Preview Changes: Round 17 v Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Rate tonight's selection melt

Wow. If I was a young Crows midfielder I would tell the club to go get ****** and seek a trade.

Jesus Christ.

Wigg should've taken one of the Melbourne offers last year.

That's a ridiculous comment from Burton.

Come on name them so I can ridicule you

You trying to get some of your own back?

Well for one, Wigg but we haven't given him one game in 3 years, but I'm sure he could get more than 10 touches and give away less than 5 frees.

Then there is Galluci who had 1 more possession in his first game of footy than Thommo did in his 300th whatever game.

I'm also sure Pohokle could get more than 10 and give away less than 5 frees.

Atkins, Laird, Smith, Beech, Cameron, Wigg, Poholke, Galluci, Knight, Brown are all players I would add to the rotations before ever considering Thompson.

You trying to get some of your own back?

Well for one, Wigg but we haven't given him one game in 3 years, but I'm sure he could get more than 10 touches and give away less than 5 frees.

Then there is Galluci who had 1 more possession in his first game of footy than Thommo did in his 300th whatever game.

I'm also sure Pohokle could get more than 10 and give away less than 5 frees.

Mate your scraping the barrel Wigg is and was a HBF and the other two are 19 year olds

Surely your mate Douglas wouldn't be in the team if we had managed to show some balls and get that star Gibbs

Mate your scraping the barrel Wigg is and was a HBF and the other two are 19 year olds

Surely your mate Douglas wouldn't be in the team if we had managed to show some balls and get that star Gibbs

What position have we played Wigg in for the last 2 years?

They might be 19 but they are 16 years younger than Thommo and can run.

Why does it matter how old they are?

And why do you have such a hard-on for players we dont have?

Oh come on Marty. Thommo has been an incredible player for the club, but as it stands right now, any number of players would provide more than him. Gallucci's single run at AFL level was far more impressive than Thommo's single appearance. Plus, Gooch's SANFL form has been solid. Wigg has had multiple games at SANFL level that were superior to those of Thompson. Beech has offered more at both levels. Poholke has been an AFL emergency on several occasions and has had several very solid performances at SANFL. All these guys, as it stands, are better suited to AFL footy than Thompson... but if he is picked again, I hope I'm wrong... unfortunately, I'm not at all sure that I am.

I'm saying Thommo shouldnt be getting a game but the mix we have in there ATM is the best we have it's not brilliant but with the fact they wouldn't give up to get Gibbs it's the best we have

It was a huge mistake not getting Gibbs one we could be paying for big time

I'm saying Thommo shouldnt be getting a game but the mix we have in there ATM is the best we have it's not brilliant but with the fact they wouldn't give up to get Gibbs it's the best we have

It was a huge mistake not getting Gibbs one we could be paying for big time

You agreed with Burton that Thommo was our next best mid

Are they the same guys that have managed to get a mediocre midfield to the top of the table

They have no idea what they are doing, do they?

We have an elite forward line.
We have a very good defence.
We have some good midfielders.

I reckon even Matty Primus could get our side near the top.

This coaching group who you think are legendary and immune to mistakes have made plenty over the last 2 years.

You might be happy to finish top 2 at the end of the minor round, I want to win the flag. Picking Thommo says to me they haven't learnt a thing. You said last week lucky they found out last week and not the finals, so they did make a mistake last week?

We have an elite forward line.
We have a very good defence.
We have some good midfielders.

I reckon even Matty Primus could get our side near the top.

This coaching group who you think are legendary and immune to mistakes have made plenty over the last 2 years.

You might be happy to finish top 2 at the end of the minor round, I want to win the flag. Picking Thommo says to me they haven't learnt a thing. You said last week lucky they found out last week and not the finals, so they did make a mistake last week?

You learn from your mistakes you needed to find out if he had anything left

I think you are overating our team gfs are win in the mid we lack it there but if we can keep our best 22 to 25 on the park we are a chance

You learn from your mistakes you needed to find out if he had anything left

I think you are overating our team gfs are win in the mid we lack it there but if we can keep our best 22 to 25 on the park we are a chance

So our coaches made a blatantly obvious rookie mistake 7 weeks from the finals and that's ok?

It was obvious that Thommo was past it last year. That our coaches who see him every day didn't know it last week is very concerning, but we've gone over this already.

So our coaches made a blatantly obvious rookie mistake 7 weeks from the finals and that's ok?

It was obvious that Thommo was past it last year. That our coaches who see him every day didn't know it last week is very concerning, but we've gone over this already.

What was a bigger mistake not getting Gibbs or retaining Thommo considering we didn't fill out list anyway

We made 5 off season mistakes, ranked from top to bottom:

1) Not getting Gibbs
2) Not getting a decent mid
3) Forcing Lyons out
4) Keeping Thommo
5) Re-signing Wigg and not giving him one game for a third straight year.

Clearly the later. Gibbs was not worth the asking price. We would have no trade leverage for ten years if we gave Carlton what they wanted.