football? (19's, Womens, Senior mens?)

• Volunteers
  • Umpires

Have not done enough investigation, but in some comps this is thriving. Not sure.
Love the idea mate.

I too was wary of the old super club possibility, but if it means giving players a game every week, then that's the tradeoff I guess. Remember the good old Clubbies days when the likes of Old Carey would sook it up to the Ammos hierarchy and say they were short on numbers and quality and they should be in the lower divisions of the Clubbies. Then prior to Round 1 they'd miraculously pick ex-A and B grade players out of their a**e, and roll a returning senior player through there returning from injury and smash teams by 15 goals each week.

I'd dial it back to 16 a side, with 20 minutes flat. Sounds like a non-issue, but that reduces the need for a timekeeper to sit there and press time-on. Just set a phone, go for 20 minutes and blow the siren.

Last possession rule all over the ground. Only change is that inside 50, you can't directly score a goal. It has to be an indirect goal. Easy to adjudicate.

It will require extra manpower, but this is where the culture of the club comes to the fore. If the players want thirds, then they can band together to find a water carrier and other helpers. No one is making a team field a thirds, so it's on them.

The games might have to be played at different grounds to the 1s and 2s, but again, I reckon that's the trade off. If you haven't got Unders, then it's an easy schedule.

Maybe there will only be 6-8 teams in the first year. There will be some blowouts, which I was initially wary of, but in the end it's worth pursuing.

• Volunteers
  • Umpires

Can’t really see a massive demand for it atm. The majority of clubs come mid year are trying to find players not having 20-30 miss out.

maybe you’ll attract different players but it’ll only dilute an already struggling reserves comp.

Can’t really see a massive demand for it atm. The majority of clubs come mid year are trying to find players not having 20-30 miss out.

maybe you’ll attract different players but it’ll only dilute an already struggling reserves comp.
agree with all that. And, it's already hard work for volunteers, some who do Thurs/Fri/Sunday for their club - just adds more strain on rescources

It wouldn't be mandatory. If a club thinks they can handle it, then let them go for it. The EDFL has 25 teams in their Thirds, so there might be an appetite for it.

Only dilutes an already struggling reserves player and umpire pool for little advantage to the league.

We are down to 2 divisions of 19s from 3 last year so hardly booming numbers wise

Only dilutes an already struggling reserves player and umpire pool for little advantage to the league.

We are down to 2 divisions of 19s from 3 last year so hardly booming numbers wise
Agree that's the risk for sure
Or
Is this where the future of Reserves type players is going moving forward?
  • Less training?
  • Increased commitments/opportunities for work on Saturdays?
  • money for work Saturdays and not for reserves players more important with COL increases?

I wonder if we would get more 'reserves/thirds' players IF the comp existed OR would it dilute too much? Maybe both?
Is it because it's Friday or just less training?

Interesting chat though with some other comps looking like they are flourishing.

Agree that's the risk for sure
Or
Is this where the future of Reserves type players is going moving forward?
  • Less training?
  • Increased commitments/opportunities for work on Saturdays?
  • money for work Saturdays and not for reserves players more important with COL increases?

I wonder if we would get more 'reserves/thirds' players IF the comp existed OR would it dilute too much? Maybe both?
Is it because it's Friday or just less training?

Interesting chat though with some other comps looking like they are flourishing.
The comps that are flourishing are in or near growth corridors (generally)

Eastern has a number of clubs struggling big time numbers wise.

VAFA is shrinking by the year

NFNL seems stable

The comps that are flourishing are in or near growth corridors (generally)

Eastern has a number of clubs struggling big time numbers wise.

VAFA is shrinking by the year

NFNL seems stable
Reservoir was posting they needed 5 players to fill their thirds team on a recruitment group the other day. Biting off more than they can chew already.

• Volunteers
  • Umpires

It's a concept I like.

The southern league have a friday night open comp and a saturday open comp which effectively both are thirds.
10 teams this season in the friday comp and 9 in the saturday comp.

EDFL have about 25 teams spread across 3 divisions for their friday night comp which is mind boggling how much that has grown.

