conodie05

Blackburn Rovers
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...harged-with-rape/story-e6frf9jf-1225830569433

The Herald Sun understands he was charged today after a two-month investigation by detectives from South Melbourne CIU.
Police would not confirm Lovett had been charged but said: “A 27-year-old Port Melbouirne man has been charged with one count of rape.”
The dynamic speedster, who was traded by Essendon to the Saints during the off-season is accused of raping a woman at a Port Melbourne apartment in December after drinking with a teammate at the Royal Saxon Hotel in Richmond.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/st-kilda-recruit-andrew-lovett-charged-with-rape/story-e6frf9jf-1225830569433

Goodbye AFL career.

What do the club do now?

Is a charge enough for them to wipe their hands of him, or should they await the outcome?

How long does it normally take for this kind of case to reach a resolution?

What do the club do now?

Is a charge enough for them to wipe their hands of him, or should they await the outcome?

He will face Melbourne Magistrates' Court on Friday.

Guess we'll know after Friday.

His status with the club probably won't change other than him not getting paid.

What do the club do now?

you would hope not. what happened to innocent till proven guilty....

What do the club do now?

It's interesting.

How does contract law compare to civil/criminal law?

By playing himself in the situation to be charged, could it be argued that he's brought the Club/Game into disrepute?

What do the club do now?

I can't see it being over before the end of the season.

What do the club do now?

ignoring the fact that he has been ousted already from the club - the normal protocol (not just in footy) would be to be stood down from duties on full pay pending the outcome of the case.

What do the club do now?

- I understand the saints are making a statement this arvo.
- i suspect that they are receiving legal advice probably right now.
- rape cases can drag on for a long time.

His status with the club probably won't change other than him not getting paid.

I don't see how anything has changes in terms of receiving a salary.

he was presumed innocent last week - and he remains presumed innocent today.

in terms of the legalities of his contract - unless new information has been leaked to st kilda about the night's activities - i don't see what grounds the saints have to change their strategy with him.

And he goes about charging the club with his petty grievance claim about being suspended... innocent until proven guilty yes but if things are going pear shaped you'd think you wouldn't bite the hand that feeds you.

I reckon St Kilda have handled it as well as they could have.

They decided to look after the entire playing group and can't fault them for it.

Will the teammate whose place it was at have to give evidence?

you'd imagine so - however i doubt it would relate to the incident itself - more the precursor - as in how much had they drunk that night, had he seen any amorous activity between the two, when did X go to bed?

etc etc

And he goes about charging the club with his petty grievance claim about being suspended... innocent until proven guilty yes but if things are going pear shaped you'd think you wouldn't bite the hand that feeds you.

and if a guilty verdict is returned, what then? does he have to hand back the money paid from December on? could get messy for him, interesting to see what his contract state's.....

you'd imagine so - however i doubt it would relate to the incident itself - more the precursor - as in how much had they drunk that night, had he seen any amorous activity between the two, when did X go to bed?

etc etc

Have you ever stopped to think why St Kilda were so decisive in their actions? To me it would suggest they have a very reliable source as to what happened that night, do the math.

Yup, much to the chagrin of others on this forum no doubt.

Will be interesting to see what AFLPA has to say about this now given their bleating about Lovett not being treated correctly.

there are many possible reasons - one may be that Gram accepts the word of his friend over lovett.

if gram is aware of any direct knowledge of the incident - then of course he'll give evidence on it.

however by what has come out - it sounds like he was "busy" himself.

I don't know the details but you'd think until proven guilty nothing would have changed from the St.Kilda point of view.

It's been a long investigation, so you would think the Police have their facts pretty clear.

You'd think that his contract would have some sort of behavioural clause that would get the Saints out of it...especially considering his shady past. I'd say a criminal conviction would be one of the exclusions clauses in his contract.

The hope here is that the Lovett case is not decided by a legal technicality like so many others have been recently. Let's hope they either find him guilty or innocent....not a situation where the case is dropped due to a technicality.

That would leave the Saints in a real predicament. You have a man who is guilty as sin...yet is innocent in the eyes of the law. That would make it impossible to play him...but also very very tough to sack him as he technically has not done anything wrong in the eyes of the law.

But you'd think that the Saints will continue on the path they have taken. Just because formal charges have been laid does not change much. Until proven guilty in court, the Saints will leave him suspended. There are legal implications here so they have to remain distant.

there are many possible reasons - one may be that Gram accepts the word of his friend over lovett.

if gram is aware of any direct knowledge of the incident - then of course he'll give evidence on it.

however by what has come out - it sounds like he was "busy" himself.

You do realise that there were 3 St Kilda players present?