Autopsy Autopsy vs Carlton - absolutely bashed the shit out of the Blues

We're on 18 points but we've been so close to grabbing a couple more and being on 24+ points and being in that 10th-12th range on the ladder.

Our performance is definitely on the improve. You can a path to the top 8 next year with more development from the youngsters.
I reckon if a few things went our way this season we would be on top on the ladder undefeated. 😵‍💫

Z Man, I get the ongoing passionate venting about our slow development and list issues, but you can't begrudge people coming here for some dose of positivity. World is a borked place enough as it is, and with the last 5 years of turd soup we've swallowed, don't think it's blowing the lid off to enjoy some stretches of solid footy after a game.

I think we've had enough false dawns to not get ahead of ourselves and think a rise up the ladder is guaranteed.

Not saying don't be critical of the club or performances, but take it easy on those trying to see the positive side of things.

I have an Arnie autograph from the days he ran the sports shop out at Broadmeadows. Such a friendly guy
He is. Humble and down to earth. Really nice guy to have a chat with.

Z Man, I get the ongoing passionate venting about our slow development and list issues, but you can't begrudge people coming here for some dose of positivity. World is a borked place enough as it is, and with the last 5 years of turd soup we've swallowed, don't think it's blowing the lid off to enjoy some stretches of solid footy after a game.

I think we've had enough false dawns to not get ahead of ourselves and think a rise up the ladder is guaranteed.

Not saying don't be critical of the club or performances, but take it easy on those trying to see the positive side of things.

Good post mate!

I’ve been very critical of the club/coaches but today was a lovely day out at the G.

Last quarter was clearly a result of players who’d had two pretty tough games away in Perth and busted their ass in Q1-3.

I thought our defensive matchups were solid & it’s not always panic stations down there now. LMac has stepped up MASSIVELY and Hardeman / FOS helped ease the footy from defence.

Well done Rooboys. Have an ice bath and get ready for the Hawks

Edit: if we are looking to complete our midfield, just throw dollars at Hewett. Carlton’s best mid this year by a country mile and would really elevate our own.

It was great to get the win, but I reckon we were helped with us being basically full strength (minus Archer) while they were missing
McKay
Walsh
Newman
Kemp
and Curnow under an injury cloud.
Can only beat who's on the park though, so a win's a win.

F**k off. Seriously. F**k off.
I hate north Melbourne supporters. F**k me.

I reckon we can take 'em
reckon we did.

Also, 82 f*cking points when we last played them this season. And we won by 11. When the f*ck have we turned it around in the same season by NINETY THREE POINTS against anyone in the last 5 years?

F*cken happy as Larry right now.

It was great to get the win, but I reckon we were helped with us being basically full strength (minus Archer) while they were missing
McKay
Walsh
Newman
Kemp
and Curnow under an injury cloud.
Can only beat who's on the park though, so a win's a win.
McKay has been anonymous all year.
Walsh has been massively down on form all year.
Newman has been injured all year.
Kemp? Hahaha
Curnow didn’t look injured to me. He was happy to leap nice and high in the air for a hanger so perhaps he had a shit game.

Stop trying to drag the win down. Bloody enjoy it!

Bullied them for two quarters. Don’t underestimate how big Jy has been with his hardness. Even last week when he didn’t have his best day, that last quarter he laid some big hits and that got us back in it.

It’s a shame that last quarter sucked some joy from the day, but before that we looked genuinely good.

So as far as I can tell that was the largest margin turnaround in the same season of all time (and would have been even bigger if we had gone n with it)

-82 pts + 11 pts = 93 pts turnaround
Nowhere near it - Adelaide had a 214-point turnaround v Geelong in 1992 (lost by 123 points in Round 2; won by 91 points in Round 17) and I don't even know if that's the biggest. Without confirming, I suspect there'd be hundreds of turnarounds better than our 93 against Carlton this year.

