Certified Legendary Thread China History in the Making

Position vacant: General Manager - Commercial
October 4, 2017 4:04 PM

.... Reporting to the CEO, you will be responsible for delivering growth through strategic development, and a sales plan targeting both traditional sport sponsorship, new markets (principally China), community partners and the PAFC Eastern Advisory Board. You will be responsible for managing a strong commercial team, the achievement of budgets and will maintain a high profile with key clients and stakeholders throughout Australia and in China.

Key responsibilities include:
  • Leadership and ongoing development of a highly engaged sales team to achieve sustained, outstanding results for our commercial partners.
  • Development of sales strategies to achieve annual sales targets and ROI for the PAFC.
  • Growing the Club’s capabilities and commercial outcomes in both Australia and China.
  • Commercialising the industry leading CSR programs delivered by the PAFC Community team
  • Continuously improving the quality of partner service and innovation.
  • Driving the culture of the commercial team in line with the Club’s values and objectives.
  • Setting clear goals, vision and direction for the team.
  • Working collaboratively with all Club departments to identify, develop and maximise commercial opportunities.
  • Effectively managing inventory pricing and availability to ensure budgets are achieved.
  • Provide accurate P&L management, reporting and forecasting.
To be successful in this role you will have:
  • Demonstrated experience in leading and influencing high performing sales teams.
  • A proven track record of successfully negotiating and securing major sponsorship arrangements and achieving and exceeding sales targets.
  • Executive level relationship-building experience with a reputation of establishing commercial dialogue with key decision makers among the major corporations throughout Australia and preferably in China.
  • An understanding of the AFL and the profile of sports fans, to help drive commercial outcomes.
  • A demonstrable understanding of the sports and entertainment industries and related industries, including digital media.
  • Interpersonal flair; first class customer engagement skills with ability to present a highly professional image when representing the Port Adelaide Football Club.
  • Ambition, with a hunger to succeed in a competitive environment with resilience working under pressure.
We are seeking interest from candidates of a truly strong pedigree from within the sports, entertainment and/or media industries with the gravitas to lead an engaged and highly capable team.

Possession of personal characteristics to build a strong culture and establish best practice and good governance is essential. In addition, attention to detail, a customer focus, high levels of energy, willingness to work flexible hours in line with the requirements of the Club’s schedule and a positive ‘can do’ attitude will be required.

The Port Adelaide Football Club is a high-performance organisation, devoted to excellence and the ongoing development of our outstanding team. We will provide you with attractive benefits along with learning and advanced career development opportunities. If necessary, a relocation allowance will also be available, and the candidate will be expected to be based permanently in Adelaide with regular travel.

This is a significant appointment for the Club, and an outstanding opportunity for the right person, with the recruitment process being conducted personally by the CEO.

Please direct your confidential application to Simone de Laine, General Manager – Human Resources at sdelaine@pafc.com.au by COB 20th October, 2017.

KT coming to HK next week, then Shanghai. Just enough time to send my same old suit to the cleaners.

Have to admire the stamina of KT, hopefully he gets a decent break over summer.
My reaction too!

He has looked tired in recent times.

Though very frustrated with such a boring and ineffective (against good teams) I can understand the re-signing of Ken for reasons of stability.

If Keith had to go looking for a new coach soon then his hair might go from grey to white.

My guess is that a number of admin need a good break.

The Commercial Manager position:
- seems to be a new position
- must be SuperPerson. That is a formidable set of attributes required.
- why only from a restricted background? eg Sport, Media etc
- Mandarin speaker would be nice but not mentioned.
- indicates that the China push has been a success so far and is being ramped up, and the AFL are backing us?

Looks promising so I hope we get a good person.

The Commercial Manager position:
- seems to be a new position
- must be SuperPerson. That is a formidable set of attributes required.
- why only from a restricted background? eg Sport, Media etc
- Mandarin speaker would be nice but not mentioned.
- indicates that the China push has been a success so far and is being ramped up, and the AFL are backing us?

Looks promising so I hope we get a good person.
A mate of mine has just made enquiries; will put him in touch.

