Changes vs Richmond

In: Harris, McIntosh, Motlop, Perry

Out: Colbert, Sav, Stevens, Perkins

As much as we all love the guy, Colbert just seems too slow.

Sav is very one dimensional and we if cant hit his lead or he has a bad day then hes exposed. It mightn’t be 100% his fault but we need to plan ahead.

Perkins has had a taste, hasn’t done not too bad, but time for Perry’s taste now.

Stevens, (like many here) I like what he does, simply needs to learn to do it more often. Get plenty of it at Port for a week or 2 then come back with confidence.

Petrie can think himself lucky again this week, id almost be tempted to play Mckernan but have probably made enough changes for one week. Im also itching get games into Watson, Trotter and company.

Mr Reliable said:
Hotel 6, if you'd seen Sav through that one eye that was on the game while the other one was "working" you'd be hard pressed to pick him next week. It would be just as effective to plant a tall tree about 20 out straight in front so that Boomer and Shagga can dodge around it. Give Hamish a go. He;s tall, AND young.

Sav's been great for us but it's been awhile.

Hamish was injured in the last Port Melbourne game. I don't know if would be playing this week but Port had the bye. Sav is the sort of bloke that needs to get the miles in his legs. If he is not right then give him time off because he has not fired for a long time when is not 100% right. You are right though, I was not keeping a close eye on the game but I will watch it later tonight.

Hotel 6 said:
Hamish was injured in the last Port Melbourne game. I don't know if would be playing this week but Port had the bye. Sav is the sort of bloke that needs to get the miles in his legs. If he is not right then give him time off because he has not fired for a long time when is not 100% right. You are right though, I was not keeping a close eye on the game but I will watch it later tonight.

Sav is incredibly slow and immobile. I reckon he should be on a diet or do something to help improve his mobility. I do agree with you that he should never be played unless he is 100% fit.

If Hamish is fit he should play. If not, do we bring Corsa in?

This is my assessment of each player today: Those who did not score at least a 5 would normally have to worry about their chance of playing next week but JYD is too afraid to make the big calls so I would assume all but one or two will still play.

Archer: Great game, was physical, was hard, attacked the ball, attacked the players, hit targets with passes. This guy is a legend to play like this at 32 with one hand gnawed off by a crocodile. :p The other players should be embarassed to put on the gurnsey in his presence. Not worthy to run out of with this guy. 8/10

Brown: Plays too scared too often, overly worried about the player and does not attack the football anywhere near as much as he should. Doesn't use his bulk as often as he should, he should lay hard tackles and bumps on the short people around him. 5/10

Colbert: Too slow, too unaccountable. He has courage but his body is unable to keep up with the mind, he gave his opponents far too much room and they could just jog into space to take uncontested marks, very poor game today. 3/10

Firrito: Plays too defensively, doesn't get enough of the ball, butchers the ball way too often given how little he gets. One passage highlighted his game, missed a handpass to a team mate running past by hand passing it behind the player to two Melbourne players in the middle of the ground who goaled. Just criminal doing that in the middle. 2/10

Grant: Ran hard all day and had players scragging him and all over him all day, missed a goal we needed early from a very gettable shot. Tried his guts out but was murdered by opponents up the ground with their inability to kick the ball in front of him. 6/10

Hale: I didn't see a lot of him, will have to check to see how much time he had on the ground, my guess is not a whole lot. He looked dangerous up forward because of his height and that forced White to drop into defense but played a nanosecond there. Victim of shoddy coaching. 4/10

Harding: I thought his game was very good, he ran hard all over the ground and was the only one that went into the middle of the ground that looked dangerous, set up 4 or 5 gettable shots at goals and his game was a massive improvement over previous efforts, pity the rest of the team wasn't there to support him more. Was able to blow away some of the best small/medium defenders in the comp, lets hope he keeps improving. 6/10

Harvey: Was electric in the first half, faded out of the game, particular in the third. Was considering filing a missing person report with the police. Tries too much but a victim of lack of support, no talls to kick to up forward, crowded forward line... his run was good until he died in the Manuka quagmire. 5/10

Jones: Presented well, kicked a nice long goal early... leads too far out from goal to positions he is out of range, needs to know his limitations, wont pass when he is out of range, just bombs and gets points. Spilt some regulation marks later in the game, was probably caught off guard by a forward pass that was within 20m of him. 4/10

