News Brian ****ing Cook?

• Thread starter Thread starter RoyalBlue

Can we all just accept that it was a bold move, one that the Board should be congratulated for and one that was certainly a move to galvanise the place. The talk of $1,000,000 being too much given our finances etc is moot. Clearly Peter Scanlon was prepared to fund it, so the bottom line would not have been affected. This would have been a massive coup, from someone with a track record and a desire for success.

It fell over because of the good people that serve Geelong like the Costa's, the Selwood's, the Balme's and the deep relationships he has there, so we move on and find the next best fit. Vale is not the long term answer you'd assume, but appears to be doing a stand up job so why would we commit early to something that won't be lasting. This is a position we want filled for the next 10 years, not getting Cook or Buckley is not a failure, merely a sign that we are going to find a jet and that there is support beyond the face of the footy club (ie the Scanlons) that can make some outstanding things happen and hopefully heal a fractured support base.

I actually have far more comfort in some of the things the club has done eg appointment of Steve Suanders, the attempt to get Buckley or Cook, than the sooky crap it was going on with in Tasmania earlier in the year.

We are aiming for the best, and that is the way it should be.

Nah, no thanks.

We have already been "pussified" enough

We need to add a more aggressive dynamic.

What we need has so far been unattainable.

Can we all just accept that it was a bold move, one that the Board should be congratulated for and one that was certainly a move to galvanise the place. The talk of $1,000,000 being too much given our finances etc is moot. Clearly Peter Scanlon was prepared to fund it, so the bottom line would not have been affected. This would have been a massive coup, from someone with a track record and a desire for success.

It fell over because of the good people that serve Geelong like the Costa's, the Selwood's, the Balme's and the deep relationships he has there, so we move on and find the next best fit. Vale is not the long term answer you'd assume, but appears to be doing a stand up job so why would we commit early to something that won't be lasting. This is a position we want filled for the next 10 years, not getting Cook or Buckley is not a failure, merely a sign that we are going to find a jet and that there is support beyond the face of the footy club (ie the Scanlons) that can make some outstanding things happen and hopefully heal a fractured support base.

I actually have far more comfort in some of the things the club has done eg appointment of Steve Suanders, the attempt to get Buckley or Cook, than the sooky crap it was going on with in Tasmania earlier in the year.

We are aiming for the best, and that is the way it should be.

Well summed up Midas.

It's great to see the club ambitious. No from Cook? No worries, we move on.

OK, Cook's staying. Who's the next best qualified CEO that currently has a job? If we could afford Cook, we can afford this person (man or woman). Away we go.

Cam Vale might be a good bloke, doing a good job. But is he next best?

OK, Cook's staying. Who's the next best qualified CEO that currently has a job? If we could afford Cook, we can afford this person (man or woman). Away we go.

Cam Vale might be a good bloke, doing a good job. But is he next best?
So far Cam is about 10th choice so not likely to want the job anymore.

Just on the $1m claim, it may be right that this is paid by the AFL (indirectly).

I forget the name of it, but after the last media deal the AFL launched an equalization fund (outside the normal annual competitive balance payments). This was open to all clubs, who had to apply for funds for specific goals. Off memory, rfc had a good response to our app, getting dollars for debt reduction and additional footy ops staff.

Given your situation is similar to ours, reckon the AFL would have allocated a big chunk of yours to off field staff too. When Eug left, makes sense the AFL would support using this money to gt a gun CEO.

As said, no personal knowledge on your application, but makes sense to me based upon how we approached the fund at rfc.

Lots of your supporters on this board were doing this all week on our board, don't condone it but can understand why it's happening here.

it is the job of your forum moderator to determine what is reasonable and what isn't and have them deal with posters on a case by case basis. It is not up to offended supporters to fly the flag on opposition club forums.

I applaud the board for going after Cook, but I really wish it had been done quietly.

I hope there is a very good Plan B (or C is Cook was B after Buckley) and that it's done quietly and when the announcement is made everyone is truly chuffed by the choice.

How about we take the same approach that Scott has taken with the playing group and appoint someone who "wants" to be at North?

Our last CEO wanted to be at North.

Told ya. This was never ever going to happen. The reality is Cook didn't even have the slightest interest in joining us no matter what the pay. He was never interested at all, it was all media speculation bullshit. I'm starting to get worried now, we keep getting easily rejected by anyone with good credentials. We just can't land a big name.

I applaud the board for going after Cook, but I really wish it had been done quietly.

I hope there is a very good Plan B (or C is Cook was B after Buckley) and that it's done quietly and when the announcement is made everyone is truly chuffed by the choice.

D is next.

D-onal-d Mc-D-onal-d come on down. It's time to swap the tracksuit and whistle for a pinstripe suit and $100 shirt.

I'd like to see NM be the first AFL club to have a female CEO. We had a reputation for being progressive, so let's try something different.

As Neil Diamond sang, sweet Caroline do,do dooo...... although technically probably isn't a woman.

Let's go back to Plan A (Arocca)

I wish Dan!

I imagine Eugene is pretty happy though with his new role as head of CAMS.

Hopefully he'll be running for the board at some stage, he'll have my vote!

VIA Fox Sports News, North Melbourne has told Acting Chief Executive Cam Vale he won't be getting the top job.

I can only presume Cam initiated the talks, given all he's seen going on around him of late. Fair enough too.

so cam would be within his rights to be seeking greener pastures as of now ?

I wondered the same thing. He has probably been told ''not yet'' rather than ''are you serious?''.

If he thinks he's ready he might look for greener pastures. Or he might just bide his time. He's doing a good job which is good experience.

Is there anyone at AFL House that we could poach? Probably not - they're a quality lot in there:p .