I missed these 2 bits of the ad yeterday

Reporting to the CEO, you will be responsible for delivering growth through strategic development, and a sales plan targeting both traditional sport sponsorship, new markets (principally China), community partners and the PAFC Eastern Advisory Board.

So does that mean this position has to make sponsorship sales to business attached to or introduced by members of the PAFC Eastern Advisory Board, or are they responsible to them as well??

The other one is
  • Commercialising the industry leading CSR programs delivered by the PAFC Community team
Not sure what commercialising them means? Does it mean the candidate gets corporates to come on board and provide sponsorship to the programs? If CSR = Corporate Social Responsibility, I assume we want to grow the programs and probably find funding for the Aboriginal Learning Centre which means finding $8~$12mil over and above the $4mil the feds put in a few months ago.

Port Adelaide steps up its China strategy with key meetings in Hong Kong and Shanghai
PORT Adelaide is returning to China — starting Thursday — to deliver a “bigger and better” game in Shanghai in May. And the Power’s “China Strategy” is stepping up too, with stronger connections to big business in China and in schools where Port Adelaide might salvage the AFL’s stalled dream of starting a seven-a-side game on rectangular fields: AFLX. Port Adelaide chief executive Keith Thomas and China executive Andrew Hunter will in the next week:

PRESENT Port Adelaide’s vision for AFL football China as keynote speakers to Australian Chamber of Commerce sessions in Hong Kong Friday and Shanghai on Monday. “It is a very significant opportunity to present to big business and political leaders,” Thomas told The Advertiser. “We feel privileged to be before big players in business and politics explaining the role Port Adelaide has played in sports diplomacy, in breaking down barriers.”
VISIT the 15 schools in Shanghai where 500 children are involved in AFL programs.
ADVANCE the AFL vision in Shanghai with key meetings on Tuesday and Wednesday.

“After the success of the game (against Gold Coast in May), we now need to ask, ‘What should the future of Australian football be in China?’,” Thomas said.
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...i/news-story/52a84a8ec76ec5d1f1a40de2b86dee21

Gotta wait for the fixture to be released
“The AFL is more enthusiastic by the results we achieved in May. It also is more optimistic about the opportunities before the game. “But we need to develop that vision beyond playing one symbolic game a year.” Port Adelaide created history with the first AFL game played for premiership points outside Australian and New Zealand with its clash with Gold Coast at Jiangwan Stadium on May 14. The AFL will confirm a second Power-Suns match in China when the fixture is released next month.

More tickets, more food, more shade, but booze ban stays.
Port Adelaide is planning to increase the ticket allocation to the game from 10,000 to 13,000 with more ticket sales with Gold Coast fans and Chinese residents. But Thomas is opposed to revoking the local ban on alcohol being consumed at the game. “What we will work on is greater variety of food, more shade for the fans and enhancing the experience around the game,” Thomas said. “As we have a hold on the stadium, we will invest more.” Port Adelaide’s meetings in Shanghai next week also will seek broadening the critical television exposure of the Power-Suns match after achieving an audience of five million in May. The match will remain in May but the Power is seeking for the game to be closer to the mid-season bye in June-July. The game cannot be played in June because of the heat and rain in Shanghai.

b191205c276ecb12222e9c3be105e6d5

Port Adelaide chief executive Keith Thomas, left, and China executive Andrew Hunter leave for China on Thursday to strengthen the Power’s business and diplomatic links. Picture: Sam Wundke

Port Adelaide steps up its China strategy with key meetings in Hong Kong and Shanghai
PORT Adelaide is returning to China — starting Thursday — to deliver a “bigger and better” game in Shanghai in May. And the Power’s “China Strategy” is stepping up too, with stronger connections to big business in China and in schools where Port Adelaide might salvage the AFL’s stalled dream of starting a seven-a-side game on rectangular fields: AFLX. Port Adelaide chief executive Keith Thomas and China executive Andrew Hunter will in the next week:

PRESENT Port Adelaide’s vision for AFL football China as keynote speakers to Australian Chamber of Commerce sessions in Hong Kong Friday and Shanghai on Monday. “It is a very significant opportunity to present to big business and political leaders,” Thomas told The Advertiser. “We feel privileged to be before big players in business and politics explaining the role Port Adelaide has played in sports diplomacy, in breaking down barriers.”
VISIT the 15 schools in Shanghai where 500 children are involved in AFL programs.
ADVANCE the AFL vision in Shanghai with key meetings on Tuesday and Wednesday.

