Preview Changes/Preview - round 3 v Sydney - Clarry 150! JVR debut!

• Thread starter Thread starter Dory_77

Vineys a s**t footballer. Was watching the kozzie goal to beat Carlton on the siren and Viney nearly costs us missing a 20m kick to ANB who's out by himself directly in front with 40 odd seconds to go. He's like what 27? He's not getting any better he's a liability in a side that doesn't need him

Soulmates , ridiculous that we posted about this at the same time.

Which established players do people want dropped and why? Curious to know names.

Edit: Just saw some above. Harmes I agree with, his flaws are now more compelling than his strengths. Viney, i’m not sure, maybe another week against a good clearance team in Sydney but their young blokes may make him look silly. Petty I don’t understand at all, bloke held up our defence for 90% of last season, has started badly yes, but is very young. Rather see him play through it than dominate at VFL level for a week. Maybe if Tomlinson was any good, but Tomlinson was terrible on the weekend so who do you back in? Kid with runs in the board or the old man we couldn’t give away for free that can’t run? Probably a moot point as Petty looks like he hurt his hammy again, something he did a couple of times last year too.

Soulmates , ridiculous that we posted about this at the same time.
Burned in my memory, how can you be an AFL player for a decade and not even get close to hitting that kick. If his last name wasn't Viney hed be absolutely hated at this club, his got the skills of Jordie McKenzie yet people still ho ok d dear the couple of games he's played well for us.

Wow this is a take. Am I misunderstanding or are you saying he’s the same as Jordie McKenzie?

He has the same ability by foot and hand as Jordie McKenzie. He's atrocious.

Which established players do people want dropped and why? Curious to know names.

Edit: Just saw some above. Harmes I agree with, his flaws are now more compelling than his strengths. Viney, i’m not sure, maybe another week against a good clearance team in Sydney but their young blokes may make him look silly. Petty I don’t understand at all, bloke held up our defence for 90% of last season, has started badly yes, but is very young. Rather see him play through it than dominate at VFL level for a week. Maybe if Tomlinson was any good, but Tomlinson was terrible on the weekend so who do you back in? Kid with runs in the board or the old man we couldn’t give away for free that can’t run? Probably a moot point as Petty looks like he hurt his hammy again, something he did a couple of times last year too.

Harmes and TMac for me. Viney too, but I'm happy to give him one more week (even though I'm sick of him) for the sake of not swinging bulk changes at once given we're losing Gawn too.

Feel like we won’t see the best of TMac unless we give him time so shake off the rest. He might be cooked, good chance he is really, but I guess there’s only one way to find out if he isn’t.

He has the same ability by foot and hand as Jordie McKenzie. He's atrocious.
By foot yes, by hand he’s better although Jordie was actually a decent hand passer. Clearances and tackling he’s one of the best around, although we’re seeing that less and less sadly. There was a game end of last year, maybe Freo or Brissie, where he came out and dominated. Wish he did that more. Agree he’s overrated but certainly not as bad as you say. He is, and always has been, a limited Ollie Wines

Feel like we won’t see the best of TMac unless we give him time so shake off the rest. He might be cooked, good chance he is really, but I guess there’s only one way to find out if he isn’t.
Then don't play him?

We're playing a man down when he's loping around on one foot because he barely is able to impact around the ground.

We have a kid who's physically ready to go in JVR who could impact not only in the air but ground level with his follow up and defensive pressure. Isn't this why we supposedly have depth in the VFL?

If he's cooked then he simply shouldn't be playing. Goody should have learnt this lesson last year when we went into the finals completely banged up and refusing to play fit players or manage them throughout the year.

My biggest hope was that we wouldn't see this occurring again this year and low and behold we see tmac running around at the gabba clearly hampered with his footy injury.

Then don't play him?

We're playing a man down when he's loping around on one foot because he barely is able to impact around the ground.

We have a kid who's physically ready to go in JVR who could impact not only in the air but ground level with his follow up and defensive pressure. Isn't this why we supposedly have depth in the VFL?

If he's cooked then he simply shouldn't be playing. Goody should have learnt this lesson last year when we went into the finals completely banged up and refusing to play fit players or manage them throughout the year.

My biggest hope was that we wouldn't see this occurring again this year and low and behold we see tmac running around at the gabba clearly hampered with his footy injury.
Yeah I don't really see why Tmac can't get match fitness in the VFL. It's why it's there.

Then don't play him?

My biggest hope was that we wouldn't see this occurring again this year and lo and behold we see tmac running around at the gabba clearly hampered with his footy injury.
He’s not injured mate. He’s spent almost a year out and, despite playing a couple at Casey last year, is readjusting to games at AFL pace. That’s not the same as playing injured.

Lol he went for a scan on his foot during the week.. he's not at 100% so CLEARLY his foot is still giving him some grief.

If he's using AFL games to gain match fitness then it's holding us back as a team because right now he was completely unsighted on Friday night.

Its round 2 and we're already carrying blokes underdone. If he wants match fitness, go do it at VFL level.

If Schache is concussed then I guess it has to be JVR for Gawn, hopefully May for Tommo. Tempted to have Tommo as sub for some extra height as cover if things are going wrong.
As long as it isn't Melk as sub.

Vineys a s**t footballer. Was watching the kozzie goal to beat Carlton on the siren and Viney nearly costs us missing a 20m kick to ANB who's out by himself directly in front with 40 odd seconds to go. He's like what 27? He's not getting any better he's a liability in a side that doesn't need him
29, which further emphasises that point. He's had his peak, and in reality (bar finals), it was underwhelming. Doesn't tag, can't hit targets, constantly on the wrong side of clearances, can't kick more than 45, isn't as good of an accumulator as Trac and Oliver and gets in the way of better clearance players.

Honestly, his value to the team is a net negative at the moment. There should only be one of him and Harmes (at the absolute most) to be the 5th/6th guy in that midfield rotation. Petracca, Oliver, Sparrow, Pickett should have the bulk of on-ball minutes with the occasional Rivers/ANB run to mix it up a bit. One of Harmes/Viney should play in a tagging/negating role, or not at all.

Also hate to stroke TKs ego but Petty has been bog average and should be thanking his lucky stars Lever has started the year really well, otherwise he’d be looking even worse.
You could mount a good case that Tomlinson is in better form and reality is that it should be Petty who should be dropped instead.

Yeah honestly agree. We'd all written Tomlinson off but his first two weeks have been fine. I definitely trust Tomlinson way more in a 1v1 against a big forward than I do Petty.

Also hate to stroke TKs ego but Petty has been bog average and should be thanking his lucky stars Lever has started the year really well, otherwise he’d be looking even worse.

I'd swing him forward for TMac before dropping him if we aren't going to play JVR. But yes , he's been shit. Hopefully with May back he looks better but he should absolutely be on thin ice with the way he's playing. Another 2 weeks of what he's been dishing up and the board will turn feral on him. Rightly so.

I'd swing him forward for TMac before dropping him if we aren't going to play JVR. But yes , he's been s**t. Hopefully with May back he looks better but he should absolutely be on thin ice with the way he's playing. Another 2 weeks of what he's been dishing up and the board will turn feral on him. Rightly so.

I would too but I reckon JVR definitely comes in this week.