Makepeace: Ran hard all day, played on the dangerous Davey and had his measure all day, allowed his opponent only two real opportunities all day and his run from defense was invaluable. His finishing lacked the spark that we really needed though. 6/10

Perkins: Had little game time, wasn't overly effective, took one good mark but sprayed the shot at goal badly, was used as tag on Brown but wasn't very effective at that. 2/10

Petrie: Rucked okay, got his hand to the ball a bit but wasn't getting it down to our rovers very well, I guess he was happy getting his hand on the ball. Managed just 2 marks and 8 disposals, disappointing given we had very few big blokes on the ground due to JYD's determination to coach the pygmies. On a high note he wasn't shocking, has been upgraded to very average with recent solid yet unremarkable performances. 3/10

Picioane: Don't think I saw him in the first half which was amazing given our bench consisted of almost every tall player Laidley could find. He ran hard in the second half, showed some heart, took a great grab but was thrust into the team when the game was all buy over. Expected him to get a lot of game time with Harris out, what was I thinking?! 6/10

Rawlings: Should stick to tagging roles where he doesn't get the ball but denies his opponent the ball because his kicking was embarassingly ineffective. Could replace his foot with a brick and kick just as effectively. He ran hard and presented but wouldn't be able to hit Godzilla with a pass in the forward line. 3/10

Rocca: Has the turning circle of the Titanic and when he doesn't play well goes down like he has hit the iceberg. Seems to be weighing in roughly the same weight as the doomed ship aswell. Was murdered by some of the worst forward deliver kicking since I played in junior football. Was crucified by Laidley by not addressing the problem. Still, he didn't have a great game by his standards. 2/10

Simpson: Am really concerned with his new direction, he has gone from an almost 30 possession a game player that murders the ball to someone who gets much less and murders it just as much. Hasn't really been able to deny his opponent all that much of the ball of late either. At a time when we are being slaughtered for skill and efficiency we need the captain to lead by example and he has failed to do that. With leadership comes more responsibility to perform and lead by example. 1/10

Sinclair: One of the few shining lights for us this year, yes he has gone way short today but he along with Makey and Archer have given us a lot of delivery from defense which is vital when we are bent over in the middle. He was under a lot of pressure today mainly due to lack of support, still tried his guts all day. Unfortunately he gave his man a bit too much lattitude today. 6/10.

Smith: He has the skills, he is confident but he lacks match experience and really needs a couple of seasons of physical development. He needs more game time. 5/10

Stevens: Should be arrested for impersonating a footballer today. At times his football is extremely good, today it was extremely poor. Was no good in defense, was no good in the middle, seemed comfortable on the bench. He really needs to be played at Port and be given a month of four quarter football where he can run. He has an amazing long penetrating kick but will shank 90% of his kicks, just not AFL level. 1/10

Thompson: Was a victim of JYD's poor coaching today. As the only tall forward played almost all game it allowed Melbourne to zone the entire defense because we had 5 small players up forward, with White dropping back and Melbourne flooding our forward 50 we had ZERO hope of having any space with just one tall. Tries his guts out, but if it wasn't melbourne swarming him it was our midfield's woeful kicking that denied him a chance to contribute more. 6/10

Watt: Played on Miller and was very effective, forced him well outside 50 where he got most of his cheap possessions. Watt was able to get some effective clearanced under a lot of pressure without going to ground, another of his better games although he has to learn to attack more from CHB to put extra pressure on his opponent. 7/10

Wells: He got a bit of the ball early on but was not very effective with his disposals and lacked the desire to go in hard at contests. Wasn't given much support but his game was extremely poor given his ability. Never seen him go to ground so much under little pressure or be so ineffective with his disposals. 1/10

Bren said:
Need to leave Thommo at ff, jr in the Rfp and jones in Lfp

Sav, Colby, BigMac, and Archer need to retire this year and we need to see if these kids can play!! No point limpimg into the finals and the guys retiring at seasons end... we will lose a year to see if the kids can play!!

And have them slagged when we find out that they are still developing their game. They should play when they merit a place, not before IMO.

moomba said:
And have them slagged when we find out that they are still developing their game. They should play when they merit a place, not before IMO.

I agree basic skill levels can and should be developed at VFL level, once they are beyond basic skill levels the VFL will not give them anything.

The club has to make the big call on what we are going to do with guys who are looking like being career VFL players. We have big holes up forward, something has to be done about it. We can't go into games of AFL football with one tall forward and one part timer in Rocca.