“After the success of the game (against Gold Coast in May), we now need to ask, ‘What should the future of Australian football be in China?’,” Thomas said.
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...i/news-story/52a84a8ec76ec5d1f1a40de2b86dee21

Gotta wait for the fixture to be released

More tickets, more food, more shade, but booze ban stays.

b191205c276ecb12222e9c3be105e6d5

Port Adelaide chief executive Keith Thomas, left, and China executive Andrew Hunter leave for China on Thursday to strengthen the Power’s business and diplomatic links. Picture: Sam Wundke
He's a busy busy boy old KT.

Port Adelaide to lead sports diplomacy events in China
A DELEGATION of Port Adelaide executives
this week begins an extensive tour of Hong Kong and Shanghai as part of its annual promotional tour in China. Led by Chief Executive Keith Thomas and GM of China Engagement Andrew Hunter, the delegation will be involved in a series of business events. The trip will also allow Mr Thomas and Mr Hunter to lead discussion with a number of senior business and government leaders.

“The purpose of the trip is twofold," Mr Hunter told portadelaidefc.com.au. "The first is to promote Port Adelaide’s ongoing presence and activity in China, and second to meet the managing directors, CEOs and chairpersons of significant Chinese companies, and Australian companies based in China. “We’ll be talking about what we offer and the significant business-to-business opportunities that we are developing.”

A series of luncheons themed around sports diplomacy will be conducted with the consulates general of Hong Kong and Shanghai. These will demonstrate the opportunities governments and businesses can build through sport.Meeting with the Australian Chambers of Commerce in Hong Kong and Shanghai will also put Port Adelaide in front of Australian business leaders during the tour. Mr Thomas will also be the keynote speaker at the International Sports Summit in Shanghai. “I think it’s significant that such an event will feature Keith as its keynote speaker,” MrHunter said. “What Port Adelaide’s doing in China is industry leading.”
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/news/2017-10-13/china-tour-takes-flight

Stuff about the Shanghai game
Port Adelaide’s China team has been industrious over the months since the historic first game for premiership points in Shanghai in May of this year. As well as planning a return to Shanghai in 2018, the club has been building multiple relationships with corporations in the world’s most populous nation. “Things haven’t really stopped for us since the Shanghai game in May,” Mr Hunter said. “Shanghai 2018 will be bigger and more exciting than this year’s game, and we’re working with the AFL on how that will look. “We’ve also been building exciting opportunities with potential partners to be announced in the New Year. “And we’re also building a significant business-to-business platform, and we’re very pleased with the progress we’re making in this space.”

Heard Andrew Hunter on Peter Goers Show the other night. He seems to think we will play the Suns again in China next year. That appears to contradict Rucci's view that the AFL wants a Melbourne audience for the next one.
Gold Coast were willing to sell a home game, and the handful of their fans who went put almost no demand on what seemed to be about 5,000 tickets available this year. Let's stick with that. I reckon get all aspects of the game working well over there before we monkey with things.

Position vacant: General Manager - Commercial
October 4, 2017 4:04 PM

.... Reporting to the CEO, you will be responsible for delivering growth through strategic development, and a sales plan targeting both traditional sport sponsorship, new markets (principally China), community partners and the PAFC Eastern Advisory Board. You will be responsible for managing a strong commercial team, the achievement of budgets and will maintain a high profile with key clients and stakeholders throughout Australia and in China.