I went through North games only, and 93 points ends up being the 22nd-biggest successful turnaround (i.e., winning the rematch) in NMFC VFL/AFL history. If we'd broken even in the last quarter rather than giving up 35 points, that would've been a 128-point turnaround, which would've put it equal 3rd for us all time:
180 --- NM v Melbourne, 1990 --- R1 (L by 53, 89-142)/R14 (W by 127, 200-73)
133 --- NM v Carlton, 2003 --- R5 (L by 9, 113-122)/R22 (W by 124, 187-63)
128 --- NM v Hawthorn, 1984 --- R9 (L by 57, 86-143)/R19 (W by 71, 122-51)
127 --- NM v Fremantle, 2011 --- R4 (L by 29, 98-127)/R22 (W by 98, 143-45)
126 --- NM v South Melbourne, 1974 --- R1 (L by 20, 80-100)/R12 (W by 106, 185-79)
122 --- NM v Sydney, 1996 --- R11 (L by 79, 73-152)/GF (W by 43, 131-88)
121 --- NM v Fitzroy, 1979 --- R8 (L by 54, 94-148)/R19 (W by 67, 121-54)
124 --- NM v Richmond, 1965 --- R7 (L by 94, 48-142)/R18 (W by 30, 78-48)
121 --- NM v Fremantle, 1998 --- R5 (L by 17, 87-104)/R20 (W by 104, 151-47)
115 --- NM v Fremantle, 2010 --- R10 (L by 61, 78-139)/R19 (W by 54, 123-69)
114 --- NM v Geelong, 1982 --- R9 (L by 46, 63-109)/R19 (W by 68, 150-82)
110 --- NM v Collingwood, 1974 --- R10 (L by 19, 63-82)/R21 (W by 91, 165-74)
110 --- NM v West Coast, 1995 --- R3 (L by 48, 43-91)/R18 (W by 62, 106-44)
108 --- NM v Melbourne, 1976 --- R1 (L by 23, 64-87)/R12 (W by 85, 146-61)
108 --- NM v St Kilda, 1990 --- R8 (L by 16, 78-94)/R21 (W by 92, 179-87)
107 --- NM v Fitzroy, 1987 --- R3 (L by 74, 55-129)/R16 (W by 33, 156-123)
105 --- NM v Hawthorn, 1977 --- QF (L by 38, 87-125)/PF (W by 67, 112-45)
104 --- NM v West Coast, 2000 --- R1 (L by 43, 111-154)/R16 (W by 61, 113-52)
102 --- NM v Port Adelaide, 2019 --- R6 (L by 16, 72-88)/R22 (W by 86, 144-58)
99 --- NM v Geelong, 2006 --- R2 (L by 69, 69-138)/R17 (W by 30, 90-60)
95 --- NM v Carlton, 1985 --- R14 (L by 76, 75-151)/EF (W by 19, 126-107)
93 --- NM v Carlton, 2025 --- R6 (L by 82, 71-153)/R15 (W by 11, 84-73)
90 --- NM v Melbourne, 1998 --- R2 (L by 25, 100-125)/R17 (W by 65, 152-87)
86 --- NM v Carlton, 1949 --- R8 (L by 30, 67-97)/R19 (W by 56, 108-52)
85 --- NM v West Coast, 1987 --- R6 (L by 74, 88-162)/R19 (W by 11, 120-109)
84 --- NM v Fremantle, 2015 --- R8 (L by 73, 42-115)/R21 (W by 11, 94-83)
83 --- NM v Brisbane, 1997 --- R4 (L by 26, 83-109)/R19 (W by 57, 116-59)
83 --- NM v South Melbourne, 1963 --- R5 (L by 38, 75-113)/R16 (W by 45, 84-39)
83 --- NM v Hawthorn, 2002 --- R6 (L by 68, 87-155)/R21 (W by 15, 119-104)
81 --- NM v Fitzroy, 1953 --- R4 (L by 11, 75-86)/R15 (W by 70, 121-51)
81 --- NM v Richmond, 1938 --- R1 (L by 77, 63-140)/R12 (W by 4, 87-83)
79 --- NM v Hawthorn, 1940 --- R1 (L by 72, 89-161)/R12 (W by 7, 77-70)
78 --- NM v Gold Coast, 2023 --- R6 (L by 43, 54-97)/R24 (W by 35, 132-97)
76 --- NM v Collingwood, 1983 --- R6 (L by 22, 108-130)/R17 (W by 54, 152-98)
75 --- NM v Carlton, 1965 --- R4 (L by 63, 44-107)/R15 (W by 12, 44-32)
75 --- NM v Collingwood, 1985 --- R1 (L by 38, 103-141)/R12 (W by 37, 101-64)
75 --- NM v Fitzroy, 1962 --- R4 (L by 65, 56-121)/R15 (W by 10, 60-50)
75 --- NM v Hawthorn, 1939 --- R2 (L by 38, 77-115)/R13 (W by 37, 119-82)
75 --- NM v West Coast, 1991 --- R4 (L by 72, 55-127)/R19 (W by 3, 85-82)
75 --- NM v Footscray, 1986 --- R7 (L by 18, 77-95)/R19 (W by 57, 140-83)

Where it does come close to breaking a record is, 82 points is the second-largest losing margin that North have ever managed to turn into a win in the rematch later that year (behind only the 94 points we lost to Richmond by in R7 1965 before beating them by 30 points in R18).

Good stuff either way, especially when wins have been so rare for us for years now, and nice to so decisively prove how far we've come since Good Friday - but no, not an especially unprecedented set of numbers.

Not often I say this but that was the funnest day I have had at the footy in a long long time.

Big crowd, heavily outnumbered and not being a replacement game it was almost like we were playing interstate.

Most of the North supporters around me were very reserved but the players never really let Carltons crowd become a factor.

But **** their supporter base would have to be one of the more entitled bunch of smartasses in the comp and its based off absolutely nothing.
It was almost as if it was meant to be an easy day at the footy for them and how dare we bring a contest. How dare we play well and get the 4 points.
Lek **** off. Seriously.

I hate * and love to knock off the Pies, but something about this mob makes me turn into a malicious campaigner and I love all the ****ing misery that is headed their way. All of it. Eat a bag of dicks you shitcampaigners

The feeling up to 3 quarter time is the feeling I reckon most felt in the 90's when we'd towel up teams for fun. Am I right Twinkletoes

Autopsy Autopsy vs Carlton - absolutely bashed the shit out of the Blues