Established1870

Port Adelaide
Baghdad Bombers
Alright, here goes, an academy thread. I've seen a lot of Eddie-said-it-so-it-must-be-true BS regarding academies, so let's use facts instead to say why academies are good because if anyone else keeps saying stupid crap about this I will lose it quicker than Barry Hall.

Academies are a good thing. Can people please understand that? That NSW Scholarship thing they had going before the Academies got barely any talent in whatsoever yet people actually want it back because they think it's "fair". The Academies however is a different story. They're bringing in a lot of talent from RL/Soccer heartland that would've been lost to those codes, playing for the Northern clubs so they don't need to rely on interstate players who piss off after 2 good seasons (In Aish's case, 1 good season). Northern clubs recruiting Northern state players through the academies means that Vic talent goes to Vic clubs instead, SA players go to SA clubs and WA players go to WA clubs (it doesn't work like that exactly but my point is it helps with player retention for all sides). It also helps with increasing the talent pool because eventually too many players will be coming through from QLD/ACT/NSW for GWS, GC, Brisbane or Sydney to take, meaning they're fair dinkum for any other club in the draft. Guess what? That's a good thing!

The academies are like the expansion sides, minimal impact short-term but huge impact long-term. They're another area to growing our game to making sure that more players get into footy over rugby or soccer. It's obvious none of you have been to Sydney, Brisbane or Gold Coast because if you did, you'd know that before academies we were fighting a losing war over there in that regard.

And want to know why academies won't work if it's an "AFL" Academy over a club academy? Because a big attraction for these kids in the NE of Australia is being able to play for their city/state rather than a bloody league they wouldn't of had a clue about before getting into the academy.

Academies are working in bringing through talent from places talent wouldn't usually come from, they're a good tool in growing our game and the clubs in RL/Soccer heartland long-term, they help with player retention for all sides and not just 4 (as explained above), it grows the talent pool long term (another supposed problem even though that's fair BS) and overall it gives our code more exposure all over the country.

Overall, academies = a good thing and Eddie McGuire's opinions on them =irrelevant and nonsensical.

I don't think Eddie meant what he has said about the academies, I heard he was on painkillers at the time he said them.
LOL! If Eddie didn't control the strings to that puppet/muppet Dil McLaughlin he would be so irrelevant. Problem is that Eddie and the Hawthorn mafia control the AFL, it's why so much is loaded against interstate and minor Melbourne clubs, unless you are the AFL's lovechild GWS!

I like to think that I'm a fair minded person, I know Swans got a bargain with Heeney and Mills but they look to be outliers and both would not be playing AFL if not for the Swans academy. Swans have done an outstanding job working with a zone that is not in the slightest way AFL aware. Doesn't appear to be any more of that class in the foreseeable future for the Swans.

Brisbane and Gold Coast need all the help they can get, Brisbane need a lot more and the AFL needs to do something for them NOW. Poaching of their young talent has to stop. Very happy for the Qld academies to continue untouched by new rules for the future until Qld AFL is of an acceptable sustainable standard.

GWS academy zone is looking like a rort. They have not got one player of any note from their huge zone except for the Riverina which was an area ripe for the picking. The NSW U16 squad has 16 GWS academy players, all from the Riverina. Given the start up largesse they received and are still receiving, they should now have the Riverina excluded from their zone and it should be taken over by the AFL for the general draft pool.

In fairness I don't think people have any problem at all with academies. Just the priority access the northern clubs have to the players that come out of them. Or more specifically the discount they get as well.

The Northern clubs pay for the academies. They should be entitled to priority access to players that >THEY< paid for and developed.

GWS academy zone is looking like a rort. They have not got one player of any note from their huge zone except for the Riverina which was an area ripe for the picking. The NSW U16 squad has 16 GWS academy players, all from the Riverina. Given the start up largesse they received and are still receiving, they should now have the Riverina excluded from their zone and it should be taken over by the AFL for the general draft pool.

1) People always say the Riverina is "ripe for the picking" but how much talent has actually come out in the last 15 years before the GWS got that place as a zone?
2) Didn't know Jack Steele came from the Riverina.
3) The NSW U16's and GWS aren't the same thing you know. They are 2 different bodies.
4) If the GWS Academy has 16 Riverina boys playing for the NSW state sides, that just blows up your argument because it shows they've been cultivating talent better than was there before (which was, nothing!).
5) You want the Riverina excluded from the GWS zone, who by the way have been doing wonders down there getting talent into the AFL, and have it revert back to the old system of 5 Riverina boys drafted every 15 years? Get a grip.