Key responsibilities include:
  • Leadership and ongoing development of a highly engaged sales team to achieve sustained, outstanding results for our commercial partners.
  • Development of sales strategies to achieve annual sales targets and ROI for the PAFC.
  • Growing the Club’s capabilities and commercial outcomes in both Australia and China.
  • Continuously improving the quality of partner service and innovation.
  • Driving the culture of the commercial team in line with the Club’s values and objectives.
  • Setting clear goals, vision and direction for the team.
  • Working collaboratively with all Club departments to identify, develop and maximise commercial opportunities.
  • Effectively managing inventory pricing and availability to ensure budgets are achieved.
  • Provide accurate P&L management, reporting and forecasting.
To be successful in this role you will have:
  • Demonstrated experience in leading and influencing high performing sales teams.
  • A proven track record of successfully negotiating and securing major sponsorship arrangements and achieving and exceeding sales targets.
  • Executive level relationship-building experience with a reputation of establishing commercial dialogue with key decision makers among the major corporations throughout Australia and preferably in China.
  • An understanding of the AFL and the profile of sports fans, to help drive commercial outcomes.
  • A demonstrable understanding of the sports and entertainment industries and related industries, including digital media.
  • Interpersonal flair; first class customer engagement skills with ability to present a highly professional image when representing the Port Adelaide Football Club.
  • Ambition, with a hunger to succeed in a competitive environment with resilience working under pressure.
We are seeking interest from candidates of a truly strong pedigree from within the sports, entertainment and/or media industries with the gravitas to lead an engaged and highly capable team.

Possession of personal characteristics to build a strong culture and establish best practice and good governance is essential. In addition, attention to detail, a customer focus, high levels of energy, willingness to work flexible hours in line with the requirements of the Club’s schedule and a positive ‘can do’ attitude will be required.

The Port Adelaide Football Club is a high-performance organisation, devoted to excellence and the ongoing development of our outstanding team. We will provide you with attractive benefits along with learning and advanced career development opportunities. If necessary, a relocation allowance will also be available, and the candidate will be expected to be based permanently in Adelaide with regular travel.

This is a significant appointment for the Club, and an outstanding opportunity for the right person, with the recruitment process being conducted personally by the CEO.

Please direct your confidential application to Simone de Laine, General Manager – Human Resources at sdelaine@pafc.com.au by COB 20th October, 2017.

KT coming to HK next week, then Shanghai. Just enough time to send my same old suit to the cleaners.
This role was advertised on page 5 of today's Weekend Australian.

Rooch in his double pager today - the Reality Bites section, fleshes out a bit more what KT is talking about re thinking how do we develop the game in China and what will the game there look like.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...s/news-story/2709bfafaa985b1390ec6df42f7548d0
X FACTOR
SO whatever became of that AFL concept of taking up the summer months with a new version of Australian football? AFLX. The seven-a-side game played on a rectangular field. While this theme has not moved beyond the AFL think-tank at home, Port Adelaide chief executive KEITH THOMAS might be delivering opportunity to the AFL when he returns from Shanghai late next week.

“It is an interesting thought — AFLX as the international version of Australian football,” said Thomas, who was in Hong Kong on Friday before moving to Shanghai to advance the Power’s “China Strategy”. “It is an interesting idea — AFLX in China. The one thing we noted on entering China is that Australian football’s game development ultimately faces one major challenge outside Australia — grounds. “But there are many rectangular grounds in China. And we can start the game for both boys and girls ... and perhaps open the door for an AFLW game in China.”

Port Adelaide is certainly more optimistic about its China adventure after successfully presenting an AFL premiership game with Gold Coast in Shanghai in May. But all this new energy to keep the Australian game on the international stage does require discipline, notes Thomas. “We do need to ask what does our game’s vision in China look like because in a big country like China it is easy to get lost,” Thomas said. “We do need articulate a vision beyond one game each year.”
http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...s/news-story/2709bfafaa985b1390ec6df42f7548d0

More about this current trip
Thomas and his China executive ANDREW HUNTER are in Hong Kong and Shanghai for the next week with a three-point agenda. They are presenting to big hitters in business and politics as key note speakers at the Australian Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong and Shanghai; they are visiting 15 schools with AFL game development programs in Shanghai and they will look at enhancing the facilities at Jiangwan Stadium for next year’s game with Gold Coast. “Last year, we took our players to China at the end of the year to promote this year’s game,” Thomas said. “Now we have a bigger agenda. We want to engage with business, schools and key political players. “And we have to answer our question: What does the big picture in China look like? “Everyone — from the AFL to business and political leaders — are more enthusiastic about the Port Adelaide Football Club’s presence in China and more optimistic about the opportunities in China. “We have a very big opportunity on Monday in presenting our role in sports diplomacy — breaking down barriers with sport — when Andrew and I are keynote speakers at the Auscham (Australian Chamber of Commerce) in Shanghai. And we feel very privileged.”

