Brisbane needs help: 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Hawkers

Oh ok, so it is ok for Carlton fans to turn up to thrashings in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2014, 2015 and 2016 but not for Brisbane fans to turn up to thrashings in 2014, 2015 and 2016 because their poor souls can't stand it.
Last year Hawthorn beat Carlton 173 to 35...but that is ok as it wasn't Brisbane that suffered that loss.

Oh ok. I get it. One rule for a club in an "expansion" state, and another for other clubs.

Short memory....good song, you should listen to it sometime.

Brisbane (Bears) fans turned up to thrashings in 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, half of 95...did ok in 96, 97, shit again in 98, did ok from 99-2005, on the slide in 2006-2007 and back to rubbish from about 2008-9 onwards.

Fitzroy fans turning up to thrashings in 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94 and in 95 saw their footy club eaten.

So - aside from a few good years, the MAJORITY of the last 30 years for BOTH clubs has been utter rubbish.

Irrespective of the expansion debate, I think the club could use a little help. You don't. We disagree.

EZ-PZ lemon squeezy.

Present your evidence to the contrary in that case.
Other posters have suggested the GH5 left Brisbane as a result of a toxic culture. In response, you've assembled a handful of meaningless quotes from puff piece articles in the Herald Sun, a newspaper you've had absolutely no problems criticising in the past.

You're the one that needs to provide evidence. All I see is bullshit.

What was stopping them? Maverick Weller did it...
Common sense, mostly.

There was nothing to stop them dissing the place and Voss.
There was nothing to gain, either. Plenty to lose though.

Roylion said:
All five players went back to their home state - three (Polec, Docherty and Karnezis) to the clubs they supported as kids.
I'm heartened to hear this, what a wonderful coincidence.

Other posters have suggested the GH5 left Brisbane as a result of a toxic culture. In response, you've assembled a handful of meaningless quotes from puff piece articles in the Herald Sun, a newspaper you've had absolutely no problems criticising in the past.

You said: Do you really think any player is going front up to the media and say "Yeah, what a ******* rabble that place was... I couldn't wait to get out!"

Two words: Maverick Weller. What was stopping the Lions Go Home 5 from doing the same if that was the reason they left?

$44.4 million revenue to the Crows in 2015. $51 million revenue for the Lions in 2015.

65,000 Adelaide members in 2015 - with one of two clubs in a football state. Brisbane is one of two clubs in a non-football state with 25,408 members in 2015.
Revenue can be misleading as it doesn't actually state what it is for and what your expenses are. This includes social club activities and turnover for bar activities so the turnover figure is inflated by that and not actually representative compared to the Crows figure.

Lions also have the single worst ground deal in the competition, it is worse than the deals any club had at Etihad, we also have to pay to train at the Gabba $1m a season because we have no designated separate facility unlike every other club in the competition. The AFL has known of these issues for 20 years and never come to the party to fix them and even now still not offering the same support that they did for Gold Coast ($10m for their facility). Sure they have said they will but I've heard that one before from them only to see them fail to deliver and help get the deal over the line.

Your team has a few injuries and a sub-standard coach this year.
Don't worry, the AFL is already rushing to your assistance. There was an article in the paper the other day saying they are funding Brisbane's new facilities and also putting extra money here and there.

Meanwhile, Carlton is left to rot on the vine.
So how many Friday night games did you get last year? We haven't had that many in a decade. Carlton get plenty of assistance through guaranteed blockbuster games and the tv exposure that it gives your sponsors. The market in SE Qld is nowhere near big enough for both clubs to have solid membership numbers and wont be inside the next twenty years. The Lions have had none of the support offered to Gold Coast, Sydney or GWS.

I'd love to have the Carlton level of left to rot on the vine support.

Short memory....good song, you should listen to it sometime.

Brisbane (Bears) fans turned up to thrashings in 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, half of 95...did ok in 96, 97, shit again in 98, did ok from 99-2005, on the slide in 2006-2007 and back to rubbish from about 2008-9 onwards.

Fitzroy fans turning up to thrashings in 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94 and in 95 saw their footy club eaten.

So - aside from a few good years, the MAJORITY of the last 30 years for BOTH clubs has been utter rubbish.

Irrespective of the expansion debate, I think the club could use a little help. You don't. We disagree.

EZ-PZ lemon squeezy.

Good counter argument. I pay you that.

I was looking at 2000 onwards, whilst you move the debate back in years to open it up to the Bears period. Clever.

