Brownlow Roughies for this year????

I've taken $25 each way on Amon Buchanon at 400/1. Went very close to winning the Norm Smith and provided the umps don't confuse him with Schneider (as the commentators do) he should be noticed more this year.

windyhill said:
None of these four would be considered rough. Haselby and McLeod would be amongst the favourites. Kirk and Ablett would have plenty of money as well. Stanton is an outsider, I`m very happy with the odds. 6 b.o.g`s ? That might be pushing it. He polled in five games last year, 2`s and 1`s, so they ( the umps) know about him. Stanton: excellent each way chance.

McLeod is paying 34.00. When you consider his pedigree and vote winning potential, plus the fact the Crows will win a lot of games, this is a good bet. According to Sportsbet, there are a dozen players ahead of him. He is not one of the favourites.

Kirk 51.00
Hasleby 61.00
Ablett 101.00

Not roughies ? What world are you living in ?

Stanton has a snowball's chance in hell of winning the Brownlow. Why bother talking about and betting on "roughies" if they aren't going to win? You can't eat value as my uncle always told me.

Coughlan said:
Mark Coughlan, the umpires love and he is at very good odds

You got that right.
$85 is exceptionally good odds for a player who consistently polls well.

He was Richmonds highest vote getter last season in a year that wasn't outstanding for him.

Also

Ryan Griffin will win a Brownlow one year.
Probably not this season but still you would hate to see the $125 slip by if he does manage the improbable.

Worth a flutter.

Its pretty hard to get votes of you play in a consistently losing side, ie: hawthorn. Its hard for someone like Hodge to get three votes in a losing side unless he has a massive game, like 35-40 disposals. Its pretty rare that a player who wins the brownlow will have a quiet weekend following that monday, meaning that a lot of the past winners have been in a grand final that next week.

1997- Robert Harvey, in a standout team
2000- Shane woewodin, in a standout side
01- aker
02- black
03- buckley
04- judd
05- cousins

6 of those players played in a grand final the week after the brownlow. Judd played in a good side in 04, harvey played in a good side in 98.

Bit of a patern

Crawf won in 99 when the hawks finished 9th. Still a good team. Obviously won enough games to get votes. Go back to beyond 97. 93- wanganeen, 94- diesel, 95- kelly (dunno how the swans went that year) 96- voss/hird. All those teams did pretty well in thsoe years. I think it will be hard for teams that finish 10-16 to have a winner. Thats why i reckon Goodwin/thompson for the crows as they will get close to a flag, corey/ablett as the cats will have a big year, coughlan if richmond finish 9th or above, wells/harris if the roos stay in the 8 or maybe bruce if the dees do ok. Hodge will win a brownlow the year the hawks win a flag i reckon. 2009/2010

Chewy said:
McLeod is paying 34.00. When you consider his pedigree and vote winning potential, plus the fact the Crows will win a lot of games, this is a good bet. According to Sportsbet, there are a dozen players ahead of him. He is not one of the favourites.

Kirk 51.00
Hasleby 61.00
Ablett 101.00

Not roughies ? What world are you living in ?

Stanton has a snowball's chance in hell of winning the Brownlow. Why bother talking about and betting on "roughies" if they aren't going to win? You can't eat value as my uncle always told me.
Andrew McCleod is 31.00 , that is good value, not rough.
Kirk @ 51 is good value, not rough.
Haselby is @ 41 not 61, that is good value not rough.
Ablett is @ 71 not 101, that is not rough.
I`ve backed Jeff White and Pavlich , the thread asked for Rough bets, what world are you inhabiting ?Stanton is my rough bet, a good each way bet.

I know this sounds biased but at 67 bucks Kosi is a bargain!

If he can string just 15 games he will win the bronlow, best player in the comp when he is fit, easily!! ;)

windyhill said:
Andrew McCleod is 31.00 , that is good value, not rough.
Kirk @ 51 is good value, not rough.
Haselby is @ 41 not 61, that is good value not rough.
Ablett is @ 71 not 101, that is not rough.
I`ve backed Jeff White and Pavlich , the thread asked for Rough bets, what world are you inhabiting ?Stanton is my rough bet, a good each way bet.

According to TAB Sportsbet 15th March 2006

Andrew McLeod = 34.00
Brett Kirk = 51.00
Paul Hasleby = 61.00
Gary Ablett = 101.00

Betting tip no.28: Shop around for the best value on offer.
Good luck with the punting! :thumbsu:

:o

I'm looking at Sportsbet. Not TAB Sportsbet. Conclusion: F**K TAB Sportsbet!

Before you jump all over me and start gloating, let me say I never bet on the Brownlow cos I reckon it's mug's game. They seduce everyone with these "fantastic" odds that are really well under.

How many players have a realistic shot at it ?

Factor in injuries, suspensions, ladder position and umpire's tendency to award 'name' players the votes, especially midfielders. Good luck to you with your Stanton bet - he won't win, though.

Chewy said:
:o

I'm looking at Sportsbet. Not TAB Sportsbet. Conclusion: F**K TAB Sportsbet!

Before you jump all over me and start gloating, let me say I never bet on the Brownlow cos I reckon it's mug's game. They seduce everyone with these "fantastic" odds that are really well under.

How many players have a realistic shot at it ?

Factor in injuries, suspensions, ladder position and umpire's tendency to award 'name' players the votes, especially midfielders. Good luck to you with your Stanton bet - he won't win, though.
Mate I`m not going to gloat, that`s just bull********, I was just confused as to where you were getting your info. Brownlow betting is the biggest rort of all punting, betting agencies laugh their **** off at one and all, they clean up in a big big way. Suspensions are the killer, then injuries, poor form. How many have a realistic shot ? Trim it down to mid-fielders and you might have your answer.