PrideOf

10k Posts
AFC
http://www.theadvertiser.news.com.au/footy/story_page/0,8747,19312241%255E25397,00.html

Looks like the hatred/rivalry/call-it-what-you-will between us and Port Power is Triggy's fault.

I remember the Rooch pumping up the rivalry when Port was flying. Good for football in the State. Port versus the SANFL. Us and them. Now they're back below us on the ladder and it's 'not healthy'. Make up your mind, Michelangelo.

And don't make out like it's all Adelaide's fault. Your article, by omission of any mention of Port Power's role in all of this, skews the facts. Again.

Article goes way overboard. But it is true. Most Crow supporters hate us. Most of us hate you.

I cant see that changing any time soon

Meh didn't finish reading that article as it was starting to sound like random dribble.

Anyway, I think 'we hate Port' is too strong an expression. I'd prefer to think that we enjoy laughing at Port Power rather than hate them.

Dogwatcher said:
The rest of us just hate you both! ;)

I don’t hate Port Adelaide Power, never have and never will but I do hate you Michelangelo Rucci. Not because of your constant sniping at the Adelaide Crows but because you’re simply a small nosed buffoon with a very large inferiority complex.

You are haunted by the AFC extremely large supporter base and its continual growth into a market you expected the PAFC to dominate from the get go and now that its been shown that Port Adelaide have an inability to grow its supporter base outside of it’s intended demographic you are cut.

You had this unbelievable amount of arrogance about you that your mighty Port Adelaide Football club was destined to dominate the AFL as soon as they go the second licence but you now know they will only ever be second best. And that second best in a small state like Adelaide.

If you cannot control a small passionate football market like Adelaide how can you possibly dominate the world?

Port Adelaide supporters >>>>Daylight >>>>>>>Michelangelo Rucci :mad:

Pity as apposed to hate. :thumbsu:

Leaping Lindner said:
Every day is a slow news day at The Advertiser.

It’s a normal news day; some of the staff at the advertiser could be viewed as being slow

Oh credibility, where art thou?

You have none Rucci. This absolute crap article is just another example of how poor you are as a journalist.

You have made by far the most significant encouragement of the ill feeling between the two supporter bases than any other entity anywhere over the short history of the rivalry, and now you are pointing the finger? Get off the grass!! Your more responsible than anyone.

:thumbsd: :thumbsd:

crows98 said:
You are haunted by the AFC extremely large supporter base and its continual growth into a market you expected the PAFC to dominate from the get go and now that its been shown that Port Adelaide have an inability to grow its supporter base outside of it’s intended demographic you are cut.

You had this unbelievable amount of arrogance about you that your mighty Port Adelaide Football club was destined to dominate the AFL as soon as they go the second licence but you now know they will only ever be second best. And that second best in a small state like Adelaide.

If you cannot control a small passionate football market like Adelaide how can you possibly dominate the world?

As a very wise man once said: Nail. Hammer. Head.

Actually, I heard some of the 5AA session in question, and I think there is a legitimate point to be made. Unfortunately Rucci screwed it up in the way he presented it.

In particular, the reference to Steven Trigg - I don't have the actual quote from last year in front of me, but IIRC it was not made in the way Rucci says. I expect the club will put out the facts (as they so often have to do when misrepresented in The Advertiser).

I also don't think G Cornes was personally responsible for the "ferals" tag.

As for the topic in general - as I said, it is legitimate to discuss whether "hatred" between fans is going too far and it's a pity Rucci presented the subject so poorly. I don't think it's as bad as Rucci makes out but it is a worthwhile discussion point.

Mr Rucci needs to take a step back and understand that he is the reason for the majority of "hatred" towards the Paps - his attempts at bring the Power into the spot light have obvoiusly backfired (if you guy by his :D:D:D:Dty article)

so Mr Rucci -who cares what you think ? we have told many times before - Crows fans don;t care for your opinion :thumbsd:

arrowman said:
Actually, I heard some of the 5AA session in question, and I think there is a legitimate point to be made. Unfortunately Rucci screwed it up in the way he presented it.

In particular, the reference to Steven Trigg - I don't have the actual quote from last year in front of me, but IIRC it was not made in the way Rucci says. I expect the club will put out the facts (as they so often have to do when misrepresented in The Advertiser).