Nevertheless, if we look at since 2000 - your club has the 2nd best record (equal with Geelong) with premierships.
Quite frankly, premierships are all that matter.
Hawthorn - 4 flags- will be 5 at the end of this year.
Brisbane - 3 flags
Geelong - 3 flags
Sydney - 2 flags
and then a bunch of clubs that have won one flag.

Whose record would you prefer to have?
Brisbane's 3 flags - and a couple of ordinary years or
Port Adelaide's 1 flag and a few more competitive years.

Technically, Brisbane holds the title of having the 2nd best record of any club since 2000.

You said: Do you really think any player is going front up to the media and say "Yeah, what a ******* rabble that place was... I couldn't wait to get out!"

Two words: Maverick Weller. What was stopping the Lions Go Home 5 from doing the same if that was the reason they left?
Common sense and decency for one thing. It's never a good look to criticise your former club, hence your boy Maverick's nice backtracking here:

"I was just asked a question - how I felt about my last year at the Gold Coast Suns. I just didn't enjoy it, just because of injury, I was a bit out of form and that sort of stuff. There was nothing spiteful towards Guy. I've got the utmost respect for him, and the club as well. They gave me the shot to live my AFL dream and I'm very grateful for that. [The story] was sort of a bit bended, and it is what it is."

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-coast-coach-guy-mckenna-20151212-glm0m1.html

Try again son.

Other posters have suggested the GH5 left Brisbane as a result of a toxic culture.

Other posters? Please. :rolleyes:

In response, you've assembled a handful of meaningless quotes from puff piece articles in the Herald Sun, a newspaper you've had absolutely no problems criticising in the past.

Direct quotes from the players themselves, explaining why they left Brisbane.

Direct quotes from the players themselves. Got anything better? Present it here.

Do you also fail to see why it was the AFL's responsibility to give Melbourne a 2.7 million dollar bailout package so that they could pay Paul Roos 1.5 mil a year?

Anyone scoffing at the suggestion that Brisbane need assistance better hope that it's there for their own club if and when the time comes.

Except that's not actually the way it happened. Try again

Other posters? Please. :rolleyes:
Yes, another poster made the toxic culture claim, and I thought your cut and paste job from the Herald Sun as a response was rubbish. But who cares... it's a different club now, right?

Direct quotes from the players themselves, explaining why they left Brisbane.
"I missed being able to go down the road to visit my aunty"

That's not really an explanation, is it mate. It's a comment.

Unfortunately the rest of your quotes are equally pitiful.

Got anything better? Present it here.
421270-tlsnewslandscape.jpg

Brisbane aren't playing too good. So why the **** would the AFL made them go to Adelaide's home ground when they know it would be a slaughter house? Adelaide should of travelled there TBH

Good counter argument. I pay you that.

I was looking at 2000 onwards, whilst you move the debate back in years to open it up to the Bears period. Clever.

Nevertheless, if we look at since 2000 - your club has the 2nd best record (equal with Geelong) with premierships.
Quite frankly, premierships are all that matter.
Hawthorn - 4 flags- will be 5 at the end of this year.
Brisbane - 3 flags
Geelong - 3 flags
Sydney - 2 flags
and then a bunch of clubs that have won one flag.

Whose record would you prefer to have?
Brisbane's 3 flags - and a couple of ordinary years or
Port Adelaide's 1 flag and a few more competitive years.

Technically, Brisbane holds the title of having the 2nd best record of any club since 2000.

It's an arbitrary point at which you commence looking at the positives though.

Scale it BACK TO START of the VFL then, my argument STILL holds water, whilst yours continues to flounder. That's why you chose to start it from 2000 onwards - it's a specious argument you've put forward, nothing more. Furthermore, if we look at it from 2000 onwards, the Hawks were rubbish at the start of 2000's and received AFL assistance that they used exceptionally well to strengthen the club. It's another position that weakens your argument.

Couldn't happen to a more deserving club of flogs.
I'm enjoying each belting more than the last. May it long continue.

Yes, another poster made the toxic culture claim,

Come on. "Another poster." Who? What are their credentials?

and I thought your cut and paste job from the Herald Sun as a response was rubbish.

As I said direct quotes from the players themselves. Got anything better? Clearly not.

Unfortunately the rest of your quotes are equally pitiful.

They're not my quotes.

They belong to Docherty, Longer, Karnezis and Polec. Oh and one from Shaun Hart - now coaching at Port Adelaide.