The Northern clubs pay for the academies. They should be entitled to priority access to players that >THEY< paid for and developed.
Then they should give all clubs the opportunity to pay for there own academy so everyone gets priority access to young players at a discounted rate.

Or alternatively, the afl could take control of the academies with all the financial burden.

Also, just because they pay for the academy, that doesn't explain why they get a discount during the draft.

What if the other clubs chip in? Can they then get priority access on a user pays basis as well? If they start their own academies and have priority access to those then I assume then this would be OK also?

I reckon whatever club is struggling should get priority access to the Riverina academy that year. Guaranteed guns, better than a PP!

It's a trade-off between growth and equity.

A marginal reduction in growth could deliver a large increase in equity.

Simply replace most of the discounts with cash grants to Academy clubs to ensure investment continues. They get their priority access, the game and talent pool continues to grow and the remaining 14 clubs don't have the discounts reducing their chances of winning a flag.

If the academy clubs are paying for it, then it should be included in their football department spending cap.
Good to see Hawthorn is paying for these academies but not getting any access to the product

LOL! If Eddie didn't control the strings to that puppet/muppet Dil McLaughlin he would be so irrelevant. Problem is that Eddie and the Hawthorn mafia control the AFL, it's why so much is loaded against interstate and minor Melbourne clubs, unless you are the AFL's lovechild GWS!

I like to think that I'm a fair minded person, I know Swans got a bargain with Heeney and Mills but they look to be outliers and both would not be playing AFL if not for the Swans academy. Swans have done an outstanding job working with a zone that is not in the slightest way AFL aware. Doesn't appear to be any more of that class in the foreseeable future for the Swans.

Brisbane and Gold Coast need all the help they can get, Brisbane need a lot more and the AFL needs to do something for them NOW. Poaching of their young talent has to stop. Very happy for the Qld academies to continue untouched by new rules for the future until Qld AFL is of an acceptable sustainable standard.

I think GWS got 2 players from Canberra - and another 1 or 2 got drafted by other clubs yet those players had been through the GWS academy, Cambrrra is not in the Riverina

Alright, here goes, an academy thread. I've seen a lot of Eddie-said-it-so-it-must-be-true BS regarding academies, so let's use facts instead to say why academies are good because if anyone else keeps saying stupid crap about this I will lose it quicker than Barry Hall.

Academies are a good thing. Can people please understand that? That NSW Scholarship thing they had going before the Academies got barely any talent in whatsoever yet people actually want it back because they think it's "fair". The Academies however is a different story. They're bringing in a lot of talent from RL/Soccer heartland that would've been lost to those codes, playing for the Northern clubs so they don't need to rely on interstate players who piss off after 2 good seasons (In Aish's case, 1 good season). Northern clubs recruiting Northern state players through the academies means that Vic talent goes to Vic clubs instead, SA players go to SA clubs and WA players go to WA clubs (it doesn't work like that exactly but my point is it helps with player retention for all sides). It also helps with increasing the talent pool because eventually too many players will be coming through from QLD/ACT/NSW for GWS, GC, Brisbane or Sydney to take, meaning they're fair dinkum for any other club in the draft. Guess what? That's a good thing!

The academies are like the expansion sides, minimal impact short-term but huge impact long-term. They're another area to growing our game to making sure that more players get into footy over rugby or soccer. It's obvious none of you have been to Sydney, Brisbane or Gold Coast because if you did, you'd know that before academies we were fighting a losing war over there in that regard.

And want to know why academies won't work if it's an "AFL" Academy over a club academy? Because a big attraction for these kids in the NE of Australia is being able to play for their city/state rather than a bloody league they wouldn't of had a clue about before getting into the academy.

Academies are working in bringing through talent from places talent wouldn't usually come from, they're a good tool in growing our game and the clubs in RL/Soccer heartland long-term, they help with player retention for all sides and not just 4 (as explained above), it grows the talent pool long term (another supposed problem even though that's fair BS) and overall it gives our code more exposure all over the country.

Overall, academies = a good thing and Eddie McGuire's opinions on them =irrelevant and nonsensical.

Just Eddies opinions, or all the other clubs that have opinions also?

I think academies are a good idea. The entire issue with the concept is getting discounts and access to first round picks. I think discounts should be removed for first round picks or at least top 5 or top 10 picks anyway. If they fixed this up there would be much less complaints. I would be OK with them doing the same for father son if required too.

The point system is really not too bad and is pretty close to the mark in terms of fairness if not for the issues with discounts for the top rated prospects that other clubs don't even have access to. I can live with the access part but not the discounts on top.