I also don't think G Cornes was personally responsible for the "ferals" tag.

As for the topic in general - as I said, it is legitimate to discuss whether "hatred" between fans is going too far and it's a pity Rucci presented the subject so poorly. I don't think it's as bad as Rucci makes out but it is a worthwhile discussion point.
Yeah, I heard the radio session too. It got quite nasty. And, you're right, Rucci didn't really portray what happened very accurately (surprise, surprise). It was basically one woman - "Michelle" - who obviously hadn't taken her medication that morning and got a bit carried away. Most of the other callers were just hitting back (or supporting) her initial comments.

I certainly don't hate Port - but I sure as hell don't like them, either.

I agree Cornes wasn't responsible for the "feral" line, either.

I can remember opposition supporters calling Port fans feral 25 years ago - and I'm sure it was happening long before then, too.

Well as an oldie who has seen Port from the late '50s, and has put up with decades of crap from their followers, I must say that yes, I certainly hate Port and many of my mates do as well.
C'mon fellas ,fire up and hate the buggers.

Rooboy, personally I gave up "hating" anybody or thing quite a while ago (though Chris McDermott has been a bit of a test). It takes up too much energy.

Yes, 1/2 a dozen people who are so hard up for a life they ring Chris McDermott on a Sunday morning is an accurate reflection of about 900,000 football supporters.

Talk to some Port supporters & a lot will tell you they hate Williams & especialy McGuiness more than us (at the moment at least).

Macca19 said:
Article goes way overboard. But it is true. Most Crow supporters hate us. Most of us hate you.

I cant see that changing any time soon

I think overboard is an understatement. It borders on hysterical and rucci should be ashamed of himself for trying to whip up a frenzy based on his loose grip on reality. When was the last time anyone saw any violence at a Showdown, other than a couple of isolated scuffles? When was the last time a group of Crows supporters stormed the Alberton complex and smashed everything in their way, or vice versa for Port supporters.

The aim of his article is threefold:
1. Have another cheap shot at Trigg, due to his multiple corrections of rucci's factual errors and refusal to embrace rucci's credibility.

2. To whip up a non-existent sentiment and hopefully have it end in his prediction, simply so he can say I told you so. If it doesn't eventuate, then he can say 'I'm glad they listened to reason as I implored them to do'.

3. To drive a wedge further between the two clubs, in the hope that this will give him future ammo. for more hysterical articles.

The rivalry between the clubs is genuine, the hatred in other than a few very isolated cases, certainly is not. I work with Port supporters, socialise with Port supporters and do business with Port supporters and other than their choice of footy club, you wouldn't even know that they weren't human.:)

Michelangelo Rucci said:
...Crows supporters, who with the beauty of remaining anonymous, on www.bigfooty.com.au...
The reason people like "Michelle" feel they can talk trash on 5AA is that the enjoy "the beauty of remaining anonymous". But there's no mention of that.

Quick - what's the difference between BigFooty and 5AA? ;)

Hate is a very strong word ....:thumbsd:

Would I rather stick a fork in my eye than see another Port Power premiership ?
Do I feel nauseus each time I have to drive my daughter to her friend's place at Alberton?
Do I feel like kicking in the television each time I see Chocco or the Gimp on my screen?
Do I feel like swerving onto the footpath each time I pass a Centrelink?
Does the inane whining about premierships by another entity in another competition make the veins in my temples throb?

Sure....

but hate is a very strong word...:thumbsd:

arrowman said:
The reason people like "Michelle" feel they can talk trash on 5AA is that the enjoy "the beauty of remaining anonymous". But there's no mention of that.

Quick - what's the difference between BigFooty and 5AA? ;)

We know what we are talking about and KG and Cornes don’t :D

RogerRabbit69 said:
Rooboy, personally I gave up "hating" anybody or thing quite a while ago (though Chris McDermott has been a bit of a test). It takes up too much energy.

Fair call. Hate is a strong word. Certainly don't hate Port followers as such, mind you, a few I could be swayed to. As for Mcdermott, yep, could never stand the bloke.

But for people on here to say we don't hate Port, I reckon is off the boil. I think there are a lot of Adelaide supporters who indeed do hate Port with a passion.