Oh ok, so it is ok for Carlton fans to turn up to thrashings in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2014, 2015 and 2016 but not for Brisbane fans to turn up to thrashings in 2014, 2015 and 2016 because their poor souls can't stand it.
Last year Hawthorn beat Carlton 173 to 35...but that is ok as it wasn't Brisbane that suffered that loss.

Oh ok. I get it. One rule for a club in an "expansion" state, and another for other clubs.
Wow.... talk about a melt, your post is short sighted and very naive. Carlton cheated in that time as well.
Carlton do not face many of the major challenges the Lions face, no fans, no one cares about aussie rules in Brisbane, kids don't want to stay in that environment when they can go to the big lights in melbourne.
And yes if you want a national league then there will be diffrent rules applied to interstate sides.....

The whole of Australia was behind Richmond on Friday night, don't you worry about that..

Beating Collingwood in 2 grand finals is just the gift that keeps on giving. Salt for decades. Wouldn't it be better for them to pretend they aren't so consumed by bitterness?

I mean we were forced to play a home prelim at the MCG in 2004. Talk about an AFL screwjob but we don't stalk Port posters from thread to thread to unleash rage on them. You have to move on.

Brisbane aren't playing too good. So why the **** would the AFL made them go to Adelaide's home ground when they know it would be a slaughter house? Adelaide should of travelled there TBH

It's not like they made the fixture on Wednesday, champ. Everyone has to travel and before the year a lot of people would have put Sydney, Geelong, Hawthorn in Tassie, Eagles and even Port in Adelaide as more daunting games, while currently GWS is just as bad. Under your thinking, they would basically have to play every game at home unless they were playing Essendon.

It's an arbitrary point at which you commence looking at the positives though.

Scale it BACK TO START of the VFL then, my argument STILL holds water, whilst yours continues to flounder. That's why you chose to start it from 2000 onwards - it's a specious argument you've put forward, nothing more. Furthermore, if we look at it from 2000 onwards, the Hawks were rubbish at the start of 2000's and received AFL assistance that they used exceptionally well to strengthen the club. It's another position that weakens your argument.

Hang on there Mr Hubris. I was willing to give some leeway on this as I thought you argued well, but instead you mocked my points.

"It's a specious argument you've put forward."???

Really? You seriously mean this, or are you taking the mickey?

My arguments hold true as quite frankly one could argue that without success in a 20 year cycle your club is in enormous trouble both morally, financially and in terms of membership ...and your club has won 3 flags in that 20 year cycle.
My argument holds true - name one club other than Hawthorn and Geelong whose record you would prefer to have over the last 20 year cycle..

Wow.... talk about a melt, your post is short sighted and very naive. Carlton cheated in that time as well.
Carlton do not face many of the major challenges the Lions face, no fans, no one cares about aussie rules in Brisbane, kids don't want to stay in that environment when they can go to the big lights in melbourne.
And yes if you want a national league then there will be diffrent rules applied to interstate sides.....

At least you are honest and here we are getting to the real point.

There is one rule for clubs from Brisbane and Sydney as they are "growing the game" and teams such as Carlton can rot on the vine in the meantime.

"Short-sighted" - yes, sitting through 20 years of thrashings is indeed short-sighted.

If three flags in a row doesn't grow the game nothing will. I lived in Brisbane during that time and can confirm that in terms of grassroots footy the game was doing pretty well in Brisbane. If they want to pump money into Brisbane just make sure it is matched dollar for dollar with money to Carlton. Instead, Carlton pays an "equalisation tax" irony upon layers of irony.

What happens next week when the Lions beat Carlton? Do they still deserve the millions the AFL will be pumping into them?

At least you are honest and here we are getting to the real point.

There is one rule for clubs from Brisbane and Sydney as they are "growing the game" and teams such as Carlton can rot on the vine in the meantime.

"Short-sighted" - yes, sitting through 20 years of thrashings is indeed short-sighted.

If three flags in a row doesn't grow the game nothing will. I lived in Brisbane during that time and can confirm that in terms of grassroots footy the game was doing pretty well in Brisbane. If they want to pump money into Brisbane just make sure it is matched dollar for dollar with money to Carlton. Instead, Carlton pays an "equalisation tax" irony upon layers of irony.

What happens next week when the Lions beat Carlton? Do they still deserve the millions the AFL will be pumping into them?
Lions ain't beating Carlton.