Preview Changes Rd 14 vs Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter Visenfest

Monty basically said it, Hayes isn’t close AFL standard at this point in time.

If Lycett and Ladhams both get injured, it will be Dixon Westy and Marshall all sharing the load.

That’s just the way it is... baby [emoji444]

I think they are just being cautious and are not throwing him too the wolves. Had he played all year in the SANFL I think you might see him getting a run.

Duursma, Burton, Marshall, Rozee, what an injection of speed and skill that is!

Judging by Monty's comments about defensive attitudes, I reckon that's why they've brought it Sutcliffe as he probably demonstrates the consistent involvement in the press that a younger player like Woodcock might still be lacking a little bit. He is also a flexible player and can fit in most places around the ground, which Kern obviously loves in Westhoff. I'd rather get games into youth but I reckon we don't see a lot of Sutcliffe's good work because it's off the ball, covering space and tagging. The coaches obviously do, and for the most part we've got selections right this year, so while it's disappointing I don't think it's melt-worthy.

Good time to rest Woodcock as well, having him and Farrell fight really hard in training for that small forward/winger spot come finals is a great selection dilemma to have. Unfortunate for Georgie to have a niggle but he's been due a rest for a while now and having him fresh for finals alongside Dixon and Marshall will be integral.

Mayes has had a few down weeks but he is the perfect player to have waiting in the wings ready for finals. An experienced, composed, reliable head ready to slot in if we have an injury. Lienert, Motlop just not good enough at the moment. Bonner offers a different offensive angle coming out of defence but he probably comes straight out for Houston next week.

The big question is Westhoff. Do we have the balls to drop him when Ladhams comes back? Do we play him with both Ladhams/Lycett as the roaming tall down back? If we can manage to get the Hoff into form come finals time, that is an incredible X-factor to have, but there hasn't been one shred of evidence this year that at 33 he can reach those heights again.

With a near-fully fit list, things are going to get interesting. Please make the most of this Ports.
This is such a good post

We have been scored against far far too easily the past 3 weeks from deep inside our forward 50. Im guessing, but I think Sutcliffe has been brought in with a specific role regards to this. Something that Motlop and Woodcock can't or won't do.

I'd have preferred Boyd as well but its not worth going troppo over and will see if we are better at not letting the opposition out of our fwd line this week.

I think you’ve hit the nail on the head.

That’s exactly what the “in form” woodcock and Motlop haven’t been offering whilst the defense and team in general get the blame. I don’t blame woodcock for being eager and not completely knowing how to play the role, but reality is, even if getting 30 possessions a game, the vast majority of every player’s time is spent without the ball getting to the right spots, applying pressure or sitting back and not getting sucked in, at the right time.

Per the listed team last week:
Lienert - Def (Bench) -> Burton
Mayes - Wing -> Duursma
Motlop - HFF -> Rozee
Georgiades - FP -> Marshall
Woodcock - Fwd (Bench) -> Sutcliffe

I think Sutcliffe will play forward. And in the next few weeks:
Bonner -> Houston
Westhoff -> Ladhams

Then it's Farrell, Woodcock, Motlop & Sutty competing for that last forward bench spot.

Everyones going on about sutcliffe but people......

HOW THE **** IS BONNER STILL PLAYING FOR THIS FOOTBALL CLUB

I would of heavily prefered Lieno over him in the side. At least Jarrod cracked in and won a lot of important balls in the last quarter last week. Neither can defend might aswell play the player with more heart

Why on earth are people talking about blooding fresh kids when we are only a few games out from finals and are sitting top of the ladder? This is not the time, we are up to our necks in this premiership tilt. This board is hilarious and clueless at the same time.

Jack Graham debuted in Round 22 2017 and then five weeks later kicked 3 goals in a premiership.

I think they are just being cautious and are not throwing him too the wolves. Had he played all year in the SANFL I think you might see him getting a run.
Yes, the pandemic has a lot to answer for - it’s temporarily (?) derailed a few AFL careers!

Where has sutcliffe being a defensive forward come from?
He tried and failed as a midfield tagger.
Isn't dangerous offensively.

Id rather play someone on Lloyd who is dangerous offensively, make him accountable and if he's not be able to hit the scoreboard

I don't think that Sutcliffe will be the difference between us winning or losing a premiership this year, unless we literally drop a ruck for him. The quality of our 22nd player in the team shouldn't determine whether we can go all the way or not; it will be coaching, resilience and mentality that does.