What if the other clubs chip in? Can they then get priority access on a user pays basis as well? If they start their own academies and have priority access to those then I assume then this would be OK also?

id have no problem with it. hawthorn can put an academy in far north queensland or broome or alice springs or in siberia if they really want. if theyre paying for it im happy if they get priority access and the draft discount. why not allow all clubs to have one in non traditional or regional areas, can only help grow the game.

Just Eddies opinions, or all the other clubs that have opinions also?

From what I have noticed, most clubs follow Eddie on the opinion of academies, so those idiots lose their right to have opinions as well.

Also, because this needs repeating:

That NSW Scholarship thing they had going before the Academies got barely any talent in whatsoever

id have no problem with it. hawthorn can put an academy in far north queensland or broome or alice springs or in siberia if they really want. if theyre paying for it im happy if they get priority access and the draft discount. why not allow all clubs to have one in non traditional or regional areas, can only help grow the game.

We should get academies in NT, Tassie and maybe New Zealand. After that we don't need any more, just for areas that aren't represented in the AFL with a team.

From what I have noticed, most clubs follow Eddie on the opinion of academies, so those idiots lose their right to have opinions as well.

Also, because this needs repeating:

That NSW Scholarship thing they had going before the Academies got barely any talent in whatsoever

So, you are saying that anyone with an opinion that matches Eddies, is not allowed to have an opinion?
Mate you are so full of it it's not funny.

2) Didn't know Jack Steele came from the Riverina.

He didn't - Jack is from Canberra. Canberra is not Riverina.

I thought it interesting that while watching the under 18 game between the Allies and Vic Country one of the commentators mentioned that of the 10 ex-academy kids to debut this year only 4 had done so with the club that ran the academy program they were in. Pointing out that the academies benefit the entire league and not just the clubs who run them.

Now I don't know the 6 players who are playing for other teams. I know Dougal Howard and Logan Austin from Port, because they came through our academy and someone else might be able to name the other 4.

Of course Harry Himmleberg who was from Wagga but moved to Canberra debuted on the weekend for us making it 5 from 11. But that's still less than half.

If the academy produces 6 or 7 draft worthy players in a single year, and we can only get enough to points (or only have the list space) to take 3 or 4 then pure mathematics tell you that somebody else is going to benefit.

And as for the Riverina being a heartland area that always produces top quality. This has been rubbished and proven so far from the truth in numerous previous academy threads in the past that I couldn't be bothered doing it again. Some champions, yes, absolutely, but for the 15 years prior to the academy - not so much.

But some numpties can't see the Forrest for the trees.

So, you are saying that anyone with an opinion that matches Eddies, is not allowed to have an opinion?

Anyone with an opinion on Academies that matches Eddies, is not allowed to have an opinion, because it's obvious they're not used to fact-checking what the f*** they say.

Mate you are so full of it it's not funny.

I know I wear it like a point of pride.

Anyone with an opinion on Academies that matches Eddies, is not allowed to have an opinion, because it's obvious they're not used to fact-checking what the f*** they say.

I know I wear it like a point of pride.
Right, so clubs have less of an idea than you do?

I think most recruiters check, so at least 7 recruiters have no idea?

He didn't - Jack is from Canberra. Canberra is not Riverina.

I thought it interesting that while watching the under 18 game between the Allies and Vic Country one of the commentators mentioned that of the 10 ex-academy kids to debut this year only 4 had done so with the club that ran the academy program they were in. Pointing out that the academies benefit the entire league and not just the clubs who run them.

Now I don't know the 6 players who are playing for other teams. I know Dougal Howard and Logan Austin from Port, because they came through our academy and someone else might be able to name the other 4.

Of course Harry Himmleberg who was from Wagga but moved to Canberra debuted on the weekend for us making it 5 from 11. But that's still less than half.

If the academy produces 6 or 7 draft worthy players in a single year, and we can only get enough to points (or only have the list space) to take 3 or 4 then pure mathematics tell you that somebody else is going to benefit.

And as for the Riverina being a heartland area that always produces top quality. This has been rubbished and proven so far from the truth in numerous previous academy threads in the past that I couldn't be bothered doing it again. Some champions, yes, absolutely, but for the 15 years prior to the academy - not so much.

But some numpties can't see the Forrest for the trees.

1) I know Jack is from Canberra, I was being slightly sarcastic to shut that other guy up when he said all GWS kids are from the Riverina. Same with HH.

2) People just aren't used to simple logistics when discussing academies. I keep telling people that academies will grow talent for all clubs, not just for you lot up North. It's in the first paragraph of my thread FFS yet we're still getting people going on about "unfairness".

3) I can't remember any decent Riverina product in this millennium before you lot got that area as a zone so I agree with everything you say about that place. You blokes are putting the work in cultivating talent up there (which wasn't happening pre-academies), you deserve first crack.