Portology put this in the general AFL thread the other day and I thought he was going to put it in. He didn't so I have cut and pasted it, even though someone referred to it in a tweet a few posts above this one.

Thinking for the long term. When we want "in" to AFLW, we'll get it. Can't fault the club for aiming at the beachhead, and consolidation in China first. That position gives us some huge levers.

(Should probably be copied to the China thread too)

http://amp.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/...-aflw-and-preseason-game-20171010-gyydu1.html

Port Adelaide chief executive Keith Thomas has declared the next phase of football growth in China should include staging an AFL Women's match and a men's pre-season game.
Ahead of appearing as a guest speaker at an AustCham business event in Hong Kong on Friday, and at the annual Shanghai Sports Summit conference on Monday, Thomas said preliminary discussions had begun about how the Chinese market could look over the next 10 to 15 years.

"Taking AFLW to China as part of the build process is absolutely something we should seriously consider and do, so you don't have the same scenario as we have got in Australia where the girls are coming from a long way back. Here is the chance to show Australian football is for girls and boys right from the start," he said.

The Power do not have an AFLW licence but have not ruled out joining beyond 2020.
Also from the article
We are starting to think about the future of Australian football in China ... how does the game develop in China? They are very significant discussions that are starting to be held based on the enthusiasm everyone had coming out of the Shanghai game in 2017," Thomas said.
http://amp.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/...-aflw-and-preseason-game-20171010-gyydu1.html

a bit more quotes from the article

"There certainly is an argument for a pre-season game and the Shanghai game. I think, at some point, we would want to have that conversation. One of the things that we are interested in as a game is ensuring we are present in China as often as we can be. Another major event if it was in the pre-season would be just another way of making sure our commitment to being in China was obvious. There would be regions outside of Shanghai that we would be aware of that would be interested in that. I think that requires good consideration."

Bit more on the women's game
Thomas said an AFLW clash would work well in terms of the "ground zero" process in China where the AFL was appealing to boys and girls to take up the sport. "Taking AFLW to China as part of the build process is absolutely something we should seriously consider and do, so you don't have the same scenario as we have got in Australia where the girls are coming from a long way back. Here is the chance to show Australian football is for girls and boys right from the start," he said.

I had a chat to KT at the end of 2016 or early 2017 about the women's game in China. Former Richmond player Daniel Jackson has been doing development footy stuff in North America, I have read stuff he has written about, and Waleed Ayl repeated his ideas on ABC's Sunday morning sports show Offsiders, that the development of the women's game could drive the internationalization of Australian Football. Jackson said that the women's game in Canada and USA is not that far behind where the game is in Oz and that you could be playing International games in a decades time.

I mentioned that to KT and that we should be thinking about what role we play in game development in China around the girls and women as we will be running the "Power Footy" programs through the schools in Shanghai. Since we talked that has extended to the Xian with the MJK Group sponsorship.

When the defending champs the Canadian women came to Oz for the International Cup in August, their women's coach, an Aussie who had been a recruiter for a couple of AFL clubs, said the bottom end of the the AFLW ie the rookie type players weren't that far ahead of the top end Canadian and US Women. In last year's draft for the 2017 AFLW season, a Canadian Kendra Hell was free agent pick by Collingwood and 2 or 3 Irish girls were also picked up by AFLW sides. I know Melbourne had an Irish player and gave her #11 after Jim Stynes, but I can't remember her name.

The China strategy might significantly help with this internationalization of the game via women's footy.