Tas said:
Watt: Played on Miller and was very effective, forced him well outside 50 where he got most of his cheap possessions.

From watching Melbourne in the past, that's Miller's job. He covers a lot of ground, presents, and drags a tall defender out of the forward line for Robertson, Neitz and Davey to work in more space.

He was one of the best players on the park for mine, marked everything and finished with 19 touches and 11 grabs.

As for dropping Picioane, well I'm not sure what game was being watched today. Far from our worst, and did some nice things.

NeoBlaze said:
It's amazing that we can get the ball from one end of the ground to the other with guys with absolutely no skills and lack in most departments.

It is amazing - our skills were absolutely woeful today. The best passages of play were when we kicked long and direct, but too often we stuffed around with the footy, and we're not skilled enough to play a high possession game.

I think you just cut and pasted your CV in that last post year of the deadset idiot.

I'm Idiot Dish, and he's year of the deadset idiot.

Have you ever tried a career as a comedian? Deadset f*cking brilliant you are.

nicole said:
these should be the three changes for this week verse richmond

in - motlop,harris,watson
out - sav,Perkins,stevens
Yeh Watson can some into the side he puts on 10kg.

I just dont know why he hasnt put on weight since he came to the club back in 2001.

76kg, he is probably the lowest weighed footballer in history.

Sexiano Ronaldo said:
Tas you are suggesting Watt was our best player then??

How many did Russell Figjammer kick on him?

Not sure, I always saw Colbert jogging 30m behind Robertson. I am pretty sure Watt played on Miller all day.

Thewlis Dish said:
From watching Melbourne in the past, that's Miller's job. He covers a lot of ground, presents, and drags a tall defender out of the forward line for Robertson, Neitz and Davey to work in more space.

He was one of the best players on the park for mine, marked everything and finished with 19 touches and 11 grabs.

As for dropping Picioane, well I'm not sure what game was being watched today. Far from our worst, and did some nice things.

Hmmm, I thought Picioane was one of our better players, I was just perplexed why he only came on when the game was over. Where did I mention dropping him?

As for luring Watt out of defense by taking most of the marks wide on the wing, Watt isn't that valuable to us.... It is not like he is a zoning type of player which hurts you when they are dragged away. Watt is good one-on-one and he spoiled almost every single marking attempt anywhere near the goals.

It is much like Carey, when he got a lot of his possessions wide on the wing he wasn't very dangerous to opposition, it was when he was close to goal that he was the King.

Tas said:
As for luring Watt out of defense by taking most of the marks wide on the wing, Watt isn't that valuable to us.... It is not like he is a zoning type of player which hurts you when they are dragged away. Watt is good one-on-one and he spoiled almost every single marking attempt anywhere near the goals.

It is much like Carey, when he got a lot of his possessions wide on the wing he wasn't very dangerous to opposition, it was when he was close to goal that he was the King.

Just saying, I don't think you can give credit to Watt for how Miller got his touches, because that's how he plays every week. His role is as a linkman.

Thewlis Dish said:
Just saying, I don't think you can give credit to Watt for how Miller got his touches, because that's how he plays every week. His role is as a linkman.

Nah, not giving him credit for the ball Miller got ont he wing. He was just effective at spoiling him when he was near goal and that to me is important, that was more in the first half when Miller was a target when Neitz was off the ground and they were looking for goals.

Had the other defenders been more accountable then his work would have probably been more appreciated. I think Brown/Colbert struggled badly with Green and Robertson due to speed alone, we looked better when Neitz was on.

Archer gave away a huge pace advantage but he made Yze earn every kick, that is the difference between a champion and an average player. Our defense is riddled with average players. :p

But not much we can do until we get fresh blood. I think in the long-term Smith and Trotter will be very good small/average height defenders and give the defense more class, unfortunately though Archer will be long gone and he will be very hard to replace...

That's it! - I had enough, the next goof-off that suggests that Watson should be promoted should be permanently banned fron playing on this board.

He played for the frigging Port 2nds for Christ-sake.

Make a sensible, useful comment or stop wasting my email time!

He WILL NOT be selected next week!

SeriouslyMate said:
He played for the frigging Port 2nds for Christ-sake.

Because he was coming back from injury and there was no senior game. No other reason.

And of course he won't be picked.

Changes vs Richmond