In case it hasn't been mentioned already, this is another Foxtel game delayed being broadcast on 7 by 2.5 hours

First Bounce: 1.15pm

Channel 7Mate from 3:30pm ACST

Why is that you get so many free to air games delayed in SA?

Victoria shows all their free to air games live?
I think it's live on 7mate here in NSW/ACT too. Can possibly understand it when the broadcast is live against the gate but this one was a sellout within hours. Surely the policy can be adjusted? After all, we live in unprecedented times.

Agree. There's zero point in blooding Mead, Bergmen, Wiliams now..... or ******* Jack Watts for that matter. They will not be part of the finals tilt this year. We have a top 2/4 spot to sew up and hopefully a premiership to win. It is not a time for experimentation. I'm not sure why people aren't getting this?
Because IMO I don't believe this group can win a flag, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Our hope is for the next gen to get as much experience and develop as fast as possible. We can't take our eye off the future for the now when the now is only a tease. We are nowhere near deserving of our #1 spot and will be found out in finals and the club internally must have a sense of that reality. We'd be better off with Bergman in than Sutcliffe, if he is to be a key part of the future.

Why is that you get so many free to air games delayed in SA?

Victoria shows all their free to air games live?
You need to listen closer every time they announce a new TV deal.

Since 2002-06 deal left the 7 monopoly for Foxtel+FTA broadcasters set up, the following rules have been in place:

The WA, SA, NSW and Qld teams are guaranteed that all 22 of their games will be shown on 7 / FTA TV.

The Vic teams don't get that guarantee. They only get 7 / FTA TV produced games on FTA TV.

For the 2017-22 TV deal, Foxtel insisted that the 4 WA and SA teams each had to have 3 Foxtel produced games delayed by 3 hours.

The household penetration rate for Foxtel is only about 15% in those 2 states compared to around 30% in Vic and 40% in NSW and Qld (driven by NRL having so many games on Foxtel). They want to try and increase the number of households in WA and SA that have Foxtel. Footy is one of their levers.

The 3 games are either home or away games.

So since 2017, Port and the crows each get a combo 3 Saturday arvo/twilight and Sunday early games, produced by Foxtel shown on 3 hour delay. This year it has been 2.5 hours delayed. Don't know what timeslots the WA clubs get delays but I'm assuming the same ones.

Great to see Burton, Rozee, Duursma and Marshall back in.
Im REALLY hoping Burton can get a run with no soft tissue injuries as he is crucial for our finals tilt. Great player but seems to niggle a hammy or calf or something every couple of weeks

Mots and Mayes had to go out so im happy with these.
I would have rested Georgiadis if he didnt have a niggle either so no qualms there either. As much as Westy isnt the player he was, with Ladhams out he had to play.
Lienert is much chop but with Houston out it was either Lienert or Bonner to go out. Flip of the coin really.
Woodcock out for me is a bit rough. He has been finding his feet and has been playing pretty well. Last week was his best game. Unless they felt the need to rest im not sure why he was dumped

Im going to echo the thoughts of most here. I dont understand why Sutcliffe is being brought in. Although with our lack of defensive pressure in the forward line over the last couple of weeks thats the only thing i can think of. The last couple of weeks our forwards havent been keeping the ball locked in as well as we had been prior and i guess playing Sutcliffe will provide a bit more forward defensive pressure over woodcock and farrell.

Interesting to see how this one goes. Its going to be a beautiful sunny day for footy which should be conducive to fast footy and with our ins and the fact we are playing a pretty woeful Swans this is a game we really should be winning this by a decent margin. If we scrape over the line like last week, or lose then we are officially nowhere near a premiership tilt. Apart from Houston (and maybe Ladhams) we are at as full strength as we are going to get.

Because IMO I don't believe this group can win a flag, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Our hope is for the next gen to get as much experience and develop as fast as possible. We can't take our eye off the future for the now when the now is only a tease. We are nowhere near deserving of our #1 spot and will be found out in finals and the club internally must have a sense of that reality. We'd be better off with Bergman in than Sutcliffe, if he is to be a key part of the future.

Nah **** that attitude. We will likely finish top 2 and get the double chance. We are in this up to our eyeballs. In the last season and a half we have beaten West Coast twice, and we have beaten Richmond and Geelong. We need a bit of luck but it is doable.

If we dont win it this year, it won't happen for another 3 or 4 years. All of our senior over 30 players will be worse next year. The players coming through will no be able to counter act that in the short term. This is the year to strike if we are good enough. If not, so be it, but we should still go 100%. Giving a couple of our 18 years olds some token games will do bugger all in the scheme of things. The time is now. Why not us?