WRFL have 12 teams in the friday night thirds competition and it has supported clubs like Glenorden, North Sunshine and Manor Lakes who have been in recess or dropped out of D2.

To me I'm surprised the NFL has been so regressive when neighbouring leagues have embraced it and it's grown significantly. It's clear there is a strong appeal for a friday night comp amognst tradies who work on a saturday or dads who want family time on weekends.

As much as there is the argument it strains the numbers of the reserves.
You can't tell me the 500+ players who are running around on friday nights in the EDFL thirds would all filter back to saturday footy if thirds were canned. A vast majority of them would be lost to the game.

It's a concept I like.

The southern league have a friday night open comp and a saturday open comp which effectively both are thirds.
10 teams this season in the friday comp and 9 in the saturday comp.

EDFL have about 25 teams spread across 3 divisions for their friday night comp which is mind boggling how much that has grown.

WRFL have 12 teams in the friday night thirds competition and it has supported clubs like Glenorden, North Sunshine and Manor Lakes who have been in recess or dropped out of D2.

To me I'm surprised the NFL has been so regressive when neighbouring leagues have embraced it and it's grown significantly. It's clear there is a strong appeal for a friday night comp amognst tradies who work on a saturday or dads who want family time on weekends.

As much as there is the argument it strains the numbers of the reserves.
You can't tell me the 500+ players who are running around on friday nights in the EDFL thirds would all filter back to saturday footy if thirds were canned. A vast majority of them would be lost to the game.
I’d like to hear how it started and evolved.

Participation in the area isn’t that strong. Maybe you’d find a different crowd though?

My worry would be casual reserves players keeping some clubs afloat would choose to go and play at big clubs in the thirds.

Realistically unless you had 8 clubs screaming for it which I haven’t heard any club besides Reservoir then I don’t think it’s even on the radar.

Herald Sun article on NFNL U16s game abandoned at 3/4 time with officials coaches involved in melee. Why not name and shame these clubs! And or take points away from both teams. That will
Smarten them up.

Herald Sun article on NFNL U16s game abandoned at 3/4 time with officials coaches involved in melee. Why not name and shame these clubs! And or take points away from both teams. That will
Smarten them up.
The league should just saying to clubs who cause trouble "provide your own umpires"

That'll solve this behaviour instantly. At the moment there is zero recourse for clubs.

The league should just saying to clubs who cause trouble "provide your own umpires"

That'll solve this behaviour instantly. At the moment there is zero recourse for clubs.
No wonder you can no longer attract kids to umpiring!
If you did have clubs provide own Umpire’s, the abuse would increase due to them not being officials! Have they at least been fined

Yeah I know which game it was but plenty of people have no idea, because it isn’t published In mainstream media!
Wonder if NFL will publish results of investigation, and any penalties dished out

Hearing an umpire was assaulted by a Yarrambat parent. This is from another NFNL umpire. Apparently had a previous incident as well.

Just stunned police do not get involved and charges laid in cases like this if true.

You cannot fix these issues with emails and social media posts asking everyone to be nice. Action has to be taken.

Even WorkSafe should be involved, it is effectively a place of work for Umpires, if they are threatened or assaulted action has to happen not weak arse touchy feely Facebook posts.

Hearing an umpire was assaulted by a Yarrambat parent. This is from another NFNL umpire. Apparently had a previous incident as well.
A genuine disgrace. Yarrambat while have a lot going for them they have quite a history of parents acting out. Getting umpires for junior games has become near on impossible and you dont have to think too hard to figure out why.

Speaking to someone today they mentioned whittlesea also had a game called off at three quarter time against Mernda in the under 15s. Also a parent has been banned for the year.

Great work by the umpires not tolerating that garbage.

Speaking to someone today they mentioned whittlesea also had a game called off at three quarter time against Mernda in the under 15s. Also a parent has been banned for the year.

Great work by the umpires not tolerating that garbage.

Another email from NFNL telling people to be good or else coming....Taking a stand....well, that email will probably come after breakfast at the Uni Cafe at 10am.

Also fines for a volunteer not putting proper numbers against players online before the game. Disgrace that act.