Brisbane needs help: 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkers

Guess we will front load a lot of contracts and make a play for a big fish.

The other benefit of a rebuilding team paying the full cap is that you can trade out senior players to other clubs and pay part of their salary at their new club in exchange for a better trade. Just have to think creatively.
just posted similar on our board:thumbsu: i thought about it after my hasty post on this thread.

Wouldn't it be better for clubs with younger lists to be able to pay say 80 or 70% of the cap so there is room to be able to land bigger fish at the right time and also allow the younger players to earn more and stay at the same club when then they develop.

But why are the Queensland teams injuries so excessive. We (Brisbane) have had a better run this year up until the last couple of weeks but there has been points over the last two seasons where both sides have had 17 - 19 players unavailable for selection.

I have tried to bring this up before (started a thread) but generally get dismissed as a biased Brisbane fan or shouted down because I have forgoten that club X had to deal with injuries also.

It has to be more than bad luck. I aknowledge there is a bit of a reluctance to ask players to play through injuries when a side is out of finals contention and this may inflate the injury toll occasionally. Others have mentioned as both sides are quite young there can be a flow on affect as the players struggle to carry the extra workload.

But I also wonder if there could be other factors at play. Harder grounds up here in Queensland have been mentioned before and I dont think its a coincidence that the two clubs with the worst training/ medical facilities are also the two clubs with the worst injury tolls in recent years.

Hopefully as our list ages and we finally get a decent facility our injury list will return to a more acceptable level. Also hope Gold Coast can get a midfield on the park next year, as I think they have the talent to play finals.
Young lists, not great fitness staff and potentially poor training and recovery discipline would all be more likely than hard grounds. Neither surface is particularly hard. Also a bit of autocorrelation occurring in that both teams are poor and that usually correlates with injuries.

THE LIONS and Suns will no longer be the AFL’s poor cousins with head office to inject an extra $2.5m for them to match the rest of the competition on football department spending.

The AFL has promised Brisbane its heaviest hitters will join the club in negotiations with the State Government and Brisbane City Council for the extra funding required to lock away their new base at the airport.

The AFL plans to give both the Lions and Suns the capacity to spend 100 per cent of the salary cap and the soft cap on football department spending.

Brisbane were $1.2m and the Suns $1.3m under the $9.3m football department soft-cap this season. The Lions also did not pay the entire salary cap.

The salary cap currently stands at $10.37m but will increase significantly next season in the first year of the new $2.5b broadcast deal.
I wouldn't hold out much hope of getting big money from the Qld state government or Brisbane city council, with the Lions and Suns crowds in decline.
What might be a better idea is for the AFL to reduce his admin staff at AFL house and use that money and the TV money to give the Lions and the Suns a huge leg up.

Exactly.
What did everyone expect Gillion to say? "Na mate. Qld footy is f-cked"
Im sure behind closed doors they are worried.

Given the Lions reserves got slaughtered to the tune of 22 goals today by the Swans reserves, I'd say you're right.

meme.jpg

Said all along I have no problem with them getting help but have a problem if they continually go back to the well. I'm worried that for them to be relevant up there they need constant success and am fearful that anything is just a temporary fix.

I'm going into "bleeding obvious" territory here but they've been absolutely piss on the field and even worse off of it for awhile now. An aggregate losing margin of 233 points in the past 2 weeks, crowds are shrinking to Port-in-2011 territory, the coach looks like a deer in headlights and students on Centrelink seem to have more money than they do.

Why the hell would you want to coach the Lions?

I dunno about Gill but someone should spare a thought for their supporters.

They don't care ...the afl are in Melbourne

They don't give a rats arse about the lions at all

Its wrong but it's reality

Hmm, the club the AFL depend on most to crack into the 3rd biggest sports market in Australia being complete Fitzroy 96 is a nonissue for them hmm.